yes, therapy helps!
What is the IQ of a gifted?

What is the IQ of a gifted?

June 12, 2024

Each and every one of us possess certain cognitive abilities , varying greatly depending on each person. These allow us to be able to adapt to the environment and solve problems, establishing strategies and allowing us to carry out a great diversity of behaviors.

Assessing the degree to which we have them allows us to make a prediction of the ability to adapt and deal with situations, having developed different mechanisms for this. One of the concepts used to calculate intelligence is the IQ or IQ, which makes it possible to assess it and compare it with the population mean.

In most people we will find an intellectual capacity that is variable but is usually within the average. However, we can also find the case of people who either have less than average abilities (intellectual disability case) or they surpass it by far, the latter being the case of the gifted.


To establish at what point one passes from a normal intelligence to the high intellectual capacities could be difficult to the naked eye, but that is why concepts like the IC can be of some utility. What is the IQ of a gifted? Let's see it throughout this article.

  • Related article: "The theories of human intelligence"

Intelligence and IQ

Before going into depth on what is the IQ of a gifted, we must first mention what we call intelligence and what exactly we mean by the concept of intellectual quotient.

With regard to intelligence or cognitive ability, although the concept is known by all, there is great difficulty in providing a concrete, unitary definition that makes clear what its limits are in relation to other concepts. further there is a lot of controversy regarding the definition of this skill or ability , existing diverse theories on the matter that even discuss if we can consider it a unique capacity or rather a set of capacities or multiple intelligences.


In broad strokes, we understand as intelligence the ability of human beings (or other types of beings) to use their cognitive resources efficiently and optimally in order to adapt and respond to environmental demands, thanks to it and among other things, capturing and understanding internal or external information at great speed, generate strategies that allow the achievement of concrete objectives , solve problems or even anticipate events and anticipate difficulties.

The measurement of cognitive abilities

Although the concept to be treated may be this, the truth is that measuring something so intangible is complex. For this, one of the possible ways to do it is to evaluate the performance of the subject in different tasks that require the resolution of different types of tasks associated with intelligent behavior and from which to observe different facets of it.


In this sense, the first intelligence test was born, designed to evaluate the intellectual performance of children and made by Binet and Simon after having been commissioned by the French government (in order to evaluate the students and establish educational measures for those minors who could not follow an ordinary education). It would arise in one of the revisions of this test the concept of Mental Age, in which the mental capacity was valued according to the average age at which the majority of children could solve the same problems.

However, after observing that the existence of specific differences had different importance depending on age, psychologist William Stern would end up generating what is now known as Intellectual Quotient or IQ. This quotient is a method that evaluates the cognitive capacity based on the division of mental age and chronological age, multiplying it later by one hundred (thus eliminating decimals), and allows obtaining a comparable score with the measurement of other subjects of the same age .

It is this concept that is used today to the extent of intelligence , although there are several controversies in this regard (for example, it is necessary to take into account the Flynn effect through which the measured CI increases over the centuries not due to greater intelligence but to aspects such as greater contact with activities intellectuals and technological development).

What is the IQ of a gifted?

The Intellectual Quotient or CI is a relative measure of intelligence, whose meaning only makes sense compared to the average population. In this sense, it has been established that the intelligence follows a normal distribution in the population , considering the average of it a score of 100 and observing a standard deviation (a concept that tells us about the variability expected in the scores) of 15 points.

In this sense, we would consider a normal intelligence (the one that has most of the population) that reflects an IQ that oscillates between 85 and 115. Below 85 and up to 70 we talk about limit intelligence , and above 115 and even 130 brilliance or intellectually gifted people.

The existence of capacities well below or well above the average will be considered as such only when they exceed the two standard deviations above or below. Thus, only below an IC 70 we would be talking about intellectual disability (which as it went down would be getting more and more severe), while above 130 we would be talking about high abilities or giftedness.

In this way and responding to the question that gives rise to this article when we speak of gifted we are talking about people who in the evaluation of their intelligence or cognitive ability have obtained scores whose transformation to IQ would indicate an IQ higher than 130. is independent of sex or age , as long as we are before a subject over 12 years of age and the group with which the subject is compared is the same age group.

Does being gifted suppose to have a high Intellectual Quotient?

When we speak of a gifted person, it is easy to identify him with a person whose Intellectual Quotient is above 130. But, while this is not uncertain (in fact, the WHO definition is this), for some authors the mere possession of this level of capacity would not be enough to talk about true giftedness.

And it is that to obtain a certain score in an intelligence test that indicates an intellectual capacity above the average is not the only requirement to be considered gifted: it also takes into account that said intellectual capacity is shown in most domains and types of intelligence (that is, it would not be enough to be excellent in logical-mathematical skills or music, but also in other areas, in which case we would be just someone talented), know how to apply their abilities in an adaptive way and the existence of a high creativity or capacity for it.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Gifted students: individual differences between children with extraordinary intelligence"

Examples of giftedness

Giftedness is a very uncommon characteristic in the population, with about 2% of the population having high cognitive abilities. But nevertheless, many of them have made notable contributions and well-known figures from different fields have been made, including science, economics or art. Here are four well-known examples.

1. Marilyn Monroe

Norma Jean Baker, better known as Marilyn Monroe, was considered one of the sexiest and most attractive women in the world. But despite being remembered for its beauty, its films, its relationships and its tragic death, the truth is that behind it all was a woman with a level of intelligence superior to that of Albert Einstein. Specifically, five points above: Marilyn Monroe had an IC of 165.

2. Stephen Hawking

The recently deceased genius of physics and astrophysics, known for his studies on the universe and especially for his studies on black holes, he was a person with an extremely high IQ , with an IQ of 152.

3. Marilyn vos Savant

Maybe this name is not as well known in our country as the other two, but this writer and columnist of North American origin, who is also among other things director of finance at Jarvik Heart, lecturer (having been named one of the five most outstanding speakers in 1999) and member of societies such as Mensa or the National Association Council for Gifted Children is the person who holds the Guinness Record with the highest IQ, with an IQ of 228 .


IQ Tests and Gifted Children (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est le QI d'un surdoué?

Quel est le QI d'un surdoué?

Mai 11, 2021

Chacun d'entre nous possède certaines capacités cognitives , variant grandement en fonction de chaque personne. Celles-ci nous permettent de nous adapter à l’environnement et de résoudre des problèmes, d’établir des stratégies et de mener à bien une grande diversité de comportements.

Évaluer dans quelle mesure nous les avons nous permet de prédire la capacité d'adaptation et de faire face aux situations, après avoir mis au point différents mécanismes. L'un des concepts utilisés pour calculer l'intelligence est le QI ou le QI, ce qui permet de l'évaluer et de le comparer à la moyenne de la population.

Chez la plupart des gens, nous trouvons une capacité intellectuelle variable mais généralement dans les limites de la moyenne. Cependant, nous pouvons également trouver le cas de personnes qui ont des capacités inférieures à la moyenne (cas de déficience intellectuelle) ou les surpassent de loin, ce dernier cas étant celui des surdoués.


Établir à quel point on passe d’une intelligence normale à de grandes capacités intellectuelles pourrait être difficile à regarder à l’œil nu, mais c’est pourquoi des concepts tels que le CI peuvent être utiles. Quel est le QI d'un surdoué? Voyons cela tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

Intelligence et QI

Avant d’approfondir sur le quotient intellectuel d’un surdoué, nous devons d’abord mentionner ce que nous appelons l’intelligence et ce que nous entendons exactement par le concept de quotient intellectuel.

En ce qui concerne l'intelligence ou les capacités cognitives, bien que le concept soit connu de tous, il est très difficile de fournir une définition concrète et unitaire indiquant clairement ses limites par rapport à d'autres concepts. En outre il y a beaucoup de controverse concernant la définition de cette compétence ou capacité , diverses théories existantes sur le sujet qui discutent même si on peut considérer cela comme une capacité unique ou plutôt comme un ensemble de capacités ou d’intelligences multiples.


En gros, nous entendons par intelligence la capacité des êtres humains (ou d’autres types d’êtres) à utiliser leurs ressources cognitives de manière efficace et optimale, afin de s’adapter et de répondre aux demandes environnementales, grâce à elle et entre autres, capturer et comprendre des informations internes ou externes à grande vitesse, générer des stratégies permettant d'atteindre des objectifs concrets , résoudre des problèmes ou même anticiper des événements et anticiper des difficultés.

La mesure des capacités cognitives

Bien que le concept à traiter puisse être le même, la vérité est que mesurer quelque chose d'aussi intangible est complexe. Pour cela, l’un des moyens possibles consiste à évaluer les performances du sujet dans différentes tâches nécessitant la résolution de différents types de tâches associées à un comportement intelligent et à partir desquelles en observer différentes facettes.


En ce sens, est né le premier test d’intelligence destiné à évaluer les performances intellectuelles des enfants et fabriqué par Binet et Simon après avoir été commandé par le gouvernement français (afin d'évaluer les élèves et de mettre en place des mesures éducatives à l'intention des mineurs ne pouvant suivre une formation ordinaire). Dans l’une des révisions de ce test, le concept d’âge mental serait défini, dans lequel la capacité mentale serait évaluée en fonction de l’âge moyen auquel la majorité des enfants pourraient résoudre les mêmes problèmes.

Cependant, après avoir constaté que l’existence de différences spécifiques avait une importance différente selon l’âge, le psychologue William Stern finissait par générer ce qui est désormais connu sous le nom de quotient intellectuel ou QI. Ce quotient est une méthode qui évalue la capacité cognitive en fonction de la division de l'âge mental et de l'âge chronologique, en la multipliant plus tard par cent (éliminant ainsi les décimales), et permet d'obtenir un score comparable avec la mesure d'autres sujets du même âge. .

C’est ce concept qui est utilisé aujourd’hui dans la mesure du renseignement , bien qu’il y ait plusieurs controverses à cet égard (par exemple, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte l’effet Flynn grâce auquel l’IC mesuré augmente au cours des siècles, non pas en raison d’une plus grande intelligence mais de facteurs tels que le contact accru avec des activités intellectuels et développement technologique).

Quel est le QI d'un surdoué?

Le quotient intellectuel ou IC est une mesure relative de l'intelligence, dont la signification n'a de sens que par rapport à la population moyenne. En ce sens, il a été établi que l'intelligence suit une distribution normale dans la population , en considérant la moyenne d'un score de 100 et en observant un écart-type (un concept qui indique la variabilité attendue dans les scores) de 15 points.

En ce sens, nous considérerions une intelligence normale (celle qui a la plus grande partie de la population) qui reflète un QI oscillant entre 85 et 115. En dessous de 85 et jusqu'à 70, on parle d'intelligence limite , et au-dessus de 115 et même de 130 personnes brillantes ou intellectuellement douées.

L'existence de capacités bien inférieures ou bien supérieures à la moyenne ne sera considérée comme telle que si elles dépassent les deux écarts-types supérieurs ou inférieurs. Ainsi, on ne parlera que de handicap intellectuel (qui deviendra de plus en plus grave au-dessous d’un IC 70), tandis qu’au-delà de 130, on parlera de capacités élevées ou de talents.

Ainsi, et en réponse à la question qui suscite cet article lorsque nous parlons de surdoués, nous parlons de personnes qui, dans l’évaluation de leur intelligence ou de leurs capacités cognitives, ont obtenu des scores dont la transformation en QI indiquerait un QI supérieur à 130. est indépendant du sexe ou de l'âge , tant que nous sommes devant un sujet de plus de 12 ans et que le groupe auquel le sujet est comparé appartient au même groupe d’âge.

Être doué suppose-t-il avoir un quotient intellectuel élevé?

Quand on parle d'une personne douée, il est facile de l'identifier à une personne dont le quotient intellectuel est supérieur à 130. Mais, bien que cela ne soit pas incertain (en fait, la définition de l’OMS est la suivante), pour certains auteurs, la simple possession de ce niveau de capacité ne serait pas suffisante pour parler de véritable talent.

Et c’est que pour obtenir un certain score dans un test d’intelligence qui indique une capacité intellectuelle au-dessus de la moyenne n’est pas la seule condition pour être considéré comme doué: cela tient également compte du fait que cette capacité intellectuelle est démontrée dans la plupart des domaines et types d’intelligence (c’est-à-dire qu’il ne suffirait pas d’être excellent en compétences logico-mathématiques ou en musique, mais aussi dans d’autres domaines, auquel cas nous serions simplement quelqu'un de talent), saurions appliquer leurs capacités de manière adaptative et l'existence d'une grande créativité ou capacité pour cela.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Étudiants surdoués: différences individuelles entre enfants dotés d'une intelligence extraordinaire"

Exemples de dons

La surdité est une caractéristique très rare dans la population, environ 2% de la population ayant des capacités cognitives élevées. Cependant, beaucoup d'entre eux ont apporté des contributions notables et des figures bien connues de différents domaines ont été faites, y compris la science, l'économie ou l'art. Voici quatre exemples bien connus.

1. Marilyn Monroe

Norma Jean Baker, mieux connue sous le nom de Marilyn Monroe, était considérée comme l'une des femmes les plus sexy et les plus attirantes du monde. Mais malgré le fait qu'on se souvienne de sa beauté, de ses films, de ses relations et de sa mort tragique, la vérité est que derrière tout cela se trouvait une femme avec un niveau d'intelligence supérieur à celui d'Albert Einstein. Plus précisément, cinq points plus haut: Marilyn Monroe avait un CI de 165.

2. Stephen Hawking

Le génie de la physique et de l'astrophysique récemment décédé, connu pour ses études sur l'univers et plus particulièrement pour ses études sur les trous noirs, il était une personne avec un QI extrêmement élevé , avec un QI de 152.

3. Marilyn vos Savant

Ce nom n’est peut-être pas aussi connu dans notre pays que les deux autres, mais cet écrivain et chroniqueur d’origine nord-américaine, qui est également, entre autres, directeur des finances à Jarvik Heart, conférencier (après avoir été nommé l’un des cinq plus éminents en 1999) et membre de sociétés telles que Mensa ou le Conseil national des associations pour les enfants surdoués est la personne qui détient le Guinness Record avec le QI le plus élevé, avec un QI de 228 .


Plus de 130 de QI, un cerveau différent? Entretien avec Monique de Kermadec (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes