yes, therapy helps!
Why is the return trip shorter than the return trip?

Why is the return trip shorter than the return trip?

April 2, 2024

If every time you go on vacation you have the feeling that the outward journey is always longer than the return trip , you're not alone. There is a tendency for people to perceive the return as if it lasted somewhat less than the outward journey, although objectively the distances traveled are exactly the same. This seems to indicate, at least, some research.

The "return trip effect": return trips, shorter

One of the studies on this topic was conducted in 2011 by a group of Dutch psychologists who started this project when they realized what was happening to them and decided to study what could be called the "return trip effect" or "return trip effect." " The study, conducted by researchers at the University of Tilburg, They carried out three experiments to verify the extent to which this phenomenon is widespread and under what conditions it occurs.


Research

In the first one, 69 people had to make a round trip by bus and then, on a scale of 11 points, the length of each of these two trips. Although both trips were equally long, when the outward journey lasted longer than expected, people tended to rate the return as if it were shorter.

The second experiment was designed to reveal the effect it had on the perception of travel time, whether or not people knew the route the return trip was taking. For this, several group outings were scheduled by bicycle. in which some people returned by where they had gone and another part of the group returned by another route different but of equal length. However, people from both groups tended to perceive the return trip as shorter.


In the third and last experiment, the participants did not have to move from where they were but see a video in which a person went to a friend's house and returned, taking exactly 7 minutes on each of these two trips. Once this was done, the 139 participants were divided into several groups and each of them was asked to estimate the time that had passed during the outward journey or the return trip.

The conclusions of the three studies

While the appreciation of the passage of time was adjusted to reality in those people responsible for estimating the duration of the return trip (estimated an average of 7 minutes), people who were asked about the outward journey tended to add several minutes to the actual time elapsed (They gave an average of 9 and a half minutes). In addition, curiously, this effect disappeared in those people who before seeing the video had been told that the trips lasted a lot, since they were more realistic when judging the duration of the return.


In general, summarizing the study findings, the researchers found that people who participated in the experiments they tended to perceive the return trip 22% shorter .

A more recent case

In a more recent investigation whose results have been published in PLOS One, scientists from Kyoto University asked a number of participants to judge the length of the outbound and return trip they saw in a video recording. In one of the cases, the participants would see a round trip along the same path, and in the other case they would see a one-way trip along the same path that was shown to the people of the first group but the return would go through a totally different. But nevertheless, the durations and distances of the three possible courses were exactly the same .

The people who saw the round trip through the same route t there was a feeling that the return was significantly shorter , whereas the participants of the group in which the return was produced by a route different from the one of the going did not notice difference in the duration.

How is this explained?

It is not known exactly why the return trip effect , but most likely it has to do with our way of assessing the passage of time in retrospect, that is, once the return trip has already elapsed. The Dutch researchers in charge of conducting the first experiments believe that this curious phenomenon has to do with the negative appreciation of a too long first trip, which makes that, by comparison, the return seems shorter by adjusting more to our expectations.

Another explanation would be that we are more likely to worry more about the passage of time on the way out , because this is associated with the idea of ​​arriving on time to a place, while the same does not usually happen on the way back.In this way, the brain allocates more resources to concentrate over the course of minutes and seconds to look for possible shortcuts and thus satisfy certain objectives.

Bibliographic references:

  • Ozawa R, Fujii K and Kouzaki M (2015). The Return Trip Is Felt Shorter Only Postdictively: A Psychophysiological Study of the Return Trip Effect. PLOS One, 10 (6), e0127779
  • Van de Ven, N., Van Rijswijk, L. and Roy, M. M. (2011). The return trip effect: Why the return trip often seems to take less time. Psychonomic Bulletin & Review, 18 (5), pp. 827-832.

Researchers Studied Why Return Trip Seems Shorter (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi le retour est-il plus court que le retour?

Pourquoi le retour est-il plus court que le retour?

Avril 22, 2019

Si à chaque fois que vous partez en vacances, vous avez le sentiment que l'aller est toujours plus long que l'aller , tu n'es pas seul. Les gens ont tendance à percevoir le retour comme si il avait duré un peu moins que le voyage aller, même si, objectivement, les distances parcourues sont exactement les mêmes. Cela semble indiquer, au moins, quelques recherches.

L'effet "aller-retour": aller-retour, plus court

L'une des études sur ce sujet a été menée en 2011 par un groupe de psychologues néerlandais qui ont lancé ce projet lorsqu'ils ont compris ce qui leur arrivait et ont décidé d'étudier ce que l'on pourrait appeler "l'effet de retour" ou "effet de retour". " L'étude, menée par des chercheurs de l'Université de Tilburg, Ils ont réalisé trois expériences pour vérifier l'étendue de ce phénomène et dans quelles conditions cela se produit.


Enquêtes

Dans le premier cas, 69 personnes ont dû faire un aller-retour en bus puis, sur une échelle de 11 points, la durée de chacun de ces deux voyages. Bien que les deux voyages aient été également longs, lorsque le voyage aller a duré plus longtemps que prévu, les gens ont eu tendance à évaluer le retour comme s'il était plus court.

La seconde expérience visait à révéler son effet sur la perception de la durée du trajet, que les personnes sachent ou non l'itinéraire emprunté par le voyage de retour. Pour cela, plusieurs sorties de groupe ont été programmées à vélo. dans lequel certaines personnes sont revenues par où elles étaient allées et une autre partie du groupe est revenue par une autre route différente mais de longueur égale. Cependant, les gens des deux groupes avaient tendance à percevoir le voyage de retour comme étant plus court.


Dans la troisième et dernière expérience, les participants n’avaient pas à quitter leur lieu de résidence mais visionnaient une vidéo dans laquelle une personne se rendait chez un ami et revenait, prenant exactement 7 minutes pour chacun de ces deux voyages. Une fois cela fait, les 139 participants ont été divisés en plusieurs groupes et chacun d'entre eux a été invité à estimer le temps qui s'était écoulé pendant le voyage aller ou le voyage de retour.

Les conclusions des trois études

Bien que l'appréciation de la durée ait été ajustée à la réalité chez les personnes chargées d'estimer la durée du voyage aller-retour (estimation de 7 minutes en moyenne), les personnes interrogées à propos du voyage aller avaient tendance à ajouter plusieurs minutes au temps réellement écoulé (Ils ont donné en moyenne 9 minutes et demie). De plus, curieusement, cet effet a disparu chez les personnes qui, avant de visionner la vidéo, avaient appris que les voyages duraient beaucoup, car elles étaient plus réalistes pour juger de la durée du retour.


En général, résumant les résultats de l’étude, les chercheurs ont constaté que les personnes ayant participé aux expériences ils avaient tendance à percevoir le voyage de retour 22% plus court .

Un cas plus récent

Dans une enquête plus récente dont les résultats ont été publiés dans PLOS One, des scientifiques de l'Université de Kyoto ont demandé à un certain nombre de participants de juger de la durée du voyage aller et retour qu'ils ont vu dans un enregistrement vidéo. Dans l’un des cas, les participants voyaient un aller-retour sur le même chemin et dans l’autre cas, un aller simple le long du même chemin que celui montré aux personnes du premier groupe, mais le retour se faisait totalement. différent Cependant, les durées et les distances des trois parcours possibles étaient exactement les mêmes .

Les personnes qui ont vu l'aller-retour par le même itinéraire t il y avait un sentiment que le retour était nettement plus court , alors que les participants du groupe dans lequel le retour a été effectué par un itinéraire différent de celui du départ n'ont pas remarqué de différence dans la durée.

Comment est-ce expliqué?

On ne sait pas exactement pourquoi le effet de retour , mais cela est probablement dû à notre façon d’évaluer le passage du temps rétrospectivement, c’est-à-dire une fois que le voyage de retour est déjà écoulé. Les chercheurs néerlandais en charge des premières expériences estiment que ce phénomène curieux est lié à l’appréciation négative d’un premier voyage trop long, ce qui rend le retour plus court en comparant davantage à nos attentes.

Une autre explication serait que nous sommes plus susceptibles de nous inquiéter davantage du temps qui passe à la sortie , parce que cela est associé à l’idée d’arriver à l’heure à un endroit, alors que la même chose n’arrive pas au retour.De cette manière, le cerveau alloue davantage de ressources sur des minutes et des secondes pour rechercher d'éventuels raccourcis et atteindre ainsi certains objectifs.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Ozawa R, Fujii K et Kouzaki M (2015). Le voyage de retour n’est ressenti que plus court après la toxicomanie: étude psychophysiologique de l’effet du voyage de retour. PLOS One, 10 (6), e0127779
  • Van de Ven, N., Van Rijswijk, L. et Roy, M. M. (2011). L'effet de retour: pourquoi le retour semble souvent prendre moins de temps. Psychonomic Bulletin & Review, 18 (5), pp. 827-832.

Pourquoi c'est plus long à l'aller qu'au retour ? (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes