yes, therapy helps!
Wolfgang Köhler: biography of this German Gestalt psychologist

Wolfgang Köhler: biography of this German Gestalt psychologist

April 20, 2024

Research on how human beings learn and is able to understand the world has led a large number of researchers to develop different models and theories. Not only in the human being, but also we find great interest in understanding the animal's ability to adapt to the environment and solve the problems with those who are.

In this sense, a great amount of analysis and comparative experiments with different species have been carried out throughout history, being one of the closest to the human being that of the chimpanzees.

One of the most important and renowned researchers in this area, which became one of the main pillars of the Gestalt school, describing learning by insight and which would even lead the American Psychological Association was Wolfgang Köhler, whose biography you can find in summary form below .


  • Related article: "Animal intelligence: the theories of Thorndike and Köhler"

Brief biography of Wolfgang Köhler

Wolfgang Köhler was born on January 21, 1887 in the port city of Reval (today known as Tallinn), in an Estonia then part of the Russian Empire. His family was of German origin, being his parents Franz Köhler and Wilhelmine Girgensohn (school director and housewife, respectively) and having a brother and several sisters.

Köhler would live his first years of life in Estonia but when he was six years old he moved with his family to the country of origin of his parents, Germany, settling in the town of Wolfenbüttel. Having been his father, director of a school, education was very important in his family, and in the Köhler school I would begin to discover a great interest in science, field work and classical music .


Training

The university education of Köhler passed through various universities. In the first place he would be accepted at the University of Tübingen in 1905, studying in that institution until a year later. After that he would go on to study at the University of Bonn between 1906 and 1907, and finally he would enter this year at the University of Berlin.

In this last university he would study subjects such as biology, physics and chemistry, being influenced by such important figures as Planck and Nernst in the field of physics , and knowing and studying together with his thesis tutor, Carl Stumpf. He received his doctorate in psychology at this university in 1909 with the dissertation "Akustische Untersuchungen", thesis referring to psychoacoustics.

  • Related article: "History of Psychology: authors and main theories"

Some great contributions

Shortly after his doctorate, in 1910, Köhler I would go to work at the Psychological Institute in Frankfurt , where he would first become an assistant and later become a professed. He would work with Wertheimer and Kofka in different experiments linked to perception, a work that would come together in the creation of the well-known Gestalt school, which focused on the study of forms and considered that the whole was more than the sum of the parts .


In October 1912 he would marry the artist Thekla Achenbach, and a year later would be recommended and hired as director of the Academy of Sciences of Tenerife, in the known as Yellow House. There Köhler would carry out different investigations with chimpanzees , analyzing their cognitive abilities and discovering what would come to be called insight learning. From this he would write works as The Mentality of Apes, developing different theories regarding learning and about the existence of intelligence in non-human apes.

The first World War

During the stay of Köhler and his family in Tenerife, different events were developed, among which the First World War stands out. While initially Köhler he wanted to participate in the military service of his country This was not possible due to the impossibility of navigating through waters controlled by the British. He would stay on the island during the war.

However, there are theories and different suspicions arose about the possibility that Köhler acted as a spy for his government regarding the activity of the British on the island. These suspicions ended up provoking the protests of the British consulate, which would finally get the activity of the Yellow House moved to another place. After that, Köhler he returned to Germany in 1920 .

Back in his home country, Köhler was hired at the Institute of Psychology at the University of Berlin, where he would be appointed director in 1921. He divorced his first wife and would remarry Lily Harleman in 1927.

I would also practice as a professor of philosophy and participating directly in the research on the Gestalt theory , coming back in contact with Koffka and Wertheimer. During these investigations he would come to analyze and criticize the introspection due to his subjectivity and would seek the use of more empirical and objective methodologies.

However, it would not be favorable to behaviorism because it is based on directly observable behavior and obviates covert behavior. He would also travel and work in the United States, along with William James and at the universities of Harvard and Chicago, although he would return to his homeland.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Theory of Gestalt: laws and fundamental principles"

The arrival of the Nazis and the emigration to the United States

The coming to power of the Nazis was another turning point in the life of Köhler. Although initially he did not show his opposition to the regime in an open manner, he would end up publishing a criticism towards him (in fact, it is considered the last criticism published in Germany towards his regime until his fall) after having forced the resignation of Planck and would begin to act in a much more critical way.

However, although apparently it was not stopped, the regime was imposing more and more restrictions in the academic field and he was losing more and more autonomy in the university, to the point that he had to resign and emigrate to the United States in 1935.

Once in North America, He worked as a professor of psychology and researcher at the Swarthmore College of Pennsylvania , where he would practice until his retirement in 1955. He would also carry out various investigations in Hannover, at Dartmouth College.

Köhler, due to his multiple contributions to psychology during his career, would be elected president of the American Psychological Association in 1959. Previously he would have received an award from the same institution in 1956.

Death and legacy

Wolfgang Köhler died on June 11, 1967. His death occurred at his home in Lebanon, New Hampshire.

The legacy of this important psychologist remains today and is part of many current theories. The concept of insight, for example, is still present , as well as his important participation in the Gestalt school.

In addition, the analysis and study of the cognitive abilities of primates allowed them to be developed and reformulated different theories of learning and the consideration of the cognitive abilities of the apes and other animals (including chickens). Finally, it would also contribute to the investigation of cortical processes, in aspects such as visual or auditory perception.

Bibliographic references:

  • Schultz, D. P., & Schultz, S. E. (2016). A History of Modern Psychology. Eleventh Edition. Cengage Learning

Wolfgang Köhler Gestalt psychologyઅંત:સુઝ દ્વારા અધ્યયન_શિક્ષણના મનોવૈજ્ઞાનિક @Vasant Teraiya (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Wolfgang Köhler: biographie de ce psychologue allemand de la Gestalt

Wolfgang Köhler: biographie de ce psychologue allemand de la Gestalt

Mai 11, 2021

La recherche sur la façon dont les êtres humains apprennent et peuvent comprendre le monde a conduit un grand nombre de chercheurs à développer différents modèles et théories. Non seulement dans l'être humain, mais nous trouvons également un grand intérêt pour la compréhension la capacité de l'animal à s'adapter à l'environnement et à résoudre les problèmes avec ceux qui le sont.

En ce sens, de nombreuses analyses et expériences comparatives avec différentes espèces ont été réalisées au cours de l'histoire, l'une des plus proches de l'être humain, celle des chimpanzés.

L’un des chercheurs les plus importants et les plus renommés dans ce domaine, qui est devenu l’un des principaux piliers de l’école de la Gestalt, décrit l’apprentissage par la perspicacité et qui dirigera même l’American Psychological Association. Wolfgang Köhler, dont vous trouverez la biographie ci-dessous sous forme de résumé .


  • Article connexe: "Intelligence animale: les théories de Thorndike et Köhler"

Brève biographie de Wolfgang Köhler

Wolfgang Köhler est né le 21 janvier 1887 dans la ville portuaire de Reval (aujourd'hui Tallinn), dans une Estonie qui faisait alors partie de l'empire russe. Sa famille était d'origine allemande. Ses parents, Franz Köhler et Wilhelmine Girgensohn (respectivement directrice de l'école et femme au foyer), avaient un frère et plusieurs soeurs.

Köhler vivrait ses premières années de vie en Estonie mais, à l'âge de six ans, il s'installa avec sa famille dans le pays d'origine de ses parents, l'Allemagne, et s'installa dans la ville de Wolfenbüttel. Ayant été son père, directeur d’une école, l’éducation était très importante dans sa famille et à l’école Köhler Je commencerais à découvrir un grand intérêt pour la science, le travail sur le terrain et la musique classique .


La formation

L'enseignement universitaire de Köhler passa par diverses universités. En premier lieu, il sera accepté à l'Université de Tübingen en 1905, où il étudiera dans cet établissement jusqu'à un an plus tard. Après cela, il poursuivra ses études à l'Université de Bonn entre 1906 et 1907, pour finalement entrer cette année à l'Université de Berlin.

Dans cette dernière université, il étudiera des matières telles que la biologie, la physique et la chimie, être influencé par des personnalités aussi importantes que Planck et Nernst dans le domaine de la physique et connaître et étudier avec son professeur de thèse, Carl Stumpf. Il a obtenu son doctorat en psychologie à cette université en 1909 avec la thèse "Akustische Untersuchungen", thèse faisant référence à la psychoacoustique.

  • Article connexe: "Histoire de la psychologie: auteurs et théories principales"

Quelques grandes contributions

Peu de temps après son doctorat, en 1910, Köhler Je voudrais aller travailler à l'Institut de psychologie à Francfort , où il deviendrait d'abord un assistant et plus tard, deviendrait un profès. Il travaillera avec Wertheimer et Kofka dans différentes expériences liées à la perception, un travail qui se rejoindra dans la création de la célèbre école Gestalt, qui se concentre sur l’étude des formes et considère que le tout est plus que la somme des parties. .


En octobre 1912, il épouse l'artiste Thekla Achenbach. Un an plus tard, il est recommandé et embauché comme directeur de l'Académie des sciences de Tenerife, connue sous le nom de Yellow House. Il Köhler effectuerait différentes enquêtes avec des chimpanzés , en analysant leurs capacités cognitives et en découvrant ce que l’on appellerait l’apprentissage par insight. A partir de cela, il écrirait des œuvres comme La mentalité des singes, développant différentes théories concernant l'apprentissage et l'existence de l'intelligence chez les singes non humains.

La première Guerre mondiale

Durant le séjour de Köhler et de sa famille à Tenerife, différents événements ont été mis au point, parmi lesquels la Première Guerre mondiale se distingue. Alors que initialement Köhler il voulait participer au service militaire de son pays Cela n'a pas été possible en raison de l'impossibilité de naviguer dans les eaux contrôlées par les Britanniques. Il resterait sur l'île pendant la guerre.

Cependant, il existe des théories et différentes suspicions ont été soulevées quant à la possibilité que Köhler ait agi comme un espion pour son gouvernement concernant l'activité des Britanniques sur l'île. Ces soupçons ont fini par provoquer les protestations du consulat britannique, qui allait finalement faire transférer l'activité de la Maison Jaune à un autre endroit. Après cela, Köhler il est rentré en Allemagne en 1920 .

De retour dans son pays d’origine, Köhler est engagé à l’Institut de psychologie de l’Université de Berlin, où il sera nommé directeur en 1921. Il divorce de sa première femme et se remarie avec Lily Harleman en 1927.

Je pratiquerais aussi en tant que professeur de philosophie et participer directement à la recherche sur la théorie de la Gestalt , revenant au contact de Koffka et Wertheimer. Au cours de ces enquêtes, il viendrait analyser et critiquer l'introspection due à sa subjectivité et chercherait à utiliser des méthodologies plus empiriques et objectives.

Cependant, cela ne serait pas favorable au behaviorisme, car il est basé sur un comportement directement observable et évite un comportement secret. Il voyagerait et travaillerait également aux États-Unis, avec William James et dans les universités de Harvard et de Chicago, bien qu'il retournerait dans son pays natal.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "Théorie de la Gestalt: lois et principes fondamentaux"

L'arrivée des nazis et l'émigration aux États-Unis

L’arrivée au pouvoir des nazis a été un autre tournant dans la vie de Köhler. Bien qu’au début il n’ait pas montré ouvertement son opposition au régime, il finirait par publier une critique à son égard (en fait, il est considéré comme la dernière critique publiée en Allemagne jusqu’à sa chute) après avoir forcé la démission de Planck et commencer à agir. d'une manière beaucoup plus critique.

Cependant, même si apparemment cela n’a pas été arrêté, le régime imposait de plus en plus de restrictions dans le domaine universitaire et il perdait de plus en plus d'autonomie à l'université, au point qu'il dut démissionner et émigrer aux États-Unis en 1935.

Une fois en Amérique du Nord, Il a travaillé comme professeur de psychologie et chercheur au Swarthmore College of Pennsylvania. , où il exercera jusqu’à sa retraite en 1955. Il mènera également diverses enquêtes à Hanovre, au Dartmouth College.

Köhler, en raison de ses nombreuses contributions à la psychologie au cours de sa carrière, serait élu président de l'American Psychological Association en 1959. Auparavant, il aurait reçu un prix de la même institution en 1956.

La mort et l'héritage

Wolfgang Köhler est décédé le 11 juin 1967. Il est décédé à son domicile à Lebanon, dans le New Hampshire.

L'héritage de cet important psychologue reste aujourd'hui et fait partie de nombreuses théories actuelles. Le concept de perspicacité, par exemple, est toujours présent , ainsi que sa participation importante à l’école de Gestalt.

En outre, l’analyse et l’étude des capacités cognitives des primates ont permis de les développer et de les reformuler. différentes théories de l'apprentissage et la prise en compte des capacités cognitives des grands singes et autres animaux (y compris les poulets). Enfin, cela contribuerait également à l'investigation des processus corticaux, sous des aspects tels que la perception visuelle ou auditive.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Schultz, D. P. et Schultz, S. E. (2016). Une histoire de la psychologie moderne. Onzième édition. Apprentissage Cengage

TissueFocus: Normal and Cancer Human Tissues & Derivatives (Mai 2021).


Articles Connexes