yes, therapy helps!
What is the link between Buddhism and Mindfulness?

What is the link between Buddhism and Mindfulness?

August 10, 2022

Mindfulness or mindfulness it is based on enhancing the brain's ability to be aware of itself and to live the present moment in total fulfillment.

Already at the dawn of psychology William James left us the reflection that our ability to regulate our focus attention is the basis of the will and good judgment. However, James already warned us that it is easier to define mindfulness than to incarnate it.

In any case, this notion of mindfulness or directed attention is much earlier in time to psychology as a science and even other tools of human thought such as philosophy.

  • Related article: "What is Mindfulness? The 7 answers to your questions"

The origins of Mindfulness

To speak of mindfulness as a Western discovery, product of the evolution of our modern society, is to sin at least of naivety and clearly of misunderstood pride.


The mindfulness or practice of mindfulness, as we know it in the West, drink clearly from the sources of the East, especially Buddhism , and more specifically Zen Buddhism, a school integrated in what is known as Mahayana Buddhism or great vehicle.

Already in the eighth century, Master Linji, founder of a Zen school in northern China , encouraged to pay attention to the experiences as they appear, in the present. And without going any further, the Vietnamese Zen master and monk Thich Nhat Hanh, well known in the West today, already spoke of mindfulness in the 70s, he referred to mindfulness as the energy of being concentrated in the present.


That is, since the dawn of psychology the ability of the human mind to reflect on itself, to focus on its own activity and thus be able to tune into the emotional states and thoughts that flow within us has been in the center of the debate and has been the key in all models of psychotherapeutic approach and personal growth .

On the other hand, from worlds as far removed from psychological reflection as there may be many schools of oriental meditation, especially within Buddhism, both Hinayana and Mahayana, the development of this capacity for self-consciousness in the human being has been the cornerstone of its knowledge.

It seems clear, therefore, that nowadays, nobody doubts this principle anymore. And that the concept of mindfulness or full consciousness already enjoys wide-ranging prestige in all areas of psychology and health sciences .


However, this mindfulness would be lame if we forget another Buddhist key, which is at the root of the Mahayana Buddhist concept of meditation, namely compassion.

  • Maybe you're interested: "6 easy relaxation techniques to combat stress"

The Buddhist perspective

In Buddhism, compassion, in the sense of the figure of the Tibetan bodhisattva (also Mahayana Buddhism) is the desire for others to be free from suffering and the causes of suffering .

It is based on valuing the feelings of others, especially when we have gone through the same difficulties. And even if we have never gone through what others are going through, we can put ourselves in their place and feel how terrible it must be. By imagining how much we would like to be free of that, we long with great force that others can also be liberated.

That's why in Vitaliza we affirm that there is nothing smarter to get out of my suffering than to welcome, collect, embrace and restore the suffering of the other . And we thank all of you who walk by our side in the retreats and meetings we have been celebrating under the heading of "Sharing in Full Consciousness" your effort and dedication to create spaces of embrace and communion, where minds rest, hearts open and the souls connect smiling in unison.

The editions of our meetings "Compatiendo en Consciencia Plena" scheduled for 2019 will take place in Artzentales (Bizkaia) on 4-9 April, 20-23 June and 29 August / 1 September. For more information you can go to the Vitaliza website, agenda section, or contact through these data.


How Mindfulness Creates Understanding (The Buddhist TV) (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est le lien entre le bouddhisme et la pleine conscience?

Quel est le lien entre le bouddhisme et la pleine conscience?

Avril 15, 2021

Pleine conscience ou pleine conscience il repose sur l'amélioration de la capacité du cerveau à prendre conscience de lui-même et à vivre pleinement le moment présent.

Déjà à l'aube de la psychologie, William James nous a laissé penser que notre capacité à réguler notre attention est le fondement de la volonté et du bon jugement. Cependant, James nous a déjà averti qu'il est plus facile de définir la pleine conscience que de l'incarner.

En tout cas, cette notion de pleine conscience ou d’attention dirigée est beaucoup plus tôt dans le temps à la psychologie en tant que science et même d'autres outils de la pensée humaine tels que la philosophie.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la pleine conscience? Les 7 réponses à vos questions"

Les origines de la pleine conscience

Parler de la pleine conscience en tant que découverte occidentale résultant de l'évolution de notre société moderne, c'est au moins un péché de naïveté et de fierté mal comprise.


L'attention ou la pratique de l'attention, telle que nous la connaissons en Occident, boire clairement des sources de l'Est, en particulier le bouddhisme et plus spécifiquement le bouddhisme zen, une école intégrée dans ce que l’on appelle le bouddhisme Mahayana ou un grand véhicule.

Déjà au huitième siècle, Maître Linji, fondateur d'une école zen dans le nord de la Chine , encouragés à prêter attention aux expériences telles qu'elles apparaissent, dans le présent. Et sans aller plus loin, le moine et maître du zen vietnamien Thich Nhat Hanh, bien connu de l’Occident, a déjà parlé de la pleine conscience dans les années 70. Il a parlé de la pleine conscience comme l’énergie de la concentration dans le présent.


Depuis l'aube de la psychologie, la capacité de l'esprit humain à se réfléchir sur elle-même, à se concentrer sur sa propre activité et à pouvoir ainsi s'accorder avec les états émotionnels et les pensées qui circulent en nous a été mise de l'avant. centre du débat et a été la clé de tous modèles d'approche psychothérapeutique et de croissance personnelle .

D’autre part, dans des mondes aussi éloignés de la réflexion psychologique qu’il peut exister de nombreuses écoles de méditation orientale, notamment dans le bouddhisme, tant le Hinayana que le Mahayana, le développement de cette capacité de conscience de soi chez l’être humain a été la pierre angulaire de son développement. connaissance

Il semble donc clair que, de nos jours, personne ne doute plus de ce principe. Et que le concept d'attention ou de pleine conscience jouit déjà d'un prestige considérable dans tous les domaines de la psychologie et des sciences de la santé .


Cependant, cette conscience serait boiteuse si nous oublions une autre clé bouddhiste, qui est à la base du concept de méditation bouddhiste Mahayana, à savoir la compassion.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "6 techniques de relaxation faciles pour combattre le stress"

La perspective bouddhiste

Dans le bouddhisme, la compassion, au sens de la figure du bodhisattva tibétain (également le bouddhisme Mahayana) est le désir des autres d'être libérés de la souffrance et des causes de la souffrance .

Il est basé sur la valorisation des sentiments des autres, en particulier lorsque nous avons traversé les mêmes difficultés. Et même si nous n’avons jamais vécu ce que les autres traversent, nous pouvons nous mettre à leur place et sentir à quel point cela doit être terrible. En imaginant à quel point nous voudrions être libérés de cela, nous aspirons avec une grande force que d’autres peuvent également être libérés.

C’est pourquoi à Vitaliza, nous affirmons qu’il n’ya rien de plus intelligent pour sortir de ma souffrance que accueillir, collectionner, embrasser et restaurer la souffrance de l'autre . Et nous remercions tous ceux qui marchent à nos côtés lors des retraites et des réunions que nous célébrons sous le titre "Partager en pleine conscience" de vos efforts et de votre dévouement pour créer des espaces d’embrassement et de communion, où les esprits se reposent, les cœurs ouverts et les âmes se connectent en souriant à l'unisson.

Les éditions de nos réunions "Compatiendo en Consciencia Plena" prévues pour 2019 auront lieu à Artzentales (Biscaye) du 4 au 9 avril, du 20 au 23 juin et du 29 août / 1 er septembre. Pour plus d'informations, vous pouvez consulter le site Web de Vitaliza, la section agenda, ou contacter via ces données.


Méditation et contemplation, comprendre et pratiquer - Bouddhisme zen (Avril 2021).


Articles Connexes