yes, therapy helps!
Workaholic: causes and symptoms of workaholism

Workaholic: causes and symptoms of workaholism

November 27, 2021

Do you spend most of your time working? Do you usually take work home? Do they frequently call you by phone for work after hours? Do you complain continually that you lack time? Are your conversations usually about work?

If you have answered affirmatively to these questions, it is quite possible that you have become a "workaholic" or workaholic.

What is a workaholic?

Wayne Oates proposed the term of workaholic to name the person with work dependence. For Oates, her own relationship with work was like the one alcoholics have with drinking: a continuous and uncontrollable need to work that ends up affecting health, well-being and relationships with the environment .


Work addiction is defined as the excessive involvement of the person in their work, an irresistible impulse to work constantly and the almost complete abandonment of leisure activities.

Common symptoms of workaholism

Workaholics have an urgent need to work and when they do not, they experience anxiety, depression or irritability. For a workaholic, work is the center of her life, leaving everything else, including family or friends, in the background.

They usually take work home pending, do not disconnect the weekend and on vacation they take the laptop to continue working.


Workaholic profile

The most characteristic profile of the workaholic is:

  • A special work attitude . Make great efforts to perform to the maximum and always try to increase their achievements. It does not usually reject new projects, clients or work responsibilities.
  • Excessive dedication of your time and effort . He usually works more than 45 hours a week, most days, usually taking work home.
  • A compulsive and involuntary disorder to continue working . He works on weekends, when he is on vacation or even when he is sick, and if he can not work he becomes nervous or irritable.
  • General disinterest for any activity other than strictly labor . His main topic of conversation is work, leisure time he dedicates to work, and if he is doing another activity he is thinking about the work he has to do.

Effects and consequences for physical and mental health

According to studies by the World Health Organization (WHO), Workaholism can lead to a mental and physical disorder . Although it is observed in both genders, it mostly affects male professionals between 35 and 50 years old, in liberal professions or middle management: executives, doctors, journalists, lawyers, politicians, etc. These people focus their life at work and are not usually aware of the problem, being their family or social environment that suffers the consequences.


The problems experienced by the person addicted to work are similar to those of other addictions, their relationships being normally affected inside and outside the work environment, which translates into family and social conflicts and, even in a low work performance. In addition, conflicts often arise in the workplace, since they tend to be perfectionists who demand a lot from themselves, and also from others.

The most common consequences are: anxiety, stress, insomnia or sleep disturbances, depression, problems in relationships of family or couple, tendency to social isolation, inability to relax, fatigue, irritability, and health problems such as muscle tension, cardiovascular disorders , hypertension, gastric problems, ulcers, etc. In addition, alcohol, stimulants and tobacco are often abused.

The cause is in the culture

The high value granted by our society to success and high professional performance make social and work environments conducive to the development of workaholics. Addiction to work, like any other addictive behavior, is negative for the subject because it makes him dependent on a situation that harms his psychophysiological health, and alters his socio-family and work environment.

Bibliographic references:

  • Alonso-Fernández F. (2003) The addiction to work. In The new addictions. Madrid: TEA editions, 225-261.
  • Moreno, B., Gálvez, M., Garrosa, H. & Rodríguez, R. (2005). The addiction to work. Behavioral psychology, 13 (3), 417-428.
  • Salanova, M., Del Líbano, M., Llorens, S., Schaufeli, W.B. & Fidalgo, M. (2008). The addiction to work. National Institute for Safety and Hygiene at Work.

How to stop being a workaholic forever: #1 ROOT CAUSE OF WORKAHOLICS REVEALED (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Workaholic: causes et symptômes de workaholism

Workaholic: causes et symptômes de workaholism

Juillet 2, 2022

Passez-vous le plus clair de votre temps à travailler? Prenez-vous habituellement du travail à la maison? Vous appellent-ils souvent par téléphone pour travailler après les heures de travail? Vous plaignez-vous sans cesse de votre manque de temps? Vos conversations portent-elles généralement sur le travail?

Si vous avez répondu affirmativement à ces questions, il est fort possible que vous soyez devenu un "bourreau de travail" ou un bourreau de travail.

Qu'est-ce qu'un bourreau de travail?

Wayne Oates a proposé le terme de bourreau de travailc nommer la personne ayant une dépendance au travail. Pour Oates, sa propre relation avec le travail ressemblait à celle que les alcooliques ont avec l'alcool: un besoin de travail continu et incontrôlable qui finit par affecter la santé, le bien-être et les relations avec l'environnement .


La dépendance au travail se définit comme l'implication excessive de la personne dans son travail, une impulsion irrésistible au travail permanent et l'abandon presque total des activités de loisirs.

Symptômes communs de workaholism

Les bourreaux de travail ont un besoin urgent de travailler et lorsqu'ils ne le font pas, ils souffrent d'anxiété, de dépression ou d'irritabilité. Pour un bourreau de travail, le travail est au centre de sa vie, laissant tout le reste, y compris la famille ou des amis, à l'arrière-plan.

Ils ramènent généralement le travail à la maison en attendant, ne débranchez pas le week-end et, en vacances, prenez l'ordinateur portable pour continuer à travailler.


Profil de bourreau de travail

Le profil le plus caractéristique du bourreau de travail est:

  • Une attitude de travail particulière . Faites de gros efforts pour performer au maximum et essayez toujours d’augmenter leurs performances. Il ne rejette généralement pas de nouveaux projets, clients ou responsabilités professionnelles.
  • Dédicace excessive de votre temps et de vos efforts . Il travaille habituellement plus de 45 heures par semaine, la plupart du temps, et ramène généralement son travail à la maison.
  • Un trouble compulsif et involontaire pour continuer à travailler . Il travaille le week-end, lorsqu'il est en vacances ou même lorsqu'il est malade. S'il ne peut pas travailler, il devient nerveux ou irritable.
  • Désintérêt général pour toute activité autre que strictement syndicale . Son sujet de conversation principal est le travail, les loisirs qu'il consacre au travail et, s'il pratique une autre activité, il pense au travail qu'il doit accomplir.

Effets et conséquences sur la santé physique et mentale

Selon des études de l'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS), Le workaholism peut mener à un désordre mental et physique . Même s’il est observé chez les deux sexes, il touche principalement les hommes âgés de 35 à 50 ans, des professions libérales ou des cadres moyens: cadres, médecins, journalistes, avocats, hommes politiques, etc. Ces personnes concentrent leur vie au travail et ne sont généralement pas conscientes du problème, car leur environnement familial ou social en subit les conséquences.


Les problèmes rencontrés par les toxicomanes au travail sont similaires à ceux d’autres toxicomanes, leurs relations étant normalement affectées à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du lieu de travail, ce qui se traduit par des conflits familiaux et sociaux et même par une performance professionnelle médiocre. En outre, les conflits surviennent souvent sur le lieu de travail, car ils ont tendance à être des perfectionnistes qui exigent beaucoup d'eux-mêmes, mais aussi des autres.

Les conséquences les plus courantes sont: anxiété, stress, insomnie ou troubles du sommeil, dépression, problèmes de relations de famille ou de couple, tendance à l'isolement social, incapacité à se détendre, fatigue, irritabilité et problèmes de santé tels que tension musculaire, troubles cardiovasculaires , hypertension, problèmes gastriques, ulcères, etc. En outre, l'alcool, les stimulants et le tabac sont souvent maltraités.

La cause est dans la culture

La haute valeur accordée par notre société au succès et aux performances professionnelles élevées font des environnements sociaux et de travail propices au développement des bourreaux de travail. La dépendance au travail, comme tout autre comportement addictif, est négative pour le sujet, car elle le rend dépendant d'une situation qui nuit à sa santé psychophysiologique et modifie son environnement socio-familial et professionnel.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Alonso-Fernández F. (2003) La dépendance au travail. Dans Les nouvelles addictions. Madrid: éditions TEA, 225-261.
  • Moreno, B., Gálvez, M., Garrosa, H. et Rodríguez, R. (2005). La dépendance au travail. Psychologie comportementale, 13 (3), 417-428.
  • Salanova, M., Del Líbano, M., Llorens, S., Schaufeli, W.B. & Fidalgo, M. (2008). La dépendance au travail. Institut national pour la sécurité et l'hygiène au travail.

The happy secret to better work | Shawn Achor (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes