yes, therapy helps!
What is the Mozart Effect? Does it make us smarter?

What is the Mozart Effect? Does it make us smarter?

April 29, 2024

In recent years the so-called "Mozart effect" has become very popular . According to those who defend the existence of this phenomenon, listening to the music of the Austrian composer, or classical music in general, increases intelligence and other cognitive abilities, especially during early development.

Although scientific research suggests that there is a real part In this type of affirmations, the truth is that the review of the existing literature shows that the potential benefits of listening to music have been oversized, at least in the field of intelligence. However, music can be very positive for people for other reasons.


  • Related article: "The theories of human intelligence"

What is the Mozart effect?

We know as "Mozart effect" the hypothesis that proposes that listening to Mozart's music increases intelligence and has Cognitive benefits in babies and young children , although there are also some who say that these effects also occur in adults.

Most studies that have investigated the existence of this phenomenon have focused on the sonata K448 for two pianos of Mozart . Similar properties are attributed to other piano compositions by the same author and to many similar works in terms of structure, melody, harmony and tempo.


More broadly, this concept can be used to refer to the idea that music, especially classical music, is therapeutic for people and / or increases their intellectual capacities.

  • You may be interested: "The development of personality during childhood"

The benefits of music

The clearer beneficial effects of music are related to emotional health. Since ancient times the human being has used this art as a method to reduce stress and improve mood , both consciously and without realizing it.

In this sense, we are currently talking about music therapy to refer to interventions that use music as a tool to reduce psychological discomfort, improve cognitive functions, develop motor skills or facilitate the acquisition of social skills, among other objectives.


Recent scientific research has confirmed much of what was believed: music therapy is effective for reduce the symptoms of mental disorders such as depression, dementia or schizophrenia , and also to reduce the risk of cardiovascular accidents.

  • Related article: "Music therapy and its benefits for health"

History and popularization

The Mozart effect began to popularize in the 90s with the appearance of the book "Pourquoi Mozart?" ("Why Mozart?"), By the French otolaryngologist Alfred Tomatis, who coined the term. This researcher claimed that listening to Mozart's music could have therapeutic effects on the brain and promote its development.

However, it was Don Campbell who popularized the concept of Tomatis through his book "The Mozart Effect" ("The Mozart effect"). Campbell attributed to Mozart's music beneficial properties "to heal the body, strengthen the mind and liberate the creative spirit," as the book's extended title reads.

Campbell's work was based on a study by researchers Frances Rauscher, Gordon Shaw and Catherine Ky published a few years earlier in the journal Nature. However, this study showed only a slight improvement in spatial reasoning up to 15 minutes after listening to the K448 sonata.

Articles in the New York Times or Boston Globe also contributed to the current fame of the Mozart effect. After the publication of all this literature began to form a business around musical compilations with supposed intellectual benefits, especially for children , since Campbell also wrote the book "The Mozart Effect for Children".

Investigations on the Mozart effect

Affirmations made by Campbell and by the mentioned articles They clearly exaggerated the conclusions of the study de Rauscher et al., who found only slight evidence of a possible short-term improvement in spatial reasoning. In no sense can be extracted from existing research that music increases the IQ, at least directly.

In general, experts say that the Mozart effect is an experimental artifact that would be explained by the euphoric effects of some musical works and because of the increase in brain activation they cause. Both factors have been related to the improvement of cognitive functions in the short term.

Therefore, the benefits of the Mozart effect, which is real in a certain way, are not specific to the work of this author or classical music, but are shared by many other compositions and even by very different activities, such as the reading or sports.

On the other hand, and although it has not been shown that listening to classical music during early development is necessarily beneficial, the practice of a musical instrument can promote the emotional well-being and cognitive development of children if it motivates and stimulates them intellectually. Something similar happens with other forms of art and creativity.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Alfred Binet: biography of the creator of the first intelligence test"

Bibliographic references:

  • Campbell, D. (1997). The Mozart Effect: Tapping the power of music to heal the body, strengthen the mind, and unlock the creative spirit (1st Ed.). New York: Avon Books.
  • Campbell, D. (2000). The Mozart Effect for children: Awakening your child's mind, health, and creativity with music. New York: HarperCollins.
  • Jenkins, J. S. (2001). The Mozart effect. Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine, 94 (4): 170-172.
  • Rauscher, F. H., Shaw, G. L. & Ky, C. N. (1993). Music and spatial task performance. Nature, 365 (6447): 611.
  • Tomatis, A. (1991). Pourquoi Mozart? Paris: Hachette.

Classical Music for Brain Power - Mozart (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est l'effet Mozart? Cela nous rend-il plus intelligent?

Quel est l'effet Mozart? Cela nous rend-il plus intelligent?

Janvier 5, 2023

Ces dernières années le soi-disant "effet Mozart" est devenu très populaire . Selon les défenseurs de l'existence de ce phénomène, écouter la musique du compositeur autrichien, ou la musique classique en général, accroît l'intelligence et d'autres capacités cognitives, en particulier au début du développement.

Malgré que la recherche scientifique suggère qu'il existe une partie réelle Dans ce type d'affirmations, la vérité est que l'examen de la littérature existante montre que les avantages potentiels d'écouter de la musique ont été surdimensionnés, du moins dans le domaine de l'intelligence. Cependant, la musique peut être très positive pour les gens pour d'autres raisons.


  • Article connexe: "Les théories de l'intelligence humaine"

Quel est l'effet Mozart?

Nous connaissons comme "effet Mozart" l'hypothèse qui propose que écouter de la musique de Mozart augmente l'intelligence et a Avantages cognitifs chez les bébés et les jeunes enfants , bien que certains disent aussi que ces effets se produisent également chez les adultes.

La plupart des études qui ont enquêté sur l'existence de ce phénomène se sont concentrés sur la sonate K448 pour deux pianos de Mozart . Des propriétés similaires sont attribuées à d'autres compositions pour piano du même auteur et à de nombreuses œuvres similaires en termes de structure, mélodie, harmonie et tempo.


Plus largement, ce concept peut être utilisé pour faire référence à l'idée que la musique, en particulier la musique classique, est thérapeutique pour les personnes et / ou augmente leurs capacités intellectuelles.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Le développement de la personnalité pendant l'enfance"

Les avantages de la musique

Les effets bénéfiques plus évidents de la musique sont liés à la santé émotionnelle. Depuis l'Antiquité, l'homme a utilisé cet art comme méthode pour réduire le stress et améliorer l'humeur , consciemment et sans s'en rendre compte.

Dans ce sens, nous parlons actuellement de musicothérapie pour faire référence à des interventions qui utilisent la musique comme un outil pour réduire l’inconfort psychologique, améliorer les fonctions cognitives, développer les capacités motrices ou faciliter l’acquisition de compétences sociales, entre autres objectifs.


Des recherches scientifiques récentes ont confirmé en grande partie ce que l’on croyait: la musicothérapie est efficace pour réduire les symptômes de troubles mentaux tels que la dépression, la démence ou la schizophrénie et aussi pour réduire le risque d'accidents cardiovasculaires.

  • Article connexe: "La musicothérapie et ses avantages pour la santé"

Histoire et vulgarisation

L’effet Mozart a commencé à se populariser dans les années 90 avec l’apparition du livre "Pourquoi Mozart?", De l’otolaryngologue français Alfred Tomatis, qui a inventé le terme. Ce chercheur a affirmé qu'écouter la musique de Mozart pouvait avoir des effets thérapeutiques sur le cerveau et favoriser son développement.

Cependant, c'est Don Campbell qui a popularisé le concept de Tomatis à travers son livre "L'effet Mozart" ("L'effet Mozart"). Campbell a attribué à la musique de Mozart des propriétés bénéfiques "pour guérir le corps, renforcer l'esprit et libérer l'esprit créatif", comme l'indique le titre élargi du livre.

Les travaux de Campbell sont basés sur une étude des chercheurs Frances Rauscher, Gordon Shaw et Catherine Ky, publiée quelques années auparavant dans la revue Nature. Cependant, cette étude a montré que une légère amélioration du raisonnement spatial jusqu'à 15 minutes après avoir écouté la sonate K448.

Des articles dans le New York Times ou le Boston Globe ont également contribué à la renommée actuelle de l'effet Mozart. Après la publication de toute cette littérature a commencé à former une entreprise autour de compilations musicales avec Avantages intellectuels supposés, en particulier pour les enfants , puisque Campbell a également écrit le livre "L’effet Mozart pour les enfants".

Enquêtes sur l'effet Mozart

Affirmations de Campbell et des articles mentionnés Ils ont clairement exagéré les conclusions de l'étude de Rauscher et al., qui n’ont trouvé que peu de preuves d’une possible amélioration à court terme du raisonnement spatial. En aucun sens, ne peut être extrait de la recherche existante que la musique augmente le QI, au moins directement.

En général, les experts disent que l’effet Mozart est un artefact expérimental qui serait expliqué par la effets euphoriques de certaines œuvres musicales et en raison de l'augmentation de l'activation du cerveau qu'ils provoquent. Les deux facteurs ont été liés à l'amélioration des fonctions cognitives à court terme.

Par conséquent, les avantages de l'effet Mozart, qui est réel d'une certaine manière, ne sont pas spécifiques au travail de cet auteur ni à la musique classique, mais sont partagés par de nombreuses autres compositions et même par des activités très différentes, telles que la lecture ou sport.

D'autre part, et bien qu'il n'ait pas été démontré qu'écouter de la musique classique au début de son développement soit nécessairement bénéfique, la pratique d'un instrument de musique peut favoriser le bien-être émotionnel et le développement cognitif des enfants si cela les motive et les stimule intellectuellement. Quelque chose de similaire se produit avec d'autres formes d'art et de créativité.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Alfred Binet: biographie du créateur du premier test d'intelligence"

Références bibliographiques:

  • Campbell, D. (1997). L'effet Mozart: Exploiter le pouvoir de la musique pour soigner le corps, renforcer l'esprit et déverrouiller l'esprit créatif (1re éd.). New York: Livres Avon.
  • Campbell, D. (2000). L'effet Mozart pour les enfants: éveiller l'esprit, la santé et la créativité de votre enfant avec de la musique. New York: HarperCollins.
  • Jenkins, J.S. (2001). L'effet Mozart. Journal de la Royal Society of Medicine, 94 (4): 170-172.
  • Rauscher, F.H., Shaw, G.L. et Ky, C.N. (1993). Musique et performance spatiale. Nature, 365 (6447): 611.
  • Tomatis, A. (1991). Pourquoi Mozart? Paris: Hachette.

La musique classique rend intelligent - Aliette de Laleu, la chasse aux clichés (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes