yes, therapy helps!
Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment

June 11, 2024

The so-called syndrome of Wolf-Hirschhorn, also called Pitt syndrome It is a rare medical condition that causes genetic causes a wide variety of symptoms, both physical and psychological.

In this article we will review the basic information of what is known about this genetic disease, as well as the type of treatments that are normally recommended in these cases.

  • You may be interested: "Kabuki syndrome: symptoms, causes and treatment"

What is Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome?

The Pitt syndrome, or Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome, is a serious pathology that is expressed from birth and that is associated with a whole set of very varied signs and symptoms.


More in detail, it is a condition that produces important malformations in the head, as well as development delays .

It is a rare disease, and it is estimated that it appears in approximately one of every 50,000 births, being much more frequent in girls than in boys. In fact, there are twice as many chances of it appearing in girls .

symptom

This is a list of the main symptoms associated with Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome.

1. Typical facial phenotype

People with this genetic disease usually present characteristic facial features and relatively easy to recognize. The nasal bridge is flat and very wide, while the forehead is high.


In addition, the difference between the mouth and the nose is very short, the eyes are usually strikingly large, and the mouth creates an "inverted smile", with the commissures facing downwards. Cleft lip also occurs more often than normal.

2. Microcephaly

Another characteristic symptom is microcephaly, that is, the fact that Skull capacity is significantly less than expected for the age range of the person. This causes the brain to not develop as it should.

3. Intellectual disability

Both because of malformations of the skull and because of the abnormal development of the nervous system, people with Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome they usually experience a clear intellectual disability .

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of intellectual disability (and characteristics)"

4. Growth retardation

In general, the evolution and maturation of children's bodies occurs very slowly in practically all aspects.


5. Seizures

Complications in the functioning of the nervous system make seizures not uncommon . These episodes can become very dangerous

  • Related article: "What happens in a person's brain when they have seizures?"

6. Problems in speech development

The cases in which the intellectual disability is severe, the communication initiatives presented by these people are limited to a small repertoire of sounds.

Causes

Although being a genetic disease, little is known about its specific causes (since DNA and its expression are so complex), it is believed that it is triggered by the loss of genetic information from a part of chromosome 4 (the short arm of this).

It must be borne in mind that the type and amount of genotype information that is lost varies depending on the case, so there are different degrees of severity that may occur. That explains the variability in life expectancy experienced by children born with Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Differences between DNA and RNA"

Forecast

Most fetuses or babies with Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome die before they are born or before their first birthday, as the medical complications associated with this condition can become very severe. Especially, seizures, heart disease and other medical problems that appear frequently in these cases, such as kidney diseases, damage a lot.

However, there are many cases of moderate severity in which the first year of life is exceeded or even their childhood is completed, reaching adolescence. In these young people the most characteristic symptoms are those related to their cognitive abilities, usually less developed than expected. Despite this, the physical symptoms do not disappear completely .

Diagnosis

The use of ultrasound It makes it possible to diagnose cases of Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome before birth, since it is expressed through malformations and delays in development. However, it is also true that sometimes an incorrect diagnostic category is used, confusing diseases.After delivery, the evaluation is much easier.

Treatment

Being a genetic disease, Wolf-Hirschhorn syndrome has no cure, as its causes are deeply rooted in the genomic information available in each cell.

Thus, the type of medical and psychoeducational interventions are oriented to alleviate the symptoms of the pathology and to favor the autonomy of these people.

In particular, the use of antiepileptic drugs is very frequent to control as much as possible the appearance of convulsions, as well as surgical interventions in case of microcephaly or to correct facial malformations.

In addition, educational support is also often used, especially to help with communication skills.


Wolf Hirschhorn Syndrome - Dr. Joel Wallach (June 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn: causes, symptômes et traitement

Syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn: causes, symptômes et traitement

Juillet 26, 2022

Le soi-disant syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn, aussi appelé syndrome de Pitt C'est une maladie rare qui cause des causes génétiques à une grande variété de symptômes, tant physiques que psychologiques.

Dans cet article, nous passerons en revue les informations de base sur ce que l’on sait de cette maladie génétique, ainsi que sur le type de traitement normalement recommandé dans ces cas.

  • Vous pouvez être intéressé: "Syndrome de Kabuki: symptômes, causes et traitement"

Qu'est-ce que le syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn?

Le syndrome de Pitt, ou syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn, est une pathologie grave qui est exprimé dès la naissance et cela est associé à tout un ensemble de signes et de symptômes très variés.


Plus en détail, il s’agit d’une condition générant d’importantes malformations de la tête, ainsi que des retards de développement .

Il s’agit d’une maladie rare, et on estime qu’elle apparaît dans environ une naissance sur 50 000, beaucoup plus fréquemment chez les filles que chez les garçons. En fait il y a deux fois plus de chances qu'il apparaisse chez les filles .

Les symptômes

Voici une liste des principaux symptômes associés au syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn.

1. Phénotype typique du visage

Les personnes atteintes de cette maladie génétique présentent habituellement traits faciaux caractéristiques et relativement facile à reconnaître. Le pont nasal est plat et très large, tandis que le front est haut.


De plus, la différence entre la bouche et le nez est très courte, les yeux sont généralement très grands et la bouche crée un "sourire inversé", les commissures étant tournées vers le bas. La fente labiale se produit également plus souvent que la normale.

2. microcéphalie

La microcéphalie est un autre symptôme caractéristique, à savoir le fait que La capacité du crâne est nettement inférieure aux prévisions pour la tranche d'âge de la personne. Cela empêche le cerveau de se développer comme il se doit.

3. Déficience intellectuelle

En raison de malformations du crâne et du développement anormal du système nerveux, les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn ils ont généralement une déficience intellectuelle évidente .

  • Peut-être que vous êtes intéressé: "Types de déficience intellectuelle (et caractéristiques)"

4. Retard de croissance

En général, l'évolution et la maturation du corps des enfants se produisent très lentement dans pratiquement tous les aspects.


5. Saisies

Complications dans le fonctionnement du système nerveux faire des crises non rares . Ces épisodes peuvent devenir très dangereux

  • Article connexe: "Que se passe-t-il dans le cerveau d'une personne lorsqu'elle a des crises?"

6. Problèmes de développement de la parole

Les cas dans lesquels la déficience intellectuelle est sévère, les initiatives de communication présentées par ces personnes se limitent à un petit répertoire de sons.

Les causes

Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une maladie génétique, on en sait peu sur ses causes spécifiques (l’ADN et son expression étant si complexes), on pense qu’elle est déclenchée par la perte d'information génétique d'une partie du chromosome 4 (le bras court de cela).

Il convient de garder à l'esprit que le type et la quantité d'informations de génotype perdues varient selon les cas. Il est donc possible que différents degrés de gravité se produisent. Cela explique la variabilité de l'espérance de vie des enfants nés avec le syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Différences entre l'ADN et l'ARN"

Prévisions

La plupart des fœtus ou des bébés atteints du syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn décèdent avant leur naissance ou avant leur premier anniversaire, car les complications médicales associées à cette maladie peuvent devenir très graves. Surtout, les saisies, maladie cardiaque et autres problèmes médicaux qui apparaissent fréquemment dans ces cas, tels que les maladies du rein, endommagent beaucoup.

Cependant, il existe de nombreux cas de gravité modérée dans lesquels la première année de vie est dépassée ou même leur enfance est terminée, atteignant l'adolescence. Chez ces jeunes, les symptômes les plus caractéristiques sont ceux liés à leurs capacités cognitives, généralement moins développées que prévu. Malgré cela, les symptômes physiques ne disparaissent pas complètement .

Diagnostic

L'utilisation de l'échographie Il permet de diagnostiquer les cas de syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn avant la naissance, car il se traduit par des malformations et des retards de développement. Cependant, il est également vrai que, parfois, une catégorie de diagnostic incorrecte est utilisée, ce qui crée de la confusion parmi les maladies.Après la livraison, l'évaluation est beaucoup plus facile.

Traitement

En tant que maladie génétique, le syndrome de Wolf-Hirschhorn n'a pas de traitement curatif, car ses causes sont profondément enracinées dans les informations génomiques disponibles dans chaque cellule.

Ainsi, les types d’interventions médicales et psychopédagogiques sont orienté pour soulager les symptômes de la pathologie et favoriser l'autonomie de ces personnes.

En particulier, l'utilisation d'antiépileptiques est très fréquente pour contrôler autant que possible l'apparition de convulsions, ainsi que pour les interventions chirurgicales en cas de microcéphalie ou pour corriger les malformations faciales.

De plus, le soutien éducatif est également souvent utilisé, en particulier pour améliorer les compétences de communication.


Chloe - maladie génétique - Le syndrome du cri du chat (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes