yes, therapy helps!
Why some couples are still together after infidelity

Why some couples are still together after infidelity

November 27, 2021

Relationships are based on love, respect and trust. While we do not have control over the first of these ingredients, the other two do have a place in our decisions and in the choices we make on a day-to-day basis.

However, when it comes to maintaining loyalty, it is very easy for a single mistake to throw away a project of courtship or marriage that takes months or years of travel. Overnight, everything can change, and even if infidelity is hidden, the feeling of guilt ends the relationship on many occasions.

But that does not always happen. There are cases in which the couple is still together after infidelity . Why does this happen? Let's see the causes of this phenomenon.


  • Related article: "Infidelity: the second most important problem in relationships"

Overcoming infidelity or self-deception?

An infidelity places us in a position in which we must necessarily choose between two options that have important emotional repercussions. Breaking with the couple implies leaving behind many of the elements of life that we had become accustomed to, as well as the need to see with different eyes the relationship from which we came out, and to spend some time alone. In turn, not separating from the couple implies continuing with a relationship that is very easy to doubt, and investing time and efforts in something that tomorrow can definitely break.


Infidelity is, by its very definition, a betrayal. That means It is not about having sex with someone you do not have a relationship with based on corresponded love; After all, there are open couples and polyamory.

Being unfaithful is basically breaking one of the commitments that they are part of the pillars in which a courtship or marriage is sustained . Normally, absolute sexual exclusivity is one of those commitments, but this is not always the case. In any case, almost all relationships require a certain degree of exclusivity to function (although it only consists of the privilege of devoting much more time and attention to the beloved person).

But there are many philosophies of life with which to confront infidelity when it has been committed. Many of them lead to end the relationship, understanding that it has no remedy or is based on a lie.


  • You may be interested: "Is it possible to forgive an infidelity?"

Relationships that are reconstructed after the deceit to a couple

As far as is currently known, the factors that explain why certain couples continue to exist after infidelity known to both parties are the following.

1. Prefer happiness to justice

Happiness is something shared but fragile, while justice can be something unilateral, but it does not have to make us happy. The choice between justice and happiness governs many of the decisions that have to do with the question of whether to forgive an infidelity or not.

Many couples who remain together after infidelity bet on happiness through forgiveness . It may seem like an easy way out of the conflict, but it is not. Forgiving someone in a genuine way is complicated in these cases, and the person who has cheated on their partner often sees something in this that allows them to better appreciate the value of their courtship and marriage.

2. The beginning of a formal commitment

Many times, infidelity is due to an absence of well-established rules that govern the relationship. For example, it is not uncommon that at the beginning of relationships some people fear so much the possibility of overwhelming the other person that they try by all means to appear flexible and accommodating. This situation of ambiguity makes it possible commit an infidelity because of a gray area of morality that exists between clearly acceptable and clearly unacceptable.

Thus, the fact of having to face infidelity draws attention to this lack of communication and allows the couple to have a framework in which to speak for the first time of what their commitment will consist of.

  • You may be interested: "Are men or women more unfaithful?"

3. Couple therapy

Couples therapy is effective when intervening in many of the aspects that cause discomfort about infidelity: for example, to reduce the stress associated with conversations with the couple and for re-learn to talk constructively . This, while not guaranteeing the full recovery of mutual trust, makes it easier to reach it.

  • Related article: "How to know when to go to couple therapy? 5 reasons of weight"

4. A philosophy of life against absolutes

People who live love through absolute ideas of the style "infidelity has to be accompanied by a break in all cases" will probably not be able to detect those cases in which there is an opportunity to repair a relationship.

So, it is usually important to adopt the idea that every relationship is a world and that, although there are situations that are unsustainable in all cases (such as abuse), in some cases infidelity is not the end of the world.

People tend to underestimate our ability to change when it comes to love, usually because we are not able to find a way to create the ideal situation in which we are allowed to evolve in habits, values ​​and beliefs.


How To Rebuild Trust After An Affair (And Get Forgiveness) (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pourquoi certains couples sont toujours ensemble après l'infidélité

Pourquoi certains couples sont toujours ensemble après l'infidélité

Mai 16, 2022

Les relations sont basées sur l'amour, le respect et la confiance. Bien que nous ne contrôlions pas le premier de ces ingrédients, les deux autres ont leur place dans nos décisions et dans les choix que nous faisons au quotidien.

Cependant, lorsqu'il s'agit de maintenir la loyauté, il est très facile pour une seule erreur de jeter un projet de parade ou de mariage qui prend des mois ou des années de voyage. Du jour au lendemain, tout peut changer et même si l’infidélité est cachée, le sentiment de culpabilité met fin à la relation à plusieurs reprises.

Mais cela n'arrive pas toujours. Il y a des cas dans lesquels le couple est toujours ensemble après l'infidélité . Pourquoi cela se produit-il? Voyons les causes de ce phénomène.


  • Article connexe: "Infidélité: le deuxième problème en importance dans les relations"

Surmonter l'infidélité ou l'auto-illusion?

Une infidélité nous met dans une position dans laquelle nous devons nécessairement choisir entre deux options ayant des répercussions émotionnelles importantes. Rompre avec le couple implique de laisser derrière soi nombre des éléments de la vie auxquels nous nous étions habitués, ainsi que la nécessité de voir avec des yeux différents la relation dont nous sommes sortis et de passer du temps seul. À son tour, ne pas se séparer du couple implique de continuer avec une relation dont il est très facile de douter, et d'investir du temps et des efforts dans quelque chose que l'avenir peut définitivement casser.


L'infidélité est, par sa définition même, une trahison. Cela signifie que Il ne s'agit pas d'avoir des relations sexuelles avec quelqu'un avec qui vous n'avez pas de relation basé sur l'amour correspondant; Après tout, il y a des couples ouverts et des polyamoures.

Être infidèle, c'est fondamentalement rompre l'un des engagements que ils font partie des piliers dans lesquels une cour ou un mariage est soutenu . L’exclusivité sexuelle absolue fait normalement partie de ces engagements, mais ce n’est pas toujours le cas. Dans tous les cas, presque toutes les relations requièrent un certain degré d'exclusivité pour fonctionner (bien qu'il s'agisse uniquement du privilège de consacrer beaucoup plus de temps et d'attention à la personne aimée).

Mais il existe de nombreuses philosophies de la vie avec lesquelles confronter l'infidélité lorsqu'elle est commise. Beaucoup d'entre eux mènent à la fin de la relation, comprenant qu'elle n'a pas de solution ou est basée sur un mensonge.


  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Est-il possible de pardonner une infidélité?"

Des relations qui sont reconstruites après la duperie à un couple

Pour autant que l'on sache actuellement, les facteurs qui expliquent la persistance de certains couples après l'infidélité connue des deux parties sont les suivants.

1. Préférer le bonheur à la justice

Le bonheur est une chose partagée mais fragile, alors que la justice peut être une chose unilatérale, mais elle ne doit pas nous rendre heureux. Le choix entre justice et bonheur est à la base de nombreuses décisions relatives à la question de savoir s'il faut pardonner une infidélité ou non.

Beaucoup de couples qui restent ensemble après l'infidélité parier sur le bonheur par le pardon . Cela peut sembler un moyen facile de sortir du conflit, mais ce n’est pas le cas. Pardonner à quelqu'un de façon sincère est compliqué dans ces cas, et la personne qui a trompé son partenaire y voit souvent quelque chose qui leur permettrait de mieux apprécier la valeur de leurs fréquentations et de leur mariage.

2. Le début d'un engagement formel

L'infidélité est souvent due à l'absence de règles bien établies régissant la relation. Par exemple, il n'est pas rare qu'au début d'une relation, certaines personnes craignent tellement la possibilité de submerger l'autre personne qu'elles tentent par tous les moyens de paraître souples et accommodantes. Cette situation d'ambiguïté permet de commettre une infidélité à cause d'une zone grise de la moralité qui existe entre clairement acceptable et clairement inacceptable.

Ainsi, le fait de devoir faire face à l'infidélité attire l'attention sur ce manque de communication et permet au couple de disposer d'un cadre dans lequel parler pour la première fois de la nature de leur engagement.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Les hommes ou les femmes sont-ils plus infidèles?"

3. Thérapie de couple

La thérapie de couple est efficace lorsque vous intervenez sur de nombreux aspects gênants au sujet de l'infidélité: par exemple, réduire le stress associé aux conversations avec le couple et réapprendre à parler de manière constructive . Ceci, tout en ne garantissant pas le rétablissement complet de la confiance mutuelle, facilite son atteinte.

  • Article connexe: "Comment savoir quand aller en thérapie de couple? 5 raisons de poids"

4. Une philosophie de la vie contre les absolus

Les personnes qui vivent l'amour à travers des idées absolues du style "l'infidélité doit être accompagnée d'une pause dans tous les cas" ne seront probablement pas en mesure de détecter les cas dans lesquels il est possible de réparer une relation.

Donc, il est généralement important d'adopter l'idée que chaque relation est un monde et que, même s'il existe des situations insoutenables dans tous les cas (abus), dans certains cas, l'infidélité n'est pas la fin du monde.

Les gens ont tendance à sous-estimer notre capacité à changer en matière d'amour, généralement parce que nous ne sommes pas en mesure de trouver le moyen de créer la situation idéale dans laquelle nous pouvons évoluer en termes d'habitudes, de valeurs et de croyances.


Sarah Martins (LVDA3): Michto de Bryan ? Toutou de Fraisou ? Elle est choquée par son EX Florian ! (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes