yes, therapy helps!
What is the Demon of Laplace?

What is the Demon of Laplace?

August 6, 2022

The search for certainty and the illusion of knowing what will happen tomorrow is something that has accompanied philosophical reflections and scientific practices over time.

If we could have the certainty that tomorrow will rain, or a war will break out, the decisions we would make today would surely be very different from those we would choose without knowing the future. The Demon of Laplace is a character that represents all this very well , Where does it come from?

The Demon of Laplace and the problem of prediction

The illusion of predicting and controlling what surrounds us is a subject that can be found in a good part of scientific development. For example, classical mechanics was based on the idea that everything that exists in the universe and nature, can be known through mathematical logical reasoning, as well as through a geometric system to measure and predict what will happen.


In other words, the mechanical class starts from considering that the universe and nature are governed by a series of initial laws that can be unveiled by humans for modification.

For example, modern astronomy in the West, inaugurated by Newton, has this background as its antecedent.

Who was Pierre Laplace?

Pierre Laplace was a French astronomer, physicist and mathematician who lived from 1749 to 1826 . He is credited with the development of celestial mechanics, worked hand in hand with Isaac Newton and Galileo in the prediction of eclipses and in the discovery of new planets. He also participated in the study of some molecules of gas and atomic particles.


What Laplace suggested from his knowledge is that, through science, we can predict and guess the activity of all behavioral systems that exist. And if not, the unpredictability would be only an error of knowledge that as such, can be corrected.

In the deterministic conception of Laplace everything can be predicted , and if not, it is because the knowledge produced by the human being has failed or is not enough.

What this means is that everything that exists in the universe is structured in a previous and independent way to the activity of human beings, with which our own actions and everything we are would be predetermined by the laws of the universe.

The deterministic demon (of Laplace)

The Laplace Demon is an imaginary character who has the faculty to know the initial properties of all the particles of nature and the universe, with such precision, that he can apply the natural laws to guess what will happen instantly or, much later weather; from a precise movement to a work of art (Calabrese, 1999).


It is in other words, the Devil of Laplace is a deterministic and almighty demon , a being that is outside the universe and that has predicted and decided everything that will happen in nature, including, of course, the activity of human beings.

The logic of prediction was not only transcendental in astronomy, the sciences of physics, mathematics and natural sciences, but it has also extended to the study of human behavior as well as to its intervention.

For example, it has been present in the development of modern medicine, and we could even see how the traditional way of doing human sciences, as well as economic and financial activity, impacted. However, from the development of new scientific paradigms, the Laplace Demon has encountered some limits.

From determinism to indeterminism: the end of certainty

The logic of prediction had a special success while understanding the universe in terms of linear systems, based on a stable cause-effect relationship. But when the theory of chaos and quantum mechanics came to challenge the linearity of all systems, the scientific field also questioned the insistence of applying the logic of prediction in everything we know.

Very broadly, among other things, there was a paradigm shift based on the consideration that in non-linear systems (which are complex systems, of chaotic and non-cyclical behaviors, as in human beings), the initial state is not Equal to the final state nor determines it, with which, they are systems that can not be predicted.

In the field of science, the universe and nature in general cease to be conceived as a set of laws of general coverage, pre-established by an outside being . This is how from the beginning of the twentieth century, there is an important shift where it is considered that, although it is possible to calculate probabilities, there can always be prediction failures.From this, some authors consider that an era marked by the end of certainty is inaugurated, especially in the human and social sciences.

Bibliographic references:

  • Trainini, J. (2003). Towards the need for a new medical paradigm. Revista Argentina de Cardiolog√≠a, 71 (6): 439-445.
  • Calabrese, J. L. (1999). Expanding the borders of reductionism. Deduction and non-linear systems. Psychoanalysis APdeBA, XXI (3): 431-453.
  • Wallerstein, IM (1999). The social sciences and the humanities on the threshold of the 21st century. The end of certainty in the social sciences. UNAM: Mexico.

Laplaces demon meets Maxwells demon (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est le démon de Laplace?

Quel est le démon de Laplace?

Janvier 17, 2022

La recherche de la certitude et l’illusion de savoir ce qui se passera demain est quelque chose qui a accompagné les réflexions philosophiques et les pratiques scientifiques au fil du temps.

Si nous pouvions avoir la certitude qu'il pleuvra demain ou qu'une guerre éclatera, les décisions que nous prendrions aujourd'hui seraient certainement très différentes de celles que nous choisirions sans connaître l'avenir. Le démon de Laplace est un personnage qui représente très bien tout cela D'où vient-il?

Le démon de Laplace et le problème de la prédiction

L'illusion de prédire et de contrôler ce qui nous entoure est un sujet qui peut être trouvé dans une bonne partie du développement scientifique. Par exemple, la mécanique classique reposait sur l’idée que tout ce qui existe dans l’univers et dans la nature peut être connu par un raisonnement mathématique et logique, ainsi que par un système géométrique permettant de mesurer et de prédire ce qui va se passer.


En d'autres termes, la classe de mécanique commence par considérer que l'univers et la nature sont régis par une série de lois initiales qui peut être dévoilé par l'homme pour modification.

Par exemple, l'astronomie moderne en Occident, inaugurée par Newton, a cet arrière-plan son antécédent.

Qui était Pierre Laplace?

Pierre Laplace était un astronome, physicien et mathématicien français qui a vécu de 1749 à 1826. . Il est crédité du développement de la mécanique céleste et a travaillé main dans la main avec Isaac Newton et Galilée à la prévision des éclipses et à la découverte de nouvelles planètes. Il a également participé à l'étude de certaines molécules de gaz et de particules atomiques.


D'après ses connaissances, Laplace suggère que, grâce à la science, nous pouvons prédire et deviner l'activité de tous les systèmes comportementaux existants. Et sinon, l'imprévisibilité ne serait qu'une erreur de connaissance qui, en tant que telle, peut être corrigée.

Dans la conception déterministe de Laplace, tout peut être prédit et sinon, c’est que la connaissance produite par l’être humain a échoué ou ne suffit pas.

Cela signifie que tout ce qui existe dans l'univers est structuré de manière antérieure et indépendante à l'activité des êtres humains, avec laquelle nos propres actions et tout ce que nous sommes seraient prédéterminés par les lois de l'univers.

Le démon déterministe (de Laplace)

Le Laplace Demon est un personnage imaginaire qui a la faculté de connaître les propriétés initiales de toutes les particules de la nature et de l'univers avec une précision telle qu'il peut appliquer les lois naturelles pour deviner ce qui va arriver instantanément ou, beaucoup plus tard. le temps; d'un mouvement précis à une œuvre d'art (Calabrese, 1999).


C'est en d'autres termes, le diable de Laplace est un démon déterministe et tout-puissant , un être qui est en dehors de l'univers et qui a prédit et décidé tout ce qui se passera dans la nature, y compris, bien sûr, l'activité des êtres humains.

La logique de la prédiction était non seulement transcendante en astronomie, dans les sciences de la physique, des mathématiques et des sciences naturelles, mais elle s’est également étendue à l’étude du comportement humain ainsi qu’à son intervention.

Par exemple, il a été présent dans le développement de la médecine moderne et nous avons même pu voir quel impact la manière traditionnelle de faire des sciences humaines, ainsi que l'activité économique et financière. Cependant, du développement de nouveaux paradigmes scientifiques, le démon Laplace a rencontré certaines limites.

Du déterminisme à l'indéterminisme: la fin de la certitude

La logique de la prédiction a eu un succès particulier tout en comprenant l'univers en termes de systèmes linéaires, basés sur une relation de cause à effet stable. Mais lorsque la théorie du chaos et la mécanique quantique ont mis en cause la linéarité de tous les systèmes, le champ scientifique a également remis en question l'insistance voulant pour appliquer la logique de la prédiction à tout ce que nous connaissons.

De manière très générale, entre autres choses, il y a eu un changement de paradigme fondé sur le fait que, dans les systèmes non linéaires (qui sont des systèmes complexes, de comportements chaotiques et non cycliques, comme chez les êtres humains), l'état initial n'est pas différent. Égal à l'état final ni le détermine, avec lequel, ce sont des systèmes qui ne peuvent pas être prédits.

Dans le domaine de la science, l'univers et la nature en général cessent d'être conçus comme un ensemble de lois de portée générale préétablies par un être extérieur . C’est ainsi qu’à partir du début du XXe siècle, on assiste à un changement important dans lequel on considère que, même s’il est possible de calculer des probabilités, il peut toujours y avoir des échecs de prévision.Certains auteurs considèrent dès lors qu’une ère marquée par la fin de la certitude est inaugurée, notamment dans les sciences humaines et sociales.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Trainini, J. (2003). Vers la nécessité d'un nouveau paradigme médical. Revista Argentina de Cardiología, 71 (6): 439-445.
  • Calabrese, J. L. (1999). Élargir les frontières du réductionnisme. Déduction et systèmes non linéaires. Psychanalyse APdeBA, XXI (3): 431-453.
  • Wallerstein, IM (1999). Les sciences sociales et les humanités au seuil du 21ème siècle. La fin de la certitude dans les sciences sociales. UNAM: Mexique.

Determinism vs Free Will: Crash Course Philosophy #24 (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes