yes, therapy helps!
Writing about our emotions can help close wounds

Writing about our emotions can help close wounds

June 24, 2021

From the primitive sounds and gestures emitted by the Homo habilis even the complex languages ​​developed by the Homo sapiens, the human being has the ability to carry everything that happens in his head to the outside through various sounds to which a meaning has been assigned.

Through language, we can talk about things that happened years ago, plan an event for a month or simply communicate our feelings and concerns to a friend.

But this ability to externalize our thoughts is not limited to language, but ratherand thanks to various technologies we can record our cognitions in the environment . From the cave paintings in which our Paleolithic ancestors represented their lives and customs, going through the writing of books or of this same article, until the sending of a WhatsApp message, the capacity of symbolic representation allows us to communicate our thoughts and that everything whoever has access to the medium of presentation of these can come into contact with what we thought at that time.


The psychological effects of writing

But the effects of writing do not just go from us to the outside; it also has an impact on the writer. Besides communicating, writing also allows us to order our thoughts , going from a chaotic flow in our mind to a linear structure on paper.

"Words make noise, blur the paper and anyone can see and hear them. Instead, ideas are trapped inside the head of the person thinking them. If we want to know what another person thinks, or talk to someone about the nature of thought, we have no choice but to use words. "(Pinker, 1994).

Related article: "Psychology gives you 6 tips to write better"

What effects can writing have on our health?

Regarding the title of this article, it seems that, literally, writing can help to accelerate the process of re-epithelialization of a wound . But not any kind of writing works.


In a study at the University of Auckland, Koschwanez and his collaborators (2013) investigated how expressive writing would affect wound healing in people over 60 years of age, since it is the population group in which the immune function is most visible. harmed. The reduction in the speed of healing is usually associated with stress and depressive symptoms .

The expressive writing method usually consists in that, in three consecutive days, the person must write for 20 minutes about the most traumatic experience he has suffered , with special emphasis on feelings, emotions and thoughts during this stressful event.

How does the study was realized?

To test their hypothesis, these researchers assigned the subjects to two conditions. On the one hand, some had to perform this expressive writing procedure (intervention group) and, on the other hand, the control group had to write 20 minutes a day for three consecutive days about what they would do the next day, without referring to emotions or thoughts.


To measure the healing capacity, two weeks after the first writing session, a 4-millimeter skin biopsy was performed on all participants. Throughout the 21 days after the biopsy, a dermatologist periodically examined the wounds, categorizing them into "cured" or "uncured", understanding the term "cured" as a complete healing.

The results, very hopeful

As for the results of the study, on the 11th day after the biopsy, the number of people whose wounds had healed was already significantly higher for those who had written expressively about their emotions. 76% had cured their wounds completely, compared to 42% of those who had written about their daily plans.

Previously, on day 7 a difference began to be observed, with 27% of scarring in the expressive writing group compared to 10% in the control group . The authors hypothesize that these results are due to the fact that expressive writing favors the cognitive processing of traumatic events, perceiving the event from another perspective and reducing the stress that this causes. This reduction of stress would produce positive effects on the immune system, which would favor processes such as, for example, wound healing.

These results support other studies in which it has been found that high levels of cortisol, hormone released as a response to stress, plays a negative role in the speed of healing.This beneficial effect of expressive writing has also been seen in other pathologies whose symptoms are, in part, modulated by stress, such as AIDS (Petrie et al., 2004) and moderate asthma (Smith et al., 2015).

What effects on our mental health can expressive writing have?

Focusing on the psychological effects of expressive writing, there are numerous studies that have investigated their benefits both in normative populations and in those at risk of suffering from a disorder. For example, Krpan and his collaborators (2013) wanted to measure the effectiveness of expressive writing as a complement to other interventions in people diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder, according to the DSM-IV.

The procedure of the study was the same as that mentioned above, the participants of the intervention group would write 20 minutes a day for three days on their deepest feelings regarding a traumatic event. Participants were given a series of questionnaires and cognitive measures before the intervention, one day after the end of the intervention and four weeks later. Among these evaluation systems was the Beck Depression Inventory.

Regarding the results that were obtained, one day after finishing the intervention, the reduction of depressive symptoms was already significantly higher in those who had written about their feelings , emotions and thoughts compared to the measure before starting the experiment and, also, compared to those who wrote about their future activities. This reduction was maintained when the participants were reevaluated four weeks after the intervention, even obtaining subclinical scores.

What psychological processes explain these benefits?

After a series of studies, Park, Ayduk, and Kross (2016) discovered that when people write about these traumatic events, what they do is alter the perspective from which they see the problem, that is, changes the way they cognitively represent the event .

According to these authors, at first, when someone analyzes a negative event, they live it again through their eyes, that is, the person who analyzes the event is the same one who tries to reason internally about it. Therefore, expressing feelings, emotions and thoughts on paper would cause us to adopt a perspective of the problem from a more distant point. That is to say, We would go from reliving the experience in the first person to remembering it as something alien to us , similar to how we would see a movie or read a story that happened to another.

By being able to perceive the context of the negative event in a wider way, those affected can construct a narrative about it, giving it a meaning and giving it a series of different explanations. All these processes would reduce the aversion of memory, allowing this, according to Park and his collaborators (2016), a lower emotional and physiological reactivity. These effects would lead to an improvement in mental and physical health, and thus in the quality of life.

A promising tool

As a conclusion, due to the low economic cost and time that this activity requires, it should be taken into account as a possible alternative and complement when dealing with events that affect us emotionally.

Just like we turn to our closest environment when a problem happens and we want to feel your support, a paper and a pen could also serve as a support method in difficult times .

Bibliographic references:

  • Koschwanez, H., Kerse, N., Darragh, M., Jarrett, P., Booth, R., & Broadbent, E. (2013). Expressive writing and wound healing in older adults: a randomized controlled trial. Psychosomatic medicine, 75 (6), 581-590.
  • Krpan, K.M., Kross, E., Berman, M.G., Deldin, P.J., Askren, M.K., & Jonides, J. (2013). An everyday activity as a treatment for depression: The benefits of expressive writing for people diagnosed with major depressive disorder. Journal of affective disorders, 150 (3), 1148-1151.
  • Park, J., Ayduk, Ö., & Kross, E. (2016). Stepping back to move forward: Expressive writing promotes self-distancing. Emotion, 16 (3), 349
  • Petrie, K., Fontanilla, I., Thomas, M., Booth, R., & Pennebaker, J. (2004). Effect of written emotional expression on immune function in patients with human immunodeficiency virus infection: a randomized trial. Psychosomatic Medicine, 66 (2), 272-275.
  • Pinker, S. (1994). The Language Instinct. New York, NY: Harper Perennial Modern Classics.
  • Smith, H., Jones, C., Hankins, M., Field, A., Theadom, A., Bowskill, R., Horne, Rob. & Frew, A. J. (2015). The effects of expressive writing on lung function, quality of life, medication use, and symptoms in adults with asthma: A randomized controlled trial. Psychosomatic medicine, 77 (4), 429-437.

How To Heal Your Emotional Wounds In 5 Steps (June 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Écrire sur nos émotions peut aider à refermer les plaies

Écrire sur nos émotions peut aider à refermer les plaies

Février 27, 2021

Des sons primitifs et des gestes émis par le Homo Habilis même les langues complexes développées par le Homo sapiens, l’être humain a la capacité de porter tout ce qui se passe dans sa tête vers l’extérieur à travers divers sons auxquels un sens a été attribué.

Grâce à la langue, nous pouvons parler de choses qui se sont passées il y a des années, planifier un événement pour un mois ou simplement communiquer nos sentiments et nos préoccupations à un ami.

Mais cette capacité à extérioriser nos pensées ne se limite pas à la langue, mais plutôtet grâce à diverses technologies, nous pouvons enregistrer nos connaissances dans l'environnement . Des peintures rupestres dans lesquelles nos ancêtres paléolithiques ont représenté leurs vies et leurs coutumes, en passant par l’écriture de livres ou de ce même article, jusqu’à l’envoi d’un message WhatsApp, la capacité de représentation symbolique nous permet de communiquer nos pensées et que tout quiconque a accès au support de présentation de ceux-ci peut entrer en contact avec ce que nous pensions alors.


Les effets psychologiques de l'écriture

Mais les effets de l'écriture ne vont pas simplement de nous à l'extérieur; cela a aussi un impact sur l'écrivain. En plus de communiquer, l'écriture nous permet également de mettre de l'ordre dans nos pensées , passant d’un flux chaotique dans notre esprit à une structure linéaire sur le papier.

"Les mots font du bruit, brouillent le papier et tout le monde peut les voir et les entendre. Au lieu de cela, les idées sont emprisonnées dans la tête de la personne qui les pense. Si nous voulons savoir ce qu'une autre personne pense ou parler à quelqu'un de la nature de la pensée, nous n'avons d'autre choix que d'utiliser des mots. "(Pinker, 1994).

Article connexe: "La psychologie vous donne 6 conseils pour mieux écrire"

Quels effets l'écriture peut-elle avoir sur notre santé?

En ce qui concerne le titre de cet article, il semble que, littéralement, l'écriture puisse aider à accélérer le processus de réépithélialisation d'une plaie . Mais pas n'importe quel type d'écriture fonctionne.


Dans une étude menée à l'Université d'Auckland, Koschwanez et ses collaborateurs (2013) ont étudié l'incidence de l'écriture expressive sur la cicatrisation des plaies chez les personnes de plus de 60 ans, car c'est le groupe de population où la fonction immunitaire est la plus visible. blessé. La réduction de la vitesse de guérison est généralement associée au stress et à des symptômes dépressifs. .

La méthode d'écriture expressive consiste généralement en ce que, en trois jours consécutifs, la personne doit écrire pendant 20 minutes sur l'expérience la plus traumatisante qu'elle ait subie , avec un accent particulier sur les sentiments, les émotions et les pensées lors de cet événement stressant.

Comment s'est déroulée l'étude?

Pour tester leur hypothèse, ces chercheurs ont assigné les sujets à deux conditions. D’une part, certains ont dû effectuer cette procédure d’écriture expressive (groupe d’intervention) et, d’autre part, le groupe de contrôle a dû écrire 20 minutes par jour pendant trois jours consécutifs sur ce qu’ils feraient le lendemain, sans faire référence aux émotions ou aux sentiments. pensées


Pour mesurer la capacité de guérison, deux semaines après la première session d’écriture, une biopsie cutanée de 4 millimètres a été réalisée sur tous les participants. Au cours des 21 jours qui ont suivi la biopsie, un dermatologue a examiné périodiquement les plaies, les catégorisant en "guéri" ou "non soigné", en comprenant le terme "guéri" comme une guérison complète.

Les résultats, très prometteurs

En ce qui concerne les résultats de l'étude, le onzième jour après la biopsie, le nombre de personnes dont les plaies avaient guéri était déjà nettement supérieur à celui des personnes qui avaient écrit de manière explicite à propos de leurs émotions. 76% avaient guéri leurs blessures complètement, contre 42% de ceux qui avaient écrit sur leurs projets quotidiens.

Auparavant, au jour 7, une différence a commencé à être observée, avec 27% de cicatrices dans le groupe d'écriture expressive contre 10% dans le groupe témoin . Les auteurs émettent l'hypothèse que ces résultats sont dus au fait que l'écriture expressive favorise le traitement cognitif d'événements traumatiques, perçoit l'événement d'un autre point de vue et réduit le stress que cela provoque. Cette réduction du stress aurait des effets positifs sur le système immunitaire, ce qui favoriserait des processus tels que, par exemple, la cicatrisation des plaies.

Ces résultats corroborent d'autres études dans lesquelles il a été constaté que des taux élevés de cortisol, hormone libérée en réponse au stress, jouent un rôle négatif dans la vitesse de guérison.Cet effet bénéfique de l'écriture expressive a également été observé dans d'autres pathologies dont les symptômes sont en partie modulés par le stress, tels que le SIDA (Petrie et al., 2004) et l'asthme modéré (Smith et al., 2015).

Quels effets sur notre santé mentale l’écriture expressive peut-elle avoir?

En se concentrant sur les effets psychologiques de l'écriture expressive, de nombreuses études ont examiné leurs avantages à la fois chez les populations normatives et chez les personnes à risque de souffrir d'un trouble. Par exemple, Krpan et ses collaborateurs (2013) ont voulu mesurer l'efficacité de l'écriture expressive en complément d'autres interventions chez les personnes diagnostiquées avec un trouble dépressif majeur, selon le DSM-IV.

La procédure de l'étude était la même que celle mentionnée ci-dessus, les participants du groupe d'intervention écrivaient 20 minutes par jour pendant trois jours sur leurs sentiments les plus profonds concernant un événement traumatique. Les participants ont reçu une série de questionnaires et de mesures cognitives avant l'intervention, un jour après la fin de l'intervention et quatre semaines plus tard. Parmi ces systèmes d'évaluation figurait l'inventaire de dépression de Beck.

En ce qui concerne les résultats obtenus, un jour après la fin de l’intervention, la réduction des symptômes dépressifs était déjà significativement plus élevée chez ceux qui avaient écrit sur leurs sentiments , les émotions et les pensées par rapport à la mesure avant de commencer l'expérience et, également, par rapport à ceux qui ont écrit sur leurs activités futures. Cette réduction a été maintenue lorsque les participants ont été réévalués quatre semaines après l'intervention, obtenant même des scores infracliniques.

Quels processus psychologiques expliquent ces avantages?

Après une série d'études, Park, Ayduk et Kross (2016) ont découvert que, lorsque les gens écrivent à propos de ces événements traumatisants, ils modifient la perspective à partir de laquelle ils voient le problème: change la façon dont ils représentent cognitivement l'événement .

Selon ces auteurs, tout d'abord, lorsque quelqu'un analyse un événement négatif, il le revit à travers ses yeux, c'est-à-dire que la personne qui analyse l'événement est la même que celle qui tente de raisonner en interne. Par conséquent, exprimer des sentiments, des émotions et des pensées sur papier nous inciterait à adopter une perspective du problème à partir d'un point plus éloigné. C'est-à-dire, Nous reviendrions de l'expérience vécue par la première personne au souvenir de quelque chose d'étranger à nous. , similaire à la façon dont nous voyons un film ou lisons une histoire qui est arrivée à un autre.

En pouvant percevoir le contexte de l'événement négatif d'une manière plus large, les personnes concernées peuvent construire un récit à son sujet, en lui donnant un sens et en lui donnant une série d'explications différentes. Tous ces processus réduiraient l'aversion de la mémoire, permettant ainsi, selon Park et ses collaborateurs (2016), une réactivité émotionnelle et physiologique plus faible. Ces effets conduiraient à une amélioration de la santé mentale et physique et donc de la qualité de la vie.

Un outil prometteur

En conclusion, en raison du faible coût économique et du temps nécessaire à cette activité, il convient de la prendre en compte comme alternative possible et de la compléter lors de la gestion d'événements qui nous affectent émotionnellement.

Tout comme nous nous tournons vers notre environnement le plus proche lorsqu'un problème survient et que nous voulons sentir votre soutien, un papier et un stylo pourraient également servir de méthode de support en période difficile .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Koschwanez, H., Kerse, N., M. Darragh, P. Jarrett, R. Booth et E. Broadbent (2013). Écriture expressive et cicatrisation des plaies chez les personnes âgées: un essai contrôlé randomisé. Médecine psychosomatique, 75 (6), 581-590.
  • Krpan, K. M., Kross, E., Berman, M.G., Deldin, P.J., Askren, M.K., et Jonides, J. (2013). Une activité quotidienne en tant que traitement de la dépression: Les avantages de l'écriture expressive pour les personnes atteintes d'un trouble dépressif majeur. Journal of affective troubles, 150 (3), 1148-1151.
  • Park, J., Ayduk, Ö., & Kross, E. (2016). Reculer pour avancer: L'écriture expressive favorise l'auto-distanciation. Émotion, 16 (3), 349
  • Petrie, K., I. Fontanilla, M. Thomas, R. Booth et J. Pennebaker (2004). Effet de l'expression émotionnelle écrite sur la fonction immunitaire chez les patients infectés par le virus de l'immunodéficience humaine: essai randomisé. Médecine psychosomatique, 66 (2), 272-275.
  • Pinker, S. (1994). L'instinct de la langue. New York, NY: Classiques modernes vivaces de Harper.
  • Smith, H., Jones, C., Hankins, M., Field, A., Theadom, A., Bowskill, R., Horne, Rob. & Frew, A. J. (2015). Les effets de l'écriture expressive sur la fonction pulmonaire, la qualité de vie, l'utilisation de médicaments et les symptômes chez les adultes asthmatiques: Un essai contrôlé randomisé. Médecine psychosomatique, 77 (4), 429-437.

Secrets d'Histoire - Prince Charles, aux marches du trône… (Intégrale) (Février 2021).


Articles Connexes