yes, therapy helps!
Why psychologists do not give advice

Why psychologists do not give advice

May 22, 2024

People who have graduated in psychology or work as psychologists know well that, in addition to asking for free consultation, there is another custom that leads many people to make a basic mistake when they hear that a friend or relative is a psychologist: ask for advice about life .

Of course, asking and giving advice is not a bad thing in itself. In fact, people who are psychologists can give advice quietly, and can even divulge advice in the media, but making it clear that this is not the activity that defines their profession. That means, in the context in which a psychologist talks about his work, he does not give advice ; in other situations, yes.


Assuming that the profession of psychologists consists in giving advice leads some people to ask for their help by posing a problem and finishing off the topic with a "what should I do?". But, although it may seem strange because of the myths that circulate about the profession, psychologists do not give advice. Next I will explain why.

Psychologists: dealing with individual or collective problems

People with a background in psychology know things about the behavior and mental processes that predispose them to know better how to deal with certain situations in a useful and effective way, yes. But that does not mean they can give advice to someone "on the go".

Actually, it is not even true that all psychologists are dedicated to dealing with the vital problems of specific people . This is done only by those who engage in psychotherapy and clinical intervention; There are also many other branches of psychology in which, either work for organizations and not for isolated people (organizational psychology or Human Resources), or is investigated from data on many people, as occurs in the psychological research and cognitive science.


In both cases, psychologists do not intervene in cases of individual psychological problems, so asking for advice does not make much sense. But neither does it have it when the person does psychotherapy and mental health . Why?

Magical solutions to universal problems

As we have seen, many psychologists do not direct their work to deal with collective problems, or with problems demarcated by legal entities, not people. However, those who intervene in individual cases do not give advice either, for three basic reasons.

The need to attend a consultation

If you want individual attention, you have to buy all the pack of individualized attention, not only the appearance of this.

That is to say, you have to attend a consultation , a context in which, despite having that name, the client will not ask questions that must be answered.


Psychologists do not have in our memory a book that contains all the vital guidelines to follow and what needs to be done in each case. First, because such a book does not exist , and psychologists are normal people, flesh and blood, and not oracles with the ability to come into contact with something like divine and universal laws.

But then, what does psychotherapy consist of? This brings us to the second point of why the task of a psychologist is not based on giving advice.

Psychotherapy is a task of two

Get to understand which options are the best to deal with a problem it is something that must be done by both the psychologist and the patient , not only for the first one.

Knowing what to do depends on the will of the person seeking help and the specific characteristics of their life, and the role of the psychologist is to guide on the fly , do not transmit categorical answers to vital doubts.

Of course, if psychologists had as a tool a list of laws of life, these would be so many that they would not fit in a room, and even less in the long-term memory of a psychotherapist. Simply, the characteristics of a person's problem can be so many and so varied that there can not be a defined action protocol for each one .

Thus, much of what a psychologist does in the consultation is simply listening to understand the client's problem and to have the opportunity to develop a series of individualized measures. Only for that reason, it is impossible that your work can be summarized with a "I give advice", something that can normally be done in a bar after 10 minutes of conversation. Do not; the psychologist listen and ask many questions for a long time and in several sessions .

But what comes next, when the psychologist understands the problem, is not giving advice either.

Act on the focus of the problem

Giving advice is simply that, issuing a series of statements in which people talk about what should be done in a specific case. But psychologists do not do that.Talking about what should be done is not, in itself, something that brings the person closer to solving that problem, because to believe that would be to fall into the error of assuming that psychological problems appear simply when a person does not know what It has to be done.

Thus, a person with addiction to gambling would simply need someone to insist a lot on the advice to stop playing. Once that person becomes aware of the problem from what he hears the other says, the problem will be solved. It's a pity that this does not happen in the real world: psychological problems are not born from the lack of information, but from something much deeper: Unsuitable behavior patterns that should be corrected doing more and talking less.

Thus, the work of psychologists is not to inform people about what they should do, but to guide them towards a model of behavior that is useful and that allows them to be happier. That is why the product of psychotherapy sessions are not aphorisms and maxims of life , but intervention programs such as Training in Self-instruction, something like routines that are used in a gym made for our brain.

Mental health psychologists they create the necessary conditions so that their patients can reorient their actions and their thoughts in a more appropriate way, according to their own objectives. Perhaps that temptation to ask for advice from psychologists comes, precisely, from the fact that the latter is not very clear, the idea of ​​what is wanted. In the councils, the objective to be aspired to is already given: "do this". Fortunately or not, what happens in a psychologist's office is much more complex.


5 Signs You Are Seeing a BAD Therapist! psychology & mental health with Kati Morton (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi les psychologues ne donnent pas de conseils

Pourquoi les psychologues ne donnent pas de conseils

Novembre 5, 2022

Les diplômés en psychologie ou les psychologues savent bien que, outre le fait de demander une consultation gratuite, il existe une autre coutume qui amène de nombreuses personnes à commettre une erreur fondamentale en entendant dire qu'un ami ou un membre de la famille est un psychologue: demander des conseils sur la vie .

Bien sûr, demander et donner des conseils n’est pas une mauvaise chose en soi. En fait, les psychologues peuvent donner des conseils en toute discrétion et même divulguer des conseils dans les médias, mais en précisant que ce n'est pas l'activité qui définit leur métier. Cela signifie que, dans le contexte où un psychologue parle de son travail, il ne donne pas de conseils ; dans d'autres situations, oui.


Supposer que la profession de psychologue consiste à donner des conseils amène certaines personnes à demander leur aide en posant un problème et en terminant le sujet par un "que dois-je faire?". Mais, bien que cela puisse paraître étrange à cause des mythes qui circulent sur la profession, les psychologues ne donnent pas de conseils. Ensuite, je vais expliquer pourquoi.

Psychologues: traiter des problèmes individuels ou collectifs

Les personnes ayant une formation en psychologie connaissent les comportements et les processus mentaux qui les prédisposent à mieux savoir comment gérer certaines situations de manière utile et efficace, oui. Mais cela ne signifie pas qu'ils peuvent donner des conseils à quelqu'un "sur le pouce".

En réalité, il n'est même pas vrai que tous les psychologues se consacrent au traitement des problèmes vitaux de personnes spécifiques . Ceci est fait seulement par ceux qui s'engagent dans la psychothérapie et l'intervention clinique; Il existe également de nombreuses autres branches de la psychologie dans lesquelles travaillent pour des organisations et non pour des personnes isolées (psychologie des organisations ou ressources humaines), ou font l’objet de recherches à partir de données sur de nombreuses personnes, comme cela se produit dans les recherche psychologique et sciences cognitives.


Dans les deux cas, les psychologues n'interviennent pas dans les cas de problèmes psychologiques individuels. Demander des conseils n'a donc aucun sens. Mais il n'en a pas non plus quand la personne fait de la psychothérapie et de la santé mentale . Parce que?

Des solutions magiques à des problèmes universels

Comme nous l'avons vu, de nombreux psychologues ne dirigent pas leur travail vers des problèmes collectifs, ni avec des problèmes délimités par des personnes morales, pas des personnes. Cependant, ceux qui interviennent dans des cas individuels ne donnent pas non plus de conseils, pour trois raisons fondamentales.

La nécessité d'assister à une consultation

Si vous voulez une attention individuelle, vous devez acheter tous les meute d'attention individualisée, pas seulement l'apparition de cela.

C'est-à-dire, vous devez assister à une consultation , un contexte dans lequel, malgré son nom, le client ne posera pas de questions auxquelles il faudra répondre.


Les psychologues n’ont pas en mémoire un livre contenant toutes les directives vitales à suivre et ce qu’il faut faire dans chaque cas. D'abord, parce qu'un tel livre n'existe pas et les psychologues sont des personnes normales, de chair et de sang, et non pas des oracles capables d'entrer en contact avec quelque chose comme les lois divines et universelles.

Mais alors, en quoi consiste la psychothérapie? Cela nous amène au deuxième point pour lequel la tâche d'un psychologue n'est pas basée sur des conseils.

La psychothérapie est une tâche de deux

Comprendre quelles options sont les meilleures pour traiter un problème c'est quelque chose qui doit être fait à la fois par le psychologue et le patient , pas seulement pour le premier.

Savoir quoi faire dépend de la volonté de la personne qui cherche de l'aide et des caractéristiques spécifiques de sa vie, et le rôle du psychologue est de guider à la volée , ne transmettez pas de réponses catégoriques aux doutes vitaux.

Bien entendu, si les psychologues avaient pour outil une liste de lois de la vie, celles-ci seraient si nombreuses qu'elles ne rentreraient pas dans une pièce et encore moins dans la mémoire à long terme d'un psychothérapeute. Simplement, les caractéristiques du problème d’une personne peuvent être si nombreuses et si variées que il ne peut pas y avoir de protocole d'action défini pour chacun .

Ainsi, une consultation psychologique consiste en grande partie à écouter pour comprendre le problème du client et à développer une série de mesures individualisées. Ce n'est que pour cette raison qu'il est impossible de résumer votre travail avec un "Je donne des conseils", ce qui peut normalement être fait dans un bar après 10 minutes de conversation. Non le psychologue écoutez et posez beaucoup de questions pendant longtemps et en plusieurs sessions .

Mais ce qui vient ensuite, quand le psychologue comprend le problème, ne donne pas de conseil non plus.

Agir sur le centre du problème

Donner des conseils, c'est simplement que, émettre une série de déclarations dans lequel les gens parlent de ce qui devrait être fait dans un cas particulier. Mais les psychologues ne font pas cela.Parler de ce qui devrait être fait n’est pas, en soi, une chose qui rapproche la personne de la résolution de ce problème, car croire que ce serait tomber dans l’erreur de supposer que des problèmes psychologiques apparaissent simplement quand une personne ne sait pas quoi faire. il faut faire.

Ainsi, une personne ayant une dépendance au jeu aurait simplement besoin de quelqu'un qui insiste beaucoup sur le conseil pour arrêter de jouer. Une fois que cette personne aura pris conscience du problème d'après ce qu'il a entendu l'autre, le problème sera résolu. C'est dommage que cela ne se produise pas dans le monde réel: les problèmes psychologiques ne naissent pas du manque d'informations, mais de quelque chose de beaucoup plus profond: Comportements inadéquats qu'il faut corriger faire plus et parler moins.

Ainsi, le travail des psychologues n’est pas d’informer les gens de ce qu’ils devraient faire, mais de les guider vers un modèle de comportement utile qui leur permette d’être plus heureux. C’est pourquoi le produit des séances de psychothérapie ne sont pas des aphorismes et des maximes de la vie , mais des programmes d’intervention tels que Training in Self-instruction, comme des routines qui sont utilisées dans un gymnase conçu pour notre cerveau.

Psychologues de la santé mentale ils créent les conditions nécessaires pour que leurs patients puissent réorienter leurs actions et leurs pensées d'une manière plus appropriée, en fonction de leurs propres objectifs. Peut-être que la tentation de demander conseil à des psychologues vient précisément du fait que ce dernier n’est pas très clair, l’idée de ce qui est voulu. Dans les conseils, l’objectif auquel on aspire est déjà donné: "fais ceci". Heureusement ou non, ce qui se passe dans le bureau d'un psychologue est beaucoup plus complexe.


Dix conseils pour réussir sa licence de psychologie (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes