yes, therapy helps!
What is the etiology?

What is the etiology?

September 16, 2022

From the most remote antiquity, the human being has always wondered about the reality and the circumstances that surround its passage through the world. Where do we come from and what surrounds us? Where we go? Why do we exist? How are the creatures, conditions and phenomena we observe explained? And one of the questions that perhaps we have asked the most when observing a phenomenon, action or situation: what is its cause?

It is possible that when we hear a doctor, psychologist or other professional, he will use the word etiology at some point to solve some of the previous questions, a word that may be infrequent or unknown to most people. What is the etiology? In this article, we will briefly analyze this concept .


  • Related article: "The 12 branches (or fields) of Psychology"

The etiology concept

The etiology is the branch of science that is responsible for the study and analysis of the cause or genesis of things , phenomena or situations.

It is important to take into account and emphasize that it is a scientific study, analyzing and exploring the variables that can generate the analyzed phenomena. To do this, experimental methodology is used to analyze the relationships between different variables.

In this way, the concept of etiology would not include beliefs that are not empirically and experimentally contrasted, although they also try to give a meaning and attribute an origin to different aspects of reality. However, although it is not a term widely used by the general population, it is often used at a popular level to talk about the cause attributed to a phenomenon even though this linkage is not proven.


Analyzing a phenomenon by parts

We must bear in mind that in any natural process there are always many factors that influence more directly or indirectly what is being studied. Therefore, through the etiology we try to clarify which are the main processes or phenomena that explain something, assuming that probably they will not be the only ones and that surely there are many others behind them.

So, what we are trying to do is break down a phenomenon into parts and put the focus on its root, understanding that the cause that interests us must provide a combination of Completeness and simplicity to the explanation of what happens .

Not only the direct cause

In addition to the causes themselves, It also allows to establish factors and variables that are directly involved in the genesis. of what has been studied or that make it difficult.


The predisposing or protective factors that participate or make it less likely the appearance of, for example, a disease are studied and analyzed. The triggers and enhancers are also worked on.

In conclusion, the variables that interact to cause a situation are studied, taking into account that in general there is no single cause.

The etiology in the sciences

The etiology is a science that in turn is part of many other disciplines, since the latter also explores the reason or cause of the phenomena of a particular field of knowledge. Next we will see how the etiology is applied and in different areas.

1. Medicine

In the field of medicine the term etiology is used to talk about the cause of diseases and disorders suffered by users or patients.

The origin of a disease is sought in order to understand the mechanism of action and the functioning of this and from that knowledge and research and generate treatments that can cure or relieve their symptoms.

The causes in question are usually biological and in many cases can be very clear, although the same disease can have different causes in different cases.

2. Psychology

In the field of psychology, the etiology also looks for the causes of an individual having different cognitions or beliefs, whether or not he performs a specific behavior or the factors that cause a mental disorder.

In this area, the study of causes is relatively more complex than in the previous case, given that mental phenomena are not directly observable. It is necessary to extrapolate the information from the relationships established between different variables.

3. Sociology

In sociology, the etiology is responsible for searching, studying and analyzing the factors that explain the origin of a particular social phenomenon.

Aspects such as leadership, the formation of a group and phenomena such as group polarization, the existence of urban tribes, beliefs and customs are examples of topics from which the origin is sought in sociology (and also from social psychology).

4. Biology

As in medicine, biology also discusses the cause or etiology of the different biological processes that occur both in our species and in others.

The origin of processes and phenomena such as reproduction, feeding, migration or the characteristics of living beings, for example, is analyzed. Depending on whether the focus is on the micro or macro, the etiology sought will vary.

5. Right

In law, the word etiology is not as commonly used as in the health sciences, but in this area it also has its application.

Thus, the causes that have led to the commission of a crime, or certain rules and laws, and that is the element that explains more about what happened is sought.

Bibliographic references:

  • Aetiology. Oxford English Dictionary (2002). Oxford University Press.
  • Longmore, M., Wilkinson, I., Baldwin, A. and Wallin, E. (2014). Oxford Handbook of Clinical Medicine. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

What is ETIOLOGY? What does ETIOLOGY mean? ETIOLOGY meaning, definition & explanation (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quelle est l'étiologie?

Quelle est l'étiologie?

Janvier 27, 2023

Depuis l’antiquité la plus reculée, l’être humain s’est toujours interrogé sur la réalité et les circonstances qui entourent son passage dans le monde. D'où venons-nous et qu'est-ce qui nous entoure? Où allons nous? Pourquoi existons-nous? Comment les créatures, les conditions et les phénomènes observés sont-ils expliqués? Et l'une des questions que nous avons peut-être le plus souvent posées lors de l'observation d'un phénomène, d'une action ou d'une situation: quelle en est la cause?

Il est possible que lorsque nous entendons un médecin, un psychologue ou un autre professionnel, il utilise le mot étiologie à un moment donné pour résoudre certaines des questions précédentes, mot qui peut être peu fréquent ou inconnu de la plupart des gens. Quelle est l'étiologie? Dans cet article, nous analyserons brièvement ce concept .


  • Article connexe: "Les 12 branches (ou domaines) de la psychologie"

Le concept d'étiologie

L'étiologie est la branche de la science responsable de l'étude et de l'analyse de la cause ou de la genèse des choses , des phénomènes ou des situations.

Il est important de prendre en compte et de souligner qu’il s’agit d’une étude scientifique analysant et explorant les variables pouvant générer les phénomènes analysés. Pour ce faire, une méthodologie expérimentale est utilisée pour analyser les relations entre différentes variables.

De cette manière, le concept d'étiologie n'incluerait pas des croyances qui ne seraient pas contrastées empiriquement et expérimentalement, bien qu'elles tentent également de donner un sens et d'attribuer une origine à différents aspects de la réalité. Cependant, bien que ce terme ne soit pas largement utilisé par la population en général, il est souvent utilisé à un niveau populaire pour parler de la cause attribuée à un phénomène, même si ce lien n’est pas prouvé.


Analyser un phénomène par parties

Nous devons garder à l'esprit que dans tout processus naturel, de nombreux facteurs influencent plus directement ou indirectement ce qui est étudié. Par conséquent, à travers l'étiologie, nous essayons de clarifier quels sont les processus ou phénomènes principaux qui expliquent quelque chose, en supposant qu'ils ne seront probablement pas les seuls et qu'il y en a sûrement beaucoup d'autres.

Nous essayons donc de diviser un phénomène en plusieurs parties et de mettre l’accent sur sa racine, sachant que la cause qui nous intéresse doit fournir une combinaison de Complétude et simplicité pour expliquer ce qui se passe .

Non seulement la cause directe

En plus des causes elles-mêmes, Cela permet également d'établir des facteurs et des variables directement impliqués dans la genèse. de ce qui a été étudié ou qui le rend difficile.


Les facteurs prédisposants ou protecteurs qui participent ou rendent moins probable l'apparition, par exemple, d'une maladie sont étudiés et analysés. Les déclencheurs et les activateurs sont également travaillés.

En conclusion, les variables qui interagissent pour créer une situation sont étudiées, en tenant compte du fait qu’il n’ya généralement pas de cause unique.

L'étiologie dans les sciences

L'étiologie est une science qui fait à son tour partie de nombreuses autres disciplines, dans la mesure où celles-ci explorent également la raison ou la cause des phénomènes d'un domaine particulier de la connaissance. Nous verrons ensuite comment l'étiologie est appliquée et dans différents domaines.

1. médecine

Dans le domaine de la médecine, le terme étiologie est utilisé pour parler de la cause des maladies et des troubles dont souffrent les utilisateurs ou les patients.

L'origine d'une maladie est recherchée afin de comprendre le mécanisme d'action et le fonctionnement de celle-ci et à partir de ces connaissances et recherches et de générer des traitements pouvant guérir ou soulager leurs symptômes.

Les causes en question sont généralement biologiques et peuvent dans de nombreux cas être très claires, bien que la même maladie puisse avoir différentes causes dans différents cas.

2. psychologie

Dans le domaine de la psychologie, l'étiologie recherche également les causes d'un individu ayant des cognitions ou des croyances différentes, qu'il ait ou non un comportement spécifique ou les facteurs à l'origine d'un trouble mental.

Dans ce domaine, l'étude des causes est relativement plus complexe que dans le cas précédent, étant donné que les phénomènes mentaux ne sont pas directement observables. Il est nécessaire d'extrapoler les informations à partir des relations établies entre différentes variables.

3. sociologie

En sociologie, l'étiologie est chargée de rechercher, d'étudier et d'analyser les facteurs expliquant l'origine d'un phénomène social particulier.

Des aspects tels que le leadership, la formation d'un groupe et des phénomènes tels que la polarisation des groupes, l'existence de tribus urbaines, les croyances et les coutumes sont des exemples de sujets dont l'origine est recherchée en sociologie (et également en psychologie sociale).

4. biologie

Comme en médecine, la biologie aborde également la cause ou l'étiologie des différents processus biologiques qui se produisent à la fois chez notre espèce et chez d'autres.

L'origine des processus et des phénomènes tels que la reproduction, l'alimentation, la migration ou les caractéristiques des êtres vivants, par exemple, est analysée. Selon que l'on se concentre sur le micro ou le macro, l'étiologie recherchée variera.

5. droit

En droit, le mot étiologie n'est pas aussi utilisé que dans les sciences de la santé, mais il a aussi son application dans ce domaine.

Ainsi, les causes qui ont conduit à la commission d'un crime, ou certaines règles et lois, et c'est l'élément qui explique davantage ce qui s'est passé est recherché.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Étiologie. Oxford English Dictionary (2002). Oxford University Press.
  • Longmore, M., I. Wilkinson, A. Baldwin et E. Wallin (2014). Oxford Manuel de médecine clinique. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Quelles sont les causes connues de la maladie de Parkinson ? (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes