yes, therapy helps!
What music do smart people listen to?

What music do smart people listen to?

August 17, 2022

A recent investigation relates our musical tastes with academic qualifications.

What music do smart people listen to?

In a previous article of Psychology and Mind , we were able to know a study that linked the preference for certain musical styles with the tendency to possess a certain personality profile. In the study that concerns us today, Virgil Griffith, US creator of software and application developer, set out to investigate the link between people's musical tastes and their academic performance. The conclusions of the study were included in the dossier "Music That Makes You Dumb "(Music that makes you stupid).


The results of this detailed analysis were found after crossing the average rate in the university entrance exams of the students with the music they published and they shared in the social network Facebook . As we can see, an unscientific methodology, but it is worthwhile to echo the results found, nor to be the first stone towards new research that evaluates the relationship between these two variables: intelligence and musical preferences.

Rock for smart and reaggeton for fools?

As the results show, the young students who obtained poorer ratings were those who liked to listen to musical artists like Lil Wayne, The Used, Beyoncé or Jay- Z , being the genres of Hip Hop and Reggaeton the most commonly heard by this type of students. By cons, those who obtained a brilliant note in the entrance exam were crossed with the great composer Ludwig van Beethoven .


Within the sector with high ratings, music bands were also repeatedly reported as U2, Counting Crows, The Shins, Bob Dylan or the British Radiohea d . Following up on this outstanding list of groups, Coldplay or Red Hot Chili Peppers .

The musical tastes of average students (those who did not excel for good or bad, average students) included groups such as Pearl Jam, System of a Down , the mythical Australians AC / DC, Oasis or The Doors . The author of the study visually classified all the data in a table that was published on its website, and that we offer below.

Discussion

Certainly, the methodology of the study is questionable. First of all, the study was presented in the media as the correlation found among the variables intelligence Y musical tastes, When really the investigation did not rigorously measure any of them . Regarding the first, it should be noted that establishing a total symmetry between intelligence and academic performance is rather imprecise. Regarding the second, it is likely that what we share on Facebook is not a reliable criterion to measure our tastes and preferences.


In addition, it is necessary to explain that, obviously, there is no scientific evidence that allows us to say that there is a certain type of music that makes us "smarter" or "stupider". It is a statistical matter, mere correlation. It will be necessary to continue investigating to see to what extent there is some kind of relationship between the level of intelligence and the preference for one or other musical groups.


Classical Music for Brain Power - Mozart (August 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Quelle musique les gens intelligents écoutent-ils?

Quelle musique les gens intelligents écoutent-ils?

Mai 25, 2022

Une enquête récente concerne nos goûts musicaux avec des qualifications académiques.

Quelle musique les gens intelligents écoutent-ils?

Dans un article précédent de Psychologie et esprit , nous avons pu connaître une étude établissant un lien entre la préférence de certains styles de musique et la tendance à posséder un certain profil de personnalité. Dans l’étude qui nous concerne aujourd’hui, Virgil Griffith, créateur américain de développeurs de logiciels et d’applications, a entrepris d’examiner le lien qui existe entre les goûts musicaux des gens et leurs performances scolaires. Les conclusions de l'étude ont été incluses dans le dossier "Une musique qui vous rend muet "(Musique qui vous rend stupide).


Les résultats de cette analyse détaillée ont été trouvés après avoir traversé la note moyenne dans les examens d'entrée à l'université des étudiants avec le musique ils ont publié et ils ont partagé dans le réseau social Facebook . Comme on peut le constater, il s’agit d’une méthodologie non scientifique, mais il convient de faire écho aux résultats obtenus, ni d’être la pierre angulaire de nouvelles recherches évaluant la relation entre ces deux variables: intelligence et préférences musicales.

Rock pour smart et reaggeton pour des imbéciles?

Comme le montrent les résultats, les jeunes étudiants qui ont obtenu évaluations plus pauvres étaient ceux qui aimaient écouter des artistes musicaux comme Lil Wayne, The Used, Beyoncé ou Jay- Z , étant les genres du Hip Hop et du Reggaeton les plus communément entendus par ce type d’élèves. Par contre, ceux qui ont obtenu une note brillante à l'examen d'entrée ont été croisés avec le grand compositeur Ludwig Van Beethoven .


Dans le secteur très coté, les groupes de musique ont également été mentionnés à plusieurs reprises comme U2, Compter les corbeaux, Les tibias, Bob Dylan ou les britanniques Radiohea d . Suite à cette liste exceptionnelle de groupes, Coldplay ou Red Hot Chili Peppers .

Les goûts musicaux des étudiants moyens (ceux qui n’excellent pas en bien ou en mal, les étudiants moyens) comprenaient des groupes tels que Pearl Jam, système d'un duvet , les mythiques australiens AC / DC, Oasis ou Les Portes . L’auteur de l’étude a classé visuellement toutes les données dans un tableau publié sur son site Web et que nous proposons ci-dessous.

Discussion

Certes, la méthodologie de l’étude est discutable. Tout d’abord, l’étude a été présentée dans les médias comme la corrélation trouvée entre les variables l'intelligence et goûts musicaux, quand vraiment l'enquête n'a mesuré aucun d'entre eux de manière rigoureuse . S'agissant de la première, il convient de noter qu'établir une symétrie totale entre intelligence et performance académique est plutôt imprécis. En ce qui concerne la seconde, il est probable que ce que nous partageons sur Facebook ne soit pas un critère fiable pour mesurer nos goûts et nos préférences.


De plus, il est nécessaire d’expliquer qu’aucune preuve scientifique ne nous permet évidemment de dire qu’il existe un certain type de musique qui nous rend «plus intelligents» ou «plus stupides». C'est une question statistique, une simple corrélation. Il faudra poursuivre les recherches pour voir dans quelle mesure il existe une sorte de relation entre le niveau d'intelligence et la préférence pour l'un ou l'autre groupe musical.


10 Types de Femmes Que Les Hommes N’épousent Pas (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes