yes, therapy helps!
What is the Flow of Consciousness (in Psychology)?

What is the Flow of Consciousness (in Psychology)?

October 23, 2020

The term "Flow of Consciousness" was coined by William James at the end of the 19th century, to refer to how thoughts emanate and circulate in the conscious mind . Through this concept, James analyzed the great variety of thoughts we are aware of and how they shape the flow of consciousness.

Next, we will see what the idea of ​​the flow of William James's consciousness consists of, what its attributes are and how our thoughts conform.

The Flow of Consciousness: background and definition

In the year of 1889, the American William James published one of the works that consecrates him as one of the fathers of psychology: "The Principles of Psychology" (The principles of psychology). In this book he explored and described consciousness in terms of a "flow" or "flow", that is, as a continuous succession of experiences through which we select or direct our attention to certain stimuli.


Among other things James had the concern, like many other scientists and philosophers of the time, to explore the contents of consciousness and know the way in which we carry out that complex action we call "thinking", and what is more: how is it that we realize (we become conscious) that we are thinking.

He called it "flow" (stream, in the original English), to make a metaphorical reference about a kind of caravan of ideas, images, feelings, sensations, thoughts, etc., that appear and disappear constantly in our consciousness.

According to this idea, all the previous elements, contrary to what used to be thought, are not so separated and differentiated from each other; they are part of the same conscious flow where past and current thoughts are connected.


There is then an overlap of our cognitive experiences , where the current experience may be the easiest to recognize for immediate, but it happens that past experiences continue to be present, and the next gradually enter the flow.

That is to say, the mental states succeed one another. There are no "isolated thoughts", but all of them are in the same current of continuous consciousness, regardless of temporality and even what we can anticipate or decide.

4 descriptive properties of the Flow of Consciousness

According to Tornay and Milan (1999), the four descriptive properties James attributes to the flow of consciousness are the following:

  • Each mental state tends to be part of a personal consciousness
  • Within the personal consciousness, the mental states are in constant change
  • The personal conscience is continuous
  • Consciousness fixes interest in some parts of its object, excluding others, and chooses among them.

How do we think?

William James said that consciousness, and more specifically thought, follows a process that in appearance is necessarily directed by intelligence . However, according to the psychologist, not necessarily the figure of the "thinker" has to manifest as a leader.


Rather, the action of thinking is a goal-oriented process, which is fundamentally driven by the sense of satisfaction we experience when we are reaching these goals.

The thought would then be an automated process that has been consolidated as a logical result of our evolution, that is, does not want the existence of an independent or spiritual entity to guide this process. In other words, far from there being an entity (ourselves) separated from our conscience, dictating the ways that it follows; the conscious state is rather a process directed by our desire to experience satisfaction under the belief that our thoughts lead us to fulfill something.

Determinism and free will

Inevitably, some questions derived from determinism and free will in human beings are derived from here. We could quickly draw the conclusion that, for James, humans experience, feel and think as automatons.

However, James suggests that human beings are, rather than automatons, sectoral organs . This is because, although we can not consciously select what will initially appear in our consciousness, we can choose which element we keep there or not once it has been present; or before what encouragement we remain attentive and before which no.

Although this was a discussion present in much of his work, James moves the debate on free will into the fields of philosophy, clarifying that psychology, as a science, should be added to a more deterministic tradition of consciousness.

Bibliographic references:

  • Carreira, J. (2013). William James, The stream consciousness and free will. Philosophy is not a luxury. Retrieved August 10, 2018. Available at // philosophyisnotaluxury.com/2013/03/21/william-james-the-stream-of-consciousness-and-freewill/
  • Tornay, F.J. and Milan, E. (1999). James's ideas on the flow of consciousness and current scientific theories of consciousness. Journal of the history of psychology, 20 (3-4): 187-196.

Consciousness - Crash Course Psychology #8 (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est le flux de conscience (en psychologie)?

Quel est le flux de conscience (en psychologie)?

Septembre 9, 2022

Le terme "flux de conscience" a été inventé par William James à la fin du 19ème siècle, pour se référer à comment les pensées émanent et circulent dans l'esprit conscient . À travers ce concept, James a analysé la grande variété de pensées que nous connaissons et comment elles façonnent le flux de conscience.

Ensuite, nous verrons en quoi consiste l’idée du flux de conscience de William James, quels sont ses attributs et comment nos pensées se conforment.

Le flux de conscience: contexte et définition

En 1889, l’Américain William James publie l’une des œuvres qui le consacre comme l’un des pères de la psychologie: "The Principles of Psychology" (Les principes de la psychologie). Dans ce livre, il a exploré et décrit la conscience en termes de "flux" ou "flux", c'est-à-dire comme une succession continue d'expériences à travers lesquelles nous sélectionnons ou dirigons notre attention sur certains stimuli.


Comme beaucoup d’autres scientifiques et philosophes de son époque, James souhaitait explorer le contenu de la conscience et connaître la manière dont nous menons cette action complexe que nous appelons "penser". plus: comment est-ce que nous réalisons (nous devenons conscients) que nous pensons.

Il a appelé ça "couler" (ruisseau, dans l’original anglais), de faire une référence métaphorique à une sorte de caravane d’idées, d’images, de sentiments, de sensations, de pensées, etc., qui apparaissent et disparaissent constamment dans notre conscience.

Selon cette idée, tous les éléments précédents, contrairement à ce que l’on pensait, ne sont pas ainsi séparés et différenciés les uns des autres; ils font partie du même flux conscient où les pensées passées et actuelles sont connectées.


Il y a alors un chevauchement de nos expériences cognitives , où l’expérience actuelle peut être la plus facile à reconnaître comme immédiate, mais il arrive que les expériences passées continuent d’être présentes et que les suivantes entrent progressivement dans le flot.

C'est-à-dire que les états mentaux se succèdent. Il n'y a pas de "pensées isolées", mais toutes sont dans le même courant de conscience continue, indépendamment de la temporalité et même de ce que nous pouvons anticiper ou décider.

4 propriétés descriptives du flux de conscience

Selon Tornay et Milan (1999), les quatre propriétés descriptives que James attribue au flux de conscience sont les suivantes:

  • Chaque état mental a tendance à faire partie d'une conscience personnelle
  • Au sein de la conscience personnelle, les états mentaux changent constamment
  • La conscience personnelle est continue
  • La conscience fixe son intérêt sur certaines parties de son objet, excluant d’autres, et choisit parmi elles.

Comment pensons-nous?

William James a dit que la conscience, et plus spécifiquement pensé, suit un processus qui, en apparence, est nécessairement dirigé par l'intelligence . Cependant, selon le psychologue, la figure du "penseur" ne doit pas nécessairement se manifester en tant que leader.


Au contraire, l'action de la pensée est un processus orienté vers un objectif, qui est fondamentalement guidé par le sentiment de satisfaction que nous éprouvons lorsque nous atteignons ces objectifs.

La pensée serait alors un processus automatisé qui a été consolidé comme résultat logique de notre évolution, c'est-à-dire qui ne veut pas l'existence d'une entité indépendante ou spirituelle pour guider ce processus. En d’autres termes, loin d’être une entité (nous-même) séparée de notre conscience, dictant la manière dont elle suit; l'état de conscience est plutôt un processus dirigé par notre désir de ressentir de la satisfaction en croyant que nos pensées nous conduisent à accomplir quelque chose.

Déterminisme et libre arbitre

Inévitablement, certaines questions dérivées du déterminisme et du libre arbitre chez les êtres humains en découlent. Nous pourrions rapidement tirer la conclusion que, pour James, les humains expérimentent, ressentent et pensent comme des automates.

Cependant, James suggère que les êtres humains sont, plutôt que des automates, des organes sectoriels . En effet, bien que nous ne puissions pas choisir consciemment ce qui apparaîtra initialement dans notre conscience, nous pouvons choisir quel élément nous y gardons ou non une fois qu'il a été présent; ou devant quels encouragements nous restons attentifs et devant lesquels non.

Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une discussion présente dans une grande partie de son travail, James déplace le débat sur le libre arbitre dans les domaines de la philosophie, précisant que la psychologie, en tant que science, devrait être ajoutée à une tradition de conscience plus déterministe.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Carreira, J. (2013). William James, La conscience du courant et le libre arbitre. La philosophie n'est pas un luxe. Récupéré le 10 août 2018. Disponible à l'adresse // philosopheisnotaluxury.com/2013/03/21/william-james-the-stream-of-consciousness-and-freewill/.
  • Tornay, F.J. et Milan, E. (1999). Les idées de James sur le flux de conscience et les théories scientifiques actuelles sur la conscience. Journal de l'histoire de la psychologie, 20 (3-4): 187-196.

La Conscience (avec Monsieur Phi) — Science étonnante #48 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes