yes, therapy helps!
Why do we need philosophy to live

Why do we need philosophy to live

January 29, 2023

Lately we tend to believe that healthy minds are the most efficient. Those who think faster, those who self-regulate better, those who know how to detect problems and plan strategies to solve them, those who are able to adapt well to complicated situations without succumbing to the moods related to unhappiness.

They are functions that seem rather useful traits to find work or to adapt well to the productive gear and that, although they are positive, offer a somewhat limited conception of what the human brain. One could almost say that they are capacities that could be measured on a scale of 0 to 10 according to our ability in each of these areas, and that give us a very flat portrait of what we understand as "cognitive abilities".


But there is a discipline that reminds us that the ability to break the schemes and mental frames is always there. And no, it's not about advertising or marketing: it's philosophy.

It may interest you: "The beneficial effects of philosophy on children"

Philosophy to transgress

Both philosophy and art have been gaining powerful enemies because of the relative difficulty with which they can be "domesticated", tied in bundles and sold in bundles. It's natural, considering that both are based on the possibility of subverting laws and going beyond pre-established thinking schemes .

However, while art can be appreciated for its more or less striking aesthetic aspect, philosophy does not seem to have that capacity to materialize with such a spectacular result. It seems that it does not have the favorable treatment of society of the show and viral videos on the Internet, and it is even more frequent to be moved in institutes and universities.


Of course, that does not mean that philosophy does not matter. Here is seven reasons why philosophy enriches our way of thinking not only in our moments of reflection, but also in our day to day.

Philosophy serves ...

1. To ask ourselves what is important in life

Many people usually relate the word "philosophy" with old books and abstract theorizations that can only interest a few. It has also been said many times that philosophy, like art, is useless. This criticism is, at the same time, an evidence of why we need them both: to question the criteria of what is useful and what is not. A concept of utility that, if it is not in doubt, will be the one that you sustain those people who only live to produce in series.

2. To know what is known

One of the first philosophers, Socrates, made famous the phrase "I only know that I know nothing". It is not just a paradox: one of the immediate effects of philosophy is that it facilitates the task of recognizing where is the limit between what we know and what we ignore, and at the same time allows to combine areas of knowledge with others of ignorance . In this way we can recognize in advance aspects of reality that we do not understand and do not "overreach" in our assumptions.


3. To have a consistent thought

Philosophy helps to get to the root of problems and concepts. Thus, allows to detect the strengths and weaknesses of a philosophical positioning , be coherent in our lines of thought and avoid theoretical contradictions. This has very palpable implications both in our way of communicating and in our way of acting, whether we are individuals or organizations.

4. To be "indies" of thought

Much of our mentality and our typical way of imagining things comes to us "as a series" through the cultural context in which we are immersed. It is comfortable to be carried away by these predominant currents of ideology in our country, but it is also something that makes us more manipulable. Through philosophy (and, possibly, combining it with the habit of traveling) we can see to what extent many of those things that we considered a dogma are relative , and we gain autonomy to build our own vision about the world. An example of this is Schopenhauer, who in the middle of 19th century Europe developed a philosophical system influenced by Buddhism.

5. To better understand the history

You can not understand history without having also understood the philosophical foundations prevailing in each moment. Each era is strongly marked by the superstructure, that is, by the ideas and values ​​prevailing at that time . From the point of view of those of us who live in the 21st century, many stages and historical events may be inconceivable to us.One of the causes of this strangeness towards the past may be the ignorance of the cultural and thought patterns of a certain historical context.

6. To better understand the rest of societies

In the same way, if we do not know the philosophical assumptions on which other cultures are based, we will be judging them, erroneously, from our own. The result It would be like imagining an unflattering caricature of what we intend to come to understand .

7. To have a clearer portrait of how we think

The fact of reflecting on our way of understanding life makes us have a clearer self-image to , we know each other better and we can easily recognize which people are most compatible with our way of thinking.


What is Philosophy for? (January 2023).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi avons-nous besoin de la philosophie pour vivre

Pourquoi avons-nous besoin de la philosophie pour vivre

Avril 22, 2019

Dernièrement, nous avons tendance à croire que les esprits sains sont les plus efficaces. Ceux qui réfléchissent plus vite, ceux qui s'autorégulent mieux, ceux qui savent détecter les problèmes et planifier des stratégies pour les résoudre, ceux qui savent bien s'adapter à des situations compliquées sans succomber aux humeurs liées au malheur.

Ce sont des fonctions qui semblent plutôt utiles pour trouver du travail ou bien s’adapter au matériel de production et qui, bien que positives, offrir une conception quelque peu limitée de ce que le cerveau humain On pourrait presque dire que ce sont des capacités qui pourraient être mesurées sur une échelle de 0 à 10 en fonction de nos capacités dans chacun de ces domaines et qui nous donnent un portrait très plat de ce que nous comprenons comme des "capacités cognitives".


Mais il existe une discipline qui nous rappelle que la capacité de briser les schémas et les cadres mentaux est toujours présente. Et non, il ne s'agit pas de publicité ou de marketing: c'est de la philosophie.

Cela peut vous intéresser: "Les effets bénéfiques de la philosophie sur les enfants"

La philosophie à transgresser

La philosophie et l’art ont acquis de puissants ennemis à cause de la difficulté relative avec laquelle ils peuvent être "domestiqués", liés en paquets et vendus en paquets. C'est naturel, vu que les deux reposent sur la possibilité de contourner les lois et d'aller au-delà de schémas de pensée préétablis .

Cependant, si l’art peut être apprécié pour son aspect esthétique plus ou moins frappant, la philosophie ne semble pas avoir cette capacité de se matérialiser avec un résultat aussi spectaculaire. Il semble qu’il n’ait pas le traitement favorable de société du spectacle et des vidéos virales sur Internet, et il est encore plus fréquent de se déplacer dans les instituts et les universités.


Bien sûr, cela ne signifie pas que la philosophie n’a aucune importance. J'ai ici sept raisons pour lesquelles la philosophie enrichit notre façon de penser pas seulement dans nos moments de réflexion, mais aussi dans notre quotidien.

La philosophie sert ...

1. Se demander ce qui est important dans la vie

Beaucoup de gens associez généralement le mot "philosophie" avec des livres anciens et des théorisations abstraites cela ne peut intéresser que quelques-uns. On a aussi dit maintes fois que la philosophie, tout comme l'art, est inutile. Cette critique est en même temps une preuve de la raison pour laquelle nous avons besoin des deux: remettre en question les critères de ce qui est utile et de ce qui ne l’est pas. Un concept d’utilité qui, s’il n’y a pas de doute, sera celui que vous soutenez les personnes qui ne vivent que pour produire en série.

2. Savoir ce que l'on sait

L'un des premiers philosophes, Socrate, a rendu célèbre la phrase "Je sais seulement que je ne sais rien". Ce n’est pas seulement un paradoxe: l’un des effets immédiats de la philosophie est qu’elle facilite la tâche de reconnaître où se trouve la limite entre ce que nous savons et ce que nous ignorons, et en même temps permet de combiner des domaines de connaissance avec d'autres d'ignorance . De cette manière, nous pouvons reconnaître à l'avance des aspects de la réalité que nous ne comprenons pas et que nous ne "dépassons" pas dans nos hypothèses.


3. Avoir une pensée cohérente

La philosophie aide à aller au fond des problèmes et des concepts. Pour lui, permet de détecter les forces et les faiblesses d'un positionnement philosophique , soyez cohérent dans nos pensées et évitez les contradictions théoriques. Cela a des implications très palpables à la fois dans notre manière de communiquer et dans notre façon d’agir, que nous soyons des individus ou des organisations.

4. Etre "indépendant" de la pensée

Une grande partie de notre mentalité et de notre manière typique d’imaginer les choses nous parvient "comme une série" à travers le contexte culturel dans lequel nous sommes immergés. Il est agréable de se laisser emporter par ces courants idéologiques prédominants dans notre pays, mais c’est aussi quelque chose qui nous rend plus manipulables. À travers la philosophie (et éventuellement en la combinant avec l'habitude de voyager) nous pouvons voir dans quelle mesure beaucoup de ces choses que nous considérions comme un dogme sont relatives et nous gagnons en autonomie pour construire notre propre vision du monde. Schopenhauer en est un exemple. Au milieu du XIXe siècle, l'Europe développa un système philosophique influencé par le bouddhisme.

5. Pour mieux comprendre l'histoire

Vous ne pouvez pas comprendre l'histoire sans avoir également compris les fondements philosophiques qui prévalent à chaque instant. Chaque époque est fortement marquée par la superstructure, c'est-à-dire par les idées et les valeurs prévalant à cette époque. . Pour ceux d’entre nous qui vivons au XXIe siècle, de nombreuses étapes et événements historiques sont peut-être inconcevables pour nous.L'une des causes de cette étrangeté vis-à-vis du passé peut être l'ignorance des schémas culturels et de pensée d'un certain contexte historique.

6. Mieux comprendre le reste des sociétés

De la même manière, si nous ne connaissons pas les hypothèses philosophiques sur lesquelles reposent les autres cultures, nous les jugerons, à tort, parmi les nôtres. Le résultat Ce serait comme imaginer une caricature peu flatteuse de ce que nous entendons comprendre. .

7. Avoir un portrait plus clair de notre façon de penser

Le fait de réfléchir sur notre façon de comprendre la vie nous donne une image de soi plus claire un , nous nous connaissons mieux et pouvons facilement reconnaître les personnes les plus compatibles avec notre façon de penser.


Pourquoi l'homme a t-il tant besoin des religions ? (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes