yes, therapy helps!
Why it is necessary for your partner to know your authentic

Why it is necessary for your partner to know your authentic "I"

May 18, 2024

It is clear that Communication is essential in relationships , but it is not everything; There is something more. No matter how much information flows between two lovers, this data can be interpreted in the wrong way. And this happens more often than it might seem, among other things, because at the time of forming a mental image of our partner we are likely to build a skewed version of it.

In fact it makes sense that it is so, since as in the context of a romantic relationship there are many emotions and feelings at play. The implications of imagining the other person in one way or another have serious consequences for what we experience, and therefore the human brain directs that process of creating the concept of the other so that, in part, it adjusts to what suits us. .


However, this biased view of the other is also maintained, in part, so that a relationship enjoys good health and is not dysfunctional it is absolutely necessary to get that the other person comes to know our true Self , to give you the opportunity to accept it.

  • Perhaps you are interested: "Dissatisfaction in the couple and divorce: what factors explain it?"

Why it matters that your partner knows your authentic "I"

Achieving a good degree of rapport with the couple goes far beyond appearances, the fact that everyone sees that "there is chemistry" between you. In reality, that the couple knows who we really are is something that is not only good; it is necessary for the relationship to have a solid foundation. Below you can find the reasons for this.


  • Related article "What is" the Self "in Psychology?"

1. Understand who the couple really is

People are not just their bodies, their words and their actions. Behind each of them there are intentions, concerns, priorities of life and a proper way of perceiving reality. It is therefore a question of a stratum of identity that is deeper than that we see and hear from the other person . To come to understand well what this "I" consists of demands effort, but it is a totally necessary sacrifice.

Creating an affective bond like that of a romantic relationship supposes that the person our partner has fallen in love with really exists beyond their imagination.

2. Anticipate the needs of the other

A good part of what it means to live together is to make life easier for each other, to make situations of fatigue are minimized. Although we can idealize relationships, these will be dysfunctional if their members do not complement each other in everyday life. If you do not really understand the other, many of the attempts to help you will be wrong.


3. Really support the other

That they understand your true "I" implies that the other person really understand which life projects you care about Really. In this way, you can support yourself by making decisions that in any other person would seem unreasonable but in reality respond to the internal logic of what you want for your life.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Self-concept: what is it and how is it formed?"

4. Obtaining validation

Human beings do not like to feel that we are isolated and that we exist in a vacuum. If the couple understands us, they know how to validate us authentically and effectively; instead of performing compliments constantly (which would make them lose their value), samples of admiration and affection are offered in a more adequate way, where they fit, instead of flooding everything with them.

5. Something more than the individual is created

When our identity really connects with the other, we become part of something that is beyond ourselves. This is an important source of purpose in life that feeds the good health of the couple . Of course, at no time do we stop being people with their own concerns and sensibilities, but a part of us projects beyond individuality.

6. You understand better

From the experience of the other with our true self, we learn about ourselves; we can not stand on the sidelines, how someone reacts to the idea that we exist, that we are there and we are real beyond all conventions and appearances. In turn, this information it serves to render more in the Emotional Intelligence necessary to manage the relationship and its potential conflicts that can cause it to wobble.

  • Related article: "What is Emotional Intelligence? Discovering the importance of emotions"

You give an opportunity to rejection

The simple act of making the other really know us exposes us to the possibility of rejection. This, in itself, is a sign of commitment, maturity and responsibility.The relationship that emerges from that context will be authentic, as long as this dynamic is symmetric : the other person should also discover himself as he is, give us an opportunity to decide what he really is.


Do You Need Space? If So, You Are Being Inauthentic - Teal Swan (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi il est nécessaire que votre partenaire connaisse votre

Pourquoi il est nécessaire que votre partenaire connaisse votre "moi" authentique

Juin 21, 2022

C'est clair que La communication est essentielle dans les relations mais ce n’est pas tout; il y a autre chose. Peu importe la quantité d'informations échangée entre deux amoureux, ces données peuvent être interprétées de manière erronée. Et cela se produit plus souvent qu'il n'y paraît, entre autres choses, car au moment de former une image mentale de notre partenaire, nous en construirons probablement une version faussée.

En fait, cela a du sens, car, dans le contexte d’une relation amoureuse, de nombreuses émotions et sentiments sont en jeu. Les implications d'imaginer l'autre personne d'une manière ou d'une autre ont de graves conséquences sur ce que nous vivons et, par conséquent, le cerveau humain dirige ce processus de création du concept de l'autre, de sorte qu'il s'adapte partiellement à ce qui nous convient. .


Cependant, cette vision partiale de l'autre est également maintenue, en partie, de sorte qu'une relation bénéficie d'une bonne santé et ne soit pas dysfonctionnelle, il est absolument nécessaire d'obtenir que l'autre personne connaisse notre vrai Soi , pour vous donner la possibilité de l'accepter.

  • Peut-être vous êtes intéressé: "Insatisfaction dans le couple et divorce: quels facteurs l'expliquent?"

Pourquoi est-il important que votre partenaire connaisse votre authentique "moi"

Atteindre un bon rapport avec le couple va bien au-delà des apparences, le fait que tout le monde voit qu'il y a une "chimie" entre vous. En réalité, le couple sait qui nous sommes vraiment, ce n’est pas seulement bon; il est nécessaire que la relation ait une base solide. Ci-dessous vous pouvez trouver les raisons pour cela.


  • Article connexe "Qu'est-ce que" le Soi "en psychologie?"

1. Comprendre qui est vraiment le couple

Les gens ne sont pas seulement leurs corps, leurs paroles et leurs actions. Derrière chacun d'eux se cachent des intentions, des préoccupations, des priorités de la vie et une manière appropriée de percevoir la réalité. C’est donc une question de une couche d'identité plus profonde que celle que nous voyons et entendons de l'autre personne . Bien comprendre ce que ce "je" consiste à exiger des efforts, mais c’est un sacrifice tout à fait nécessaire.

Créer un lien affectif comme celui d'une relation amoureuse suppose que la personne dont notre partenaire est tombé amoureux existe vraiment au-delà de son imagination.

2. Anticiper les besoins de l'autre

Une bonne partie de ce que signifie vivre ensemble consiste à se simplifier la vie, à minimiser les situations de fatigue. Bien que nous puissions idéaliser des relations, celles-ci seront dysfonctionnelles si leurs membres ne se complètent pas dans la vie quotidienne. Si vous ne comprenez pas vraiment l'autre, beaucoup de tentatives pour vous aider se tromperont.


3. Soutenez vraiment l'autre

Qu'ils comprennent votre vrai "je" implique que l'autre personne vraiment comprendre quels projets de vie vous tiennent à cœur réellement. De cette façon, vous pouvez subvenir à vos besoins en prenant des décisions qui, pour toute autre personne, sembleraient déraisonnables, mais qui en réalité répondent à la logique interne de ce que vous voulez pour votre vie.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Le concept de soi: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment est-il formé?"

4. Obtenir la validation

Les êtres humains n'aiment pas sentir que nous sommes isolés et que nous existons dans le vide. Si le couple nous comprend, ils savent nous valider de manière authentique et efficace; au lieu de faire des compliments constamment (ce qui leur ferait perdre leur valeur), des échantillons d’admiration et d’affection sont offerts de manière plus adéquate, là où ils conviennent, au lieu de tout submerger avec eux.

5. Quelque chose de plus que l'individu est créé

Lorsque notre identité se connecte vraiment à l’autre, nous faisons partie de quelque chose qui nous dépasse. C’est une source importante de but dans la vie qui nourrit la bonne santé du couple . Bien sûr, à aucun moment nous ne cessons d'être des personnes avec leurs propres préoccupations et sensibilités, mais une partie de nous des projets au-delà de l'individualité.

6. Tu comprends mieux

De l'expérience de l'autre avec notre vrai soi, nous apprenons sur nous-mêmes; nous ne pouvons pas rester à l'écart, comment quelqu'un réagit à l'idée que nous existons, que nous sommes là et que nous sommes réels au-delà de toutes les conventions et apparences. À son tour, cette information il sert à rendre plus dans l'intelligence émotionnelle nécessaire pour gérer la relation et ses conflits potentiels qui peuvent le faire vaciller.

  • Article connexe: "Qu'est-ce que l'intelligence émotionnelle? Découvrir l'importance des émotions"

Vous donnez une opportunité de rejet

Le simple fait de faire connaître l’autre nous expose à la possibilité d’un rejet. C’est en soi un signe d’engagement, de maturité et de responsabilité.La relation qui se dégage de ce contexte sera authentique, tant que cette dynamique est symétrique : l'autre personne devrait aussi se découvrir tel qu'il est, nous donner l'occasion de décider de ce qu'il est vraiment.

Articles Connexes