yes, therapy helps!
Why do women prefer hard guys?

Why do women prefer hard guys?

July 18, 2024

Figures of the seventh art with a reputation for ruffians like James Dean, Charlie Sheen or Mickey Rourke They obey the same profile: man charismatic , with a conflicting, aggressive personality, with self-confidence that is bombproof; capable of anything. The classic hard guy.

An intriguing facet that is a common denominator in many people with this profile, is the idea that they are much more attractive . It could be a simple myth magnified by the mystique that these subjects give off, or be, indeed, a real trend.

Hard guys ('Dark triad') like more

Some men wonder why they always make friends with kind and attentive guys , while they leave and maintain relationships with complete cretins . Are we so different men and women?


This paradox has made rivers of ink (and tears!), And although many have formulated theories to explain it, The causes of the greater attractiveness of hard types have not been studied carefully . Luckily, this year has seen the light of an investigation carried out at the University of Durham that provides interesting data on this issue.

The masculine traits: hard guys?

Being the human being a social animal, how is it possible that this type of personality, in a certain antisocial way, is preserved at the evolutionary level? And above all, Why is it especially attractive?

Greater proportion of men than women fit in the psychological profile known as dark triad or Dark Triad . This personality profile is observed in people with outstanding narcissistic features, psychopathic tendency and Machiavellianism. This gives the subject a despotic attitude and a self-perception of superiority with respect to others.


Narcissism

Research shows that Narcissism occurs in many more men than women , regardless of the cultural substrate. It is a trait that is based on the excess of value that one arrogates to oneself. They are individuals with an air of grandeur, who consider themselves special and who demand preferential treatment from others. They get angry if they do not recognize their merits and their talent. Several studies suggest that narcissism is linked to occasional mating in men, as it is associated with their "ability to compete with other men, and to discard sexual partners after intercourse." It was also observed that they are less monogamous because they tend to maintain relationships more frequently and in chains.

Psychopathy

Psychopathy is detected in the lack of empathy , which leads the subject to base their relationships based on criteria of individual benefit. They have a superfluous emotional response and antisocial behavior. Men with these traits tend to convey a sham charm and a communicativeness that often provides scenarios for specific relationships.


Machiavellianism

By last, Machiavellianism is based on duplicity and the tendency to manipulate social relations in favor of one , in a certainly complex and timely manner. It also gives rise to short-term mating situations. They are usually people with great emotional intelligence, but they use it to obtain their own benefit. Certain investigations have revealed that the Machiavellian psychological profile is strongly associated with sexual promiscuity .

The studies carried out until 2013 they related the profile of the dark triad with sexual success well above the average . In spite of that, the authors of the present investigation detected that the previous studies were based on data contributed by the participants themselves, which could have distorted the results, since the participants with dark triad could have magnified the amount of relationships that they would have maintained. In this way, the authors of the following study questioned the opinion of women, and designed their study to elucidate why they are more attractive to men of the dark triad, if indeed such a trend is true.

What really attracts women?

In a previous article, we asked ourselves if the polar opposites are attracted, and the conclusions that Psychology brings about it are certainly interesting.

The study carried out by G. Carter, A. Campbell and S. Muncer (2013) set out to verify if the categorization of the dark triad really was a male psychological profile with greater success among women.

The researchers gathered a group of 128 women between 18 and 36 years old, who were introduced to a man with psychological characteristics of the Dark Triad and another with a normal psychological profile, without the elements of the Dark Triad.When they finished seeing the presentations, they were asked which of the two men had been more attractive.

The results were the following: men with Dark Triad personality (narcissists, Machiavellians and psychopaths) were better rated than men in the control group .

It seems that the three features of the dark triad represented, by themselves, aspects of personality that were attractive, apart from other features such as extroversion, which also improved the average.

According to the study of G. Carter, A. Campbell and S. Muncer, combined with the previous ones in this field, it seems clear that the antisocial characteristics of the dark triad seem to provide social and conjugal success to this type of subjects , thanks to their Machiavellian control over themselves and over social interactions, which allows them to develop interactions where the communicative capacity, the good image and the ability to make their partner feel special give them tools to attract and seduce. However, in the medium and long term this success would be very questionable, since they would be incapable of establishing medium and long-term relationships.

The hypothesis of the bad boy's appeal

Carter and his companions offered two hypotheses about this phenomenon. On the one hand, considered that sexual selection can play an important role . This would indicate that women detect the signs of these "masculine qualities" that offer good indicators of reproduction. Regarding one-off relationships, this would explain the attraction that women feel toward that personality profile; Self-assured, reckless, irreverent.

In his second hypothesis, They exposed the factor of sexual conflict . Women could respond to man's ability to show his qualities, thus differentiating himself from the rest. The men of the Dark Triad are very skillful manipulators and seducers, which would make it easy for them to offer a suitable image of themselves to a potential couple. Another thing is that women also chose this type of man to be their husband, or the father of their children, since, according to the study of D. Asquith (2014), only women with profiles close to the dark triad preferred men of the same personality profile for their long-term conjugal relationships .

Bibliographic references:

  • Asquith, D., Lyons, M., Watson, H., & Jonason, P. (2014). Birds of feather flock together - Evidence for assortative mating for the Dark Triad traits Personality and Individual Differences
  • Carter, G., Campbell, A., & Muncer, S. (2014). The Dark Triad personality: Attractiveness to women Personality and Individual Differences
  • Carter, G., Campbell, A., & Muncer, S. (2014). The Dark Triad: Beyond a - 'male' mating strategy Personality and Individual Differences

Black Men & White Men on Dating | Dirty Data | Cut (July 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi les femmes préfèrent-elles les durs?

Pourquoi les femmes préfèrent-elles les durs?

Septembre 22, 2020

Personnages du septième art réputés pour leurs bourreaux comme James Dean, Charlie Sheen ou Mickey Rourke Ils obéissent au même profil: homme charismatique , avec une personnalité agressive et conflictuelle, une confiance en soi à toute épreuve; capable de tout. Le gars dur classique.

Une facette intrigante qui est un dénominateur commun à beaucoup de personnes avec ce profil, est l'idée qu'ils sont beaucoup plus attrayants . Ce pourrait être un simple mythe magnifié par la mystique que ces sujets dégagent, ou bien être une véritable tendance.

Les mecs durs ('Dark Triad') aiment plus

Certains hommes se demandent pourquoi ils se font toujours des amis avec des gars gentils et attentifs , alors qu’ils quittent et entretiennent des relations avec crétins complets . Sommes-nous si différents hommes et femmes?


Ce paradoxe a créé des flots d’encre (et de larmes!), Et bien que beaucoup aient formulé des théories pour l’expliquer, Les causes de l'attractivité accrue des types durs n'ont pas été étudiées avec soin . Heureusement, cette année a vu la lumière d’une enquête menée à l’Université de Durham qui fournit des données intéressantes sur cette question.

Les traits masculins: les durs?

En tant qu'être humain, un animal social, comment est-il possible que ce type de personnalité, d'une certaine manière antisociale, soit préservé au niveau évolutif? Et surtout, Pourquoi est-ce particulièrement attrayant?

Une plus grande proportion d'hommes que de femmes s'inscrit dans le profil psychologique connu sous le nom triade sombre o Triade Sombre . Ce profil de personnalité est observé chez les personnes présentant des caractéristiques narcissiques, une tendance psychopathique et un machiavélisme remarquables. Cela donne au sujet une attitude despotique et une auto-perception de la supériorité par rapport aux autres.


Narcissisme

La recherche montre que Le narcissisme se produit chez beaucoup plus d'hommes que de femmes , quel que soit le substrat culturel. C'est un trait qui repose sur l'excès de valeur que l'on s'arroge à soi-même. Ce sont des individus avec un air de grandeur, qui se considèrent comme spéciaux et qui exigent un traitement préférentiel des autres. Ils se fâchent s’ils ne reconnaissent pas leurs mérites et leur talent. Plusieurs études suggèrent que le narcissisme est lié à l'accouplement occasionnel chez les hommes, car il est associé à leur "capacité à rivaliser avec les autres hommes et à écarter leurs partenaires sexuels après un rapport sexuel". On a également observé qu'ils étaient moins monogames parce qu'ils avaient tendance à entretenir des relations plus souvent et plus enchaînées.

Psychopathie

La psychopathie est détectée dans le manque d'empathie , ce qui amène le sujet à fonder ses relations sur des critères de bénéfice individuel. Ils ont une réponse émotionnelle superflue et comportement antisocial. Les hommes avec ces traits ont tendance à transmettre un charme fictif et une communication qui fournissent souvent des scénarios pour des relations spécifiques.


Machiavélisme

Finalement, Le machiavélisme est basé sur la duplicité et la tendance à manipuler les relations sociales en faveur d’une , de manière certainement complexe et opportune. Cela donne également lieu à des situations d’accouplement à court terme. Ce sont généralement des gens avec une grande intelligence émotionnelle, mais ils l'utilisent pour obtenir leur propre avantage. Certaines enquêtes ont révélé que le profil psychologique machiavélique est fortement associé à la promiscuité sexuelle .

Les études menées jusqu'en 2013 ils ont raconté le profil de la triade noire avec succès sexuel bien au-dessus de la moyenne . Malgré cela, les auteurs de la présente enquête ont constaté que les précédentes études étaient fondées sur des données fournies par les participants eux-mêmes, ce qui aurait pu fausser les résultats, car les participants à la triade sombre auraient pu amplifier le nombre de relations. qu'ils auraient maintenu. Ainsi, les auteurs de l’étude ci-dessous ont mis en doute l’opinion des femmes et ont conçu leur étude de manière à expliquer pourquoi elles attirent davantage les hommes de la sombre triade, si une telle tendance est vraie.

Qu'est-ce qui attire vraiment les femmes?

Dans un article précédent, nous nous étions demandé si les opposés polaires étaient attirés et les conclusions que la psychologie en tire sont certainement intéressantes.

L'étude menée par G. Carter, A. Campbell et S. Muncer (2013) visait à vérifier si la catégorisation de la triade noire était vraiment un profil psychologique masculin ayant plus de succès chez les femmes.

Les chercheurs ont réuni un groupe de 128 femmes âgées de 18 à 36 ans, qui ont été présentées à un homme présentant les caractéristiques psychologiques de la Triade noire et à un autre ayant un profil psychologique normal, sans les éléments de la Triade noire.Quand ils ont fini de regarder les présentations, on leur a demandé lequel des deux hommes avait été le plus attrayant.

Les résultats ont été les suivants: les hommes avec la personnalité Dark Triad (narcissiques, machiavéliques et psychopathes) étaient mieux notés que les hommes du groupe témoin .

Il semble que les trois caractéristiques de la triade noire représentent à elles seules des aspects de la personnalité attrayants, à part d’autres caractéristiques telles que l’extraversion, qui améliorent également la moyenne.

Selon les études de G. Carter, A. Campbell et S. Muncer, combinées aux précédentes dans ce domaine, il semble clair que les caractéristiques antisociales de la triade obscure semblent assurer le succès social et conjugal de ce type de sujets , grâce à leur contrôle machiavélique sur eux-mêmes et sur les interactions sociales, ce qui leur permet de développer des interactions où la capacité de communication, la bonne image et la capacité de faire en sorte que le partenaire se sente spécial leur donnent des outils pour attirer et séduire. Cependant, à moyen et long terme, ce succès serait très discutable, car ils seraient incapables d’établir des relations à moyen et long terme.

L'hypothèse de l'appel du mauvais garçon

Carter et ses compagnons ont émis deux hypothèses sur ce phénomène. D'une part, considéré que la sélection sexuelle peut jouer un rôle important . Cela indiquerait que les femmes détectent les signes de ces "qualités masculines" qui offrent de bons indicateurs de la reproduction. En ce qui concerne les relations ponctuelles, cela expliquerait l'attrait que ressentent les femmes pour ce profil de personnalité; Assuré, téméraire, irrévérencieux.

Dans sa seconde hypothèse, Ils ont exposé le facteur de conflit sexuel . Les femmes pouvaient réagir à la capacité de l'homme à montrer ses qualités, se différenciant ainsi des autres. Les hommes de la Triade noire sont des manipulateurs et des séducteurs très habiles, ce qui leur permettrait de donner facilement une image d'eux-mêmes à un couple potentiel. Une autre chose est que les femmes ont également choisi ce type d'homme pour être leur mari ou le père de leurs enfants, car, selon l'étude de D. Asquith (2014), les femmes dont les profils étaient proches de la triade noire préféraient les hommes du même profil de personnalité pour leurs relations conjugales à long terme .

Références bibliographiques:

  • D. Asquith, M. Lyons, H. Watson et P. Jonason (2014). Les oiseaux de plumes s'assemblent - Preuve de l'accouplement assortatif des traits de la Triade noire, différences de personnalité et d'individu
  • Carter, G., Campbell, A. et Muncer, S. (2014). La personnalité de Dark Triad: attractivité pour les femmes Personnalité et différences individuelles
  • Carter, G., Campbell, A. et Muncer, S. (2014). The Dark Triad: Au-delà d'une stratégie d'accouplement «masculine» Personnalité et différences individuelles

Pourquoi les femmes préfèrent les hommes en couple (Les 3 raisons) (Septembre 2020).


Articles Connexes