yes, therapy helps!
What is the Shining Path? A journey through its history

What is the Shining Path? A journey through its history

March 1, 2021

Shining Path is a Peruvian political organization that carried out one of the most important and conflicting armed movements of the last decades in Latin America. The consequences of violent public actions, and the state of war unleashed, are still analyzed to this day as a crucial part in the history of the development of political systems in the region.

Next we will explain briefly What is the Shining Path, what are some of its antecedents and key people , as well as some of the consequences it has had in the most involved cities.

  • Related article: "What is Political Psychology?"

What is the Shining Path?

Sendero Luminoso, also known as the Communist Party of Peru-Shining Path (PCP-SL), is an armed insurgent movement that has been active since the 1970s in Peru . considered as a terrorist organization by several States.


It began as an armed movement for free education, initiated in the Peruvian province of Ayacucho, and later spread as a political movement, which developed in other cities of the same country and culminated in a war of more than a decade.

The armed uprising occurred in the 1980s and sparked a series of actions and confrontations that are considered some of the bloodiest in recent Latin American history.

Abimael Guzmán and the beginnings of the PCP-SL

The most representative figure of the movement is Abimael Guzmán , who was a professor at the National University of San Cristóbal de Huamanga, located in the province of Ayacucho. When analyzing the indigenous situation of Peru before the political powers, Guzmán he applied his interpretation of Marxism, Leninism and Maoism , as well as his perspective on international debates around communism in the Soviet Union and in China, among other things.


In the electoral and political context of the 1960s, the Shining Path was not only driven by the rural sector and the peasantry in its different expressions; but many young university intellectuals participated in an important way. In the beginning, the organizing bases of the movement were seated through the Communist Party of Peru and the red fraction.

Shining Path It arose formally after a meeting that took place at the University of Huamanga , in Ayacucho and was established from the beginning as a political organization of Marxist-Leninist-Maoist perspective.

In addition to this, some students of the movement have analyzed intellectual influences from the beginnings of SL in relation to the theories of Alain Touraine, Antonio Gramsci, Jose Arico, Sinesio Lopez, Jose Nun, James Scott, among others. Something that these authors have in common is the vindication of the agency (of the power of the actors themselves) in the social transformation and in the historical models and structures. (Coronel, 1996).


  • Maybe you're interested: "The 11 types of violence (and the different kinds of aggression)"

Some background and development of this organization

Degregori (2016) distinguishes between three fundamental antecedents of the Shining Path's armed struggles. On the one hand, the birth of Sendero Luminoso as an independent organization between 1969 and 1970. On the other hand, the decision to take the arms that occurred between 1976 and 1978. And finally, the national context and the transformations that had been produced by the government military reformer, from 1970 and until the crisis of the following decade.

In this critical situation, the indigenous Andean region had been unprotected and violated by the military dictatorship of the revolutionary government of the armed force, which lasted from 1968 to 1980.

In the end of this dictatorship, in the year 1980, the Shining Path carried out the first public act of violence: a fire of anaphoras and ballot boxes as a way of protesting against the supposed normalization towards democracy. This happened in the province of Ayacucho, specifically in the municipality of Chuschi, and from then on, the movement continued to carry out public acts of violence during the following 10 years. In this course, the movement was militarized (between 1983 and 1986), which culminated in the deployment of violence throughout the territory for the next three years.

Finally a major transformation occurs in the 1990s, with the arrival to power of Alberto Fujimori . In the year of 1992 Abimael Guzmán is arrested and the movement leaves the arms and the actions of the SL are modified drastically, which at the moment is known as post-trekking.

The moment in which the armed uprising takes place was crucial for the history of the country, since the first months of government of the armed forces began, the oil had been nationalized, and the discussion about the reforms for the sector of the field was coming , among other things. In this context, the movement for free education promoted by Sendero Luminoso gave an idea of ​​the regional crises that the country was going through.

After the war

As expected, the armed confrontation has had many unpleasant consequences in the Andean area of ​​Peru. According to Degregori (1996), in addition to the destruction of infrastructure and widespread poverty from the Ayacucho region, there were important changes in the countryside in the rural areas of Huanta, La Mar and Cangallo, which are three of the provinces most affected by the violence.

Many people were forced to move from their communities to avoid the disastrous consequences of the clashes. Those who stayed, had to radically rearrange their lifestyles.

For example, one of the practices that were generated to maintain the population in the affected areas was the construction of fortified villages in hills or hills . Those who did not climb the hills, had to strengthen their houses with structures that resemble the walls.

Land and livestock were also seriously affected. On the whole, the conditions of extreme precariousness also accentuated the differences in prosperity that reached different regions.

Bibliographic references:

  • Degregori, C. (2016). The emergence of the Shining Path. IEP Editions: Peru.
  • Degregori, C. (1996). Ayacucho, after the violence. (Ed.). The peasant probes and the defeat of Sendero Luminoso. IEP Editions: Peru.
  • Coronel, J. (1996). Political violence and peasant responses in Huanta. In Degregori, C. (Ed.). The peasant probes and the defeat of Sendero Luminoso. IEP Editions: Peru.

The North Face: Alex Honnold - El Sendero Luminoso (March 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quel est le sentier lumineux? Un voyage à travers son histoire

Quel est le sentier lumineux? Un voyage à travers son histoire

Septembre 20, 2022

Sentier lumineux est une organisation politique péruvienne qui a mené à bien l'un des mouvements armés les plus importants et les plus opposés des dernières décennies en Amérique latine. Les conséquences des actions publiques violentes et l'état de guerre qui se déclenche sont toujours analysés à ce jour comme un élément crucial de l'histoire du développement des systèmes politiques dans la région.

Ensuite, nous allons expliquer brièvement Quel est le Sentier Lumineux, quels sont ses antécédents et ses personnalités? , ainsi que certaines des conséquences qu’elle a eues dans les villes les plus touchées.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie politique?"

Quel est le sentier lumineux?

Sendero Luminoso, également connu sous le nom de Parti communiste du Pérou - Sentier lumineux (PCP-SL), est un mouvement d'insurgés armés qui est actif depuis les années 1970 au Pérou . considérée comme une organisation terroriste par plusieurs États.


Il s’agit au départ d’un mouvement armé pour l’éducation gratuite, initié dans la province péruvienne d’Ayacucho, puis d’un mouvement politique, qui s’est développé dans d’autres villes du même pays et a abouti à une guerre de plus de dix ans.

Le soulèvement armé survenu dans les années 1980 a déclenché une série d’actions et de confrontations considérées comme parmi les plus sanglantes de l’histoire récente de l’Amérique latine.

Abimael Guzmán et les débuts du PCP-SL

La figure la plus représentative du mouvement est Abimael Guzmán , qui était professeur à l'Université nationale de San Cristóbal de Huamanga, située dans la province d'Ayacucho. Lorsqu’il analysait la situation indigène du Pérou devant les pouvoirs politiques, Guzmán il appliqua son interprétation du marxisme, du léninisme et du maoïsme , ainsi que sa perspective sur les débats internationaux autour du communisme en Union soviétique et en Chine, entre autres.


Dans le contexte électoral et politique des années 1960, le Sentier lumineux n'était pas seulement animé par le secteur rural et la paysannerie dans ses différentes expressions; mais beaucoup de jeunes intellectuels universitaires ont participé de manière importante. Au début, les bases organisatrices du mouvement reposaient sur le Parti communiste du Pérou et la fraction rouge.

Sentier Lumineux Il est officiellement apparu après une réunion à l’Université de Huamanga. , à Ayacucho et a été établi dès le début en tant qu’organisation politique à perspective marxiste-léniniste-maoïste.

En outre, certains étudiants du mouvement ont analysé les influences intellectuelles des débuts de SL par rapport aux théories d'Alain Touraine, d'Antonio Gramsci, de Jose Arico, de Sinesio Lopez, de Jose Nun, de James Scott, entre autres. Ces auteurs ont en commun la revendication de l’agence (du pouvoir des acteurs eux-mêmes) dans la transformation sociale ainsi que dans les modèles et les structures historiques. (Coronel, 1996).


  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 11 types de violence (et les différents types d'agression)"

Quelques antécédents et développement de cette organisation

Degregori (2016) distingue trois antécédents fondamentaux des luttes armées du Sentier lumineux. D'une part, la naissance de Sendero Luminoso en tant qu'organisation indépendante entre 1969 et 1970. D'autre part, la décision de prendre les armes entre 1976 et 1978. Enfin, le contexte national et les transformations apportées par le gouvernement réformateur militaire, à partir de 1970 et jusqu’à la crise de la décennie suivante.

Dans cette situation critique, la région andine indigène n'avait pas été protégée et violée par la dictature militaire du gouvernement révolutionnaire de la force armée, qui a duré de 1968 à 1980.

À la fin de cette dictature, en 1980, le Sentier lumineux réalisa le premier acte public de violence: un feu d'anaphores et d'urnes électorales comme moyen de protester contre la prétendue normalisation de la démocratie. Cela s'est produit dans la province d'Ayacucho, plus précisément dans la municipalité de Chuschi, et depuis lors, le mouvement a continué de commettre des actes de violence publics au cours des 10 années suivantes. Dans ce cours, le mouvement a été militarisé (entre 1983 et 1986), qui ont abouti au déploiement de la violence sur tout le territoire au cours des trois prochaines années.

Enfin, une transformation majeure se produit dans les années 1990, avec l'arrivée au pouvoir d'Alberto Fujimori . En 1992, Abimael Guzmán est arrêté, le mouvement quitte les armes et les actions du SL sont radicalement modifiées, ce qui s'appelle pour le moment post-trekking.

Le moment du soulèvement armé a été crucial pour l'histoire du pays, car les premiers mois de gouvernement des forces armées ont commencé, le pétrole a été nationalisé et la discussion sur les réformes du secteur du terrain a commencé , entre autres choses. Dans ce contexte, le mouvement pour une éducation gratuite promu par le Sentier lumineux a donné une idée des crises régionales que traversait le pays.

Après la guerre

Comme prévu, la confrontation armée a eu de nombreuses conséquences désagréables dans la région andine du Pérou. Selon Degregori (1996), en plus de la destruction des infrastructures et de la pauvreté généralisée Dans la région d’Ayacucho, les zones rurales de Huanta, La Mar et Cangallo, qui sont trois des provinces les plus touchées par la violence, ont subi de profonds changements.

De nombreuses personnes ont été forcées de quitter leurs communautés pour éviter les conséquences désastreuses des affrontements. Ceux qui sont restés ont dû réorganiser radicalement leurs modes de vie.

Par exemple, l’une des pratiques générées pour maintenir la population dans les zones touchées était la construction de villages fortifiés en collines ou collines . Ceux qui ne gravissaient pas les collines devaient renforcer leurs maisons avec des structures qui ressemblaient aux murs.

La terre et le bétail ont également été gravement touchés. Dans l’ensemble, les conditions de précarité extrême ont également accentué les différences de prospérité qui ont touché différentes régions.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Degregori, C. (2016). L’émergence du Sentier Lumineux. Editions IEP: Pérou.
  • Degregori, C. (1996). Ayacucho, après les violences. (Ed.). Les paysans sondent et la défaite de Sendero Luminoso. Editions IEP: Pérou.
  • Coronel, J. (1996). Violence politique et réactions paysannes à Huanta. Dans Degregori, C. (Ed.). Les paysans sondent et la défaite de Sendero Luminoso. Editions IEP: Pérou.

1947 ou la nouvelle réalité du monde moderne (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes