yes, therapy helps!
Why does not the rule lower me? The 15 main reasons

Why does not the rule lower me? The 15 main reasons

April 28, 2024

"I have a delay." "He has not let me down yet" . These words can be a reason for emotion and / or concern for a large number of people, who usually associate it with a possible pregnancy.

However, the truth is that although the possible pregnancy is a possibility, in a great majority of cases there are many other factors that may explain why it has not yet menstruated. In this article, we are going to review fifteen possible causes why this has not happened yet.

  • Related article: "Perinatal psychology: what is it and what functions does it perform?"

What is menstruation?

The name of rule or menstruation is the biological and natural process in which the body of the woman It expels the remains of the unfertilized ovules and the mucous lining of the uterus (or endometrium) are expelled by the vagina in the form of blood flow.


This process usually occurs once a month and lasts up to about a week, forming part of a cycle continued from the female puberty to the climacteric, in which the female reproductive system loses its function to conceive.

Different reasons why the rule does not go down

The menstrual cycle usually follows a certain temporality that allows an approximate calculation of when the rule will arrive, but this does not imply that it is identical and always appears on the same dates.

There are a large number of factors that can alter it and make the rule, period or menstruation do not appear when in principle they should . Next we will see a fortnight of possible causes that can explain why the rule does not lower a woman.


1. Pregnancy

This is the option in which most people think when menstruation does not appear in the usual period. And indeed it is one of the options to be taken into account, even though a delay or even the absence of a rule does not have to imply being in a state. To check it, it will be necessary to a pregnancy test at least fifteen days after the last sexual intercourse , since before that could give a false positive.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to take care during the first month of pregnancy: 9 tips"

2. Breastfeeding period

Some women who have just given birth may think that since they have already given birth, they will quickly begin to menstruate again. But the truth is that this is not the case given that during lactation hormones such as prolactin, of great importance when it comes to increasing and allowing the secretion of breast milk , they inhibit estrogen and the rest of hormones responsible for the menstrual cycle. It is not uncommon, then, that there is no menstruation until the breastfeeding period ends.


3. Late puberty

Many young adolescents have a great concern about the fact that they have not yet lowered the rule, even when most people their age have already started a period of time ago. It is necessary to remember that each person has their evolutionary rhythm and some girls have delayed puberty, with which the menarche or first menstruation may appear even later than 15 years.

This does not have to imply anything bad, although in some cases there could be some basic problem. Usually and unless there is some type of organic cause this does not require any treatment, although if the doctor deems it necessary, hormone therapy may be used.

4. First rules

It is also important to bear in mind that having the first rule does not necessarily imply a totally regular cycle: it is not impossible that during the first years, because the reproductive system is still under development , there are alterations of the menstrual cycle.

5. Menopause (normative or premature)

Another reason why the rule stops coming is because of the possible arrival of the menarche and the climacteric. In other words, the arrival of menopause. This usually occurs from the age of 45 (in fact, usually appears after 50), but in some cases the so-called premature or early menopause in which the end of the menstrual cycle arrives before 45 may occur.

Usually before the imminent cessation of menstruation there is usually a period when the menstrual cycle acts irregularly . It is a normative biological process, which does not require any treatment.

6. Problems of feeding and / or starvation

Menstruation is strongly linked to the state of health of the body, and is profoundly altered by aspects such as the presence of sufficient nutrients in the body. If the human body is in a situation where it does not have enough nutrients, the rule will not make an appearance. An example of this is found in women with eating disorders, especially in anorexia (in which, in fact, amenorrhea is one of the most frequent symptoms).

In addition, other circumstances or diseases in which the body can not adequately process nutrients and enter a state of anemia can cause a woman to stop menstruating or to delay. Menses also stop appearing in people in a situation of extreme starvation due to lack of food resources.

  • You may be interested: "Main eating disorders: anorexia and bulimia"

7. Sudden changes in weight

Not only the presence or absence of nutrients in the body can affect menstruation, but also the fact of winning or losing a lot of weight suddenly. This is because although it has enough nutrients, a sudden change in weight and above all body fat can generate changes in the body's estrogen levels , varying the menstrual cycle.

8. Hormonal imbalances

The rule or menstruation is a biological process that depends on the hormones present in the woman's body. Alterations in these hormones or the presence of others that inhibit or alter them can generate changes in the menstrual cycle including overtaking, delaying or even cessation. These imbalances can be normative, related to psychosocial stress, or linked to hormonal, thyroid, ovarian or cerebral problems. The treatment of these problems will make the cycle return to normal operation .

9. Taking or stopping contraceptives

As we have said and being something deeply related to the previous point, hormones are the key to the existence and maintenance of the menstrual cycle. In this sense, the taking of certain contraceptives or the cessation of their consumption can result in the rule not being lowered in the usual period.

10. Consumption of other drugs or medical treatments

The consumption of different drugs, not necessarily contraceptives, can cause the presence of an altered or delayed menstrual cycle. Example of them are some psychotropic drugs . If this effect occurs, it is advisable to go to the doctor first to check if it really is a possible side effect of the medication and if so to assess (depending on the case) possible alternatives.

There may also be some problem with menstruation in the face of certain non-pharmacological medical treatments, such as surgical interventions in some areas of the brain or reproductive system or the application of radiotherapy.

11. Stress and anxiety

So far we have talked about mainly organic elements, but we can not forget the importance of psychosocial factors in menstruation. The presence of continued stress or anxiety is another of the main reasons why the rule may be delayed. An example would be work stress . Another example can be somewhat paradoxical, but more common than it appears: it is common for the anxiety experienced by the delay in the period to generate even more delay.

Given this, it is advisable to use relaxation techniques, such as breathing or progressive muscle relaxation, and avoid becoming obsessed with the subject.

12. Extreme physical activity

Female athletes, mainly those with high performance, may have irregular or delayed menstrual cycles due to the high level of physical activity they perform. This is due to the fact that very intense physical exercise causes a drop in estrogen levels. In this case it may be advisable to go to doctors specialized in sports .

13. Ovarian alterations

Another of the main causes of a delay in the arrival of the rule is the presence of problems in the reproductive system, being one of the most frequent parts of the ovary. The polycystic ovarian syndrome or endometriosis are examples of this, and the treatment of these causes (for example with contraceptives) can make the cycle become more regular.

14. Medical conditions

Not only the gynecological problems can generate delays in the rule, but also other medical problems such as different infections (both genital and other types), metabolic problems such as diabetes, obesity or thyroid disorders . Also certain tumors could affect. A specific treatment of the cause will be required, so that symptomatic improvement can generate a recovery from the usual cycle (although it depends on the cause, it will not always be possible).

15. Psychological pregnancy

A reason that causes menstruation to disappear in a woman is the alteration known as pseudociesis or psychological pregnancy. In this case we are before a person who begins to manifest all the typical symptoms of pregnancy, including the cessation of menstruation, even though there is not really a developing fetus . It can appear in depressed women, with a strong desire to be a mother or extreme fear of becoming pregnant, in people who have suffered abuse or in various types of situations. The treatment of this type of condition is usually delicate and complex, requiring psychological treatment in most cases.

Conclusion: why does not the rule lower me?

Like any other biological process, menstruation depends on many factors and processes carried out by the body in a relatively parallel manner.There is not a single reason why you do not lower the rule, but knowing the main ones is useful to know what to do depending on the symptoms and the clues that we obtain through our habits and through the characteristics of our own body.


15 Things Poor People Do That The Rich Don’t (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi la règle ne m'abaisse-t-elle pas? Les 15 raisons principales

Pourquoi la règle ne m'abaisse-t-elle pas? Les 15 raisons principales

Septembre 16, 2022

"J'ai un délai." "Il ne m'a pas encore laissé tomber" . Ces mots peuvent être une raison d'émotion et / ou d'inquiétude pour un grand nombre de personnes, qui l'associent généralement à une éventuelle grossesse.

Cependant, la vérité est que, bien que la possibilité d’une grossesse soit envisageable, il existe dans la grande majorité des cas de nombreux autres facteurs susceptibles d’expliquer pourquoi elle n’a pas encore eu ses règles. Dans cet article, nous allons passer en revue quinze causes possibles pour lesquelles cela ne s'est pas encore produit.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie périnatale: de quoi s'agit-il et quelles sont ses fonctions?"

Qu'est-ce que la menstruation?

Le nom de règle ou de menstruation est le processus biologique et naturel dans lequel le corps de la femme Il expulse les restes des ovules non fécondés et de la muqueuse utérine (ou endomètre) sont expulsés par le vagin sous forme de flux sanguin.


Ce processus a généralement lieu une fois par mois et dure environ une semaine, et fait partie d'un cycle qui va de la puberté à la ménopause, au cours duquel le système de reproduction féminin perd sa fonction de concevoir.

Différentes raisons pour lesquelles la règle ne baisse pas

Le cycle menstruel suit généralement une certaine temporalité qui permet un calcul approximatif du moment où la règle va arriver, mais cela n'implique pas pour autant qu'il est identique et qu'il apparaît toujours aux mêmes dates.

Il existe un grand nombre de facteurs qui peuvent le modifier et rendre la règle, la période ou la menstruation n'apparaissent pas alors qu'en principe elles devraient . Ensuite, nous verrons une quinzaine de causes possibles pouvant expliquer pourquoi la règle n'abaisse pas une femme.


1. grossesse

C’est l’option à laquelle la plupart des gens pensent lorsque la menstruation n’apparaît pas dans la période habituelle. Et en effet, c’est l’une des options à prendre en compte, même si un retard, voire l’absence de règle, n’implique pas nécessairement la présence d’un État. Pour le vérifier, il faudra un test de grossesse au moins quinze jours après le dernier rapport sexuel , car avant cela pourrait donner un faux positif.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment faire attention pendant le premier mois de grossesse: 9 conseils"

2. Période d'allaitement

Certaines femmes qui viennent d'accoucher peuvent penser que, puisqu'elles ont déjà accouché, elles vont rapidement recommencer à avoir leurs règles. Mais la vérité est que ce n’est pas le cas étant donné que pendant la lactation, des hormones telles que la prolactine, d'une grande importance quand il s'agit d'augmenter et de permettre la sécrétion de lait maternel , ils inhibent les œstrogènes et le reste des hormones responsables du cycle menstruel. Il n’est donc pas rare qu’il n’y ait pas de menstruations jusqu’à la fin de la période d’allaitement.


3. puberté tardive

Beaucoup de jeunes adolescents s'inquiètent du fait qu'ils n'aient pas encore abaissé la règle, même lorsque la plupart des gens de leur âge ont déjà commencé il y a un certain temps. Il faut se rappeler que chaque personne a son rythme évolutif et certaines filles ont un retard de puberté, avec lequel la menstruation ou la première menstruation peuvent apparaître même après 15 ans.

Cela n'implique pas forcément quelque chose de mauvais, bien que dans certains cas, il puisse y avoir un problème fondamental. Généralement, et sauf en cas de cause organique, cela ne nécessite aucun traitement, mais si le médecin le juge nécessaire, un traitement hormonal peut être utilisé.

4. Premières règles

Il est également important de garder à l'esprit que le fait d'avoir la première règle n'implique pas nécessairement un cycle totalement régulier: il n'est pas impossible qu'au cours des premières années, parce que le système reproducteur est encore en développement , il y a des altérations du cycle menstruel.

5. Ménopause (normative ou prématurée)

Une autre raison pour laquelle la règle cesse de venir est l’arrivée possible de la ménarche et du climatère. En d'autres termes, l'arrivée de la ménopause. Cela se produit généralement à partir de 45 ans (en fait, apparaît généralement après 50 ans), mais dans certains cas, une ménopause prématurée ou précoce dans laquelle la fin du cycle menstruel arrive avant 45 ans peut survenir.

Habituellement avant la fin imminente de la menstruation il y a généralement une période où le cycle menstruel agit irrégulièrement . C'est un processus biologique normatif, qui ne nécessite aucun traitement.

6. Problèmes d'alimentation et / ou de famine

La menstruation est étroitement liée à l'état de santé du corps et est profondément altérée par des aspects tels que la présence d'éléments nutritifs suffisants dans le corps. Si le corps humain se trouve dans une situation où il ne contient pas suffisamment de nutriments, la règle ne fera pas son apparition. Un exemple de cela se trouve chez les femmes atteintes de troubles de l'alimentation, surtout dans l'anorexie (dans lequel, en fait, l'aménorrhée est l'un des symptômes les plus fréquents).

En outre, d'autres circonstances ou maladies dans lesquelles le corps ne peut pas traiter correctement les nutriments et entrer dans un état d'anémie peuvent amener la femme à arrêter ses règles ou à tarder. Les règles cessent également d'apparaître chez les personnes en situation de famine extrême en raison du manque de ressources alimentaires.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Principaux troubles du comportement alimentaire: anorexie et boulimie"

7. Changements soudains de poids

Non seulement la présence ou l'absence de nutriments dans le corps peut affecter les règles, mais aussi le fait de perdre ou de perdre beaucoup de poids soudainement. En effet, même s’il contient suffisamment de nutriments, un changement soudain de poids et surtout de graisse corporelle peut générer les changements dans les niveaux d'oestrogène du corps , en variant le cycle menstruel.

8. Déséquilibres hormonaux

La règle ou la menstruation est un processus biologique qui dépend des hormones présentes dans le corps de la femme. Les altérations de ces hormones ou la présence d’autres qui les inhibent ou les altèrent peuvent entraîner des modifications du cycle menstruel, notamment des dépassements, des retards ou même un arrêt du traitement. Ces déséquilibres peuvent être normatifs, liés au stress psychosocial ou liés à des problèmes hormonaux, thyroïdiens, ovariens ou cérébraux. Le traitement de ces problèmes fera revenir le cycle au fonctionnement normal .

9. Prendre ou arrêter des contraceptifs

Comme nous l'avons dit et comme quelque chose de profondément lié au point précédent, les hormones sont la clé de l'existence et du maintien du cycle menstruel. En ce sens, la prise de certains contraceptifs ou la cessation de leur consommation peuvent avoir pour conséquence que la règle ne soit pas abaissée au cours de la période habituelle.

10. Consommation d'autres drogues ou traitements médicaux

La consommation de différents médicaments, pas nécessairement de contraceptifs, peut entraîner la modification ou le retard du cycle menstruel. Des exemples de certaines drogues psychotropes . Si cet effet se produit, il est conseillé de consulter d'abord le médecin pour vérifier si c'est un effet secondaire possible du médicament et, le cas échéant, pour évaluer (selon le cas) les alternatives possibles.

La menstruation peut également poser problème en raison de certains traitements médicaux non pharmacologiques, tels que des interventions chirurgicales dans certaines zones du cerveau ou du système reproducteur ou l'application de la radiothérapie.

11. Stress et anxiété

Jusqu'à présent, nous avons principalement parlé d'éléments organiques, mais nous ne pouvons pas oublier l'importance des facteurs psychosociaux dans la menstruation. La présence de stress continu ou d'anxiété est une autre des principales raisons pour lesquelles la règle peut être retardée. Un exemple serait le stress au travail . Un autre exemple peut sembler quelque peu paradoxal, mais il est plus courant qu’il ne le semble: il est courant que l’anxiété ressentie lors du retard de la période génère encore plus de retard.

Compte tenu de cela, il est conseillé d'utiliser des techniques de relaxation, telles que la respiration ou la relaxation musculaire progressive, et d'éviter de devenir obsédé par le sujet.

12. Activité physique extrême

Les athlètes féminines, principalement celles de haute performance, peuvent avoir des cycles menstruels irréguliers ou retardés en raison du niveau élevé d'activité physique qu'elles pratiquent. Cela est dû au fait que des exercices physiques très intenses provoquent une baisse du taux d'œstrogènes. Dans ce cas il peut être conseillé de consulter un médecin spécialisé en sport .

13. Altérations ovariennes

Une autre des principales causes de retard dans l’arrivée de la règle est la présence de problèmes dans le système reproducteur, qui est l’une des parties les plus fréquentes de l’ovaire. Le syndrome des ovaires polykystiques ou l'endométriose en sont des exemples, et le traitement de ces causes (par exemple avec des contraceptifs) peut rendre le cycle plus régulier.

14. Conditions médicales

Non seulement les problèmes gynécologiques peuvent générer des délais dans la règle, mais aussi d'autres problèmes médicaux tels que différentes infections (génitales ou autres), des problèmes métaboliques. comme le diabète, l'obésité ou les troubles thyroïdiens . Certaines tumeurs peuvent également affecter. Un traitement spécifique de la cause sera nécessaire, afin que l'amélioration symptomatique puisse générer une reprise du cycle habituel (bien que cela dépende de la cause, cela ne sera pas toujours possible).

15. grossesse psychologique

Une raison qui fait que les menstruations disparaissent chez une femme est la modification appelée pseudociesis ou grossesse psychologique. Dans ce cas, nous sommes devant une personne qui commence à manifester tous les symptômes typiques de la grossesse, y compris la cessation de la menstruation, même s'il n'y a pas vraiment de fœtus en développement . Il peut apparaître chez les femmes dépressives, avec un fort désir d'être mère ou une peur extrême de devenir enceinte, chez des personnes qui ont été maltraitées ou dans divers types de situations. Le traitement de ce type d'affection est généralement délicat et complexe et nécessite un traitement psychologique dans la plupart des cas.

Conclusion: pourquoi la règle ne m'abaisse-t-elle pas?

Comme tout autre processus biologique, la menstruation dépend de nombreux facteurs et processus effectués de manière relativement parallèle par le corps.Il n'y a pas une seule raison pour laquelle vous n'abaissez pas la règle, mais connaître les principales est utile pour savoir quoi faire en fonction des symptômes et des indices que nous obtenons de nos habitudes et des caractéristiques de notre propre corps.


7 Raisons pour lesquelles vous avez un retard de règles, sans être enceinte (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes