yes, therapy helps!
Zeigarnik effect: the brain can not bear to be left alone

Zeigarnik effect: the brain can not bear to be left alone

May 9, 2021

Television and movies are full of unfinished stories that leave us with the sensation of suspense. Chapters that end the cliffhangers to encourage us to keep abreast of what will happen, parallel stories that are developing stumbling blocks, second, third and fourth parts of a movie, etc.

Something similar happens with the projects that we left unfinished. In general, the feeling of not having seen something finish that was started leaves us feeling unpleasant . Why? To understand this we can resort to a phenomenon called Zeigarnik effect .

What is the Zeigarnik effect?


At the beginning of the 20th century, a soviet researcher called Bluma Zeigarnik I was working with the psychologist Kurt Lewin when he called attention to something very curious that I had observed: the waiters seemed to remember the orders of the tables that had not yet been served or paid better than those that had already been made.

That is to say, that the memory of the waiters seemed to give a higher priority to evoke information about unfinished orders, regardless of whether they had started earlier or later than those that had already been delivered and paid. Memories of finished orders were more easily lost .


Bluma Zeigarnik was dedicated to experimentally verify if the memories about inconclusive processes are stored better in the memory than the rest of the projects. The result of this line of research undertaken in the 1920s is what is known today as Zeigarnik effect.

Experimenting with memory

The study that made the Zeigarnik effect famous was made in 1927. In this experiment, a series of volunteers had to successively perform a series of 20 exercises, such as math problems, and some manual tasks. But Bluma Zeigarnik was not interested in the performance of the participants or the success they had when undertaking these small tests. Simply, focused on the effect that interrupting these tasks had on the participants' brains .

To do this, he made the participants stop solving the tests at a certain point. After, he found that these people remembered better data about the tests that had been left halfway , regardless of the type of exercise required to be resolved.


The Zeigarnik effect was reinforced with the results of this experiment. Thus, it was considered that the Zeigarnik effect is a tendency to remember better the information related to unfinished tasks. In addition, the studies of Bluma Zeigarnik were framed in the field theory of Kurt Lewin and had influence on the theory of Gestalt.

Why is the Zeigarnik effect relevant?

When cognitive psychology emerged in the late 1950s, the interest of this new generation of researchers shifted back to the study of memory, and they took the Zeigarnik effect very much into account. The conclusions drawn by Bluma Zeigarnik from this experiment were extended to any learning process. For example, it was hypothesized that an effective study method should include some pauses, to make the mental processes that intervene in the memory store the information well.

But the Zeigarnik effect was not only used in education, but in all those processes in which someone has to "learn" something, in the broadest sense of the word. For example, in the world of advertising served to inspire certain techniques based on the suspense associated with a brand or product : began to create advertising pieces based on a story that is presented in pieces, as fascicles, to make potential customers memorize a brand well and transform the interest they feel to know how the story is resolved by interest in the product that is offered.

The Zeigarnik effect and the works of fiction

The ads are very short and therefore have little room for maneuver to create deep stories that generate interest, but this does not happen with the works of fiction that we find in books or on screens. The Zeigarnik effect has also served as a starting point to achieve something that many fiction producers want: Loyalty to the public and create a group of fervent followers of the story that is being told .

Basically, it is about facilitating that there are people willing to dedicate a significant portion of their attention and their memory to everything related to what is being told. The Zeigarnik effect is a good handle to achieve this, since it indicates that the information about the stories that have not yet been discovered in their entirety will remain very much alive in the memory of the public, making it easy to think about in any context and generating beneficial side effects: discussion forums in which there is speculation about what will happen, theories made by the fans, etc.

Missing evidence to demonstrate the Zeigarnik effect

Despite the relevance that the Zeigarnik effect has had beyond academic environments, the truth is that it is not sufficiently proven to exist as part of the normal functioning of memory . This is so, firstly, because the methodology used in psychological research during the 1920s did not meet the guarantees that would be expected from this field today, and secondly because attempts to repeat Bluma Zeigarnik's experiment ( or similar) have yielded disparate results that do not point in a clear direction.

However, it is possible that the Zeigarnik effect exists beyond the mechanics of the storage of memories and has more to do with human motivation and its way of interacting with memory . In fact, everything we memorize or try to remember has a value depending on the interest that we have for the information that we try to incorporate into our memory. If something interests us more, we will think more about it, and that in turn is a way to reinforce memories by mentally "reviewing" what we have memorized before.

In short, to consider whether the Zeigarnik effect exists or not, it is necessary to take into account many more factors than the memory itself. It is a conclusion that allows you to shelve the issue, but, in the end, the simplest explanations are also the most boring.


Your Brain on Creativity, SXSW 2013 (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Effet Zeigarnik: le cerveau ne peut supporter de rester seul

Effet Zeigarnik: le cerveau ne peut supporter de rester seul

Février 3, 2023

La télévision et les films sont pleins d'histoires inachevées qui nous laissent une sensation de suspense. Des chapitres qui terminent les cliffhangers pour nous encourager à rester au courant de ce qui va se passer, des histoires parallèles qui développent des pierres d'achoppement, des deuxième, troisième et quatrième parties d'un film, etc.

Quelque chose de similaire se produit avec les projets que nous avons laissés inachevés. En général, le sentiment de ne pas avoir vu quelque chose de fini qui a été commencé nous laisse désagréable . Parce que? Pour comprendre cela, nous pouvons recourir à un phénomène appelé Effet Zeigarnik .

Quel est l'effet Zeigarnik?


Au début du 20ème siècle, un chercheur soviétique appelé Bluma Zeigarnik Je travaillais avec le psychologue Kurt Lewin lorsqu'il a attiré l'attention sur quelque chose de très curieux que j'avais observé: les serveurs semblaient se souvenir des commandes des tables qui n'avaient pas encore été servies ou payées mieux que celles qui avaient déjà été préparées.

C’est-à-dire que la mémoire des serveurs semblait accorder une plus grande priorité à l’évocation d’informations sur les commandes non terminées, qu’elles aient débuté plus tôt ou plus tard que celles qui avaient déjà été livrées et payées. Les souvenirs des commandes finies étaient plus facilement perdus .


Bluma Zeigarnik avait pour mission de vérifier de manière expérimentale si les mémoires relatives à des processus non concluants étaient mieux mémorisées que le reste des projets. Le résultat de cette ligne de recherche entreprise dans les années 1920 est ce que l’on appelle aujourd'hui Effet Zeigarnik.

Expérimenter avec la mémoire

L'étude qui a rendu célèbre l'effet Zeigarnik a été réalisée en 1927. Dans cette expérience, une série de volontaires a dû effectuer successivement une série de 20 exercices, tels que des problèmes de mathématiques et certaines tâches manuelles. Mais Bluma Zeigarnik n'était pas intéressé par les performances des participants ni par le succès rencontré lors de ces tests. Simplement concentré sur l'effet que l'interruption de ces tâches a eu sur le cerveau des participants .

Pour ce faire, il a demandé aux participants d’arrêter de résoudre les tests à un moment donné. Après, il a constaté que ces personnes se souvenaient de meilleures données sur les tests qui avaient été laissés à mi-chemin , quel que soit le type d’exercice à résoudre.


L'effet Zeigarnik a été renforcé avec les résultats de cette expérience. Ainsi, il a été considéré que l'effet Zeigarnik est une tendance à mieux retenir les informations relatives aux tâches inachevées. En outre, les études de Bluma Zeigarnik ont ​​été intégrées à la théorie du champ de Kurt Lewin et ont eu une influence sur la théorie de la Gestalt.

Pourquoi l'effet Zeigarnik est-il pertinent?

Lorsque la psychologie cognitive est apparue à la fin des années 50, l’intérêt de cette nouvelle génération de chercheurs est revenu à l’étude de la mémoire et ils ont tenu compte de l’effet Zeigarnik. Les conclusions tirées par Bluma Zeigarnik à partir de cette expérience ont été étendues à tout processus d'apprentissage. Par exemple, il a été émis l’hypothèse selon laquelle une méthode d’étude efficace devrait inclure des pauses afin que les processus mentaux intervenant dans la mémoire stockent bien les informations.

Mais l'effet Zeigarnik n'a pas été utilisé uniquement dans l'éducation, mais dans tous les processus dans lesquels une personne doit "apprendre" quelque chose, au sens le plus large du terme. Par exemple, dans le monde de la publicité a inspiré certaines techniques basées sur le suspense associé à une marque ou à un produit : a commencé à créer des publicités basées sur une histoire présentée sous forme de fascicules pour que les clients potentiels mémorisent bien une marque et transforment leur intérêt de savoir comment l'histoire se résout par l'intérêt pour le produit est offert.

L'effet Zeigarnik et les œuvres de fiction

Les publicités sont très courtes et ont donc peu de marge de manœuvre pour créer des histoires profondes qui génèrent un intérêt, mais cela ne se produit pas avec les œuvres de fiction que l'on trouve dans les livres ou sur les écrans. L’effet Zeigarnik a également servi de point de départ pour réaliser ce que de nombreux producteurs de fiction souhaitent: La loyauté envers le public et créer un groupe d'adeptes fervents de l'histoire racontée .

Fondamentalement, il s’agit de faciliter le fait que certaines personnes souhaitent consacrer une partie importante de leur attention et de leur mémoire à tout ce qui est lié à ce qui est dit. L’effet Zeigarnik est un bon moyen d’y parvenir, car il indique que les informations sur les histoires qui n’ont pas encore été découvertes dans leur intégralité resteront très présentes dans la mémoire du public, ce qui facilite la réflexion dans n'importe quel contexte. et générer des effets secondaires bénéfiques: des forums de discussion dans lesquels on spécule sur ce qui va se passer, des théories élaborées par les fans, etc.

Éléments de preuve manquants pour démontrer l'effet Zeigarnik

Malgré la pertinence de l’effet Zeigarnik au-delà des environnements universitaires, la vérité est qu'il n'est pas suffisamment prouvé qu'il existe dans le fonctionnement normal de la mémoire . C’est vrai, tout d’abord, parce que la méthodologie utilisée dans la recherche en psychologie au cours des années 1920 ne répondait pas aux garanties que l’on attend de ce domaine aujourd’hui, et d’autre part, parce que les tentatives visant à répéter l’expérience de Bluma Zeigarnik ( ou similaires) ont donné des résultats disparates qui ne vont pas dans une direction claire.

Cependant, il est possible que l’effet Zeigarnik existe au-delà de la mécanique du stockage des mémoires et a plus à voir avec la motivation humaine et sa façon d'interagir avec la mémoire . En fait, tout ce que nous mémorisons ou essayons de retenir a une valeur qui dépend de l’intérêt que nous portons aux informations que nous essayons d’incorporer dans notre mémoire. Si quelque chose nous intéresse davantage, nous y réfléchirons davantage, ce qui est un moyen de renforcer les souvenirs en "révisant" mentalement ce que nous avons mémorisé auparavant.

En bref, pour déterminer si l’effet Zeigarnik existe ou non, il est nécessaire de prendre en compte beaucoup plus de facteurs que la mémoire elle-même. C'est une conclusion qui vous permet de mettre de côté la question, mais au final, les explications les plus simples sont aussi les plus ennuyeuses.


Why Is That Song Stuck in My Head?! (Février 2023).


Articles Connexes