yes, therapy helps!
Wu Wei: the philosophy of no action

Wu Wei: the philosophy of no action

April 20, 2024

The frenetic rhythm of current life, together with the situations of crisis that surround us and the need for speed and immediacy that transmits our own consciousness of Western culture, makes us wander through life over-concerned. This supposes an immense psychological wear and can bring about numerous alterations of the state of mind.

However, would we be able to adopt a different attitude or mental state? This is what Wu Wei proposes, an oriental philosophy which, through "no action" or natural flow, encourages us to understand problems in another way. From a very calm and leisurely perspective.

  • Related article: "The theory of Yin and Yang"

What is the Wu Wei?

Of Taoist origin, the Wu Wei is a powerful philosophical concept that can be translated literally as "not-doing" or "without effort". Following this translation we will be able to better understand what this current of thought consists of.


According to Wu Wei philosophy, the best way to deal with a specific situation or life circumstance is not to act. However, this concept has been widely misunderstood in Western culture, since Wu Wei does not defend passivity, but in the idea of ​​not forcing the situation .

For Wu Wei's philosophy, not acting does not imply not doing anything, but doing things without overexertion and through personal growth. In other words, this dynamic of oriental thinking defends doing things in a simple and natural way, without seeking constraint or forcing situations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How to learn to meditate, in 7 simple steps"

In defense of non-intervention

As we said, this philosophy is far from indifference or disregard. According to Wu Wei, inaction is something that happens naturally . A very recurring example is one that is illustrated by the growth of a plant. It grows through inaction, it does not force its growth; However, this plant continues to develop perfectly until it can even become a strong tree. On the contrary, if we look at those occasions in which we try not to think or not to do, we will observe that this requires a great effort on our part. It is very difficult to want to do nothing, therefore, more energy is spent than we let go or flow.


This is the reason why a large number of people who start in meditation end up giving up. The Western concept that has traditionally been had of meditation is to impose not think and try to leave the mind blank, but this is impossible. However, if they just let themselves be carried away by inactivity or "no action" they would concentrate and relax more quickly.

This idea of ​​getting carried away by "no action" is what the Wu Wei philosophy proposes. It does not consist in remaining inert or indifferent, but in the moments in which we must do something to face a conflict, problem or decision, we do it while we flow. The Wu Wei consists of a mental state in which we are able to discern between what really requires an effort and that for which said effort will only be a waste of our time and energy .


As a rule, in our day to day we are influenced by our state of mind and our disposition or mental condition, taking all kinds of decisions based on these conditions and not rationally, taking into account only the facts.

All these concerns, tribulations, prejudices and concerns are the direct antonym of the conception that Wu Wei has of the term flow. For example, when we think of a situation that we will have to face in the medium or long term, we let ourselves be influenced by intrusive ideas about what could happen or not, imagining all possible scenarios and wasting an immense amount of energy. All this is the opposite of Wu Wei.

  • Maybe you're interested: "How are Psychology and Philosophy alike?"

Inaction vs. passivity

As we have specified in the previous point, the Wu Wei does not defend passivity, if not the opposite, the knowledge do things spontaneously and naturally . Without letting ourselves be carried away by restlessness or restlessness.

To be more exact, one of the most important principles of Wu Wei is one that literally says "we should not leave anything to do", just that the idea is to achieve all our goals with the least possible wear.

To do this, we must change our way of dealing with situations, taking into account two basic aspects:

  • We must learn to trust events .
  • We have to take advantage of the circumstances that are presented to us.

Following the principles of Wu Wei does not mean giving up our dreams as long as we do not face a series of challenges; but to remain alert to those opportunities that are presented to us and take advantage of them to achieve our objectives with the least possible effort or wear.

Likewise, Wu Wei defends that once the situation has passed or we have solved the problem we should not think about it Otherwise, there is the possibility that we remain anchored in it, wearing down our mental health and interfering with our ability to perceive new opportunities.

The idea of ​​Wu Wei is to preserve our calm despite conflicts or problems that may appear along the way, because sooner or later these will be resolved.

How can we practice this philosophy?

It is usual that, due to our culture and the pace of Western life, we are programmed to face situations as we do, with worries, haste and anguish . However, although at the beginning it is complicated, if we decide to change these dynamics, we can adopt the philosophy of Wu Wei and its benefits.

For this we have to develop two basic skills in Wu Wei:

1. Learn to stop worrying

The first of these skills is to learn or get used to not worry. This step It does not consist in ignoring conflicts, but rather in putting things in perspective and give them the objective importance they really deserve, and then elaborate the relevant coping strategies.

This philosophy can be better understood under the famous precept of: "If they have a solution, why do you worry? and if it has no solution, why do you worry too? "

2. Learn to trust

Finally, Wu Wei transmits to us the need to maintain confidence in the course of life and events, as well as in our own capacity to face them. This, and only this one, is the only way to keep the mind clear and to be attentive to the opportunities that appear to us.


Art of Wu Wei : The Taoist Principle of Action in Non-Action (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Wu Wei: la philosophie du non-recours

Wu Wei: la philosophie du non-recours

Septembre 17, 2022

Le rythme effréné de la vie actuelle, ainsi que les situations de crise qui nous entourent et le besoin de rapidité et d'immédiateté qui transmet notre propre conscience de la culture occidentale, nous font errer dans une vie trop préoccupée. Cela suppose une immense usure psychologique et peut entraîner de nombreuses altérations de l'état d'esprit.

Cependant, pourrions-nous adopter une attitude ou un état mental différent? C'est ce que propose Wu Wei, une philosophie orientale ce qui, par "aucune action" ou par un flux naturel, nous incite à comprendre les problèmes d’une autre manière. D'un point de vue très calme et tranquille.

  • Article connexe: "La théorie du Yin et du Yang"

Qu'est-ce que le Wu Wei?

D'origine taoïste, le Wu Wei est un concept philosophique puissant qui peut être traduit littéralement par "ne pas faire" ou "sans effort". Suite à cette traduction, nous pourrons mieux comprendre en quoi consiste ce courant de pensée.


Selon la philosophie de Wu Wei, le meilleur moyen de faire face à une situation ou à une situation de vie spécifique est de ne pas agir. Cependant, ce concept a été largement mal compris dans la culture occidentale, car Wu Wei ne défend pas la passivité, mais dans l'idée de ne pas forcer la situation .

Selon la philosophie de Wu Wei, ne pas agir ne veut pas dire ne rien faire, mais faire des choses sans effort excessif et par croissance personnelle. En d’autres termes, cette dynamique de la pensée orientale défend de faire les choses de manière simple et naturelle, sans chercher de contrainte ou de forcer des situations.

  • Peut-être que ça vous intéresse: "Comment apprendre à méditer, en 7 étapes simples"

En défense de la non-intervention

Comme nous l’avons dit, cette philosophie est loin de l’indifférence ou du mépris. Selon Wu Wei, l'inaction est quelque chose qui se passe naturellement . Un exemple très récurrent est celui illustré par la croissance d’une plante. Il grandit dans l'inaction, il ne force pas sa croissance; Cependant, cette plante continue à se développer parfaitement jusqu'à devenir un arbre puissant. Au contraire, si nous regardons les occasions dans lesquelles nous essayons de ne pas penser ou de ne pas faire, nous verrons que cela nécessite un grand effort de notre part. Il est très difficile de ne rien faire. Par conséquent, on dépense plus d'énergie que de laisser aller ou couler.


C'est la raison pour laquelle un grand nombre de personnes qui commencent la méditation finissent par abandonner. Le concept occidental traditionnellement utilisé pour la méditation est d'imposer ne pas penser et d'essayer de laisser l'esprit vide, mais c'est impossible. Cependant, s’ils se laissaient emporter par l’inactivité ou "pas d’action", ils se concentreraient et se relaxeraient plus rapidement.

Cette idée de se laisser emporter par "aucune action" est ce que propose la philosophie Wu Wei. Cela ne consiste pas à rester inerte ou indifférent, mais dans les moments où nous devons faire quelque chose pour faire face à un conflit, un problème ou une décision, nous le faisons pendant que nous coulons. Le Wu Wei consiste en un état mental dans lequel nous pouvons discerner entre ce qui nécessite réellement un effort et ce pour quoi ledit effort ne sera qu'une perte de temps et d'énergie .


En règle générale, dans notre quotidien, nous sommes influencés par notre état d'esprit et par notre disposition ou notre état mental. Nous prenons toutes sortes de décisions en fonction de ces conditions et non de manière rationnelle, en tenant compte uniquement des faits.

Toutes ces préoccupations, tribulations, préjugés et préoccupations sont l’antonyme direct de la conception que Wu Wei a du terme flux. Par exemple, lorsque nous pensons à une situation à laquelle nous devrons faire face à moyen ou long terme, nous nous sommes laissé influencer par des idées intrusives sur ce qui pourrait ou non se passer, imaginant tous les scénarios possibles et gaspillant une immense quantité d’énergie. Tout cela est l'opposé de Wu Wei.

  • Peut-être que cela vous intéresse: "En quoi la psychologie et la philosophie sont-elles semblables?"

Inaction vs. la passivité

Comme nous l'avons précisé au point précédent, le Wu Wei ne défend pas la passivité, sinon le contraire, la connaissance faire les choses spontanément et naturellement . Sans nous laisser emporter par l'agitation ou l'inquiétude.

Pour être plus exact, l'un des principes les plus importants de Wu Wei est celui qui dit littéralement "nous ne devons rien laisser faire", juste que l'idée est d'atteindre tous nos objectifs avec le moins d'usure possible.

Pour ce faire, nous devons changer notre façon de traiter les situations en tenant compte de deux aspects fondamentaux:

  • Nous devons apprendre à événements de confiance .
  • Nous devons profiter des circonstances qui nous sont présentés.

Suivre les principes de Wu Wei ne signifie pas abandonner nos rêves tant que nous ne faisons pas face à une série de défis; mais rester attentif aux opportunités qui nous sont présentées et en tirer parti pour atteindre nos objectifs avec le moins d’effort ou de fatigue possible.

De même, Wu Wei défend que une fois que la situation est passée ou que nous avons résolu le problème, nous ne devrions pas y penser Sinon, il est possible que nous restions ancrés dans notre système, usant notre santé mentale et limitant notre capacité à percevoir de nouvelles opportunités.

L’idée de Wu Wei est de préserver notre calme, malgré les conflits ou les problèmes qui pourraient survenir, car ils seront tôt ou tard résolus.

Comment pouvons-nous pratiquer cette philosophie?

Il est habituel que, en raison de notre culture et du rythme de la vie occidentale, nous soyons programmés pour faire face aux situations comme nous le faisons, avec inquiétude, hâte et angoisse . Cependant, bien que cela soit compliqué au début, si nous décidons de changer cette dynamique, nous pouvons adopter la philosophie de Wu Wei et ses avantages.

Pour cela, nous devons développer deux compétences de base dans Wu Wei:

1. Apprenez à cesser de vous inquiéter

La première de ces compétences est d'apprendre ou de vous habituer à ne pas vous inquiéter. Cette étape Cela ne consiste pas à ignorer les conflits, mais plutôt à mettre les choses en perspective et leur donner l'importance objective qu'ils méritent vraiment, puis élaborer les stratégies d'adaptation appropriées.

Cette philosophie peut être mieux comprise sous le célèbre précepte de: "S'ils ont une solution, pourquoi vous inquiétez-vous? et s'il n'y a pas de solution, pourquoi vous inquiétez-vous aussi? "

2. Apprendre à faire confiance

Enfin, Wu Wei nous transmet la nécessité de maintenir la confiance dans le cours de la vie et les événements, ainsi que dans notre propre capacité à y faire face. C’est le seul moyen de garder l’esprit clair et d’être attentif aux opportunités qui nous apparaissent.


ZEITGEIST: MOVING FORWARD | OFFICIAL RELEASE | 2011 (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes