yes, therapy helps!
What is the Voodoo religion? Characteristics, history and myths

What is the Voodoo religion? Characteristics, history and myths

January 21, 2023

It is with all certainty one of the great myths of all times . When we hear the word voodoo, voodoo religion or the famous phrase "I'm going to make you voodoo", is not that we think of something positive precisely. Throughout history we have presented this belief as something evil, something related to the devil himself and that serves to harm the people we hate, especially physical. It is a kind of spell, to be understood.

However, since a little more than a decade ago, especially pointing to the year 2003 -date in which the Voodoo religion in Haiti became official- that has begun to clarify what really derives from this mythology that has been distorted to ridicule , as the experts point out. Millery Polyné and Elizabeth McAlister, are two experts in the field who have helped to make different historiographical studies to demystify the "bad press" suffered by voodoo.


  • Related article: "Types of religion (and their differences between ideas and beliefs)"

What is the Voodoo religion?

According to Polyne, an American of Haitian origin who came to the State of Florida (USA) in the nineties, when he was only 14 years old, was already impressed by the comments and prejudices that had been reproduced when his person was present when it comes to socializing. "Even I did not know my own religion thoroughly," says the author. It was because of those paradoxical moments when he decided to take advantage of his curiosity and study African-American and Caribbean history, where he teaches at the University of New York.


As often happens in this type of cases, where ignorance and a poor projection of a distant culture is unattractive to be investigated, we quickly internalize the first thing that is offered behind a screen, especially if it is a series or film. There are also hundreds of thousands of literary works that have not helped precisely to clear these black legends that still persecute the voodoo religion.

Nothing is further from reality, all the fantasy that has been generated by the aforementioned industry has been flagrantly denied . It turns out that the origins of voodoo must be found in the period of the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries, when the European powers continued in their efforts to colonize overseas extensions to continue trading with slaves and import riches from the Caribbean islands, such as the tobacco, sugar or rum.


Hand in hand with French missionaries, the voodoo religion is directly descended from Roman Catholicism, and some of its precepts are shared with Western Christianity. They have a God who commands spirits to work in the visible earth through the flesh and blood human being. Curiously, voodoo does not believe in heaven or hell . They simply believed in the good work and peace that the ancestors had entrusted to those who professed this religion.

An intentional manipulation

History always repeats itself and, as it is usually affirmed, it is written by the victors. And this was not going to be the exception. Taking into account that voodoo comes from the colonial era and slavery, blacks who suffered these injustices took refuge in a religion that allowed them to maintain any glimmer of hope and comfort. It was at this time when the French fought a propaganda battle to avoid any kind of revolution that would allow the emancipation of their lackeys.

Indeed, the voodoo religion was at times a revolutionary act that put the imperialist forces in check on more than one occasion. of the moment. Therefore, some influential global forces such as the Church, Haitian politicians and white scientists, began to organize a criminalizing story against this belief. Satanic rites, carnivorous ceremonies and idolatry to monsters is the image that was exported from the island to the West.

After the independence of Haiti back in the eighteenth century, the poor villagers did not get rid of all this talk. Having suffered all kinds of harassment by the French, it was the turn of the Americans who, curiously, became independent of the English empire shortly before the Caribbean. Faustin Wirkus, Admiral of the US Army, saw enormous potential in the riches to be exploited within Haiti, as well as installing permanent naval bases to dominate the seas of Central America.

The Haiti tsunami

Still fresh is the memory of the fatal natural events suffered by the island in 2010, when on a quiet day a gigantic wave engulfed the entire coast, reaching the area full of tourist hotels and resorts located on the seafront. Currently, the area is still considered catastrophic, as well as the poorest country in the world according to a report by the United Nations.

On that occasion, the Haitians were not saved from suffering expletives and slander because of their condition of practicing the Vudist religion. Without going any further, the American evangelist and controversial Pat Robertson, said that the natural disaster had been a punishment from God for having agreed with the devil in the year 1791. Some unfortunate statements that do nothing but incite hatred and racism towards a already very unfortunate population.

Bibliographic references:

  • Hurbon, Laënnec (1993 / first edition in French: 1984). «The imaginary barbarian». Mexico City: Economic Culture Fund (translation by Jorge Padín Videla).
  • Pancorbo, Luis (1993). «" Voodoo reflections "," The Turtle Channel ". In: River of America ». Barcelona: Laertes (pp. 303).
  • Seabrook, William (2005). «The magic island». Editorial Valdemar. Collection: The Diogenes Club / CD-229 (Translation by José Luis Moreno-Ruiz).

25 True Things You May Not Know About Voodoo (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quelle est la religion vaudou? Caractéristiques, histoire et mythes

Quelle est la religion vaudou? Caractéristiques, histoire et mythes

Novembre 12, 2022

C’est avec certitude l’un des grands mythes de tous les temps . Quand on entend le mot vaudou, religion vaudou ou la phrase célèbre «Je vais te faire vaudou», n’est-ce pas que nous pensons à quelque chose de positif précisément. Tout au long de l'histoire, nous avons présenté cette croyance comme quelque chose de diabolique, de lien avec le diable lui-même et qui sert à nuire aux personnes que nous détestons, en particulier physiques. C'est une sorte de sortilège, à comprendre.

Cependant, depuis un peu plus de dix ans en particulier, en ce qui concerne l’année 2003 - date à laquelle la religion vaudou est devenue officielle en Haïti -, on a commencé à clarifier ce qui découle réellement de cette mythologie déformée en ridicule. , comme le soulignent les experts. Millery Polyné et Elizabeth McAlister, deux experts du domaine, ont contribué à la réalisation d'études historiographiques différentes visant à démystifier la "mauvaise presse" du voodoo.


  • Article connexe: "Types de religion (et leurs différences entre idées et croyances)"

Quelle est la religion vaudou?

Selon Polyne, un Américain d'origine haïtienne arrivé dans l'État de Floride (États-Unis) dans les années 90, alors qu'il n'avait que 14 ans, était déjà impressionné par les commentaires et les préjugés qui avaient été reproduits lorsque sa personne avait présent quand il s'agit de socialiser. "Même moi, je ne connaissais pas bien ma propre religion", déclare l'auteur. C'est à cause de ces moments paradoxaux qu'il a décidé de tirer parti de sa curiosité pour étudier l'histoire afro-américaine et caribéenne, où il enseigne à l'Université de New York.


Comme il arrive souvent dans ce type de cas, où l'ignorance et la mauvaise projection d'une culture lointaine sont peu attrayantes, nous intériorisons rapidement la première chose offerte derrière un écran, en particulier s'il s'agit d'une série ou d'un film. Il y a aussi des centaines de milliers d'œuvres littéraires qui n'ont pas aidé à effacer ces légendes noires qui persécutent encore la religion vaudou.

Rien n'est plus loin de la réalité, toute la fantaisie générée par l'industrie susmentionnée a été catégoriquement niée . Il s'avère que les origines du vaudou doivent être trouvées aux XVIe et XVIIe siècles, lorsque les puissances européennes poursuivirent leurs efforts pour coloniser des extensions outre-mer afin de continuer à faire le commerce d'esclaves et d'importer des richesses des îles des Caraïbes, comme le tabac, sucre ou rhum.


De concert avec les missionnaires français, le culte vaudou est directement issu du catholicisme romain et certains de ses préceptes sont partagés avec le christianisme occidental. Ils ont un Dieu qui commande aux esprits de travailler sur la terre visible à travers la chair et le sang de l'être humain. Intéressant, le vaudou ne croit pas au paradis ou à l'enfer . Ils croyaient simplement au bon travail et à la paix que les ancêtres avaient confiés à ceux qui professaient cette religion.

Une manipulation intentionnelle

L'histoire se répète toujours et, comme on l'affirme habituellement, elle est écrite par les vainqueurs. Et cela n'allait pas être l'exception. Considérant que le vaudou vient de l'ère coloniale et de l'esclavage, les Noirs victimes de ces injustices se sont réfugiés dans une religion qui leur permettait de conserver toute lueur d'espoir et de réconfort. C'est à cette époque que les Français mènent une bataille de propagande pour éviter toute révolution qui permettrait l'émancipation de leurs laquais.

En effet, la religion vaudou était parfois un acte révolutionnaire qui mettait les forces impérialistes en échec à plus d'une occasion. du moment. Par conséquent, certaines forces mondiales influentes telles que l'Église, des politiciens haïtiens et des scientifiques blancs ont commencé à organiser une histoire criminalisante contre cette croyance. Les rites sataniques, les cérémonies carnivores et l'idolâtrie des monstres sont l'image qui a été exportée de l'île vers l'ouest.

Après l’indépendance d’Haïti au XVIIIe siècle, les pauvres villageois ne se sont pas débarrassés de toutes ces discussions. Ayant subi toutes sortes de harcèlements de la part des Français, c’est au tour des Américains qui, curieusement, sont devenus indépendants de l’empire anglais peu de temps avant les Caraïbes. Faustin Wirkus, amiral de l'armée américaine, a constaté un potentiel énorme dans les richesses à exploiter en Haïti, ainsi que l'installation de bases navales permanentes pour dominer les mers d'Amérique centrale.

Le tsunami en Haïti

Le souvenir des événements naturels fatals subis par l'île en 2010 est encore frais, alors qu'un jour de calme une vague gigantesque a submergé toute la côte, atteignant le quartier des hôtels et centres de villégiature touristiques situés sur le front de mer. Selon un rapport des Nations Unies, la région est toujours considérée comme catastrophique, de même que le pays le plus pauvre du monde.

À cette occasion, les Haïtiens n’ont pas été sauvés des souffrances des jurons et de la calomnie en raison de leur condition de pratiquer la religion vudiste. Sans vouloir aller plus loin, Pat Robertson, évangéliste américain et controversé, a déclaré que la catastrophe naturelle avait été une punition de Dieu pour avoir accepté le diable en 1791. Certaines déclarations malheureuses qui ne font qu'inciter à la haine et au racisme population déjà très malheureuse.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Hurbon, Laënnec (1993 / première édition en français: 1984). «Le barbare imaginaire». Mexico: Fonds pour la culture économique (traduction de Jorge Padín Videla).
  • Pancorbo, Luis (1993). «" Réflexions vaudou "," Le canal des tortues ". Dans: River of America ». Barcelone: ​​Laertes (pp. 303).
  • Seabrook, William (2005). «L'île magique». Editorial Valdemar. Collection: Le club de Diogène / CD-229 (Traduction de José Luis Moreno-Ruiz).

Vidéo : au cœur d'une cérémonie vaudou en Haïti (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes