yes, therapy helps!
Why conversion therapies are harmful

Why conversion therapies are harmful

January 25, 2022

As in other scientific disciplines, the development of psychology has not been free of biases and homophobic practices. Proof of this has been the long and until recently neglected presence of homosexuality as a clinical category in psychopathology; as well as the creation of their corresponding "conversion therapies", "reparative therapies of correction" or "sexual reorientation".

Although in many contexts this last not only is it discredited but legally penalized ; in other places, the medieval and violent idea that homosexuality is a disease or a disorder that can therefore be reversed, continues in force.

With the intention of analyze why conversion therapies are harmful , in this article we will start by reviewing what is and where these therapies come from, to finally see what some of its effects are.


  • Related article: "5 myths about homosexuality disassembled by science"

Psychopathology and the logic of correction

The idea of ​​"healing", or rather of "correcting", is a logic that goes through the whole production of psychopathology, sometimes explicitly sometimes implicitly. This idea easily becomes a fantasy that fills the gaps of the most conservative Western ideology, and therefore, psychopathology has been offered easily as a powerful control strategy; in this case, of homosexuality .

As Foucault would say in the 70's (cit in Montoya, 2006), since its inception, psychiatry was proposed as an option that was not useful to "cure" in essence, because what it did was to intervene cases of abnormality fixed without precise organic foundation .


What could he do then? Correct that abnormality, or try to control it. Beyond diminishing a psychic malaise, psychiatry acquires a function of social protection; that is, to procure order in the face of the danger represented by what is morally placed as "abnormal". In this context, sexuality, or rather non-heterosexuality, it was not out of the pathological view . In the beginning it is controlled from the corporal, and later from the psychic.

Thus arises an inseparable relationship between morality, which is read in statistical terms of normality; and medicine, which is later derived in psychopathology. As a result, heterosexuality has been understood in many contexts as normal and synonymous with health. And homosexuality as the abnormal and the synonymous of disease, or at best, as a disorder.

  • Maybe you're interested: "History of psychotherapy and clinical psychology"

Sexuality always in the spotlight

Being a fundamental part of the human condition, sexuality has remained very present in philosophical, scientific and political debates deeper. At times, these debates have taken the form of moral prescriptions about sexual behavior; which in turn has impacted even the desires, the pleasures, the practices, the identities and in general the visions about sexuality.


In fact, until not long ago, it was difficult to make public the doubt generated by the biological foundations of sexuality, under which the latter is reduced to the reproductive capacity of men and women . Not without having been absent in other times and societies, it was until the middle of the last century when sexual dissidence took to the streets to demand the free exercise of sexuality as a human right.

With the so-called "Sexual Revolution", a lot of lives, identities and pleasures that neither morals nor pathology had managed to capture gain visibility; this especially in the European and American context.

This is the reason for the struggle for equal rights and for eradicate forms of discrimination based on sexual orientation . Not only that, but finally, in the year of 1973 the APA withdraws from its compendium of mental disorders to homosexuality. The WHO does the same until 1990, and in the first year of our century, APA also publicly rejected the implementation of conversion therapies.

On the other hand, but also in the United States, a strong conservative current arises that struggles in the opposite direction, that of denying sexual diversity, and advocates granting rights only if sexuality is lived in a heteronormative way. Faced with the problem of how to make it heteronormative, conservative psychology and psychiatry offer the solution: a series of correction therapies they can "reverse", or some even "cure", homosexuality.

Questions about the immutability of sexual orientation

On the other hand, although in a minority way, another part of science has generated knowledge that has allowed us to firmly question the idea of ​​homosexuality as a pathology.

Montoya (2006) tells us about some investigations that analyze, for example, the development and gonadal, cerebral and psychological diversity. The latter question the essentialist and immutable view of heterosexuality , in addition to making visible that no genes or anatomical or behavioral factors have been found that can fully account for sexual orientation.

Thus, sexual orientation is not something predetermined and immutable but rather a "process of continuous interaction between the biological and psychic structure of the person and the environment where they express their sexuality" (ibidem: 202).

Emergence and conversion therapies

We have seen from a Foucaultian perspective that, in its beginnings, psychiatry is considered as a correction technology, where sexuality plays a leading role. When the latter was thought to have been overcome, the 21st century comes to condense all of the above in the emergence of techniques that are offered as a corrective option for homosexuality.

Reparative therapy first emerged in 1991, one year after the WHO withdrew homosexuality from the compendium of diseases . The term is attributed to the American clinical psychologist Joseph Nicolosi, who proposed it as a therapeutic model that would allow to change from homosexuality to heterosexuality. Basically the idea of ​​the "therapeutic" assumes in a generalized way that homosexuality is, in reality, latent heterosexuality, and that it is a condition that generates unhappiness or important psychic discomfort; with which, you have to correct it.

The therapist is thus positioned from a homophobic paternalism that suppresses the autonomy of the person. And part of the options available from aversive conditioning with electroconvulsive therapy to practicing celibacy through reinforcing guilt .

From there, correction therapies are not considered as options based on an integral, comprehensive and respectful vision of diversity, which allows us to explore discomforts beyond the subject (for example, as a consequence of the difficulties of expressing socially the sexuality), but as an attempt to correct the person because they live in a non-normative sexuality.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Electroconvulsive therapy (ECT): characteristics and uses in psychiatry"

Damages and ethical questions

The APA (2000) says that "Psychotherapeutic modalities aimed at changing or repairing homosexuality are based on theories of development whose scientific validity is questionable" and also recommends that ethical doctors abstain from attempts to change the orientation of individuals and consider the possible damages.

These last can be psychological effects that include increasing internalized homophobia (with the consequent interruption of sexual freedom and rights), but also clinical manifestations of depression, anxiety and self-destructive behaviors.

In his bioethical analysis on the subject, Montoya (2006) tells us that the main ethical questions that can be done for conversion therapies, are the following:

  • There is not enough scientifically validated body of knowledge to sustain the effectiveness of reparative therapies .
  • Due to the above, it can hardly be argued that there are professionals who are really qualified to apply them; individual ideological criteria are easily imposed.
  • In the informed consent the possibilities of success are emphasized, that is to say, the false reparative consequences and the damages are minimized .
  • They start from the premise that homosexual behavior and identity are morally unacceptable and therefore a pathology.
  • They do not know the respect of the autonomy and dignity of the person .
  • They involve dissuasion techniques by reinforcing in the person the idea that their sexuality is pathological, inferior or reprehensible.
  • They are not innocuous : increase homophobia and increase the risk of suicide.
  • They do not know the achieved achievements in human, sexual and reproductive rights.
  • They hide human diversity.
  • They misrepresent the power of the doctor.

Bibliographic references:

  • Montoya, G. (2006). Bioethical approach to reparative therapies. Treatment for the change of homosexual orientation. Acta Bioethica, 12 (2): 199-210.
  • APA (2000). Position Statement on Therapies Focused on Attempts to Change Sexual Orientation (Reparative or Conversion Therapies). APA Official Actions. Retrieved July 25, 2018. Available in position statement on therapies focused APA.

The Dark History Of Gay Conversion Therapy (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi les thérapies de conversion sont nuisibles

Pourquoi les thérapies de conversion sont nuisibles

Mai 16, 2022

Comme dans d'autres disciplines scientifiques, le développement de la psychologie n'a pas été exempt de préjugés et de pratiques homophobes. La preuve en est la présence longtemps et jusqu'à récemment négligée de l'homosexualité en tant que catégorie clinique en psychopathologie; ainsi que la création de leurs "thérapies de conversion", "thérapies réparatrices de correction" ou "réorientation sexuelle" correspondantes.

Bien que dans de nombreux contextes, ce dernier non seulement il est discrédité mais légalement sanctionné ; ailleurs, l’idée médiévale et violente selon laquelle l’homosexualité est une maladie ou un trouble qui peut donc être inversé, demeure en vigueur.

Avec l'intention de analyser pourquoi les thérapies de conversion sont nocives Dans cet article, nous allons commencer par passer en revue la nature et la provenance de ces thérapies pour enfin voir quels sont certains de ses effets.


  • Article connexe: "Cinq mythes sur l'homosexualité démontée par la science"

Psychopathologie et la logique de correction

L'idée de "guérison", ou plutôt de "correction", est une logique qui englobe toute la production de la psychopathologie, parfois explicitement, parfois, implicitement. Cette idée devient facilement un fantasme qui comble les lacunes de l'idéologie occidentale la plus conservatrice et, par conséquent, la psychopathologie a été proposée facilement. une stratégie de contrôle puissante; dans ce cas, de l'homosexualité .

Comme le dirait Foucault dans les années 70 (cité dans Montoya, 2006), depuis sa création, la psychiatrie était proposée comme une option qui n’était pas utile pour "guérir" en substance, car elle consistait à intervenir en cas d’anomalie résolue sans fondement organique précis. .


Que pouvait-il faire alors? Corrigez cette anomalie ou essayez de la contrôler. Au-delà de la diminution du malaise psychique, la psychiatrie acquiert une fonction de protection sociale; c'est-à-dire obtenir de l'ordre face au danger représenté par ce qui est moralement placé comme "anormal". Dans ce contexte, la sexualité, ou plutôt la non-hétérosexualité, ce n'était pas hors de la vue pathologique . Au début, il est contrôlé par le caporal, et plus tard par le psychique.

Ainsi se crée une relation inséparable entre la moralité, qui se lit en termes statistiques de normalité; et la médecine, qui est plus tard dérivé de la psychopathologie. En conséquence, l'hétérosexualité a été comprise dans de nombreux contextes comme normale et synonyme de santé. Et l'homosexualité en tant qu'anormal et synonyme de maladie, ou au mieux de désordre.

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Histoire de la psychothérapie et de la psychologie clinique"

La sexualité toujours à l'honneur

Être un élément fondamental de la condition humaine, la sexualité est restée très présente dans les débats philosophiques, scientifiques et politiques plus profond. Ces débats ont parfois pris la forme de prescriptions morales concernant le comportement sexuel; ce qui à son tour a impacté même les désirs, les plaisirs, les pratiques, les identités et en général les visions sur la sexualité.


En fait, il n’ya pas si longtemps, il était difficile de rendre public le doute généré par les fondements biologiques de la sexualité, en vertu duquel cette dernière est réduit à la capacité de reproduction des hommes et des femmes . Non sans avoir été absents à d’autres époques et dans d’autres sociétés, ce n’est que jusqu’au milieu du siècle dernier que la dissidence sexuelle a envahi les rues pour réclamer le libre exercice de la sexualité en tant que droit de l’homme.

Avec la prétendue "révolution sexuelle", beaucoup de vies, d’identités et de plaisirs que ni la morale ni la pathologie n’ont réussi à gagner en visibilité; ceci en particulier dans le contexte européen et américain.

C’est la raison de la lutte pour l’égalité des droits et pour la éradiquer les formes de discrimination fondées sur l'orientation sexuelle . Non seulement cela, mais finalement, en 1973, l'APA se retire de son recueil de troubles mentaux de l'homosexualité. L'OMS a fait la même chose jusqu'en 1990 et, au cours de la première année de notre siècle, l'APA a également rejeté publiquement la mise en œuvre de thérapies de conversion.

D'autre part, mais également aux États-Unis, un fort courant conservateur se développe, qui lutte dans la direction opposée, celle de la négation de la diversité sexuelle, et préconise d'octroyer des droits uniquement si la sexualité est vécue de manière hétéronormée. Face à la difficulté de le rendre hétéronormatif, la psychologie conservatrice et la psychiatrie offrent la solution: une série de thérapies de correction ils peuvent "inverser", voire "guérir" l'homosexualité.

Questions sur l'immuabilité de l'orientation sexuelle

D'autre part, bien que de manière minoritaire, une autre partie de la science a généré des connaissances qui nous ont permis de remettre fermement en cause l'idée de l'homosexualité en tant que pathologie.

Montoya (2006) nous parle de certaines enquêtes qui analysent, par exemple, le développement et la diversité gonadique, cérébrale et psychologique. La dernière question la vision essentialiste et immuable de l'hétérosexualité , en plus de montrer qu’il n’ya pas de gènes ni de facteurs anatomiques ou comportementaux pouvant pleinement expliquer l’orientation sexuelle.

Ainsi, l'orientation sexuelle n'est pas quelque chose de prédéterminé et d'immuable, mais plutôt un "processus d'interaction continue entre la structure biologique et psychique de la personne et l'environnement où elle exprime sa sexualité" (ibidem: 202).

Thérapies d'émergence et de conversion

Dans la perspective foucaldienne, nous avons vu que, à ses débuts, la psychiatrie était considérée comme une technologie de correction, dans laquelle la sexualité joue un rôle de premier plan. Quand on a pensé que ce dernier avait été surmonté, le 21ème siècle en vient à condenser tout ce qui précède en l'émergence de techniques proposées comme solution corrective à l'homosexualité.

La thérapie réparatrice est apparue en 1991, un an après que l'OMS a retiré l'homosexualité du compendium des maladies . Le terme est attribué au psychologue clinicien américain Joseph Nicolosi, qui l’a proposé comme modèle thérapeutique permettant de passer de l’homosexualité à l’hétérosexualité. Fondamentalement, l’idée de «thérapeutique» suppose de manière générale que l’homosexualité est en réalité une hétérosexualité latente et qu’elle est une condition génératrice de malheur ou d’important malaise psychique; avec lequel, vous devez le corriger.

Le thérapeute se positionne donc à partir d'un paternalisme homophobe qui supprime l'autonomie de la personne. Et une partie des options disponibles du conditionnement aversif avec thérapie électroconvulsive à la pratique du célibat en renforçant la culpabilité .

À partir de là, les thérapies correctives ne sont pas considérées comme des options reposant sur une vision intégrale, globale et respectueuse de la diversité, ce qui nous permet d’explorer des inconvénients au-delà du sujet (par exemple, en raison des difficultés à exprimer socialement la diversité). sexualité), mais comme tentative de corriger la personne parce qu’elle vit dans une sexualité non normative.

  • Vous êtes peut-être intéressé par: "La thérapie électroconvulsive (TEC): caractéristiques et utilisations en psychiatrie"

Dommages et questions éthiques

L’APA (2000) affirme que "les modalités psychothérapeutiques visant à modifier ou à réparer l’homosexualité reposent sur des théories du développement dont la validité scientifique est discutable" et recommande également aux médecins éthiques de s’abstenir de tenter de modifier l’orientation des les dommages possibles.

Ces derniers peuvent être des effets psychologiques comprenant une homophobie intériorisée croissante (avec pour conséquence une interruption de la liberté et des droits sexuels), mais aussi des manifestations cliniques de dépression, d’anxiété et de comportements autodestructeurs.

Dans son analyse bioéthique sur le sujet, Montoya (2006) nous indique que les principales questions éthiques pouvant être posées aux thérapies de conversion sont les suivantes:

  • Il n’existe pas suffisamment de connaissances validées scientifiquement pour soutenir l'efficacité des thérapies réparatrices .
  • En raison de ce qui précède, on peut difficilement prétendre qu'il existe des professionnels vraiment qualifiés pour les appliquer; des critères idéologiques individuels s’imposent facilement.
  • Dans le consentement éclairé, les possibilités de succès sont soulignées, c'est-à-dire les fausses conséquences réparatrices et les dommages sont minimisés .
  • Ils partent du principe que le comportement et l'identité homosexuels sont moralement inacceptables et constituent donc une pathologie.
  • Ils ne connaissent pas le respect de l'autonomie et la dignité de la personne .
  • Elles impliquent des techniques de dissuasion en renforçant chez la personne l’idée que sa sexualité est pathologique, inférieure ou répréhensible.
  • Ils ne sont pas anodins : augmenter l'homophobie et augmenter le risque de suicide.
  • Ils ne connaissent pas les résultats obtenus en matière de droits humains, sexuels et reproductifs.
  • Ils cachent la diversité humaine.
  • Ils déforment le pouvoir du médecin.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Montoya, G. (2006). Approche bioéthique des thérapies réparatrices. Traitement pour le changement d'orientation homosexuelle. Acta Bioethica, 12 (2): 199-210.
  • APA (2000). Déclaration de principe sur les thérapies axées sur les tentatives de modification de l'orientation sexuelle (thérapies réparatrices ou de conversion). Actions officielles de l'APA. Récupéré le 25 juillet 2018. Disponible en énoncé de position sur les APA axés sur les thérapies.

Le fléau des punaises de lit (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes