yes, therapy helps!
Why anxiety can cause overweight, according to several scientific studies

Why anxiety can cause overweight, according to several scientific studies

June 13, 2024

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), obesity and overweight are two of the biggest health problems facing the world population today. They are defined as an abnormal or excessive accumulation of fat that can seriously harm health.

That is, the problem of overweight and obesity is that they are two of the most important risk factors for the development of cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, musculoskeletal disorders and some cancers.

Fortunately we have been able to detect many of the causes, which in the long term can lead us to reduce its prevalence. One of the risk factors for weight gain, which has been the most discussed in recent years is anxiety.


Anxiety and stress: are they the same?

Stress and anxiety are words that we sometimes use as synonyms because they both refer to psychological and physiological states that alter our mood and our activity in general.

Stress can have a positive face (the term in English for this is "eustress", or eustress in Spanish) that helps us to be able to respond to the demands of the environment, and to flee or adapt according to the situation. Thus, stress is the broad physiological state, which may have different manifestations and its presence may vary on a regular basis.

But when stress is a constant state, which is not serving us to adequately respond to external demands, and begins to give us the feeling of being out of control, then it may be turning into a pathological picture closer to anxiety.


Depending on the level at which it occurs, anxiety is characterized by a series of psychological and physiological experiences such as palpitations, tachycardia, sweating, insomnia , feeling of shortness of breath, constant movements, lack of concentration, anguish.

Anxiety is a more specific picture than stress and is accompanied by important changes at the physiological level, such as the secretion of corticosteroid hormones at very high levels and for a long time, which in turn makes our body and our state of mind Do not be adaptive, but the opposite.

Although their causes are very varied, some of the most common are the lifestyles related to work or academic conditions, or more personal experiences that cause vulnerability, such as mistreatment, harassment, feeling of uncertainty, the loss of a loved one, among others.


Why can anxiety cause overweight?

The main cause of overweight and obesity is the increase in the intake of high-calorie foods that are rich in fat . In turn, this increase can occur due to many factors, for example, due to reduced physical activity, food processing and distribution, unbalanced diets or the lack of policies that support the health sector.

Apart from the above, some recent research has suggested that anxiety is another of the risk factors for the development of overweight and obesity, mainly for the following reason: when we feel anxious we eat more (and worse).

When we find ourselves in situations that provoke anxiety, a whole series of chemical changes take place in our brain. In these moments, something that produces a sensation of calm and satisfaction are the foods that have a higher caloric concentration, which are also less satiating, which is why they generate the need to eat in large quantities.

In addition, constant stress and anxiety often cause insomnia, which means that in the day to day we have the need to eat a greater amount of food, usually also with high caloric content.

Specifically, the excessive consumption of sugar activates the brain system responsible for metabolizing glucocorticoids, which are the hormones that metabolize carbohydrates, and which are also activated in response to stress situations, causing a feeling of euphoria. The latter is adaptive and important to maintain homeostasis at moderate levels of secretion, but in excess it can be problematic.

Some tips to reduce anxiety

Anxiety, in addition to being related to obesity, It is related to sedentary lifestyle and high consumption of psychoactive substances such as alcohol or tobacco , which in turn, causes more overweight and obesity. In addition, both overweight and anxiety are two problems that significantly affect children.

The good news is that some research suggests that effectively, a stable reduction in anxiety states favors the decrease in body mass index. For that reason it is important to know some ways to avoid it.

Because the causes are quite nonspecific, some of the most general recommendations we can make are based on habit modification; question that may seem quite complicated, but that can also be simple if it has an adequate follow-up.

1. Detect the moments in which we feel stressed or anxious

Stress and anxiety can be caused by very different situations, for example, some conflict that we have not been able to talk about or solve at work, at school, with a partner, with friends or with the family; It can also happen that they do not have a clear cause, or that there is a difficulty in setting limits to others.

In the beginning it is important to have clues about the situations that may be causing us constant stress, so that it is possible to modify them or modify our positions and decisions before them.

2. Find alternatives

Something that we must have clear is that habits do not change from one day to another, just as anxiety does not disappear overnight, which is important to learn to find relaxation through more functional things than excessive intake of calories.

For example, learning to disconnect and rest, or at the level of interpersonal relationships, try to set limits to others and to our own demands. Also and according to our interests we can choose to exercise, go for a walk, visit someone, read a good book, have a tea, watch a movie ...

3. Establish routines that incorporate healthy habits and pleasant experiences

It is about making sure that our day to day is composed of some basic things like having a balanced diet, in sufficient quantity and as natural and fresh as possible; moderate exercise, have moments of rest, share with our peers, and try to do activities that produce motivation and personal satisfaction, which can be from a hobby to maintain long-term professional aspirations.

In any case, it is also important to ask for specialized help if we need it. A visit to a psychologist, psychiatrist or neurologist can also be very useful to reduce our levels of anxiety and improve our response to stressful situations.

Bibliographic references:

  • World Health Organization. (2017). Obesity and overweight. Retrieved April 25, 2018. Available at //www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/obesity-and-overweight
  • Tryon, M., Stanhope, K., Epe, E. et al. (2015). Excessive Sugar Consumption May Be a Difficult Habit to Break: A View from the Brain and Body. The Journal of Clinical Endocrinology & Metabolism, 100 (6): 2239-2247.
  • González-Ramírez, T., Monica, G. & Pompa-Guajardo, E. (2011). Decrease of anxiety and body mass index in overweight and obese children, after a multidisciplinary treatment. Anxiety and Stress, 17 (2/3): 211-219.
  • Strine, T., Mokdad, A., Dube, S. et. al (2008). The association of depression and anxiety with obesity and unhealthy behaviors among community-dwelling US adults. General Hospital Psychiatry. 30 (2): 127-137
  • Tapia, A. (2006). Anxiety, an important factor to consider for the adequate diagnosis and treatment of overweight and obese patients. Chilean Magazine of Nutrition, 33 (2): 325-357.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi l’anxiété peut causer un excès de poids, selon plusieurs études scientifiques

Pourquoi l’anxiété peut causer un excès de poids, selon plusieurs études scientifiques

Janvier 6, 2023

Selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), l'obésité et le surpoids sont deux des plus grands problèmes de santé auxquels la population mondiale est confrontée aujourd'hui. Ils sont définis comme une accumulation anormale ou excessive de graisse pouvant nuire gravement à la santé.

En d’autres termes, le problème du surpoids et de l’obésité réside dans le fait qu’ils sont deux des facteurs de risque les plus importants pour le développement des maladies cardiovasculaires, du diabète, des troubles musculo-squelettiques et de certains cancers.

Heureusement, nous avons pu détecter de nombreuses causes, ce qui, à long terme, peut nous amener à en réduire la prévalence. L’anxiété est l’un des facteurs de risque de la prise de poids, qui a été le plus discuté au cours des dernières années.


Anxiété et stress: sont-ils les mêmes?

Stress et anxiété sont des mots que nous utilisons parfois comme synonymes car ils désignent tous deux des états psychologiques et physiologiques qui modifient notre humeur et notre activité en général.

Le stress peut avoir un visage positif (le terme anglais pour désigner celui-ci est "eustress" ou "eustress" en espagnol), ce qui nous aide à pouvoir répondre aux demandes de l'environnement et à fuir ou à s'adapter en fonction de la situation. Ainsi, le stress est l’état physiologique général, qui peut avoir différentes manifestations et sa présence peut varier régulièrement.

Mais lorsque le stress est un état constant, qui ne nous permet pas de répondre adéquatement aux demandes extérieures et commence à nous donner le sentiment d’être hors de contrôle, il peut alors se transformer en une image pathologique plus proche de l’anxiété.


En fonction du niveau auquel elle se produit, l’anxiété est caractérisée par une série d'expériences psychologiques et physiologiques telles que palpitations, tachycardie, transpiration, insomnie sensation d'essoufflement, mouvements constants, manque de concentration, angoisse.

L’anxiété est une image plus spécifique que le stress et s’accompagne de changements importants au niveau physiologique, tels que la sécrétion d’hormones corticostéroïdes à des niveaux très élevés et pendant une longue période, ce qui rend notre corps et notre esprit Ne soyez pas adaptatif, mais le contraire.

Bien que leurs causes soient très variées, les plus courantes sont les modes de vie liés aux conditions de travail ou scolaires, ou à des expériences plus personnelles qui rendent vulnérable, telles que maltraitance, harcèlement, sentiment d'incertitude, perte d'un être cher, parmi d'autres


Pourquoi l'anxiété peut-elle causer un excès de poids?

La cause principale du surpoids et de l'obésité est l'augmentation de la consommation d'aliments riches en calories et riches en graisses . À son tour, cette augmentation peut être due à de nombreux facteurs, notamment à une activité physique réduite, à la transformation et à la distribution des aliments, à des régimes déséquilibrés ou au manque de politiques soutenant le secteur de la santé.

Outre ce qui précède, certaines recherches récentes suggèrent que l’anxiété est un autre facteur de risque de surpoids et d’obésité, principalement pour la raison suivante: lorsque nous nous sentons anxieux, nous mangeons plus (et pire).

Lorsque nous nous trouvons dans des situations qui provoquent l’anxiété, toute une série de changements chimiques se produisent dans notre cerveau. Dans ces moments, les aliments qui ont une concentration calorique plus élevée, qui sont également moins rassasiants, produisent un sentiment de calme et de satisfaction, raison pour laquelle ils génèrent le besoin de manger en grande quantité.

En outre, le stress et l’anxiété constants sont souvent à l’origine de l’insomnie, ce qui signifie que nous avons quotidiennement besoin de manger une plus grande quantité de nourriture, généralement également à haute teneur en calories.

Plus précisément, la consommation excessive de sucre active le système cérébral responsable de la métabolisation des glucocorticoïdes, hormones qui métabolisent les glucides et qui sont également activés en réponse à des situations de stress, provoquant un sentiment d’euphorie. Ce dernier est adaptatif et important pour maintenir l'homéostasie à des niveaux de sécrétion modérés, mais en excès, cela peut être problématique.

Quelques conseils pour réduire l'anxiété

L'anxiété, en plus d'être liée à l'obésité, Elle est liée au mode de vie sédentaire et à la consommation élevée de substances psychoactives telles que l’alcool ou le tabac. , qui à son tour, provoque plus de surpoids et d'obésité. En outre, le surpoids et l’anxiété sont deux problèmes qui affectent considérablement les enfants.

La bonne nouvelle est que, selon certaines recherches, une réduction stable des états d'anxiété favorise effectivement la diminution de l'indice de masse corporelle. Pour cette raison, il est important de savoir comment l'éviter.

Parce que les causes ne sont pas spécifiques, certaines des recommandations les plus générales que nous puissions formuler sont basées sur la modification des habitudes. question qui peut paraître assez compliquée, mais qui peut aussi être simple si elle a un suivi adéquat.

1. Détecter les moments où nous nous sentons stressés ou anxieux

Le stress et l’anxiété peuvent être causés par des situations très différentes, par exemple des conflits que nous n’avons pas pu parler ni résoudre au travail, à l’école, avec un partenaire, avec des amis ou avec la famille; Il peut également arriver qu’ils n’aient pas de cause claire ou qu’il soit difficile de fixer des limites aux autres.

Au début, il est important d’avoir des indices sur les situations qui peuvent nous causer un stress constant, afin qu’il soit possible de les modifier ou de modifier nos positions et nos décisions.

2. Trouver des alternatives

Il faut bien comprendre que les habitudes ne changent pas d’un jour à l’autre, pas plus que l’anxiété ne disparaît du jour au lendemain. Il est important d’apprendre à trouver la relaxation par des choses plus fonctionnelles que par un apport excessif de calories.

Par exemple, apprendre à déconnecter et se reposer, ou au niveau des relations interpersonnelles, essaie de fixer des limites aux autres et à nos propres demandes. De plus, selon nos intérêts, nous pouvons choisir de faire de l’exercice, de faire une promenade, de rendre visite à quelqu'un, de lire un bon livre, de prendre un thé, de regarder un film ...

3. Établissez des routines intégrant des habitudes saines et des expériences agréables

Il s’agit de veiller à ce que notre quotidien comprenne des éléments de base, comme une alimentation équilibrée, en quantité suffisante, aussi naturelle et fraîche que possible; Faites de l'exercice modéré, prenez des moments de repos, partagez des moments avec nos pairs et essayez de faire des activités qui génèrent motivation et satisfaction personnelle, ce qui peut être un passe-temps permettant de maintenir des aspirations professionnelles à long terme.

Dans tous les cas, il est également important de demander une aide spécialisée si nous en avons besoin. Une visite chez un psychologue, un psychiatre ou un neurologue peut également être très utile pour réduire notre niveau d'anxiété et améliorer notre réponse aux situations stressantes.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Organisation mondiale de la SANTE. (2017). L'obésité et l'embonpoint Récupéré le 25 avril 2018. Disponible à l'adresse http://www.who.int/en/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/obesity-and-over- overweight.
  • Tryon, M., Stanhope, K., Epe, E. et al. (2015). Consommation excessive de sucre peut être une habitude difficile à briser: une vue du cerveau et du corps. Le journal d'endocrinologie et de métabolisme cliniques, 100 (6): 2239-2247.
  • González-Ramírez, T., Monica, G. et Pompa-Guajardo, E. (2011). Diminution de l’anxiété et de l’indice de masse corporelle chez les enfants en surpoids et obèses après un traitement multidisciplinaire. Anxiety and Stress, 17 (2/3): 211-219.
  • Strine, T., Mokdad, A., Dube, S. et. al (2008). L'association de la dépression et de l'anxiété avec l'obésité et les comportements malsains chez les adultes américains vivant dans la communauté. Psychiatrie de l'hôpital général. 30 (2): 127-137
  • Tapia, A. (2006). L'anxiété, facteur important à prendre en compte pour le diagnostic et le traitement adéquats des patients obèses ou en surpoids. Chilean Magazine of Nutrition, 33 (2): 325-357.

Makossa (Janvier 2023).


Articles Connexes