yes, therapy helps!
Why do we look ugly in the photos? Science explains it

Why do we look ugly in the photos? Science explains it

June 12, 2024

Take a picture Look at the result Delete it immediately. It is a sequence that is repeated relatively frequently in most people at the time of being photographed.

The main reason they usually argue to repeat it several times is also known: we do not see each other well. Why does this happen? Why do we look ugly in the photos?

  • Related article: "Satisfaction with one's own body is very connected to happiness, according to a study"

The physical appearance and appearance

We live in a world where the image has great value in many aspects of life . To relate to others, get a job, get a partner ... the image of a person can indicate a lot of things about her, being judged socially. It is socially promoted that everyone tries to show their best in all aspects.


This also happens at the intrapsychic level, with the person trying to create a positive image and self-concept and acting so that his or her identity approaches their ideal. Physical attractiveness is one of the elements that are most easily visible from the outside, with what a lot of people cultivate it in order to feel better about themselves.

However, as we are, it is frequent that at the moment of taking a photo and seeing the result, a more or less profound dislike of the image it reflects appears. Sometimes we look attractive and we can feel more or less identified, but at other times we think that the image does not do us justice; We look weird, different and even "ugly". This sensation has different causes, such as the presence of a high self-demand, self-esteem or being accustomed to seeing oneself differently.


  • Related article: "Aspectism: discrimination by physical appearance"

Enforcing yourself too much

As we have said, we live in a competitive society that it requires us to demonstrate the best of ourselves in a constant way . Most people maintain sets goals, goals and demands more or less realistic and assumable according to their capabilities. However, in many cases the individual may need to do everything as well as possible, trying to achieve perfection and establishing objectives that can not be achieved.

The same can happen when taking into account the self-image : the person may want to have an excessively good image, regardless of their capacity and means to achieve it. This can cause that when you see in a photograph the reflected image is not considered sufficient, feeling ugly compared to the ideal that you would like to achieve.


The fault is with the camera!

The excuse that we usually use when we go wrong in the photos is not, at all, incorrect. And is that part of the reason that we can see strangers in photographs (and sometimes unattractive) has to do with the instrument through which we are portrayed. And is that the lenses of the cameras do not have the same shape as a human eye , which causes the final product to be different depending on what is observed.

As happens when we look in a concave or convex mirror, the lens used will make the image look slightly different from what we perceive through the human eye. Some lenses will make distant elements look much smaller than they actually are while others flatten the elements photographed , varying its size or apparent volume.

Also the luminosity, sharpness and perspective influence this fact, being able to exaggerate or hide aspects that do not seem so attractive to us.

  • Maybe you're interested: "What's your good profile for the photos?"

Matter of perspective

One of the aspects that can cause us to look ugly in photos is perspective. Normally people we are not able to observe our own face , so that the only reference we have of him is the image that reaches us through mirrors and reflective surfaces.

The point from which we observe the image tends to be always the same: a slightly elevated position that coincides with the height of our eyes and also relatively close. However, we do not usually see ourselves at a long distance, from below or from a height higher than that of our eyes. The image that returns to us camera and the vision that other people of us can have can be also different, seeing us from perspectives that we are not used to dealing with .

The habit and the effect of mere exposure

Besides that it does not correspond to the image to which we are accustomed, another aspect that participates in that we look weird or ugly in the photos has to do with being used to see us in a certain way.

On a psychological level, it has been observed that the human being shows a tendency to have preference for the things you know , increasing the positive evaluation of what surrounds us the more frequent the contact with him is. This effect is called the effect of mere exposure and is usually applied in social psychology to talk about the change in attitude towards stimuli, people or groups due to frequent contact, but it can also explain intrapsychic phenomena like this one.

Our reflected image is not our real image but its reflection or mirror image, which is an inverse image of reality, and it is to this that we tend to be accustomed. In this way, the image that the camera returns to us, which is also closer to our real image and to the perspective of those who observe us, would therefore be something different from the one we are used to seeing. While it is something seemingly insignificant, it can help that sometimes we perceive slightly strange in the photos.

Biases derived from self-esteem

Another of the main aspects when explaining why we look ugly in the photos it has to do with our self-esteem . Specifically, several studies and experiments have shown that the higher the individual's self-esteem, the worse is reflected in the photograph.

This is because the human being tries unconsciously to maintain an internal welfare state, causing us to try to identify ourselves with a positive self-image of ourselves to the point that this image is slightly superior to the real one. By observing the image of ourselves that gives us back the photograph, this unconsciously improved self-image is partly denied, causing us to consider that we have gone wrong in the capture . In other words, as a general rule people tend to consider themselves physically more attractive than they are.

This effect also applies to those people, objects or stimuli to which we are attached by affection. The fact of keeping in touch with something or someone we appreciate causes that the image that we have of him is subjectively embellished . However, in this case, sometimes the affect makes the image itself better perceived than it would be objective (since we see that person or object in a way very similar to that reflected by the camera).

Similarly, people with low self-esteem are often considered less attractive than they really are, so in pictures that really go wrong for different reasons can be more easily identified.

Bibliographic references:

  • Epley, N. & Whitchurch, E. (2008). Mirror, mirror on the wall: enhancement in self-recognition. Pers Soc Psychol Bull.34 (9): 1159-70.

Why You Look UGLY in Photos but Attractive in Real Life | EXPLAINED! (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi avons-nous l'air laide sur les photos? La science l'explique

Pourquoi avons-nous l'air laide sur les photos? La science l'explique

Avril 29, 2024

Prendre une photo Regarde le résultat Supprimez-le immédiatement. C’est une séquence qui est répétée relativement fréquemment chez la plupart des gens au moment où ils sont photographiés.

La raison principale pour laquelle ils réclament généralement de le répéter plusieurs fois est également connue: nous ne nous voyons pas bien. Pourquoi cela se produit-il? Pourquoi avons-nous l'air laide sur les photos?

  • Article connexe: "Selon une étude, la satisfaction à l'égard de son propre corps est très liée au bonheur"

L'apparence physique

Nous vivons dans un monde où l'image a une grande valeur dans de nombreux aspects de la vie . Etre en relation avec les autres, trouver un emploi, trouver un partenaire ... l'image d'une personne peut indiquer beaucoup de choses à son sujet, étant socialement jugée. Il est socialement encouragé que tout le monde essaie de montrer son meilleur dans tous les aspects.


Cela se produit également au niveau intrapsychique, la personne essayant de créer une image positive et une image de soi positive et agissant pour que son identité s'approche de son idéal. L'attrait physique est l'un des éléments les plus facilement visibles de l'extérieur, avec ce que beaucoup de gens cultivent pour se sentir mieux.

Cependant, dans l'état actuel des choses, il est fréquent qu'au moment de prendre une photo et de voir le résultat, une aversion plus ou moins profonde de l'image qu'elle reflète. Parfois, nous avons l’air attrayant et nous pouvons nous sentir plus ou moins identifiés, mais à d’autres nous pensons que l'image ne nous rend pas justice; Nous avons l'air bizarre, différent et même "laid". Cette sensation a différentes causes, telles que la présence d'une forte demande de soi, l'estime de soi ou l'habitude de se voir différemment.


  • Article connexe: "Aspectisme: discrimination par apparence physique"

S'imposer trop

Comme nous l’avons dit, nous vivons dans une société compétitive qui il nous faut démontrer le meilleur de nous-même de manière constante . La plupart des gens maintiennent des objectifs définis, des objectifs et des exigences plus ou moins réalistes et assumables en fonction de leurs capacités. Cependant, dans de nombreux cas, l’individu peut avoir besoin de tout faire le mieux possible, en essayant d’atteindre la perfection et en fixant des objectifs impossibles à atteindre.

La même chose peut arriver lors de la prise en compte de l'image de soi : la personne peut vouloir avoir une image excessivement bonne, quels que soient sa capacité et ses moyens de la réaliser. Cela peut avoir pour conséquence que, lorsque vous voyez sur une photo, l’image reflétée n’est pas jugée suffisante, vous vous sentez moche par rapport à l’idéal que vous souhaitez atteindre.


La faute est avec la caméra!

L'excuse que nous utilisons habituellement lorsque nous nous trompons sur les photos n'est pas du tout erronée. Et est-ce une partie de la raison pour laquelle nous pouvons voir des étrangers sur les photographies (et parfois peu attrayantes) a à voir avec l'instrument à travers lequel nous sommes dépeints. Et est-ce les lentilles des caméras n'ont pas la même forme qu'un œil humain , ce qui rend le produit final différent selon ce qui est observé.

Comme dans le cas d'un miroir concave ou convexe, l'objectif utilisé donnera à l'image un aspect légèrement différent de ce que nous percevons à travers l'œil humain. Certains objectifs font paraître les éléments distants beaucoup plus petits qu’ils ne le sont réellement. tandis que d'autres aplatissent les éléments photographiés , en variant sa taille ou son volume apparent.

La luminosité, la netteté et la perspective influencent également ce fait, en permettant d'exagérer ou de masquer des aspects qui ne nous semblent pas aussi attrayants.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par "Quel est votre profil pour les photos?"

Question de perspective

La perspective est l’un des aspects qui peuvent nous faire paraître laids. Normalement les gens nous ne sommes pas capables d'observer notre propre visage , de sorte que la seule référence que nous ayons à son sujet est l’image qui nous parvient à travers les miroirs et les surfaces réfléchissantes.

Le point à partir duquel nous observons l'image a tendance à être toujours le même: une position légèrement surélevée qui coïncide avec la hauteur de nos yeux et qui est également relativement proche. Cependant, nous ne nous voyons généralement pas à une longue distance, de dessous ou d'une hauteur supérieure à celle de nos yeux. L’image qui nous revient caméra et la vision que d’autres peuvent avoir peuvent être aussi différentes, nous voir de perspectives que nous ne sommes pas habitués à traiter .

L'habitude et l'effet de simple exposition

En plus de cela, cela ne correspond pas à l'image à laquelle nous sommes habitués. Un autre aspect qui participe au fait que nous avons l'air bizarre ou laid sur les photos est d'avoir l'habitude de nous voir d'une certaine manière.

Sur le plan psychologique, il a été observé que l’être humain montre une tendance à avoir une préférence pour les choses que vous connaissez En augmentant l’évaluation positive de ce qui nous entoure, plus le contact avec lui est fréquent. Cet effet s'appelle l'effet de simple exposition et est généralement appliqué en psychologie sociale pour parler du changement d'attitude envers les stimuli, les personnes ou les groupes en raison de contacts fréquents, mais il peut aussi expliquer des phénomènes intrapsychiques comme celui-ci.

Notre image réfléchie n'est pas notre image réelle mais son reflet ou son image miroir, qui est une image inverse de la réalité, et c'est à cela que nous avons tendance à nous habituer. Ainsi, l'image que nous renvoie la caméra, qui est également plus proche de notre image réelle et du point de vue de ceux qui nous observent, serait donc quelque chose de différent de celui que nous sommes habitués à voir. Bien que ce soit quelque chose qui semble insignifiant, cela peut aider que nous percevions parfois un peu étrange sur les photos.

Biais dérivés de l'estime de soi

Un autre des aspects principaux pour expliquer pourquoi nous sommes laids sur les photos cela a à voir avec notre estime de soi . Plus précisément, plusieurs études et expériences ont montré que plus l'image de l'individu est élevée, plus la photo se dégrade.

En effet, l'être humain essaie inconsciemment de maintenir un état social interne, ce qui nous oblige à nous identifier à une image de soi positive, au point que cette image est légèrement supérieure à la réalité. En observant l'image de nous-mêmes qui nous rend la photographie, cette image de soi inconsciemment améliorée est en partie niée, nous amenant à considérer que nous nous sommes trompés dans la capture . En d'autres termes, en règle générale, les gens ont tendance à se considérer physiquement plus attrayants qu'ils ne le sont.

Cet effet s’applique également aux personnes, objets ou stimuli auxquels nous sommes attachés par affection. Le fait de rester en contact avec quelque chose ou quelqu'un que l'on apprécie provoque que l'image que nous avons de lui est subjectivement embellie . Cependant, dans ce cas, l’effet rend parfois l’image elle-même mieux perçue qu’elle ne serait objective (puisque nous voyons cette personne ou cet objet d’une manière très similaire à celle reflétée par la caméra).

De même, les personnes ayant une faible estime de soi sont souvent considérées comme moins attrayantes qu'elles ne le sont réellement. Par conséquent, il est plus facile d'identifier les images qui vont vraiment mal pour différentes raisons.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Epley, N. et Whitchurch, E. (2008). Miroir, miroir au mur: amélioration de la reconnaissance de soi. Pers Soc Psychol Bull.34 (9): 1159-70.

C'est pas sorcier -NOS POUMONS, SOURCES D'INSPIRATION (Avril 2024).


Articles Connexes