yes, therapy helps!
William Edwards Deming: biography of this statistician and consultant

William Edwards Deming: biography of this statistician and consultant

February 21, 2024

There are many wars that have happened both in the past and even today throughout history, exploding by a large number of possible factors and motives: from ideological conflicts to invasions provoked by the search for territory or resources. In these war conflicts there are a lot of losses, with an immense number of victims.

The intervention of external and professional forces that help promote regeneration and restructuring at a social and economic level It can be a great help, implementing useful strategies that improve the situation of the inhabitants of the country.

An example of this is found in William Edwards Deming, one of the main ideologists who contributed to the socio-economic recovery of Japan after the events that took place after the Second World War. It is about this relevant author that we are going to talk about throughout this article, in which we are going to see a short biography of William Edward Deming .


  • Related article: "Thomas Malthus: biography of this researcher in political economy"

Biography of William Edwards Deming

William Edwards Deming was born on October 14, 1900 in Sioux City, Iowa. He is the first of three children of the lawyer William Albert Deming and the music Plume Irene Edwards.

The family had very few resources and he lived in a humble home, in a precarious situation. Initially Deming and his family lived in Sioux City, before moving to a farm owned by the maternal grandfather in Camp Powell, Wyoming, something that forced them to lose a lawsuit and the possibility of benefiting from the land grant that He made the government to favor agriculture.


Despite this, the farm was very unproductive and the family's situation was difficult and they barely had enough to eat, so William Edwards Deming had to start working at eight years of age to survive. However, despite their poverty the parents of the child gave great importance to educate their children, and Deming went to the school of Powell in spite of keeping working in different jobs. The young man excelled in mathematics and even several professors emboldened him to go to university.

Academic training and first years of work

When in 1917 he turned seventeen the young Deming He left for Laramie to enroll at the University of Wyoming, where he completed a degree in Electrical Engineering . He finished these studies in 1921, a year after his mother died.

A year later he married Agnes Bell, with whom he would have a daughter. Later He completed a master's degree in Physics and Mathematics at the University of Colorado and after that a Ph.D. in Physics from Yale University , in 1928, with the thesis "A Possible Explanation of the Packing Effect of Helium". In this last university he was hired as a part-time professor.


In the 27 he was hired by the Department of Agriculture of Washington and the United States Census Bureau, where he served as a statistical advisor. During his work in these tasks he discovered different procedures proposed by Walter Shewhart, which would be the basis of many of his later ideas. He taught at the USDA Graduate School, and wrote multiple articles and publications .

Unfortunately three years later his wife died, and during that same year his father also died. Until 1932 he did not redo his love life by marrying Lola Elizabeth Shupe, with whom he would have two more daughters.

The Second World War and its role in the recovery of Japan

During the first moments of the Second World War, he was commissioned to increase the quality of the armament of the army, during the beginning of the first world war. In 1935 he began working as a professor of mathematics and statistics at the USDA Graduate School, while continuing to study statistical methodologies proposed by great professionals in the sector.

He retired from the Administration in 1946, to become a consultant and professor of statistics at the University of New York. That same year he was sent to Japan to study agricultural production and the problems derived from the damages generated during the war, a trip in which he would make numerous contacts interested in his theories (which had not been taken too much into account in the United States).

Later in 1950 he would be contacted and give numerous seminars in the Japanese country regarding statistical control, coming to train a large number of professionals in statistical control of the processes and in the management of the total quality .

These conferences were transcribed and sold, enjoying enormous success. Although they wanted to pay the author's rights, Deming decided to reject it and instead proposed to use what they had given him to generate a prize for exemplary companies (the Deming prize, nowadays one of the most relevant for Japanese companies). His theories and methods began to be applied quickly, something that It contributed enormously to changing the economy and mentality of the country : the need to control the quality of processes and materials and to generate plans that help manage it without waste. It also elaborated multiple principles and obstacles that served to favor the control of said quality.

  • Maybe you're interested: "The 45 best sentences about Economics and Finance"

Prestige and return home

After his passage through Japan the popularity of William Edwards Deming increased greatly, making multiple conferences in different parts of the world and a large number of publications.

The ideas that helped improve the Japanese economy, and that until their passage through the country had not been valued in their country of origin, also began to be revised and applied in the United States . In 1975 Deming retired from teaching, but continued to make publications of great international prestige. He also received a large number of awards and distinctions, such as the National Medal of Technology, as well as honorary doctorates at multiple universities.

Death

The death came to William Edward Deming on December 20, 1933, precisely the same year he founded the W. Edward Deming Institute. His death occurred in the city of Washington D.C.

The role of this important statistician, mathematician, professor and consultant was enormous throughout his life , and it even lasts beyond his death. Its methods and principles are still valid in Japanese society and have been applied successfully in other parts of the world, still very useful in the world of management.

Bibliographic references

  • The W. Edwards Deming Institute (s.f.). Deming The Man. [Online]. Available at: //deming.org/deming/deming-the-man.

The Wisdom of W. Edwards Deming - Famous Quotes (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
William Edwards Deming: biographie de ce statisticien et consultant

William Edwards Deming: biographie de ce statisticien et consultant

Août 10, 2022

De nombreuses guerres qui se sont produites dans le passé et même aujourd’hui à travers l’histoire ont éclaté sous l’effet d’un grand nombre de facteurs et de motivations possibles: des conflits idéologiques aux invasions provoquées par la recherche de territoires ou de ressources. Dans ces conflits de guerre, il y a beaucoup de pertes, avec un nombre immense de victimes.

L’intervention de forces externes et professionnelles aidant promouvoir la régénération et la restructuration au niveau social et économique Cela peut être d'une grande aide en mettant en œuvre des stratégies utiles qui améliorent la situation des habitants du pays.

William Edwards Deming, l'un des principaux idéologues ayant contribué au redressement socio-économique du Japon après les événements survenus après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, en est un exemple. C’est à propos de cet auteur que nous allons parler tout au long de cet article, dans lequel nous allons voir une courte biographie de William Edward Deming .


  • Article connexe: "Thomas Malthus: biographie de ce chercheur en économie politique"

Biographie de William Edwards Deming

William Edwards Deming est né le 14 octobre 1900 à Sioux City, dans l'Iowa, et est le premier de trois enfants de l'avocat William Albert Deming et de la musique Plume Irene Edwards.

La famille avait très peu de ressources et il vivait dans une maison modeste, dans une situation précaire. Initialement, Deming et sa famille vivaient à Sioux City, avant de s’installer dans une ferme appartenant au grand-père maternel de Camp Powell, dans le Wyoming, ce qui les obligeait à perdre un procès et la possibilité de bénéficier de la concession de Il a obligé le gouvernement à favoriser l'agriculture.


Malgré cela, la ferme était très improductive et la situation de la famille était difficile et ils avaient à peine de quoi manger. William Edwards Deming a donc dû commencer à travailler à huit ans pour survivre. Cependant, malgré leur pauvreté, les parents de l’enfant accordaient une grande importance à l’éducation de leurs enfants et Deming se rendit à l’école de Powell malgré le fait qu’il avait continué à occuper différents emplois. Le jeune homme a excellé en mathématiques et même plusieurs professeurs l'ont encouragé à aller à l'université.

Formation académique et premières années de travail

Quand, en 1917, il eut dix-sept ans, le jeune Deming Il est parti pour Laramie pour s’inscrire à l’Université du Wyoming, où il a obtenu un diplôme en génie électrique. . Il a terminé ses études en 1921, un an après le décès de sa mère.

Un an plus tard, il épousa Agnes Bell, avec qui il aurait une fille. Plus tard Il a obtenu une maîtrise en physique et en mathématiques à l'Université du Colorado, puis un doctorat en physique de l'Université de Yale. , en 1928, avec la thèse "Une explication possible de l’effet tassant de l’hélium". Dans cette dernière université, il a été embauché comme professeur à temps partiel.


Dans les 27 ans, il a été embauché par le département de l'agriculture de Washington et le United States Census Bureau, où il a exercé les fonctions de conseiller en statistiques. Au cours de son travail dans ces tâches, il a découvert différentes procédures proposées par Walter Shewhart, qui seraient à la base de nombre de ses idées ultérieures. Il a enseigné à la USDA Graduate School et a écrit de nombreux articles et publications. .

Malheureusement, trois ans plus tard, son épouse mourut et son père mourut au cours de la même année. Jusqu'en 1932, il n'a pas refait sa vie amoureuse en épousant Lola Elizabeth Shupe, avec qui il aurait deux autres filles.

La seconde guerre mondiale et son rôle dans la reprise du Japon

Durant les premiers instants de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il fut chargé d'améliorer la qualité de l'armement de l'armée, au début de la première guerre mondiale. En 1935, il commence à travailler comme professeur de mathématiques et de statistique à la USDA Graduate School, tout en continuant à étudier les méthodologies statistiques proposées par de grands professionnels du secteur.

Il a pris sa retraite de l'administration en 1946 pour devenir consultant et professeur de statistique à l'Université de New York. La même année, il fut envoyé au Japon pour étudier la production agricole. et les problèmes découlant des dommages causés pendant la guerre, voyage au cours duquel il aurait de nombreux contacts intéressés par ses théories (qui n’avaient pas été trop pris en compte aux États-Unis).

Plus tard en 1950, il sera contacté et donnera de nombreux séminaires dans le pays japonais sur le contrôle statistique, venant former un grand nombre de professionnels au contrôle statistique des processus et à la gestion de la qualité totale .

Ces conférences ont été transcrites et vendues, remportant un énorme succès. Tout en voulant payer les droits de l'auteur, Deming a décidé de le rejeter et a proposé d'utiliser ce qu'il lui avait donné pour générer un prix destiné à des entreprises exemplaires (le prix Deming, l'un des plus intéressants pour les entreprises japonaises). Ses théories et méthodes ont commencé à être appliquées rapidement, quelque chose qui Cela a énormément contribué à changer l'économie et la mentalité du pays : la nécessité de contrôler la qualité des processus et des matériaux et de générer des plans qui permettent de les gérer sans gaspillage. Elle a également élaboré de nombreux principes et obstacles qui ont favorisé le contrôle de ladite qualité.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Les 45 meilleures phrases sur l'économie et la finance"

Prestige et retour à la maison

Après son passage au Japon, la popularité de William Edwards Deming a considérablement augmenté, faisant plusieurs conférences dans différentes parties du monde et un grand nombre de publications.

Les idées qui ont permis d’améliorer l’économie japonaise et qui jusqu’à leur passage dans le pays n’avaient pas été valorisées dans leur pays d’origine, a commencé à être révisé et appliqué aux États-Unis . En 1975, Deming prit sa retraite de l'enseignement mais continua à faire des publications d'un grand prestige international. Il a également reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions, tels que la Médaille nationale de la technologie, ainsi que des doctorats honorifiques dans plusieurs universités.

La mort

William Edward Deming est décédé le 20 décembre 1933, l'année même de la fondation de l'Institut W. Edward Deming. Sa mort est survenue dans la ville de Washington, DC

Le rôle de cet important statisticien, mathématicien, professeur et consultant a été énorme toute sa vie. , et cela dure même après sa mort. Ses méthodes et ses principes sont toujours valables dans la société japonaise et ont été appliqués avec succès dans d’autres parties du monde, toujours très utiles dans le monde de la gestion.

Références bibliographiques

  • W. Edwards Deming Institute (voir ci-dessous). Deming The Man. [En ligne]. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: //deming.org/deming/deming-the-man.

Biografia William Edwards Deming (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes