yes, therapy helps!
What is the Cinderella complex and why does it affect women?

What is the Cinderella complex and why does it affect women?

May 23, 2022

More modern generations have said that fairy tales and stereotypes of little princesses have seriously harmed the way women themselves see themselves (and their own misinterpreted love stories).

This social phenomenon based on traditional gender roles has led to what it's known as Cinderella's complex .

What is the Cinderella complex?

Defined in a simple way, the Cinderella complex is a psychological phenomenon that predisposes women to value themselves and their lives depending on the proximity of a protective figure: the couple.

In this way, this psychological and social phenomenon favors the appearance of a self-image characterized by the expectation of the appearance of a couple that supposedly will give meaning to our life and, in cases in which you already have a partner, it feeds the creation of a relationship dynamic based on dependence.


The North American writer Colette Dowling wrote a book in which she recounted how women with a Cinderella complex have a certain fear of independence and relate their happiness with their emotional status, giving rise to the insatiable and erroneous quest of the "prince charming" to achieve the Absolut happiness.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Micromachismos: 4 subtle samples of everyday machismo"

Cinderella as a female model

The psychological pattern of women with Cinderella syndrome has three basic characteristics: an unconscious desire to be taken care of, rescued and cared for constantly by other people even outside the sentimental couple.


This type of behavior can be explained by several factors. And is that according to Colette Dowling, its root is a sum of motivations: from the way in which the woman is educated to certain social rules that lead women to feel this way, which makes a simple explanation to the problem.

In a way, the cultural bedrock based on machismo continues to feed this kind of attitudes and philosophies of life that make strong distinctions between what is proper to the feminine and what corresponds to the masculine. The first is fragile and must be taken care of from outside, and the second is strong, firm and self-sufficient. The combination of gender roles that derive from this polarized perception of man and woman creates, among other things, the Cinderella complex.

Her CARACTERISTICS

Some of the characteristics of the Cinderella complex are the following:


  • Low self-esteem.
  • Constant dependence.
  • Fear of leaving the comfort zone.
  • Idealization of the couple.

If you identify with any of these symptoms, the best method to combat or transform this behavior is looking for happiness without a partner and with the virtues you have for yourself, without having to wait for someone to come to change reality.

In case you can not overcome these fears and attitudes, the ideal is to ask for help from a specialist who can help you modify your beliefs and your habits.

Is it a mental disorder?

The Cinderella complex it is not a concept used in clinical psychology or in psychiatry To describe a mental disorder, it simply describes a certain pattern of behavior fueled by customs, stereotypes about differences between men and women.

However, if the patterns of behavior described are very accentuated and interfere with the quality of life of the person or their environment, it may indicate the presence of symptoms characteristic of the Personality Disorder or Dependent Personality Disorder.

5 keys to being an independent woman

It is very common to hear today talk about the need to claim independent and self-sufficient women. However, having a clear idea of ​​how to adopt a more informed attitude towards safety is difficult. For this reason, we will work on these keys to develop female independence while respecting that of others.

Basically, we find two types of independence: the emotional and the economic . In part, the one depends on the other in order to consolidate a good level of independence.

Here we present five tips to overcome the problem:

1. Watch your emotions

Definitely the most difficult step and the first one to face, because it is the basis of the whole. Emotional independence is achieved by defining well what you want, what you like and what you do not. Regarding your personal relationships Whether it's with friends, co-workers, family or your romantic partner, you have to dedicate your efforts to analyzing where your real abilities end and where you really need the collaboration of others

2. Responsibility with money

The idea that what is normal and what is desirable is economically dependent on the couple, very much restricts their own freedom. Learn to depend on yourself and not ask for money from anyone.

3. Enjoy the loneliness

Do not panic when you're alone. Rate your moments of loneliness as something with positive aspects and meet with your own thoughts, feelings and fears.

4. Cultivate yourself

Enjoying a higher level of skills and knowledge empowers us and makes us more free and autonomous, regardless of our gender.

5. Work self-esteem

This point is as primordial as the first. Love yourself will help you to show you as an empowered woman and safe. Loving yourself, without falling into arrogance, makes you respect yourself, take care of yourself, cultivate yourself, etc. The same should be expected from the people around you.


A Star Is Born Movie 2018 - Cinderella Complex : Women Are Delusional | Tfl, Incel, Mgtow, Pua (May 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que le complexe de Cendrillon et pourquoi affecte-t-il les femmes?

Qu'est-ce que le complexe de Cendrillon et pourquoi affecte-t-il les femmes?

Janvier 14, 2023

Les générations plus modernes ont déclaré que les contes de fées et les stéréotypes des petites princesses avaient sérieusement porté atteinte à la façon dont les femmes se voient (et à leurs propres histoires d'amour mal interprétées).

Ce phénomène social basé sur les rôles de genre traditionnels a conduit à ce que il est connu comme le complexe de Cendrillon .

Qu'est-ce que le complexe de Cendrillon?

Défini de manière simple, le complexe de Cendrillon est un phénomène psychologique qui prédispose les femmes à se valoriser et à valoriser leur vie en fonction de la proximité d'un personnage protecteur: le couple.

De la sorte, ce phénomène psychologique et social favorise l’apparition d’une image de soi caractérisée par l’attente de l'apparition d'un couple censé donner sens à notre vie et, dans les cas où vous avez déjà un partenaire, cela alimente la création d'une dynamique de relation basée sur la dépendance.


L'écrivaine nord-américaine Colette Dowling a écrit un livre dans lequel elle racontait que les femmes atteintes d'un complexe de Cendrillon avaient une peur certaine de l'indépendance et racontaient leur bonheur avec leur statut émotionnel, donnant lieu à la quête insatiable et erronée du "prince charmant" bonheur absolu

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Micromachismos: 4 échantillons subtils de machisme de tous les jours"

Cendrillon comme modèle féminin

Le schéma psychologique des femmes atteintes du syndrome de Cendrillon présente trois caractéristiques fondamentales: un désir inconscient d'être pris en charge, sauvé et soigné constamment par d'autres personnes même en dehors du couple sentimental.


Ce type de comportement peut s'expliquer par plusieurs facteurs. Et est-ce que selon Colette Dowling, sa racine est une somme de motivations: de la façon dont la femme est éduquée à certaines règles sociales qui amènent les femmes à se sentir ainsi, ce qui explique simplement problème.

D'une certaine manière, le fondement culturel basé sur le machisme continue d'alimenter ce type d'attitudes et de philosophies de la vie qui distinguent fortement ce qui est propre au féminin et ce qui correspond au masculin. Le premier est fragile et doit être soigné de l'extérieur et le second est fort, ferme et autosuffisant. La combinaison des rôles de genre qui découlent de cette perception polarisée de l’homme et de la femme créent, entre autres choses, le complexe de Cendrillon.

Ses caractéristiques

Certaines des caractéristiques du complexe de Cendrillon sont les suivantes:


  • Faible estime de soi.
  • Dépendance constante.
  • Peur de quitter la zone de confort.
  • Idéalisation du couple.

Si vous identifiez l'un de ces symptômes, la meilleure méthode pour combattre ou transformer ce comportement est de rechercher le bonheur sans partenaire et avec les vertus que vous avez pour vous-même, sans avoir à attendre que quelqu'un vienne changer la réalité.

Si vous ne pouvez pas surmonter ces peurs et ces attitudes, l’idéal est de demander l’aide d’un spécialiste qui pourra vous aider à modifier vos convictions et vos habitudes.

Est-ce un trouble mental?

Le complexe de Cendrillon ce n'est pas un concept utilisé en psychologie clinique ou en psychiatrie Pour décrire un trouble mental, il décrit simplement un certain type de comportement alimenté par des coutumes, des stéréotypes sur les différences entre hommes et femmes.

Cependant, si les schémas de comportement décrits sont très accentués et interfèrent avec la qualité de vie de la personne ou de son environnement, cela peut indiquer la présence de symptômes caractéristiques du trouble de la personnalité ou du trouble de la personnalité dépendante.

5 clés pour être une femme indépendante

Il est très courant d'entendre aujourd'hui parler de la nécessité de revendiquer des femmes indépendantes et autosuffisantes. Cependant, il est difficile de savoir comment adopter une attitude plus éclairée en matière de sécurité. Pour cette raison, nous allons travailler sur ces clés pour développer l'indépendance de la femme tout en respectant celle des autres.

Fondamentalement, nous trouvons deux types d'indépendance: l'émotionnel et l'économique . En partie, l’un dépend de l’autre pour consolider un bon niveau d’indépendance.

Nous présentons ici cinq conseils pour surmonter le problème:

1. Surveillez vos émotions

Certainement l'étape la plus difficile et la première à affronter, car c'est la base de l'ensemble. L'indépendance émotionnelle est obtenue en définissant bien ce que vous voulez, ce que vous aimez et ce que vous n'aimez pas. Concernant vos relations personnelles Que ce soit avec des amis, des collègues, la famille ou votre partenaire amoureux, vous devez consacrer vos efforts à l'analyse de vos capacités réelles et de la nécessité de la collaboration des autres.

2. Responsabilité avec de l'argent

L'idée que ce qui est normal et ce qui est souhaitable dépend économiquement du couple restreint beaucoup leur propre liberté. Apprenez à dépendre de vous-même et ne demandez de l'argent à personne.

3. Profiter de la solitude

Ne paniquez pas quand vous êtes seul. Évaluez vos moments de solitude comme quelque chose avec des aspects positifs et rencontrer vos propres pensées, sentiments et peurs.

4. Cultivez-vous

Bénéficiant d'un niveau plus élevé de compétences et de connaissances, nous sommes plus autonomes et plus libres et autonomes, quel que soit notre sexe.

5. Estime de soi

Ce point est aussi primordial que le premier. Aime toi vous aidera à vous montrer en tant que femme autonome et sécuritaire. S'aimer soi-même, sans tomber dans l'arrogance, vous oblige à vous respecter, à prendre soin de vous, à vous cultiver, etc. La même chose devrait être attendue de votre entourage.


NUEVOS ESTRENOS ANIME VERANO 2018 (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes