yes, therapy helps!
William McDougall: biography of this controversial psychologist and researcher

William McDougall: biography of this controversial psychologist and researcher

February 11, 2024

William McDougall (1891-1938) was an American psychologist recognized as one of the founders of social psychology. In addition, he contributed in an important way to the study of psychopathology after experiences in war, paranormal psychology and theories of instincts.

In this article we will see a biography of William McDougall and some of his main contributions to the development of psychology.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

William McDougall: biography of a pioneer in psychology

William McDougall was born on June 22, 1891 in Lancashire, England. He was the son of Shimwell McDougall and Rebekah Smalley, a pair of high-class industrialists from Scotland. Since he was young, McDougall had the opportunity to attend private schools, both in England and Germany. He trained in different areas, not only in psychology but also in the natural sciences, and presided over different associations of psychology.


He also served as a professor in the most prestigious North American universities, where he was recognized as an important psychologist, although at the same time he generated intense debates on the study of the mind and eugenics. In the same context he published numerous and important works , and died in Durham, North Carolina, in 1938, not without having stopped working as a professor at Duke University.

Academic and professional training

In the beginning William McDougall became interested in the natural sciences , despite the fact that his father motivated him to study law. His mother, on the other hand, supported him to start university studies in science from a young age, an issue that soon began at the University of Manchester, specifically in the areas of biology and geology.


Finally, in 1894, he obtained a degree in natural sciences from the University of Cambridge . At the same university, McDougall was strongly interested in the study of human behavior. But, to specialize in this, in this era it was necessary to train first in medicine. By the year of 1989, McDougall had already obtained a medical degree with a specialty in psychology and neurology.

In this period he was especially interested in the work of one of the most recognized scientists of the time, William James.

Motivated by his work, McDougall ended up focusing specifically on psychology. Thus, in the year of 1898, and in the context of the University of Cambridge, McDougall began to investigate one of the problems that have been most present throughout the development of psychology: the mind-body relationship .

Two years later he did some work related to the anthropology of the time, specifically on the Asian island of Borneo, and a year later he moved to Germany, where he specialized in experimental psychology at the hands of another of the great scientists of the time, GE Muller.


Theoretical contributions

William McDougall developed widely in psychology. In the North American context where this last discipline was consolidated, McDougall contributed different knowledge about experimental psychology, paranormal psychology, psychopathology and social psychology in relation to the instincts.

Likewise maintained different arguments in favor of eugenics , and others against behavioral currents, which generated some rejection by the North American scientific community. We will see below some of the theoretical proposals of this psychologist.

Experimental psychology applied to the study of the psyche

After his return to England, this psychologist served as a teacher and researcher. In fact, McDougall is recognized as the founder of experimental psychology in Oxford .

In the same context he founded the British Society of Psychology and the British Journal of Psychology, and worked together with the physician and anthropologist Francis Galton and psychologist specialist in intelligence and statistics, Charles Spearman. These collaborations allowed him to develop works on very diverse topics, ranging from eugenics to the development of intelligence tests.

In the year of 1911, and before the development of different approaches on behavior and the human psyche, McDougall worked together with Carl Jung , and was interested in studying from an experimental method the abnormal psychology. In fact, McDougall defended the scientific existence of the soul.

For him, the human being is composed of both soul and body, and one of the tasks of science is to explain the relationship between the two.Among other things this led him to the study of telepathy and near-death experiences.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Dualism in Psychology"

Studies in psychopathology and debates about his thinking

The Second World War opened the way for William McDougall to develop new interests and research.

After participating with the members of the British army who had survived the war, McDougall became interested in psychopathology and ended up presiding over the Psychiatry Section of the Royal Society of Medicine in the year of 1918. He also presided over the British Psychic Research Society in 1920.

This, coupled with his closeness to William James, opened the way for him to become a professor at Harvard University in the 1920s. However, McDougall's work was controversial in the American context where psychology it was consolidated.

Behaviorism was increasingly recognized, and McDougall, not only was not enrolled in this stream but was quite critical of it. He defended the study of psychic phenomena, since, for McDougall, psychology had to be holistic, that is, it had to consider different factors beyond the material to understand human behavior.

On the other hand, McDougall was criticized in an important way for his arguments in defense of eugenics. Specifically He argued that inheritance played a fundamental role in human behavior , and in addition, said inheritance was different according to the different races of the human species. For this reason, one of the means to enhance the skills of this species was eugenics, or a "selective breeding" that would allow to enhance the most valued genes.

Theory of instincts and intentional psychology

True to his training in natural sciences, he believed in the scientific method applied to psychology, and defended the theory of instincts. He argued that the latter was the one that could best explain all kinds of human behavior.

He understood instincts as innate psychophysical dispositions . For McDougall, it is the instincts that allow us to develop the cognitive component of behavior, the emotional component and the volitional component. For example, they allow us to attend to different objects, after attending them to experience emotions, and finally to act towards them in a certain way.

Thus, behavior is not a response to something external that triggers it, but behavior is the result of an internal motivation due to human instincts. For this reason he called his approach "intensional psychology". The behavior is, in addition, an answer always oriented to objectives : it is useful and pursues a purpose. However, this purpose may remain hidden and may not be understood by the same person who performs the behavior.

Outstanding works

Some of William McDougall's most influential works are Introduction to Social Psychology, from 1908, where he developed his theory of instincts. This work, in fact, is considered one of the classic texts of psychology, as well as one of the first focused on the relationship between individual and society. In the same way it is considered as one of the founding texts of social psychology .

His work is also recognized Body and Mind, of 1911, where he defended the scientific existence of the soul; Y Outline of Abnormal Psychology, of 1926, where his research on psychopathology is reflected.

Bibliographic references:

  • William McDougall (2014). New World Encyclopedia. Retrieved October 1, 2018. Available at //www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/William_McDougall.
  • William McDougall (2018). Encyclopaedia Britannica. Retrieved October 1, 2018. Available at //www.britannica.com/biography/William-McDougall-American-psychologist.

Nature or Nurture - Are People Born Gay? (February 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
William McDougall: biographie de ce psychologue et chercheur controversé

William McDougall: biographie de ce psychologue et chercheur controversé

Décembre 28, 2022

William McDougall (1891-1938) était un psychologue américain reconnu comme l'un des fondateurs de la psychologie sociale. En outre, il a contribué de manière importante à l'étude de la psychopathologie après des expériences de guerre, de psychologie paranormale et de théories des instincts.

Dans cet article, nous verrons une biographie de William McDougall et certaines de ses contributions principales au développement de la psychologie.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

William McDougall: biographie d'un pionnier en psychologie

William McDougall est né le 22 juin 1891 à Lancashire, en Angleterre. Il était le fils de Shimwell McDougall et de Rebekah Smalley, un couple d’industriels écossais de haut niveau. Depuis qu’il était jeune, McDougall a eu l’occasion de fréquenter des écoles privées, en Angleterre et en Allemagne. Il a étudié dans différents domaines, non seulement en psychologie mais aussi en sciences naturelles, et a présidé à différentes associations de psychologie.


Il a également été professeur dans les universités les plus prestigieuses d'Amérique du Nord, où il a été reconnu comme psychologue important, bien qu'il ait en même temps suscité d'intenses débats sur l'étude de l'esprit et de l'eugénisme. Dans le même contexte il a publié de nombreux ouvrages importants et mourut à Durham, en Caroline du Nord, en 1938, non sans avoir cessé de travailler comme professeur à la Duke University.

Formation académique et professionnelle

Au début, William McDougall s'est intéressé aux sciences naturelles malgré le fait que son père l’ait motivé à étudier le droit. De son côté, sa mère l’a encouragé à entreprendre des études universitaires en sciences dès son plus jeune âge, un problème qui a rapidement commencé à l’Université de Manchester, en particulier dans les domaines de la biologie et de la géologie.


Enfin, en 1894, il a obtenu un diplôme en sciences naturelles de l'Université de Cambridge . Dans la même université, McDougall était fortement intéressé par l'étude du comportement humain. Mais, pour se spécialiser dans ce domaine, il était nécessaire à cette époque de se former d'abord à la médecine. En 1989, McDougall avait déjà obtenu un diplôme en médecine avec spécialisation en psychologie et neurologie.

Durant cette période, il s'intéressa particulièrement aux travaux de l'un des scientifiques les plus reconnus de l'époque, William James.

Motivé par son travail, McDougall a fini par se concentrer spécifiquement sur la psychologie. Ainsi, en 1898 et dans le cadre de l'Université de Cambridge, McDougall commença à étudier l'un des problèmes les plus présents tout au long du développement de la psychologie: la relation corps-esprit .

Deux ans plus tard, il effectua des travaux sur l'anthropologie de l'époque, notamment sur l'île de Bornéo, en Asie. Un an plus tard, il s'installa en Allemagne où il se spécialisa en psychologie expérimentale auprès d'un autre grand scientifique, GE Muller.


Contributions théoriques

William McDougall s'est largement développé en psychologie. Dans le contexte nord-américain où cette dernière discipline a été consolidée, McDougall a apporté différentes connaissances sur la psychologie expérimentale, la psychologie paranormale, la psychopathologie et la psychologie sociale en relation avec les instincts.

De même maintenu des arguments différents en faveur de l'eugénisme et d’autres contre les courants comportementaux, ce qui a provoqué un certain rejet de la part de la communauté scientifique nord-américaine. Nous verrons ci-dessous certaines des propositions théoriques de ce psychologue.

Psychologie expérimentale appliquée à l'étude du psychisme

Après son retour en Angleterre, ce psychologue a été enseignant et chercheur. En fait, McDougall est reconnu comme le fondateur de la psychologie expérimentale à Oxford .

Dans le même contexte, il a fondé la British Society of Psychology et le British Journal of Psychology, et a collaboré avec le médecin et anthropologue Francis Galton et le psychologue spécialiste en intelligence et statistiques, Charles Spearman. Ces collaborations lui ont permis de développer des travaux sur des sujets très divers, allant de l'eugénisme au développement de tests d'intelligence.

En 1911, et avant le développement de différentes approches sur le comportement et la psyché humaine, McDougall a travaillé avec Carl Jung et s’intéressait à étudier à partir d’une méthode expérimentale la psychologie anormale. En fait, McDougall a défendu l'existence scientifique de l'âme.

Pour lui, l'être humain est composé à la fois d'âme et de corps, et l'une des tâches de la science est d'expliquer la relation entre les deux.Cela l'a notamment amené à étudier la télépathie et les expériences de mort imminente.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Dualisme en psychologie"

Études en psychopathologie et débats sur sa pensée

La Seconde Guerre mondiale a ouvert la voie à William McDougall pour développer de nouveaux intérêts et recherches.

Après avoir participé avec les membres de l'armée britannique qui avaient survécu à la guerre, McDougall s'intéressa à la psychopathologie et a fini par présider la section de psychiatrie de la Royal Society of Medicine en 1918. Il a également présidé la British Psychic Research Society en 1920.

Cela, ajouté à sa proximité avec William James, lui a permis de devenir professeur à l'Université Harvard dans les années 1920. Cependant, le travail de McDougall était controversé dans le contexte américain où la psychologie c'était consolidé.

Le comportementalisme était de plus en plus reconnu et McDougall, non seulement n'était pas inscrit à ce courant, mais était assez critique à son égard. Il a défendu l'étude des phénomènes psychiques, car pour McDougall, la psychologie devait être holistique, c'est-à-dire qu'elle devait prendre en compte différents facteurs au-delà du matériel pour comprendre le comportement humain.

En revanche, McDougall a été critiqué de manière importante pour ses arguments en faveur de la défense de l'eugénisme. Spécifiquement Il a fait valoir que l'héritage joue un rôle fondamental dans le comportement humain , et en outre, ledit héritage était différent selon les différentes races de l'espèce humaine. Pour cette raison, l'un des moyens d'améliorer les compétences de cette espèce était l'eugénisme, ou un "élevage sélectif" qui permettrait de valoriser les gènes les plus précieux.

Théorie des instincts et psychologie intentionnelle

Fidèle à sa formation en sciences naturelles, il croyait en la méthode scientifique appliquée à la psychologie et défendait la théorie des instincts. Il a fait valoir que ce dernier était celui qui pouvait le mieux expliquer toutes sortes de comportements humains.

Il comprenait les instincts comme des dispositions psychophysiques innées . Pour McDougall, ce sont les instincts qui nous permettent de développer la composante cognitive du comportement, la composante émotionnelle et la composante volitive. Par exemple, ils nous permettent de nous occuper de différents objets, de les ressentir après les avoir visités et d’agir envers eux d’une certaine manière.

Ainsi, le comportement n'est pas une réponse à quelque chose d'extérieur qui le déclenche, mais le comportement est le résultat d'une motivation interne due à l'instinct humain. Pour cette raison, il a appelé son approche "psychologie intensionnelle". Le comportement est, en plus, une réponse toujours orientée vers les objectifs : il est utile et poursuit un but. Cependant, cet objectif peut rester caché et ne pas être compris par la même personne qui exécute le comportement.

Œuvres en vedette

Certaines des œuvres les plus influentes de William McDougall sont Introduction à la psychologie sociale, à partir de 1908, où il développe sa théorie des instincts. Cet ouvrage est en effet considéré comme l’un des textes classiques de la psychologie, ainsi que l’un des premiers consacrés aux relations entre l’individu et la société. Dans le même sens il est considéré comme l'un des textes fondateurs de la psychologie sociale .

Son travail est également reconnu Corps et esprit, de 1911, où il a défendu l'existence scientifique de l'âme; et Esquisse de la psychologie anormale, de 1926, où se reflètent ses recherches en psychopathologie.

Références bibliographiques:

  • William McDougall (2014). Encyclopédie du Nouveau Monde. Récupéré le 1er octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: //www.newworldencyclopedia.org/entry/William_McDougall.
  • William McDougall (2018). Encyclopédie Britannica. Récupéré le 1er octobre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse suivante: http://www.britannica.com/biography/William-McDougall-American-psychologist.

How Not To Die: The Role of Diet in Preventing, Arresting, and Reversing Our Top 15 Killers (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes