yes, therapy helps!
Your dog misses you when you're not here, do you know why?

Your dog misses you when you're not here, do you know why?

December 5, 2021

Those who have a dog or have had a dog will know perfectly that when they get home their pet is waiting for them . If you are one of the lucky ones that has been able to benefit from the company of a sure you sound this, because when you open the door of your home you see it coming from the living room, hurriedly, to be able to throw itself on you.

Dogs are an excellent company and, although some do not understand it, they create a close relationship with their caregivers. So much to give his life for him. But do you really miss a dog to its owner when it is not there? What happens inside his hairy head when he is absent? In today's article you will find out.


How dogs understand the absence of their owner

Surely on the internet you've seen thousands of videos that have gone viral in which you can see dogs behaving like humans. Some cry when they hear sad songs, others even sing to the rhythm of the melody.

But do they really seem to understand that the song they are listening to is about heartbreak? Are dogs as smart as humans? Possibly not, but this behavior is the result of associative learning .

Dogs have the same emotional competence as a three-year-old child

Scientists have proven that, just like humans, Dogs have a greater capacity to remember when there are emotional ties in those memories . And it seems to be, at least so the researchers say, that dogs have the same emotional competence as a three-year-old child.


They are able to feel emotions such as happiness, love or anger, and, as you have surely observed yourself, they are surprised and feel afraid. Now, according to the same study, they are not able to feel some socially complex emotions, such as pride.

Regarding the issue that we address today, dogs may not understand the absence of their owner in full, but they are likely to miss him . According to Stanley Coren, professor at the University of British Columbia and author of the book The Wisdom of Dogs: "The emotional life of dogs is very similar to that of a child of two years or three years. Children at these ages show love, enjoyment, fear, anger or surprise, but usually do not show emotions of a higher level as shame. "

Dogs receive their owners more intensively when they have spent more time

It is clear that the dog is deluded when he sees his master arrive. But if it is not there, do you know how much time has passed? The truth is that dogs can tell the difference between 10 minutes and 10 hours without having a watch.


That's what a study carried out in 2011 by Therese Rehn and Linda Keeling says. In their research they found that, after 2 hours, the dogs acted more intensely when they saw their owners. This suggests that dogs do miss their owners when they are not near them . However, there were no significant differences between the 2 and 4 hours of absence of the owner.

A special relationship between dogs and their owners

And is that the relationship between a dog and a man is not a relationship either. Affection becomes visible on many occasions. But it is surprising that this relationship even goes further for many individuals: it becomes a therapeutic relationship.

The dog is the most used animal within the Assisted Therapies with Animals (TAA) , since it is a close and easily educated animal, that can help both patients from different groups: children, adolescents, the elderly, the mentally ill ... individually or as a group.

The benefits of dog therapy

Dogs, therefore, they are useful in this sense because they help improve the health and well-being of patients and provide them with a very valuable company . For Boris Levinson, a psychologist who has carried out different investigations to learn more about the benefits of therapy with dogs, he affirms that "dogs are not only a pleasant therapy, but also have benefits on a physical, psychological and social level.

Therefore, patients who benefit from this type of therapy show:

  • A better mood
  • More attention
  • Less depression and monotony
  • Less feeling of loneliness
  • Lower levels of anxiety and stress
  • Greater social and physical contact
  • They have an incentive and motivation
  • They perceive therapy as pleasant
  • They develop leisure skills
  • Greater mental stimulation

If you want to continue reading about this form of therapy, you can read our article: "The benefits of dog therapy".


Five Ways to Know Your Dog Loves You (December 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Vous manquez à votre chien quand vous n'êtes pas là, vous savez pourquoi?

Vous manquez à votre chien quand vous n'êtes pas là, vous savez pourquoi?

Mai 22, 2019

Ceux qui ont un chien ou ont eu un chien sauront parfaitement que quand ils rentrent chez eux, leur animal les attend . Si vous êtes un des chanceux qui a pu profiter de la compagnie de certains, vous entendez cela, car lorsque vous ouvrez la porte de votre maison, vous la voyez sortir du salon en toute hâte pour pouvoir se jeter sur vous.

Les chiens sont une excellente compagnie et, bien que certains ne le comprennent pas, ils créent une relation étroite avec leurs soignants. Tant à donner sa vie pour lui. Mais manque-t-il vraiment un chien à son propriétaire quand il n'est pas là? Que se passe-t-il dans sa tête velue quand il est absent? Dans l'article d'aujourd'hui, vous découvrirez.


Comment les chiens comprennent l'absence de leur propriétaire

Vous avez sûrement vu sur Internet des milliers de vidéos virales dans lesquelles vous pouvez voir des chiens se comporter comme des humains. Certains pleurent quand ils entendent des chansons tristes, d'autres chantent même au rythme de la mélodie.

Mais semblent-ils vraiment comprendre que la chanson qu'ils écoutent parle de chagrin d'amour? Les chiens sont-ils aussi intelligents que les humains? Peut-être pas, mais ce comportement est le résultat de apprentissage associatif .

Les chiens ont la même compétence émotionnelle qu'un enfant de trois ans

Les scientifiques ont prouvé que, tout comme les humains, Les chiens ont une plus grande capacité de mémorisation lorsqu'il y a des liens affectifs dans ces souvenirs . Et il semble, du moins selon les chercheurs, que les chiens aient la même compétence émotionnelle que les enfants de trois ans.


Ils sont capables de ressentir des émotions telles que le bonheur, l'amour ou la colère et, comme vous l'avez sûrement observé vous-même, ils sont surpris et ont peur. Selon la même étude, ils ne sont pas en mesure de ressentir certaines émotions sociales complexes, telles que la fierté.

En ce qui concerne la question que nous abordons aujourd'hui, les chiens peuvent ne pas comprendre entièrement l'absence de leur propriétaire, mais ils vont probablement le manquer . Selon Stanley Coren, professeur à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique et auteur du livre The Wisdom of Dogs: "La vie émotionnelle des chiens est très similaire à celle d'un enfant de deux ou trois ans. Les enfants de ces âges montrent de l'amour, du plaisir, de la peur, de la colère ou de la surprise, mais ne montrent généralement pas des émotions d'un niveau supérieur comme de la honte. "

Les chiens reçoivent leurs propriétaires plus intensément quand ils ont passé plus de temps

Il est clair que le chien est trompé quand il voit arriver son maître. Mais si ce n’est pas là, savez-vous combien de temps s’est écoulé? La vérité est que les chiens peuvent faire la différence entre 10 minutes et 10 heures sans montre.


C'est ce que dit une étude réalisée en 2011 par Therese Rehn et Linda Keeling. Dans leurs recherches, ils ont constaté qu'après 2 heures, les chiens agissaient plus intensément lorsqu'ils voyaient leurs propriétaires. Cela suggère que les chiens manquent à leurs propriétaires quand ils ne sont pas près d'eux . Cependant, il n'y avait pas de différence significative entre les 2 et 4 heures d'absence du propriétaire.

Une relation privilégiée entre les chiens et leurs propriétaires

Et est-ce que la relation entre un chien et un homme n'est pas une relation non plus. L'affection devient visible à plusieurs reprises. Mais il est surprenant que cette relation aille même plus loin pour de nombreux individus: elle devient une relation thérapeutique.

Le chien est l'animal le plus utilisé dans la Thérapies assistées avec des animaux (TAA) , puisque c’est un animal proche et facilement éduqué, il peut aider à la fois les patients de groupes différents: enfants, adolescents, personnes âgées, malades mentaux ... individuellement ou en groupe.

Les avantages de la thérapie de chien

Les chiens donc ils sont utiles dans ce sens car ils aident à améliorer la santé et le bien-être des patients et leur fournissent une entreprise très précieuse . Pour Boris Levinson, un psychologue qui a mené différentes enquêtes pour en apprendre davantage sur les avantages de la thérapie avec les chiens, il affirme que "les chiens ne sont pas seulement une thérapie agréable, ils ont également des avantages sur les plans physique, psychologique et social.

Par conséquent, les patients bénéficiant de ce type de traitement montrent:

  • Une meilleure humeur
  • Plus d'attention
  • Moins de dépression et de monotonie
  • Moins de sentiment de solitude
  • Faibles niveaux d'anxiété et de stress
  • Plus grand contact social et physique
  • Ils ont une motivation et motivation
  • Ils perçoivent la thérapie comme agréable
  • Ils développent des compétences de loisirs
  • Une plus grande stimulation mentale

Si vous souhaitez continuer à lire sur cette forme de thérapie, vous pouvez lire notre article: "Les avantages de la thérapie pour chiens".


7 astuces pour savoir si votre ???? chat s'ennuie (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes