yes, therapy helps!
Why do people seem more attractive to us when we drink alcohol?

Why do people seem more attractive to us when we drink alcohol?

January 25, 2022

It is common to notice how, after a night accompanied by a person you met at a party, you realize that you feel much less attracted when you see it in broad daylight. A possible explanation to this phenomenon could be due to this same absence of light, which certainly hides some imperfections.

But the number one responsible for this effect is well known: the alcohol . The more alcohol we consume, more attractive we tend to perceive the people around us , especially if our romantic-affective predisposition is high.

Alcohol and perception of sexual attractiveness

Indeed, there is an effect popularly known as "Beer glasses" , which increases libido and eliminates social inhibitions, causing us to have a greater predisposition to establish contact with people who would not attract us in a state of sobriety.


Alcohol determines your perception

Science explains the reason why the attraction to other people increases when we have drunk a few drinks. An investigation of the universities of Glasgow and Saint Andrews, revealed that Both women and men found 25% more attractive faces of the opposite sex compared to subjects who did not taste alcohol.

Another study carried out at Bristol University, pointed in the same direction: the participants of the research reported the attractiveness of other people as 10% higher 15 after having ingested 70 centiliters of beer (amount equivalent to three rods). It was also discovered that the sex of the other person did not influence the increase in the perception of attractiveness: men considered that other men were more attractive, and women than other women were more attractive, regardless of the sexual preferences of each participant.


Alcohol and symmetry, allies

Experts say that alcohol consumption upsets our perception about the attractiveness of other people because alters our ability to perceive the asymmetry in the face and body of other people . Usually, and without entering into other cultural conditions on beauty, one of the fundamentals of physical attractiveness is bilateral symmetry.

Other research at Roehampton University in London pointed out that alcohol inhibits our visual perception of asymmetries in other people. This reinforces the idea that alcohol acts as a symmetrizer, and therefore makes more attractive to the people we see in a drunken state.

Alcohol makes others more attractive ... but also to oneself

Some other notes: scientists from the Pierre Mendes-France Université de Paris, pointed out that the effect "beer glasses" works in a bidirectional way; in both ways: Alcohol not only improves the perception of the attractiveness of others, but also makes us feel more attractive to ourselves .


In this investigation, the experiment consisted of evaluate the self-perception of attractiveness of several participants who drank alcohol, compared to the control group who were given a drink that emulated alcohol, but did not really contain alcohol. Those who actually drank alcohol reported higher levels of perception of their own attractiveness compared to those who did not drink.

The conclusion of the matter seems obvious: it will be easier to establish a relationship with someone who has consumed alcohol than with someone who is sober, not only because of the disinhibition caused by alcohol but also because of the tendency to symmetrize the faces, and therefore perceive them as more attractive than they really are.

Yes, the next day maybe you get a disappointment .

Bibliographic references:

  • Crowe LC, George WH, Alcohol and human sexuality: review and integration. Psychol Bull. 1989 May; 105 (3): 374-86.

Why People Look More Attractive When You're Drinking (January 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi les gens semblent-ils plus attirants lorsque nous buvons de l'alcool?

Pourquoi les gens semblent-ils plus attirants lorsque nous buvons de l'alcool?

Mars 4, 2021

Il est courant de constater qu'après une nuit avec une personne rencontrée lors d'une soirée, vous réalisez que vous vous sentez beaucoup moins attiré quand vous le voyez en plein jour. Une explication possible de ce phénomène pourrait être due à cette même absence de lumière, qui cache certainement certaines imperfections.

Mais le numéro un responsable de cet effet est bien connu: l'alcool . Plus nous consommons d’alcool, plus attrayant nous avons tendance à percevoir les gens autour de nous , surtout si notre prédisposition affective et romantique est élevée.

Alcool et perception de l'attrait sexuel

En effet, il existe un effet communément appelé "Verres à bière" , qui augmente la libido et élimine les inhibitions sociales, ce qui nous incite davantage à établir un contact avec des personnes qui ne nous attireraient pas dans un état de sobriété.


L'alcool détermine votre perception

La science explique la raison pour laquelle l'attrait pour les autres augmente lorsque nous avons bu quelques verres. Une enquête sur les universités de Glasgow et de Saint Andrews a révélé que Les femmes et les hommes ont trouvé 25% plus de visages attirants du sexe opposé par rapport aux sujets n'ayant pas goûté à l'alcool.

Une autre étude réalisée à l’Université de Bristol allait dans le même sens: les participants à la recherche ont indiqué que l’attractivité d’autres personnes était 10% plus élevée 15 après avoir ingéré 70 centilitres de bière (montant équivalent à trois tiges). Il a également été découvert que le sexe de l'autre personne n'influençait pas l'augmentation de la perception d'attractivité: les hommes considéraient que les autres hommes étaient plus attrayants et les femmes plus attrayantes que les femmes, quelles que soient les préférences sexuelles de chaque participant.


Alcool et symétrie, alliés

Les experts disent que la consommation d’alcool bouleverse notre perception de l’attrait des autres parce que modifie notre capacité à percevoir l'asymétrie du visage et du corps des autres . Généralement, et sans entrer dans d'autres conditions culturelles sur la beauté, l'un des fondements de l'attractivité physique est la symétrie bilatérale.

D'autres recherches menées à l'Université Roehampton de Londres ont montré que l'alcool inhibe notre perception visuelle des asymétries chez d'autres personnes. Cela renforce l'idée que l'alcool agit comme un symétriseur et rend donc plus attrayant pour les personnes que nous voyons dans un état d'ivresse.

L'alcool rend les autres plus attrayants ... mais aussi pour soi

Quelques autres notes: des scientifiques de l’Université de Paris Pierre Mendès-France ont souligné que l’effet "verre à bière" fonctionnait de manière bidirectionnelle; dans les deux sens: L'alcool améliore non seulement la perception de l'attractivité des autres, mais nous rend également plus attractifs pour nous-mêmes. .


Dans cette enquête, l'expérience consistait à évaluer la perception de soi de l'attractivité de plusieurs participants qui ont bu de l'alcool, par rapport au groupe témoin à qui on a donné un verre imitant l'alcool, mais ne le contenant pas vraiment. Ceux qui ont réellement bu de l'alcool ont signalé des niveaux plus élevés de perception de leur propre attrait par rapport à ceux qui n'en ont pas bu.

La conclusion semble évidente: il sera plus facile d’établir une relation avec une personne qui a consommé de l’alcool qu'avec une personne qui est sobre, non seulement à cause de la désinhibition provoquée par l’alcool, mais aussi à cause de la tendance à la consommation d'alcool. symétriser les visages et les perçoivent donc comme plus attrayants qu’ils ne le sont réellement.

Ça oui, le lendemain, vous aurez peut-être une déception .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Crowe LC, George WH, Alcool et sexualité humaine: bilan et intégration. Psychol Bull. 1989 mai; 105 (3): 374-86.

Arrival at Kraghammer - Critical Role RPG Show: Episode 1 (Mars 2021).


Articles Connexes