yes, therapy helps!
What is the placebo effect and how does it work?

What is the placebo effect and how does it work?

May 10, 2021

In our daily lives, we often take medications and undergo different treatments in order to improve our health or overcome a specific problem. On more than one occasion we have heard about the advantages of some techniques that do not enjoy scientific recognition and in spite of everything, many people seem to work for it.

Both in these cases and in many other more recognized treatments, it is legitimate to ask ourselves if what we take or do really has a real effect on our health. In other words, is the treatment I am following really effective or does the improvement itself have another explanation? Maybe we are facing a case of placebo effect . Let's see what this means and how this phenomenon is taken into account in the clinical context.


Defining a placebo

We understand as placebo effect that positive and beneficial effect produced by a placebo , element that by itself does not have a curative effect on the problem that is being treated by the mere fact of its application. That is, the substance or treatment does not have qualities that produce an improvement in the symptoms, but the fact that it is receiving a treatment leads to the belief that it will improve, which in itself causes improvement.

The placebo consideration is not limited to substances, but can also appear under psychological treatments, surgeries or other interventions.

In the case of placebo we refer to a substance, this can be a totally innocuous element (a saline solution or sugar, for example) also called pure placebo, or a substance that does have a therapeutic effect for some disease or disorder but not for the one that has been prescribed. In this second case we would be facing a pseudoplacebo.


Functioning of the placebo effect

The functioning of this phenomenon is explained at the psychological level by two basic mechanisms: classical conditioning and expectations.

First, the patient receiving the placebo has the expectation of recovering , depending on the history of learning followed throughout his life, in which an improvement usually occurs after following a treatment.

These expectations condition the response to treatment, favoring the response of recovery of health (This fact has been demonstrated in the immune response). The greater the expectation of improvement, the greater the effect of the placebo, with which the conditioning will be increasing. Of course, to work properly the first step must be successful.

Other factors that influence this psychological effect

The placebo effect is also mediated by the professionalism and sense of competence projected by the person administering it, the context in which the shot is taken, the type of problem faced and other characteristics such as cost, presentation, materials or rituals necessary to take it.


Placebos of more expensive and more elaborate appearance tend to be more effective . For example, a sugar pill is more effective as a placebo if it has a capsule shape than if it is lump-shaped. In a way, the appearance of exclusivity makes expectations about its effectiveness go up or down in parallel with this.

The neurological basis of placebo

At the neurophysiological level, it has been shown that the application of placebo stimulates the frontal cortex, the nucleus accumbens, the gray matter and the amygdala, activating the dopaminergic pathways and (to a lesser extent) the serotonergic pathway. This activation causes a feeling of reward and relaxation that coincides with the improvement perceived by patients.

Patients with pain, somatic symptoms, Parkinson's, dementia or epilepsy have benefited from the use of placebos in research environments, improving their situation. The effects are especially marked in those afflicted with pain, having greater effect the greater the placebo and the initial pain.

However, the mechanism of action of the placebo effect it remains, partly a mystery . The intriguing aspect of this process is that it seems to be a phenomenon in which abstract thought comes to influence very basic and primitive mental processes, which act in a similar way in non-human animals.

For example, it is difficult to explain that a belief could interfere with something like the processing of pain, a biological mechanism that appeared more than 100 million years ago in the evolutionary chain that leads to our species and that has been consolidating cause of its great usefulness for our survival. However, the evidence shows that the suggestion produced, for example, through hypnosis, is able to make this sensation significantly more

Appearance and application contexts

Once we have briefly explored what the placebo effect is and how it works, we should ask ourselves where this phenomenon is usually applied actively .

As we will see, the placebo effect is especially used in research, although it is also occasionally linked to clinical practice.

At the research level

The treatments that are used in clinical practice must be tested in order to verify their real effectiveness. For this, the use of a case and control methodology is frequent, in which two groups of individuals are established. One of the groups is given the treatment in question, and the second, known as a control group, is given a placebo. .

The use of a placebo in the control group allows to observe the efficacy of the treatment in question, since it allows to check whether the differences between the pretreatment and the aftercare perceived in the group receiving the treatment are due to this or to other factors external to it. .

At the clinical level

Although it involves a series of ethical conflicts, sometimes the placebo effect has been applied in clinical practice . The most frequently cited reasons have been the patient's unjustified demand for medications, or the need to calm them, or the exhaustion of other therapeutic options.

Also, many alternative therapies and homeopathic benefit from this effect, which is why despite not having mechanisms of action related to effects of real effectiveness sometimes result in some effectiveness.

Relationship with other effects

The placebo effect is related to other similar phenomena, although there are remarkable differences between them.

Hawthorne effect

The placebo effect can sometimes be confused with other types of effects. An example of this is the confusion with the Hawthorne effect. The latter refers to behavior modification when we know we are observed or evaluated (for example, when there is someone analyzing our actions, such as a superior at work or simply an external observer in a class), without the possible improvement in functioning being due to any other cause than the measurement itself.

The similarities with the placebo effect are found in the fact that in general there is a perceptible improvement in the state and vital functioning of the individual. However, the placebo effect is something totally unconscious, and is given the belief that it is really going to produce an improvement before the application of a course of treatment, while the Hawthorne effect is a form of reactivity to the knowledge that is measuring or evaluating a characteristic, situation or phenomenon.

Nocebo effect

The placebo effect has a counterpart, known as nocebo effect. In this effect the patient suffers a worsening or a side effect due to the application of a treatment or a placebo , being this inexplicable by the mechanism of action of the medicine.

Although the investigation of this phenomenon is smaller since it is less frequent, it can be explained by the same mechanisms of expectation and conditioning as placebo: it is expected that a negative symptom will occur. An example of this is the occurrence of secondary symptoms that patients have seen in a prospect even though there are no threats at the biological level.

Applied to research, the nocebo effect is also what makes studies based on replacing the control group with one of patients on the waiting list not entirely valid, since this psychological phenomenon makes these patients tend to feel worse. what they would do if they were not waiting for treatment, to keep in mind that nothing has yet been administered to cure them.

Pygmalion effect or self-fulfilling prophecy

The Pygmalion effect has a clear relationship with both the placebo effect and the previous ones. This effect is based on the fact that the expressed expectation that a certain situation or phenomenon will occur leads to the subject ending up performing actions that lead to provoking the initially expected situation. Thus, its functioning is very similar to that of the placebo effect at the cognitive level, in that the belief that it is going to improve causes its own improvement.

As a type of placebo effect, this phenomenon leads people to feel better in the expectation that this is what is expected of them.

In conclusion

You have to bear in mind that The placebo effect can be found even in treatments of proven effectiveness . A clear example can be seen in a recovery or immediate improvement before taking a medication, such as an antidepressant. Although the effectiveness of the treatment can be proven, these drugs usually take weeks to be effective, so a very early improvement may be due to the placebo effect. In this way, both this phenomenon and the healing produced by the efficacy mechanism of psychotherapy or a drug can overlap.

It is also important to keep in mind that the placebo effect it is not imaginary ; there is really an improvement in the psychic or even physical state (especially the immune and neuroendocrine system), that is, in many cases it is objectively verifiable and generates physical changes, although generally not radical ones.

On the other hand, although the usefulness of this effect has been demonstrated in some medical treatments, you have to take into account the possibility of a perverse use of it , being used with the objective of obtaining economic benefit in many "miraculous" products.

Bibliographic references:

  • Arnold, M.H .; Finniss, D.G. & Kerridge, I. (2014). Medicine's inconvenient truth: the placebo and nocebo effect. Intern Med J .; 44: 398-405.
  • Berger JT. Placebo medication use in patient care: a survey of medical interns. West J Med. 1999; 170: 93-6.
  • Finniss, D.G .; Kaptchuk, T.J .; Miller. F. & Benedetti, F. (2010). Placebo effects: biological, clinical and ethical advances. Lancet; 375 (9715): 686-695.
  • Oken, B.S. (2008). Placebo effects: clinical aspects and neurobiology. Brain; 131 (11): 2812-2823.

  • Sanchis, J. (2012). The placebo and the placebo effect. Respiratory Medicine; 5 (1): 37-46.
  • Central Publications Service of the Basque Government. (2015). What do we know about the placebo effect? Infac. Volume 23; 8. Department of health. Basque Country.
  • Sherman, R. & Hickner, J. (2007). Academic physicians use placebos in clinical practice and believe in the mind-body connection. J Gen Intern Med.; 23 (1): 7-10.
  • Tavel, M.E. (2014). The Placebo Effect: the good, the bad, and the ugly. Am J Med.; 127 (6).
  • De la Fuente-Fernandez, R .; Ruth, T.J .; Sossi, V .; Schulzer, M .; Calne, D.B. & Stoessl, A.J. (2001). Expectation and dopamine release: mechanism of the placebo effect in Parkinson's disease. Science; 293: 1164-6. [PubMed].

Are Placebo Effects Worth Anything? (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Qu'est-ce que l'effet placebo et comment ça marche?

Qu'est-ce que l'effet placebo et comment ça marche?

Décembre 9, 2021

Dans notre vie quotidienne, nous prenons souvent des médicaments et différents traitements afin d’améliorer notre santé ou de surmonter un problème spécifique. À plus d'une occasion, nous avons entendu parler des avantages de certaines techniques qui ne bénéficient pas d'une reconnaissance scientifique. Malgré tout, de nombreuses personnes semblent y travailler.

Dans ces cas et dans de nombreux traitements plus reconnus, il est légitime de se demander si ce que nous prenons ou faisons a réellement un effet réel sur notre santé. En d'autres termes, le traitement que je suis est-il vraiment efficace ou l'amélioration a-t-elle une autre explication? Peut-être que nous sommes confrontés à un cas d’effet placebo . Voyons ce que cela signifie et comment ce phénomène est pris en compte dans le contexte clinique.


Définir un placebo

Nous comprenons comme effet placebo cet effet positif et bénéfique produit par un placebo , élément qui en soi n’a pas d’effet curatif sur le problème traité par le simple fait de son application. C'est-à-dire que la substance ou le traitement n'a pas de qualités produisant une amélioration des symptômes, mais le fait de recevoir un traitement laisse croire que celle-ci s'améliorera, ce qui en soi entraîne une amélioration.

Les considérations relatives au placebo ne se limitent pas aux substances, elles peuvent également figurer dans les traitements psychologiques, les interventions chirurgicales ou d’autres interventions.

Dans le cas du placebo, on entend une substance, il peut s’agir d’un élément totalement inoffensif (une solution saline ou un sucre, par exemple) également appelé placebo pur, ou une substance qui a un effet thérapeutique sur une maladie ou un trouble, mais pas pour celui qui a été prescrit. Dans ce deuxième cas, nous serions confrontés à une pseudoplacebo.


Fonctionnement de l'effet placebo

Le fonctionnement de ce phénomène s’explique au niveau psychologique par deux mécanismes fondamentaux: le conditionnement classique et les attentes.

En premier lieu, le patient recevant le placebo a l'espoir de récupérer , en fonction des antécédents d’apprentissage suivis tout au long de sa vie, dans lesquels une amélioration se produit généralement après un traitement.

Ces attentes conditionnent la réponse au traitement, en favorisant la réponse du rétablissement de la santé (Ce fait a été démontré dans la réponse immunitaire). Plus l'attente d'amélioration est grande, plus l'effet du placebo, avec lequel le conditionnement augmentera, sera grand. Bien entendu, pour bien fonctionner, la première étape doit être réussie.

Autres facteurs qui influencent cet effet psychologique

L'effet placebo dépend également du professionnalisme et du sens des compétences projetés par la personne qui l'administre, du contexte dans lequel la prise de vue est effectuée, du type de problème rencontré et d'autres caractéristiques telles que le coût, présentation, matériel ou rituels nécessaires pour la prendre.


Les placebos d'apparence plus chère et plus élaborée ont tendance à être plus efficaces . Par exemple, une pilule de sucre est plus efficace en tant que placebo si elle a la forme d'une capsule que si elle est en forme de bosse. D'une certaine manière, l'apparence d'exclusivité fait monter ou descendre les attentes quant à son efficacité parallèlement à celle-ci.

La base neurologique du placebo

Au niveau neurophysiologique, il a été démontré que l’utilisation du placebo stimulait le cortex frontal, le noyau accumbens, la substance grise et l’amygdale, activant ainsi les voies dopaminergiques et (dans une moindre mesure) sérotonergiques. Cette activation provoque un sentiment de récompense et de relaxation qui coïncide avec l'amélioration perçue par les patients.

Les patients souffrant de douleur, de symptômes somatiques, de Parkinson, de démence ou d'épilepsie ont bénéficié de l'utilisation de placebos dans des environnements de recherche, améliorant ainsi leur situation. Les effets sont particulièrement marqués chez les personnes souffrant de douleur, plus le placebo et la douleur initiale sont importants.

Cependant, le mécanisme d'action de l'effet placebo il reste, en partie un mystère . L'aspect intriguant de ce processus est qu'il semble s'agir d'un phénomène dans lequel la pensée abstraite en vient à influencer des processus mentaux très fondamentaux et primitifs, qui agissent de manière similaire chez des animaux non humains.

Par exemple, il est difficile d'expliquer qu'une croyance puisse interférer avec quelque chose comme le traitement de la douleur, un mécanisme biologique apparu il y a plus de 100 millions d'années dans la chaîne évolutive qui conduit à notre espèce et qui s'est consolidée cause de sa grande utilité pour notre survie. Cependant, les preuves montrent que la suggestion faite, par exemple, par l'hypnose, est capable de rendre cette sensation beaucoup plus

Aspect et contextes d'application

Une fois que nous avons brièvement exploré l’effet placebo et son fonctionnement, nous devrions nous poser des questions. où ce phénomène est généralement appliqué activement .

Comme nous le verrons, l’effet placebo est particulièrement utilisé en recherche, bien qu’il soit aussi occasionnellement lié à la pratique clinique.

Au niveau de la recherche

Les traitements utilisés en pratique clinique doivent être testés afin de vérifier leur efficacité réelle. Pour cela, l'utilisation d'une méthode de cas et de contrôle est fréquente, dans laquelle deux groupes d'individus sont établis. L'un des groupes reçoit le traitement en question et le second, appelé groupe témoin, reçoit un placebo. .

L'utilisation d'un placebo dans le groupe témoin permet d'observer l'efficacité du traitement en question, car elle permet de vérifier si les différences entre le prétraitement et les soins ultérieurs perçus dans le groupe recevant le traitement sont dues à ce facteur ou à d'autres facteurs externes. .

Au niveau clinique

Bien que cela implique une série de conflits éthiques, parfois, l'effet placebo a été appliqué en pratique clinique . Les raisons les plus fréquemment invoquées sont la demande injustifiée de médicaments du patient, le besoin de les calmer ou l'épuisement des autres options thérapeutiques.

En outre, de nombreuses thérapies alternatives et homéopathiques bénéficient de cet effet. C'est pourquoi, même s'ils ne disposent pas de mécanismes d'action liés à des effets d'efficacité réelle, ils ont parfois une certaine efficacité.

Relation avec d'autres effets

L'effet placebo est lié à d'autres phénomènes similaires, bien qu'il existe des différences remarquables entre eux.

Effet Hawthorne

L'effet placebo peut parfois être confondu avec d'autres types d'effets. Un exemple de ceci est la confusion avec le Effet Hawthorne. Ce dernier fait référence à modification du comportement lorsque nous savons que nous sommes observés ou évalués (par exemple, lorsqu'il y a quelqu'un qui analyse nos actions, comme un supérieur au travail ou simplement un observateur externe dans une classe), sans que l'amélioration possible du fonctionnement soit due à une autre cause que la mesure elle-même.

Les similitudes avec l'effet placebo se retrouvent dans le fait qu'en général, il y a une amélioration perceptible de l'état et du fonctionnement vital de l'individu. Cependant, l’effet placebo est quelque chose de totalement inconscient et donne l’impression qu’il va réellement produire une amélioration avant l’application d’un traitement, tandis que l’effet Hawthorne est une forme de réactivité à la connaissance que mesure ou évalue une caractéristique, une situation ou un phénomène.

Effet Nocebo

L'effet placebo a une contrepartie, appelée effet nocebo. Dans cet effet, le patient souffre d'une aggravation ou d'un effet secondaire dû à l'application d'un traitement ou d'un placebo. , étant aussi inexplicable par le mécanisme d'action du médicament.

Bien que l'étude de ce phénomène soit moins complexe car moins fréquente, elle peut s'expliquer par les mêmes mécanismes d'attente et de conditionnement que le placebo: on s'attend à ce qu'un symptôme négatif se produise. Un exemple de ceci est la survenue de symptômes secondaires que les patients ont vus dans une perspective même s'il n'y a aucune menace au niveau biologique.

Appliqué à la recherche, l'effet nocebo est également ce qui rend les études basées sur le remplacement du groupe témoin par un des patients en liste d'attente non tout à fait valables, car ce phénomène psychologique fait en sorte que ces patients se sentent plus mal. ce qu’ils feraient s’ils n’attendaient pas de traitement, sachant que rien n’a encore été administré pour les guérir.

Effet Pygmalion ou prophétie auto-réalisatrice

L'effet Pygmalion a une relation claire avec l'effet placebo et les précédents. Cet effet est basé sur le fait que l'attente exprimée qu'une certaine situation ou un certain phénomène se produira amènera le sujet à exécuter des actions conduisant à provoquer la situation initialement attendue. Ainsi, son fonctionnement est très similaire à celui de l’effet placebo au niveau cognitif, en ce sens que la conviction qu’il va s’améliorer provoque sa propre amélioration.

En tant que type d’effet placebo, ce phénomène amène les gens à se sentir mieux dans l’attente que c’est ce que l’on attend d’eux.

Pour finir

Vous devez garder à l'esprit que L'effet placebo peut être trouvé même dans les traitements d'efficacité prouvée . Un exemple clair peut être vu dans une récupération ou une amélioration immédiate avant de prendre un médicament, tel qu'un antidépresseur. Bien que l'efficacité du traitement puisse être prouvée, l'efficacité de ces médicaments prenant généralement plusieurs semaines, une amélioration très précoce peut donc être due à l'effet placebo. De cette manière, ce phénomène et la guérison produite par le mécanisme d'efficacité d'une psychothérapie ou d'un médicament peuvent se chevaucher.

Il est également important de garder à l'esprit que l'effet placebo ce n'est pas imaginaire ; il y a vraiment une amélioration de l'état psychique, voire physique (en particulier du système immunitaire et du système neuroendocrinien), c'est-à-dire que dans de nombreux cas, il est objectivement vérifiable et génère des changements physiques, bien que généralement pas radicaux.

D'autre part, bien que l'utilité de cet effet ait été démontrée dans certains traitements médicaux, vous devez tenir compte de la possibilité d'une utilisation perverse de celui-ci , étant utilisé dans le but d’obtenir un avantage économique dans de nombreux produits "miraculeux".

Références bibliographiques:

  • Arnold, M.H .; Finniss, D.G. & Kerridge, I. (2014). La vérité qui dérange la médecine: l'effet placebo et l'effet nocebo. Intern Med J.; 44: 398-405.
  • Berger JT. Utilisation de médicaments placebo dans les soins aux patients: une enquête auprès des internes en médecine. West J Med. 1999; 170: 93-6.
  • Finniss, D.G .; Kaptchuk, T.J .; Miller. F. & Benedetti, F. (2010). Effets placebo: avancées biologiques, cliniques et éthiques. Lancette; 375 (9715): 686-695.
  • Oken, B.S. (2008). Effets placebo: aspects cliniques et neurobiologie. Le cerveau; 131 (11): 2812-2823.

  • Sanchis, J. (2012). Le placebo et l'effet placebo. Médecine respiratoire; 5 (1): 37-46.
  • Service central des publications du gouvernement basque. (2015). Que savons-nous de l'effet placebo? Infac. Le volume 23; 8. Département de la santé. Pays Basque.
  • Sherman, R. & Hickner, J. (2007). Les médecins universitaires utilisent des placebos dans la pratique clinique et croient au lien entre l'esprit et le corps. J Gen Intern Med. 23 (1): 7-10.
  • Tavel, M.E. (2014). L'effet placebo: le bon, le mauvais et le laid. Am J Med .; 127 (6).
  • De la Fuente-Fernandez, R; Ruth, T.J .; Sossi, V .; Schulzer, M.; Calne, D.B. & Stoessl, A.J. (2001). Espérance et libération de dopamine: mécanisme de l'effet placebo dans la maladie de Parkinson. Science; 293: 1164-11. [PubMed].

L'effet placebo : comment et pourquoi ça marche (Décembre 2021).


Articles Connexes