yes, therapy helps!
What is the frontal lobe and how does it work?

What is the frontal lobe and how does it work?

September 18, 2022

The frontal lobe It is one of the most studied and interesting parts of the brain from the point of view of psychology, neuropsychology and neurosciences in general. It is not only known for being the largest lobe in the human brain, but also for the very important functions and capacities whose existence we owe to this structure . What capabilities are these?

  • You may be interested in this post: "The lobes of the brain and its various functions"

Basically the functions of the frontal lobe are all those that we attribute exclusively to the rational beings , with its own criteria, with the possibility of acting according to complex strategies and well prepared to live in very large societies.


The importance of the frontal lobe

The difference between having a frontal lobe as that of adult and healthy human beings and not having them is the difference between being an organism guided basically by impulses and emotions or another that, in spite of being motivated fundamentally by emotional states generated by the limbic system, is able to postpone these impulses to follow elaborate plans and opt to achieve abstract objectives or located at a point very far in time.

However, the role of the frontal lobe goes beyond being a set of neurons and glia that allows long-term thinking. We will explore your potential in the following lines.

How is the frontal lobe?

The frontal lobe is an anatomical structure located in the most frontal part of the brain, that is, closer to the face. It is separated from the parietal lobe by the Fissure of Rolandor (or Central Fissure) and the temporal lobe by the Fissure of Silvio (or Lateral Fissure). In addition, in the human brain the frontal lobes are the largest of all, since occupy approximately one third of the entire cerebral cortex .


Although it can be considered one of the many parts of the brain, we must bear in mind that the frontal lobes do not work on their own, and that they only take on meaning as a brain structure when they work in coordination with the rest of the brain.

Delving into details

It is often said that the frontal lobe is the part of the brain that most differentiates us from other animals . While it is true that the brains of our species are different from those of the rest in many more aspects that affect their globality, this affirmation is, in part, true.

Why? Because our brain lobes are not only the largest proportionally, but also the only ones that make possible the existence of a great variety of unique functions and capabilities.

The importance of executive functions

The frontal lobes of the brain stand out especially for the fact of being very involved in the calls executive functions . These functions are those that we associate with cognition and decision making: the use of memory, planning, the selection of objectives, and the resolution of specific problems that have to be addressed by focusing attention on specific aspects.


In general terms, it can be said that the frontal lobe of each hemisphere s go to convert the information about the environment in matter from which to decide what is done and design an action plan to intervene on what surrounds us. In some way, it is the part of the brain thanks to which we stop becoming passive subjects to become active agents, with the ability to change things by responding to specific objectives chosen by us from what we have been learning.

The frontal lobe does not operate in isolation

Of course, all this does not do it alone. It is impossible to understand how the frontal lobe works without also knowing how other brain structures work , of which not only receives information but also work coordinating with it in real time and at a dizzying speed. Thus, for example, to initiate a sequence of voluntary movements, the frontal lobe requires that the basal ganglia are activated, related to the execution of automated movements resulting from past experiences and continuous repetition.

Some basic functions of the frontal lobe

Between the executive functions and processes that we associate with the frontal lobe we can find the following:

Meta-thought

That is to say, the ability to think in the abstract about things that are only present in our imagination , since we do not evoke the fact of being registered by our senses at that particular moment. It is also important to note that this type of thinking can have several degrees of abstraction, which includes the possibility of thinking about how we think. It is in this type of processes that Cognitive-Behavioral Therapies intervene.

Management of working memory

Lesions in certain parts of the frontal lobe they cause the working memory to be affected . This means that the frontal lobe has a role in keeping a type of "transient" memory information related to a problem that must be solved in real time, and once solved it will lose their value. Thanks to this cognitive capacity, we can carry out complex tasks in real time, tasks that require taking into account different variables and pieces of information.

Long-term ideation

Currently it is believed that the frontal lobe allows to project past experiences in future situations , all from the rules and dynamics that have been learned along the way. At the same time, this allows to place objectives, goals and even needs at a point very far from the present, months or years away.

Planning

Think about the future allows you to imagine plans and strategies , in addition to its possible results and consequences. The prefrontal lobe not only "creates" possible future scenes in our mind, but also helps us navigate through them looking for our own goals.

Thus, while other parts of the brain are designed to guide us towards more short-term goals, the frontal lobes allow us to aspire to goals of a more abstract nature, thanks to which we are able to cooperate, since the chains of actions that They are long enough and complex enough to accommodate more people.

Control of one's behavior

The orbital zone of the frontal lobe (that is, the lower part of this, which is close to the orbits of the eyes) is in constant relation with the impulses that come from the zone of the limbic system, the structure in which the emotions originate. That is why one of its functions is to cushion the effects of these signals , to avoid that certain emotional outbursts and impulses that need to be satisfied as soon as possible hinder the plans whose goal is located in the long term. In short, all this facilitates the self-control.

Social cognition

The frontal lobes allow us to attribute mental and emotional states to others , and that this influences our behavior. In this way, we internalize possible mental states of the people around us. This, together with that as we have seen the frontal lobes allow us to plan taking into account other people, makes these areas of the cerebral cortex predispose us to create complex social tissues.

Parts of the frontal lobe

We could spend days, weeks and even months recapitulating all the sub-structures that can be found in a common frontal lobe, since it is always possible to go to infinity one part into smaller ones. However, it can be said that The main areas of the frontal lobe are the following :

1. Motor cortex

The motor cortex is the part of the frontal lobe involved in the processes of planning, execution and control of movements volunteers. It can be understood that it is in this part of the brain where the information about the environment and about the information that is processed in the brain is converted into action, that is, into electrical signals designed to activate the muscles of the body.

The motor cortex is located right next to Rolando's fissure, and therefore receives a lot of information from the somatosensory area that is just on the other side of this "boundary", in the parietal lobe.

The motor cortex is divided into primary motor cortex, pre-motor cortex and supplementary motor area.

Primary motor cortex (M1)

It is in this area where a large part of the nerve impulses that will go down the spine to activate specific muscles originate.

Pre-motor cortex (APM)

The pre-motor cortex is the part of the frontal lobe responsible for making the learning of past experiences influence the movement technique. For this reason, it has a very important role in the movements that we constantly carry out and of which we are "experts", such as those associated with postural control and proximal movements (that is, those performed with parts of the trunk or areas). very close to him). It works by receiving information from the basal ganglia and the thalamus, especially.

Supplementary motor area (AMS)

It is involved in the realization of very precise movements, such as those that require the use of the fingers in a coordinated manner.

2. Prefrontal cortex

Many of the characteristics and traits that we attribute exclusively to our species have their neural base in this region of the frontal lobe: the ability to repress impulses and to think about abstract ideas , the imagination of possible future situations based on what we have seen in the past and the internalization of social norms. In fact, some faculties and cognitive functions that are normally attributed to the frontal lobes in general, exist, specifically, thanks to the prefrontal cortex, which is the region of the cortex that has evolved most recently.

3. Broca's area

This area is involved in the realization of concrete movements to articulate speech . Therefore, from here signals are issued that will go to the tongue, larynx and mouth.

Bibliographic references:

  • Goldberg E. (2001). The executive brain.
  • Shammi P, Stuss DT. (1999). Humor appreciation: a role of the right frontal lobe. Brain.
  • Zalla T, Pradat-Diehl and P, Sirigu A. (2003). Perception of action boundaries in patients with frontal lobe damage. Neuropsychology

065 The Anatomy and Functions of the Frontal Lobe (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que le lobe frontal et comment ça marche?

Qu'est-ce que le lobe frontal et comment ça marche?

Février 24, 2021

Le lobe frontal C'est l'une des parties du cerveau les plus étudiées et les plus intéressantes du point de vue de la psychologie, de la neuropsychologie et des neurosciences en général. Il est connu non seulement pour être le plus grand lobe du cerveau humain, mais aussi pour la fonctions et capacités très importantes dont nous devons l'existence à cette structure . Quelles sont ces capacités?

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé par ce post: "Les lobes du cerveau et ses différentes fonctions"

Fondamentalement, les fonctions du lobe frontal sont toutes celles que nous attribuons exclusivement à la êtres rationnels , avec ses propres critères, avec la possibilité d’agir selon des stratégies complexes et bien préparés à vivre dans de très grandes sociétés.


L'importance du lobe frontal

La différence entre le fait d'avoir un lobe frontal identique à celui d'un adulte et celui d'un être humain en bonne santé et le fait de ne pas en avoir est la différence entre un organisme guidé essentiellement par des impulsions et des émotions ou un autre par le système limbique, est capable de reporter ces impulsions pour suivre des plans élaborés et opter pour atteindre des objectifs abstraits ou se situer à un point très lointain.

Cependant, le rôle du lobe frontal ne se limite pas à un ensemble de neurones et de cellules gliales permettant une réflexion à long terme. Nous explorerons votre potentiel dans les lignes suivantes.

Comment est le lobe frontal?

Le lobe frontal est une structure anatomique située dans la partie la plus frontale du cerveau, c'est-à-dire plus près du visage. Il est séparé du lobe pariétal par le Fissure de rolando (ou Fissure centrale) et le lobe temporal par le Fissure de Silvio (ou fissure latérale). En outre, dans le cerveau humain, les lobes frontaux sont les plus grands, car occuper environ un tiers de la totalité du cortex cérébral .


Bien que cela puisse être considéré comme l'une des nombreuses parties du cerveau, il ne faut pas oublier que les lobes frontaux ne fonctionnent pas seuls et qu'ils ne prennent tout leur sens comme structure du cerveau que lorsqu'ils travaillent en coordination avec le reste du cerveau.

Plonger dans les détails

On dit souvent que le lobe frontal est la partie du cerveau qui nous différencie le plus des autres animaux . S'il est vrai que les cerveaux de notre espèce diffèrent de ceux du reste sous de nombreux autres aspects qui affectent leur globalité, cette affirmation est en partie vraie.

Parce que? Parce que nos lobes cérébraux sont non seulement les plus gros, mais aussi les seuls à permettre l’existence d’une grande variété de fonctions et de capacités uniques.

L'importance des fonctions exécutives

Les lobes frontaux du cerveau se distinguent surtout par le fait d’être très impliqués dans les appels fonctions exécutives . Ces fonctions sont celles que nous associons à la cognition et à la prise de décision: utilisation de la mémoire, planification, sélection des objectifs et résolution des problèmes spécifiques devant être résolus en concentrant l’attention sur des aspects spécifiques.


En termes généraux, on peut dire que le lobe frontal de chaque hémisphère s aller convertir les informations sur l'environnement en question pour décider de ce qui est fait et concevoir un plan d'action pour intervenir sur ce qui nous entoure. D'une certaine manière, c'est la partie du cerveau grâce à laquelle nous cessons de devenir des sujets passifs pour devenir des agents actifs, avec la capacité de changer les choses en répondant à des objectifs spécifiques choisis par nous de ce que nous avons appris.

Le lobe frontal ne fonctionne pas en vase clos

Bien sûr, tout cela ne se fait pas seul. Il est impossible de comprendre le fonctionnement du lobe frontal sans connaître le fonctionnement d'autres structures cérébrales. , dont non seulement reçoit des informations, mais travaille également à les coordonner en temps réel et à une vitesse vertigineuse. Ainsi, par exemple, pour initier une séquence de mouvements volontaires, le lobe frontal nécessite que les ganglions de la base soient activés, en relation avec l'exécution de mouvements automatisés résultant d'expériences passées et d'une répétition continue.

Quelques fonctions de base du lobe frontal

Entre les fonctions et processus exécutifs que nous associons au lobe frontal, nous pouvons trouver ce qui suit:

Méta-pensée

C'est-à-dire, la capacité de penser de manière abstraite à propos de choses qui ne sont présentes que dans notre imagination , puisque nous n’évoquons pas le fait d’être enregistrés par nos sens à ce moment particulier. Il est également important de noter que ce type de pensée peut avoir plusieurs degrés d'abstraction, ce qui inclut la possibilité de réfléchir à notre façon de penser. C’est dans ce type de processus que les thérapies cognitivo-comportementales interviennent.

Gestion de la mémoire de travail

Lésions dans certaines parties du lobe frontal ils affectent la mémoire de travail . Cela signifie que le lobe frontal a pour rôle de conserver un type d'informations de mémoire "transitoire" liées à un problème qui doit être résolu en temps réel et qui, une fois résolu, perdront leur valeur. Grâce à cette capacité cognitive, nous pouvons effectuer des tâches complexes en temps réel, tâches qui nécessitent de prendre en compte différentes variables et informations.

Idéation à long terme

Actuellement, on pense que le lobe frontal permet de projeter des expériences passées dans des situations futures , tout des règles et de la dynamique qui ont été apprises en cours de route. En même temps, cela permet de placer les objectifs, les objectifs et même les besoins très loin du présent, de mois ou d’années.

La planification

Pensez à l'avenir vous permet d'imaginer des plans et des stratégies , en plus de ses résultats et conséquences possibles. Le lobe préfrontal non seulement "crée" de futures scènes dans notre esprit, il nous aide également à naviguer à travers celles-ci à la recherche de nos propres objectifs.

Ainsi, alors que d’autres parties du cerveau sont conçues pour nous guider vers des objectifs à plus court terme, les lobes frontaux nous permettent d’aspirer à des objectifs de nature plus abstraite, grâce auxquels nous pouvons coopérer, puisque les chaînes d’actions Ils sont assez longs et complexes pour accueillir plus de personnes.

Contrôle de son comportement

Le zone orbitale du lobe frontal (c'est-à-dire la partie inférieure de celle-ci, proche des orbites des yeux) est en relation constante avec les impulsions qui proviennent de la zone du système limbique, la structure dans laquelle les émotions ont leur origine. C'est pour ça que une de ses fonctions est d'amortir les effets de ces signaux , afin d’éviter que certaines explosions d’émotions et impulsions qui doivent être satisfaites au plus tôt entravent les projets dont l’objectif se situe à long terme. En bref, tout cela facilite la maîtrise de soi.

Cognition sociale

Les lobes frontaux nous permet d'attribuer des états mentaux et émotionnels à d'autres , et que cela influence notre comportement. De cette façon, nous intériorisons les états mentaux possibles des personnes qui nous entourent. Ceci, ajouté à celui vu que les lobes frontaux nous permettent de planifier la prise en compte d’autres personnes, fait que ces zones du cortex cérébral nous prédisposent à la création de tissus sociaux complexes.

Parties du lobe frontal

Nous pourrions passer des jours, des semaines et même des mois à récapituler toutes les sous-structures que l’on peut trouver dans un lobe frontal commun, puisqu’il est toujours possible de passer à l’infini d’une partie à une plus petite. Cependant, on peut dire que Les zones principales du lobe frontal sont les suivantes :

1. cortex moteur

Le cortex moteur est la partie du lobe frontal impliqué dans les processus de planification, d'exécution et de contrôle des mouvements des volontaires On comprend que c’est dans cette partie du cerveau que l’information sur l’environnement et sur l’information traitée dans le cerveau est convertie en action, c’est-à-dire en signaux électriques destinés à activer les muscles du corps.

Le cortex moteur est situé juste à côté de la fissure de Rolando et reçoit donc beaucoup d'informations de la région somatosensorielle située de l'autre côté de cette "limite", dans le lobe pariétal.

Le cortex moteur est divisé en cortex moteur primaire, en cortex pré-moteur et en zone motrice supplémentaire.

Cortex moteur primaire (M1)

C’est dans cette zone qu’une grande partie des impulsions nerveuses qui vont descendre dans la colonne vertébrale pour activer des muscles spécifiques sont générées.

Cortex pré-moteur (APM)

Le cortex pré-moteur est la partie du lobe frontal responsable de l’influence des apprentissages du passé sur la technique du mouvement. Pour cette raison, il joue un rôle très important dans les mouvements que nous effectuons constamment et que nous sommes des "experts", tels que ceux associés au contrôle postural et aux mouvements proximaux (c'est-à-dire ceux effectués avec des parties du tronc ou des zones). très proche de lui). Cela fonctionne en recevant des informations des ganglions de la base et du thalamus, en particulier.

Zone motrice supplémentaire (AMS)

Il est impliqué dans la réalisation de mouvements très précis, tels que ceux nécessitant l'utilisation des doigts de manière coordonnée.

2. cortex préfrontal

Bon nombre des caractéristiques et traits que nous attribuons exclusivement à notre espèce ont leur base neurale dans cette région du lobe frontal: la capacité de réprimer les pulsions et de réfléchir à des idées abstraites , l’imagination de situations futures possibles basées sur ce que nous avons vu dans le passé et l’internalisation des normes sociales. En fait, certaines facultés et fonctions cognitives normalement attribuées aux lobes frontaux existent, notamment grâce au cortex préfrontal, qui est la région du cortex qui a évolué le plus récemment.

3. La région de Broca

Cette zone est impliqué dans la réalisation de mouvements concrets pour articuler la parole . Par conséquent, à partir de là, des signaux sont émis pour atteindre la langue, le larynx et la bouche.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Goldberg E. (2001). Le cerveau exécutif.
  • Shammi P, Stuss DT. (1999). Appréciation de l’humour: rôle du lobe frontal droit. Cerveau.
  • Zalla T, Pradat-Diehl et P, Sirigu A. (2003). Perception des limites d'action chez les patients présentant des lésions du lobe frontal. Neuropsychologie

Le cerveau en 2 minutes : les 4 lobes du cerveau (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes