yes, therapy helps!
William James: life and work of the father of Psychology in America

William James: life and work of the father of Psychology in America

January 22, 2021

Psychology has given birth to a large number of theories and theoretical models through which it seeks to explain human behavior.

They are concrete proposals that in most cases they only seek to explain a small plot of the set of themes that can explain the psychology, since they are based on the work that many researchers have been doing months, years and decades ago. However, all this framework of proposals had to start at some point where we knew almost nothing about how we behave and perceive things.

What was it like to face the study of Psychology in those years? What was it that had to lay the foundations of modern psychology?


To answer these questions it is convenient to look back and review the life and work of William James , a philosopher and psychologist who set out to investigate one of the most basic and universal concepts in regard to the study of the mind: the consciousness.

Who was William James?

The life of William James began as that of any representative of the American upper classes. He was born in 1842 in New York, in the bosom of a well-to-do family, and the fact of being able to avail himself of the considerable financial resources of his parents allowed him to train in good schools, both in the United States and in Europe, and get soaked in the different tendencies and philosophical and artistic currents that characterized each place visited. His father, moreover, was a famous theologian very well connected, and the bourgeois culture that surrounded the whole family probably helped that William James was ambitious when it was time to set vital goals.


In short, William James had everything to become a well-positioned person: the material resources and also the influences of the New York elites related to his relatives accompanied him in it. However, although in 1864 he began studying medicine at Harvard, a series of academic parentheses and health complications meant that he did not finish his studies until 1869 and, anyway, never got to practice as a doctor .

There was another area of ​​study that called his attention: the binomial formed between Philosophy and Psychology, two disciplines that in the nineteenth century had not yet separated completely and that at that time studied matters related to the soul and thought.

The William James psychologist is born

In 1873, William James returned to Harvard to teach Psychology and Philosophy . Certain things had changed since he graduated in medicine. He had submitted his life experience to a philosophical examination, and he had taken such great pains to see that he had the strength to become a professor despite not having received formal education on the subject.


However, despite not having attended philosophy classes, the topics he was interested in were of the type that had marked the beginnings of the history of great thinkers. Since he could not base his studies on previous research in Psychology because it had not yet been consolidated, focused on studying consciousness and emotional states . This is, two universal themes and intimately linked with philosophy and epistemology to be present in all our ways of interacting with the environment.

Consciousness, according to James

When addressing the study of consciousness, William James encountered many difficulties. It could not be otherwise, since, as he himself acknowledged, It is very difficult to even define what consciousness is or be aware of something . And, if you do not know how to limit the object of study, it is practically impossible to direct the investigations on this and make them reach a successful conclusion. That is why James' first great challenge was to explain what consciousness is in philosophical terms, then to be able to test its functioning mechanisms and its verifiable foundations.

He managed to approach an intuitive (though not entirely exhaustive) idea of ​​what consciousness is by drawing an analogy between it and a river. It is a metaphor to describe consciousness as if it were an incessant flow of thoughts, ideas and mental images . Once again, at this point the intimate connection between the approach to the Psychology of William James and the philosophical subjects can be verified, since the figure of the river had been used many millennia before by Heraclitus, one of the first great thinkers of the West .

The precedent of Heraclitus

Heraclitus faced the task of defining the relationship between "being" and change that apparently are part of reality. All things seem to remain and show qualities that make them stable over time, but at the same time all things change . Heraclitus maintained that "being" is an illusion and that the only thing that defines reality is the constant change, like a river that, although in appearance it is only one thing that remains, it does not stop being a succession of parts of water that never come back again.

William James thought it useful to define consciousness as if it were a river because it established in this way a dialectic between a stable element (consciousness itself, what one wants to define) and another that is constantly changing (the content of this consciousness). He emphasized the fact that Consciousness is composed of unique and unrepeatable units of experience, linked to the here and now , and that led from a "section" of the flow of thoughts to another part of it.

The nature of consciousness

That meant recognizing that in consciousness there is little or nothing that is substantive, that is, that it can be isolable and storable for study, since everything that happens through it is linked to the context . The only thing that remains in this "current" is the labels that we want to put to define it, that is, our considerations about it, but not the thing itself. From this reflection William James comes to a clear conclusion: consciousness is not an object, but a process, in the same way that the operation of an engine is not in itself something that exists separately from the machine .

Why does consciousness exist, then, if it can not even be located in a certain time and space? For our body to work, he said. To allow us to use the images and thoughts to survive.

Defining the stream of thoughts

William James believed that in the flow of images and ideas that constitute consciousness there are transitive parts Y substantive parts. The first refer constantly to other elements of the flow of thoughts, while the second are those in which we can stop for a while and notice a sense of permanence. Of course all these parts of consciousness are transitory to a greater or lesser extent. And, what is more important, they are all private, in the sense that the rest of people can only know them indirectly, through our own awareness of what we live .

The practical consequences of this in the face of research in Psychology were clear. This idea supposed to admit that the experimental Psychology was incapable to totally understand, only through its methods, how the human thought works, although it can help. To examine the flow of thoughts, says William James, we must begin by studying the "I", which appears from the current of consciousness itself .

This means that, from this point of view, studying the human psyche is equivalent to studying a construct as abstract as the "I". This idea did not please experimental psychologists, who preferred to focus their efforts on studying verifiable facts in a laboratory.

The James Theory - Lange: Do we cry because we are sad or are we sad because we cry?

Having made these basic considerations about what is and what is not consciousness, William James could begin to propose concrete mechanisms by which our thought flows guide our behavior. One of these contributions is the James - Lange Theory, devised by him and Carl Lange almost at the same time, according to which emotions appear from the awareness of one's physiological states.

For example, we do not smile because we are happy, but we are happy because our conscience has been informed that we are smiling . In the same way, we do not run because something has scared us, but we feel scared because we see that we are running away.

This is a theory that goes against the conventional way in which we conceive the functioning of our nervous system and our thoughts, and the same happened in the late nineteenth century. Today, however, We know that it is most likely that William James and Carl Lange have only part of the reason , since we consider that in the cycle between perception (seeing something that frightens us) and action (running) is so fast and with so many neural interactions in both directions that we can not speak of a causal chain in only one sense. We run because we are scared, and we are also scared because we run.

What do we owe William James?

The beliefs of William James may seem bizarre to this day, but the truth is that many of his ideas have been the principles on which interesting proposals have been erected that are still valid today. In his book The Principles of Psychology (Principles of Psychology), for example There are many ideas and notions that are useful to understand the functioning of the human brain, in spite of having been written at a time when the existence of the synaptic spaces separating neurons from others was scarcely being discovered.

In addition, the pragmatic approach he gave to Psychology is the philosophical foundation of many psychological theories and therapies that place more emphasis on the usefulness of thoughts and affective states than on their correspondence with an objective reality.

Perhaps because of this union between Psychology and the philosophical current of American pragmatism It is considered that William James is the father of Psychology in the United States and, much to his chagrin, he is in charge of introduce in its continent the Experimental Psychology that in Europe was being developed by Wilhelm Wundt.

In short, although William James had to face the costly mission of helping to establish the beginnings of Psychology as an academic and practical field, it can not be said that this task has been ungrateful. He showed real interest in what he was researching and was able to use this discipline to make exceptionally sharp proposals about the human mind. So much so that, for those who came after him, there was no choice but to take them for good or to try to refute them.


biography of psychologist William James (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
William James: la vie et le travail du père de la psychologie en Amérique

William James: la vie et le travail du père de la psychologie en Amérique

Avril 22, 2019

La psychologie a donné naissance à un grand nombre de théories et de modèles théoriques à travers lesquels elle cherche à expliquer le comportement humain.

Ce sont des propositions concrètes qui dans la plupart des cas ils cherchent seulement à expliquer une petite parcelle de la thématique cela peut expliquer la psychologie, puisqu'elles sont basées sur le travail effectué par de nombreux chercheurs il y a des mois, des années et des décennies. Cependant, tout ce cadre de propositions a dû commencer à un moment où nous ne savions presque rien sur la façon dont nous nous comportons et percevons les choses.

Comment était-ce de faire face à l'étude de la psychologie dans ces années? Qu'est-ce qui a dû jeter les bases de la psychologie moderne?


Pour répondre à ces questions, il est utile de regarder en arrière et de passer en revue la vie et le travail de William James , philosophe et psychologue qui a entrepris d’examiner l’un des concepts les plus fondamentaux et les plus universels en matière d’étude de l’esprit: le la conscience.

Qui était William James?

La vie de William James a commencé comme celle de n'importe quel représentant des classes supérieures américaines. Il est né en 1842 à New York, au sein d'une famille aisée, et le fait de pouvoir utiliser les ressources financières considérables de ses parents lui a permis de se former dans de bonnes écoles, aux États-Unis et en Europe, et de s'imprégner. les différentes tendances et courants philosophiques et artistiques qui caractérisent chaque lieu visité. De plus, son père était un théologien célèbre, très bien connecté, et la culture bourgeoise qui entourait toute la famille a probablement aidé William James à se montrer ambitieux au moment de fixer des objectifs vitaux.


En résumé, William James avait tout pour devenir une personne bien placée: les ressources matérielles mais aussi les influences des élites new-yorkaises liées à ses proches l'accompagnaient. Cependant, bien qu’il ait commencé à étudier la médecine à Harvard en 1864, une série de parenthèses académiques et de problèmes de santé l’empêcha de terminer ses études avant 1869 et, de toute façon, jamais eu à pratiquer en tant que médecin .

Un autre domaine d’étude a attiré son attention: le binôme formé entre philosophie et psychologie, deux disciplines qui au XIXe siècle ne s’étaient pas encore complètement séparées et qui, à cette époque, étudiaient des questions relatives à l’âme et à la pensée.

Le psychologue William James est né

En 1873, William James est retourné à Harvard pour enseigner la psychologie et la philosophie . Certaines choses ont changé depuis son diplôme en médecine. Il avait soumis son expérience de vie à un examen philosophique et s'était donné tant de peine pour voir qu'il avait la force de devenir professeur, même s'il n'avait pas reçu d'éducation formelle sur le sujet.


Cependant, bien qu'il n'ait pas suivi de cours de philosophie, les sujets qui l'intéressaient étaient du type de ceux qui avaient marqué le début de l'histoire des grands penseurs. Comme il ne pouvait pas fonder ses études sur des recherches antérieures en psychologie, celles-ci n’ayant pas encore été consolidées, concentré sur l'étude de la conscience et des états émotionnels . C’est deux thèmes universels et intimement liés à la philosophie et à l’épistémologie qui doivent être présents dans toutes nos façons d’interagir avec l’environnement.

Conscience selon James

En abordant l’étude de la conscience, William James a rencontré de nombreuses difficultés. Il ne pouvait en être autrement, puisque, comme il l'a lui-même reconnu, Il est très difficile même de définir ce qu'est la conscience ou d'être conscient de quelque chose . Et, si vous ne savez pas comment limiter l'objet de l'étude, il est pratiquement impossible d'orienter les investigations sur ce sujet et de les faire aboutir. C'est pourquoi le premier grand défi de James fut d'expliquer ce qu'est la conscience en termes philosophiques, puis de pouvoir tester ses mécanismes de fonctionnement et ses fondements vérifiables.

Il a réussi à approcher une idée intuitive (bien que pas entièrement exhaustive) de ce qu'est la conscience en établissant une analogie entre celle-ci et un fleuve. C'est une métaphore de décrire la conscience comme si elle était un flux incessant de pensées, d'idées et d'images mentales . Une fois encore, on peut vérifier le lien intime existant entre l’approche psychologique de William James et les sujets philosophiques, la figure du fleuve ayant déjà été utilisée plusieurs millénaires par Héraclite, l’un des premiers grands penseurs de l’Ouest. .

Le précédent d'Héraclite

Héraclite est confronté à la tâche de définir la relation entre "être" et le changement qui, apparemment, fait partie de la réalité. Toutes les choses semblent rester et montrer des qualités qui les rendent stables dans le temps, mais en même temps tout change . Héraclite a soutenu que "l'être" est une illusion et que la seule chose qui définit la réalité est le changement constant, comme un fleuve qui, bien qu'en apparence ce ne soit qu'une chose, il ne cesse pas d'être une succession de une eau qui ne revient jamais.

William James a jugé utile de définir la conscience comme s'il s'agissait d'un fleuve, car elle établissait ainsi une dialectique entre un élément stable (la conscience elle-même, ce que l'on veut définir) et un autre en constante évolution (le contenu de cette conscience). Il a souligné le fait que La conscience est composée d'unités d'expérience uniques et irremplaçables, liées à l'ici et maintenant , et cela a conduit d'une "section" du flux de pensées à une autre partie de celle-ci.

La nature de la conscience

Cela signifiait reconnaître qu’en conscience, il n’y avait que peu ou rien d’important, c’est-à-dire qu’il pouvait être isolé et stockable pour étude, car tout ce qui se passe à travers est lié au contexte . La seule chose qui reste dans ce "courant", ce sont les étiquettes que nous voulons mettre pour le définir, c'est-à-dire nos considérations à ce sujet, mais pas la chose elle-même. À partir de cette réflexion, William James tire une conclusion claire: la conscience n'est pas un objet, mais un processus, de la même manière que le fonctionnement d'un moteur n'est pas en soi une chose qui existe séparément de la machine .

Pourquoi la conscience existe-t-elle alors si elle ne peut même pas être localisée dans un certain espace-temps? Pour que notre corps fonctionne, a-t-il dit. Pour nous permettre d'utiliser les images et les pensées pour survivre.

Définir le flux de pensées

William James croyait que dans le flot d’images et d’idées constituant la conscience, il y avait parties transitives et parties de fond. Les premiers se réfèrent constamment à d'autres éléments du flux de pensées, tandis que les seconds sont ceux dans lesquels nous pouvons nous arrêter un moment et constater un sentiment de permanence. Bien sûr, toutes ces parties de la conscience sont plus ou moins transitoires. Et, ce qui est plus important, ils sont tous privés, en ce sens que le reste des gens ne peut les connaître que indirectement, à travers notre propre conscience de ce que nous vivons .

Les conséquences pratiques de cela face aux recherches en psychologie étaient claires. Cette idée supposait admettre que la psychologie expérimentale était incapable de comprendre totalement, à travers ses méthodes, le fonctionnement de la pensée humaine, bien qu'elle puisse aider. Pour examiner le flux de pensées, dit William James, nous devons commencer par étudier le "je", qui apparaît à partir du courant de la conscience elle-même .

Cela signifie que, de ce point de vue, étudier la psyché humaine équivaut à étudier une construction aussi abstraite que le "I". Cette idée n'a pas plu aux psychologues expérimentaux, qui ont préféré concentrer leurs efforts sur l'étude de faits vérifiables en laboratoire.

The James Theory - Lange: Pleurons-nous parce que nous sommes tristes ou sommes-nous tristes parce que nous pleurons?

Ayant formulé ces considérations de base sur ce qui est et ce qui n’est pas la conscience, William James pourrait commencer à proposer des mécanismes concrets par lesquels nos flux de pensées guident notre comportement. L’une de ces contributions est la théorie de James - Lange, conçue par lui et Carl Lange presque en même temps, selon lequel les émotions apparaissent à partir de la conscience de ses états physiologiques.

Donc, par exemple, nous ne sourions pas parce que nous sommes heureux, mais nous sommes heureux parce que notre conscience a été informée que nous sourions . De la même manière, nous ne courons pas parce que quelque chose nous a fait peur, mais nous avons peur parce que nous voyons que nous nous enfuyons.

C’est une théorie qui va à l’encontre de la manière conventionnelle dont nous concevons le fonctionnement de notre système nerveux et de nos pensées, et il en a été de même à la fin du XIXe siècle. Aujourd'hui, cependant, Nous savons qu'il est fort probable que William James et Carl Lange n’ont qu’une partie des raisons , puisque nous considérons que dans le cycle entre la perception (voir quelque chose qui nous effraie) et l’action (courir) est si rapide et avec autant d’interactions neuronales dans les deux sens que nous ne pouvons parler d’une chaîne causale dans un seul sens. Nous courons parce que nous avons peur, et nous avons aussi peur parce que nous courons.

Que devons-nous à William James?

Les croyances de William James peuvent sembler étranges à ce jour, mais la vérité est que nombre de ses idées ont été les principes sur lesquels se sont bâties des propositions intéressantes toujours valables aujourd’hui. Dans son livre Les principes de la psychologie (Principes de psychologie), par exemple il y a beaucoup d'idées et de notions utiles pour comprendre le fonctionnement du cerveau humain, en dépit d'avoir été écrit à une époque où l'existence des espaces synaptiques séparant les neurones des autres était à peine découverte.

En outre, l'approche pragmatique qu'il a donnée à la psychologie est le fondement philosophique de nombreuses théories et thérapies psychologiques qui mettent davantage l'accent sur l'utilité des pensées et des états affectifs que sur leur correspondance avec une réalité objective.

Peut-être à cause de cette union entre la psychologie et le courant philosophique du pragmatisme américain William James est considéré comme le père de la psychologie aux États-Unis et, à son grand chagrin, il est en charge de introduire sur son continent la psychologie expérimentale développée en Europe par Wilhelm Wundt.

En bref, bien que William James ait dû faire face à la coûteuse mission d'aider à établir les débuts de la psychologie en tant que domaine académique et pratique, on ne peut pas dire que cette tâche ait été ingrate. Il a montré un réel intérêt pour ses recherches et a pu utiliser cette discipline pour faire des propositions exceptionnellement pointues sur l'esprit humain. Si bien que, pour ceux qui sont venus après lui, il n'y avait pas d'autre choix que de les prendre pour de bon ou d'essayer de les réfuter.


PETITE HISTOIRE DU PROFILAGE CRIMINEL (Avril 2019).


Articles Connexes