yes, therapy helps!
What is the Electra complex?

What is the Electra complex?

May 6, 2021

The Electra complex It is one of the most famous concepts proposed by Carl Gustav Jung.

This author, as a member of the psychodynamic current and disciple of Sigmund Freud, focused on the development of the personality during the early stages of childhood, from there, to propose ideas on how these experiences leave a mark in the way of behave and think of human beings once they have become adults.

The Electra complex, linked to the theory of psychosexual development, is the way in which Jung adapts Freud's Oedipus complex to the case of women. However, it is proposed as something more than a simple adaptation of the Oedipus to the female case. Let's see what this is about.


Starting with the precedent: Freud's theories

As we saw in the article of Freud's psychosexual development theory, the father of psychoanalysis came to attach great importance to the way in which sexuality is managed during the first months and years of our life.

The idea from which Freud left was that, depending on the way in which we give vent to our sexual impulses during childhood and early adolescence (and the success we have in the task of correctly regulating libido) we will develop more or less psychological problems to reach the adult stage.

So, if we do not properly satisfy that part of our unconscious mind that, according to Freud, governs our way of behaving, we will develop fixations that can give way to mental disorders and to behaviors that were considered sexually aberrant.


The Oedipus complex

The Oedipus complex is one of the phenomena that, according to Sigmund Freud, appears in the so-called phallic stage of psychosexual development , between 3 and 6 years old.

In it, the sons go through the following phases:

  • They begin to develop a strong desire towards their mothers (or towards women who exercise the role of mothers).
  • They observe that the mother has a strong emotional and intimate bond with her husband, that is, the father, and they spend time alone.
  • They develop jealousy towards their parents and they start thinking about him in hostile terms. But, at the same time, they fear them, since the figure of the father is seen as a superior and stronger version of themselves.
  • At that time, each child fears that his father will discover the feelings he has towards his mother . The way in which the greatest possible punishment is symbolized is castration.

The Electra complex by Carl Jung


Despite the fact that many of the people with whom he treated in the clinical setting were female patients, Sigmund Freud developed a theory of psychosexual development centered basically on the case of what happens in men, leaving cornered the development of the women.

Carl Jung tried to solve this "theoretical vacuum" by developing his theory of the Electra complex towards 1912.

Who was Electra?

Jung was an academic very focused on the study of symbolism, since it had a lot of weight in his ideas about the way in which the human mind is, in part, collective and subject to the symbols used in culture. (See his theory about archetypes). That is why, among other things, that in order to define the Oedipus complex, he focused on the part of the Homeric Greek mythology in which the life of Electra , the daughter of Agamemnon Y Clytemnestra , King and Queen of Mycenae.

Legend has it that it was Electra's own mother, or her lover, who killed Agamemnon after he came back from the Trojan War . Electra decided then that her mother and lover should die, and encouraged her brother Orestes so that he would avenge the father of both carrying out the murders.

The characteristics of the Electra complex

The Electra complex can be understood as the female version of the Oedipus complex , but it is not exactly like this. While it is true that the initial situation is similar, the attraction to the father by the daughter, and that this love of the father causes a rivalry to arise to the mother, there are differences between the theory of the Oedipus complex and that of the complex. of Electra.

The link with the mother

Carl Jung believed that the emotional bond between the daughter and her mother is narrower than that between the son and the father, so the Electra complex tends to be more disguised, since the degree of attachment is greater and compensates for the rivalry between mother and daughter.

An incipient Oedipus

According to Jung, at first the girls are attracted to both their parents and their mothers, although soon after they move to focus only on the father as a result of a mechanism of conservation of the species.

The fear of punishment

While in the Oedipus complex the male child is afraid that his father will cast him, in the Electra complex the daughter comes to the conclusion that she has already been castrated.

The resolution of the Electra complex

Both according to Freud and according to Jung, the passage through the Oedipus and Electra complexes, respectively, they are phases that are part of the normal development of most children . In some way, they point out how the psychic development of human beings is being produced from their first years of life.

That is why they believed that both phenomena were resolved within 2 or 3 years, while in a few cases the rivalry between children and parents and daughters and mothers is entrenched and makes their relationship deteriorate.

A reminder

It should be remembered that both the Electra and the Oedipus complex are part of totally outdated ideas and widely rejected in contemporary scientific psychology ; This means that no father or mother should be afraid of developing bad links with their children because of mismanagement of these processes that, in reality, only exist in the theories of Freud and Jung.

The theories proposed by these two authors use soft thinking and metaphors as ways of understanding the human mind, prisoner this fact served for philosophers of science, among which Karl Popper stressed, rejected the approaches of these authors for being too interpretable and ambiguous, of little use to analyze specific cases.

However, this does not mean that it is not useful to know these theories, they are very incorporated into the cultural heritage of Western countries . Thus, the Electra complex has been used in literature, cinema and all kinds of forms of artistic expression, and even as a hermeneutical tool with which to analyze and interpret historical, social and political events of all kinds.


Daddy Issues Explained - Freud's PsychoSexual Developmental Stages (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que le complexe Electra?

Qu'est-ce que le complexe Electra?

Janvier 22, 2022

Le Complexe Electra C'est l'un des concepts les plus célèbres proposés par Carl Gustav Jung.

Cet auteur, en tant que membre du courant psychodynamique et disciple de Sigmund Freud, s'est concentré sur le développement de la personnalité durant les premières étapes de l'enfance, à partir de là, afin de proposer des idées sur la manière dont ces expériences laissent une marque se comporter et penser aux êtres humains une fois qu'ils sont devenus adultes.

Le complexe Electra, lié à la théorie du développement psychosexuel, est la façon dont Jung adapte le complexe d'Œdipe de Freud au cas des femmes. Cependant, il est proposé comme quelque chose de plus qu'une simple adaptation de l'Œdipe au cas féminin. Voyons de quoi il s'agit.


En commençant par le précédent: les théories de Freud

Comme nous l'avons vu dans l'article de la théorie du développement psychosexuel de Freud, le père de la psychanalyse en est venu à attacher une grande importance à la manière dont la sexualité est gérée pendant les premiers mois et les premières années de notre vie.

Freud a laissé l’idée que, selon la manière dont nous exerçons nos pulsions sexuelles pendant l’enfance et au début de l’adolescence (et le succès que nous avons dans la tâche de réguler correctement la libido), nous allons développer des problèmes plus ou moins psychologiques. atteindre le stade adulte.

Donc, si nous ne satisfaisons pas correctement cette partie de notre esprit inconscient qui, selon Freud, gouverne notre façon de nous comporter, nous allons développer des fixations qui peuvent céder la place à des troubles mentaux et aux comportements considérés comme sexuellement aberrants.


Le complexe d'Œdipe

Le complexe d'Œdipe est l'un des phénomènes qui, selon Sigmund Freud, apparaît dans le soi-disant stade phallique du développement psychosexuel , entre 3 et 6 ans.

Dans celui-ci, les fils passent par les phases suivantes:

  • Ils commencent à développer un fort désir envers leurs mères (ou envers les femmes qui exercent le rôle de mères).
  • Ils observent que la mère a un lien émotionnel et intime fort avec son mari, c’est-à-dire le père, et ils passent du temps seuls.
  • Ils développent de la jalousie envers leurs parents et ils commencent à penser à lui en termes hostiles. Mais, en même temps, ils les craignent, car la figure du père est perçue comme une version supérieure et plus forte d’eux-mêmes.
  • À ce moment-là, chaque enfant craint que son père découvre les sentiments qu'il éprouve envers sa mère. . La castration est la façon dont le plus grand châtiment est symbolisé.

Le complexe Electra de Carl Jung


Malgré le fait que la plupart des personnes avec qui il traitait en clinique étaient des patientes, Sigmund Freud développa une théorie du développement psychosexuel centrée essentiellement sur le cas de ce qui se passe chez l'homme, laissant de côté le développement du les femmes

Carl Jung a essayé de résoudre ce "vide théorique" en développant sa théorie du complexe Electra vers 1912.

Qui était Electra?

Jung était un universitaire très axé sur l’étude du symbolisme, car il avait beaucoup de poids dans ses idées sur la façon dont l’esprit humain est en partie collectif et soumis aux symboles utilisés dans la culture. (Voir sa théorie sur les archétypes). C’est pourquoi, entre autres, pour définir le complexe d’Œdipe, il s’est concentré sur la part de la mythologie grecque homérique dans laquelle la vie de Electra , la fille de Agamemnon et Clytemnestre , Roi et reine de Mycènes.

La légende raconte que c’est la propre mère d’Électre, ou son amant, qui a tué Agamemnon après son retour du Guerre de Troie . Electra décida alors que sa mère et son amant devaient mourir et encouragea son frère Oreste de sorte qu'il vengerait le père des deux auteurs des meurtres.

Les caractéristiques du complexe Electra

Le complexe Electra peut être compris comme la version féminine du complexe d'Œdipe , mais ce n'est pas exactement comme ça. S'il est vrai que la situation de départ est semblable, l'attirance de la fille pour le père et que cet amour du père suscite une rivalité avec la mère, il existe des différences entre la théorie du complexe d'Œdipe et celle du complexe. de Electra.

Le lien avec la mère

Carl Jung pensait que le lien affectif entre la fille et sa mère était plus étroit que celui entre le fils et le père, de sorte que le complexe Electra a tendance à être plus déguisé, car le degré d'attachement est plus grand et compense la rivalité entre mère et fille.

Œdipe naissant

Selon Jung, les filles sont d'abord attirées à la fois par leurs parents et par leur mère, mais peu de temps après, elles se concentrent uniquement sur le père en raison d'un mécanisme de conservation de l'espèce.

La peur de la punition

Alors que, dans le complexe d'Œdipe, l'enfant de sexe masculin craint que son père ne soit jeté avec lui, dans le complexe d'Electra, la fille en vient à la conclusion qu'elle a déjà été castrée.

La résolution du complexe Electra

Selon Freud et selon Jung, le passage à travers les complexes d'Œdipe et d'Electre, respectivement, ce sont des phases qui font partie du développement normal de la plupart des enfants . D'une certaine manière, ils soulignent comment le développement psychique de l'être humain se produit dès ses premières années de vie.

C'est pourquoi ils pensaient que les deux phénomènes étaient résolus en 2 ou 3 ans, alors que dans quelques cas, la rivalité entre enfants et parents et filles et mères était enracinée et détériorait leur relation.

Un rappel

Il faut se rappeler que les complexes Electra et Oedipus font partie d’idées totalement dépassées et largement répandues. rejeté en psychologie scientifique contemporaine ; Cela signifie qu'aucun père ou mère ne devrait avoir peur de développer de mauvais liens avec ses enfants à cause de la mauvaise gestion de ces processus qui, en réalité, n'existent que dans les théories de Freud et Jung.

Les théories proposées par ces deux auteurs utilisent la pensée douce et les métaphores comme moyens de comprendre l'esprit humain. Ce fait a été prisonnier des philosophes de la science, parmi lesquels Karl Popper a souligné, a rejeté les approches de ces auteurs pour leur interprétation trop interprétable. et ambigu, peu utile pour analyser des cas spécifiques.

Cependant, cela ne signifie pas qu'il n'est pas utile de connaître ces théories, ils sont très intégrés au patrimoine culturel des pays occidentaux . Ainsi, le complexe Electra a été utilisé dans la littérature, le cinéma et toutes sortes d’expressions artistiques, et même comme un outil herméneutique permettant d’analyser et d’interpréter des événements historiques, sociaux et politiques de toutes sortes.


Daddy Issues Explained - Freud's PsychoSexual Developmental Stages (Janvier 2022).


Articles Connexes