yes, therapy helps!
Ziprasidone: uses and side effects of this drug

Ziprasidone: uses and side effects of this drug

October 1, 2022

The antipsychotics or neuroleptics are the psychotropic drugs that are used to treat psychotic problems such as schizophrenia, although sometimes they also have other therapeutic indications.

There are a large number of them, with different properties and active principles despite having similar mechanisms of action. One of them is ziprasidone , that we will see throughout this article.

  • Related article: "Types of antipsychotics (or neuroleptics)"

What is ziprasidone?

Ziprasidone is an antipsychotic or neuroleptic drug, classified as atypical or second-generation neuroleptics . This last clarification is necessary since it allows us to know that it will act not on dopamine but also on serotonin, in such a way that the levels of the former are altered only to the extent necessary in different brain areas.


And is that in the main problem for which it is used, schizophrenia, there are excessive levels of dopamine in the mesolimbic pathway that end up causing symptoms such as hallucinations, excitability and disorganized and erratic behavior. Therefore it is necessary to reduce these levels, which generates all antipsychotics.

However, the first or typical ones generated many side effects or even harmed other types of symptoms present in some cases of schizophrenia , such as alogia or poverty of thought, withdrawal or cognitive difficulties. This was because the performance of classical antipsychotics was not specific to the mesolimbic pathway, but occurs throughout the brain.


Thus, areas that did not have alterations in this sense or that had deficient levels of dopamine such as the mesocortical pathway (this being the cause of negative symptoms such as alogia) are affected. For this reason, research was continued and atypical antopsychotics were created, including ziprasidone.

Mechanism of action

As an atypical antipsychotic, the mechanism of action of ziprasidone is based on the blockade of the D2 receptors of dopamine and a large part of the serotonin receptors (5HT2A, 5HT1A and 5HT2C), acting as an antagonist of these. Its effect on serotonergic receptors is greater than that of other drugs such as risperidone . It also has an antagonistic effect, although much less, on histamine and adrenaline. also hinders the reuptake of serotonin and noradrenaline at the brain level. This means that ziprasidone acts in a way that makes it difficult for these hormones to be used by our neurons.


In the mesolimbic pathway, it generates that the excess of dopamine that generates positive symptoms (in the sense that they add elements to the behavior of the subject), such as hallucinations and delusions, is reduced.

Although this drug generates the same effect in the whole brain as in the mesolimbic pathway, the fact that it also acts as an antagonist of serotonin (which is inhibitory in the secretion of dopamine), causes that the levels of dopamine in other areas remain the same. or even increase in some points like the cortex. This generates fewer side effects and that there may be an improvement in the negative symptomatology (poverty of thought being one of the most characteristic), which is linked to low levels of dopamine at the mesocortical level.

What is this psychoactive drug used for?

There are different disorders in which the use of ziprasidone can generate beneficial effects . Among these different applications and indications we can find the following.

Schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders

The most known and frequent indication for ziprasidone is the corresponding schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders , being effective to reduce the positive symptomatology and also having an effect on the negative at the same time that generating fewer secondary symptoms than the typical antipsychotics.

  • You may be interested: "The 6 types of schizophrenia and associated characteristics"

Bipolar disorder

Another indication of ziprasidone is that of the treatment of bipolar disorder, specifically manic crisis in type I bipolar disorder. This medication allows the reduction of Manic symptoms such as hyperactivity, distractibility, sense of grandiosity , aggression or agitation.

  • Related article: "Bipolar disorder: 10 features and curiosities you did not know"

Side effects and risks

Like all psychodrugs, ziprasidone, while an effective medication, can generate a series of unpleasant side effects and potential risks.

As with other antipsychotics, ziprasidone can generate symptoms such as abdominal pain, fever, edema, hypersensitivity to light, hypothermia, hypertension, tachycardia, increased cholesterol, weight gain, nausea and vomiting, some extrapyramidal motor symptoms such as dyskinesia. late and tremors, pneumonia. Sedation in another common secondary symptom, together with weakness and dizziness .

It can also generate sexual symptoms such as erectile dysfunction, alterations in menstruation, gynecomastia, galactorrhea, delusions, gait problems, incoordination, anemia, jaundice, arrhythmias and heart problems. In some cases it may be necessary to go to the medical services immediately, such as in the presence of convulsions, falls, priapism, loss of consciousness, muscle rigidity or arrhythmias.

Another risk to take into account is shared with all antipsychotics: the possibility of suffering from a neuroleptic malignant syndrome that can end with the death of the patient. Although the risks of this problem are low, it is necessary to control them, being essential the control of the doses that are prescribed and supplied to the patient (process always supervised by doctors).

Contraindications

Ziprasidone is a potent and very effective drug that can not be used at any time or in any type of person because it poses a possible risk to health. Is contraindicated in people who have suffered some kind of heart problem or disorder . Also in those elderly who suffer from dementia, since it increases the risk of death.

Special care should be taken with the interaction with other medications, as well as the consumption of alcohol. Its use is not recommended in diabetic patients, with liver or kidney problems, people with epilepsy or seizures, breast cancer or spinal / blood problems. Finally, neither during pregnancy or lactation. In case of pregnancy you have to consult with the doctor the possibility of changing the type of medication.

Comparison with other antipsychotics

As we have seen, there are numerous antipsychotics, having made comparisons among them to check their effectiveness.

In some studies and systematic reviews, it has been found that although highly effective, ziprasidone appears to be slightly less effective than other atypical antipsychotics such as olanzapine or risperidone. However, also it has been shown to have a lower chance of generating side effects .

Specifically, the subjects analyzed had a lower tendency to gain weight with medication and less tendency to raise cholesterol. Although in comparison with olanzapine it generated more likelihood of extrapyramidal symptoms and in relation to quetiapine an increase in prolactin (and therefore a greater number of sexual symptoms), in both cases produced lower level of these symptoms compared to risperidone. Despite this, in the research found that the abandonment of the studies by the participants generated that these data may be biased.

Bibliographic references

  • Komossa, K .; Rummel-Kluge, C .; Hunger, H .; Schwarz, S .; Bhoopathi, P.S .; Kissling, W. & Leucht, S. (2009). Ziprasidone vs other atypical antipsychotics for schizophrenia. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 4. Art. No .: CD006627. DOI: 10.1002 / 14651858.CD006627.pub2.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manual of Psychopharmacology. Madrid, Panamericana Medical Publishing House.

Side Effects of Antipsychotic Drugs | Schizophrenia (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Ziprasidone: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Ziprasidone: utilisations et effets secondaires de ce médicament

Août 3, 2022

Les antipsychotiques ou neuroleptiques sont les médicaments psychotropes utilisés pour traiter des problèmes psychotiques tels que la schizophrénie, bien qu'ils aient parfois d'autres indications thérapeutiques.

Ils sont nombreux, avec des propriétés et des principes actifs différents, malgré des mécanismes d'action similaires. L'un d'eux est la ziprasidone , que nous verrons tout au long de cet article.

  • Article connexe: "Types d'antipsychotiques (ou neuroleptiques)"

Qu'est-ce que la ziprasidone?

La ziprasidone est un antipsychotique ou un neuroleptique. classés comme neuroleptiques atypiques ou de deuxième génération . Cette dernière clarification est nécessaire car elle nous permet de savoir qu’elle agira non pas sur la dopamine, mais également sur la sérotonine, de telle sorte que les niveaux de celle-ci ne soient modifiés que dans la mesure nécessaire dans différentes zones du cerveau.


Et est-ce que dans le problème principal pour lequel il est utilisé, la schizophrénie, il existe des niveaux excessifs de dopamine dans la voie mésolimbique qui finissent par provoquer des symptômes tels que des hallucinations, de l’excitabilité et un comportement désorganisé et erratique. Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de réduire ces niveaux, ce qui génère tous les antipsychotiques.

Cependant, les premiers ou typiques ont généré de nombreux effets secondaires ou même blessé d'autres types de symptômes présents dans certains cas de schizophrénie , tels que l'alogia ou la pauvreté de la pensée, le retrait ou les difficultés cognitives. En effet, la performance des antipsychotiques classiques n'était pas spécifique à la voie mésolimbique, mais se manifestait dans tout le cerveau.


Ainsi, les zones qui ne présentaient pas d'altérations dans ce sens ou qui présentaient des taux de dopamine déficients, tels que la voie mésocorticale (cause de symptômes négatifs tels qu'Alogia), sont concernées. Pour cette raison, les recherches ont été poursuivies et des antopsychotiques atypiques ont été créés, y compris la ziprasidone.

Mécanisme d'action

En tant qu'antipsychotique atypique, le mécanisme d'action de la ziprasidone repose sur le blocage des récepteurs D2 de la dopamine et d'une grande partie des récepteurs de la sérotonine (5HT2A, 5HT1A et 5HT2C), agissant en tant qu'antagoniste de ceux-ci. Son effet sur les récepteurs sérotoninergiques est supérieur à celui d’autres médicaments tels que la rispéridone. . Il a également un effet antagoniste, bien que beaucoup moins, sur l'histamine et l'adrénaline. empêche également la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline au niveau du cerveau. Cela signifie que la ziprasidone agit de manière à rendre difficile l'utilisation de ces hormones par nos neurones.


Dans la voie mésolimbique, il en résulte une réduction de l'excès de dopamine qui génère des symptômes positifs (en ce sens qu'ils ajoutent des éléments au comportement du sujet), tels que des hallucinations et des délires.

Bien que ce médicament génère le même effet dans tout le cerveau que dans la voie mésolimbique, le fait qu’il agisse également en tant qu’antagoniste de la sérotonine (qui inhibe la sécrétion de dopamine) fait que les niveaux de dopamine restent les mêmes dans d’autres régions. ou même augmenter dans certains points comme le cortex. Cela génère moins d'effets secondaires et qu'il peut y avoir une amélioration de la symptomatologie négative (la pauvreté de la pensée étant l'une des plus caractéristiques), qui est liée aux faibles niveaux de dopamine au niveau mésocortical.

A quoi sert ce médicament psychoactif?

Il existe différents troubles dans lesquels l'utilisation de la ziprasidone peut générer des effets bénéfiques. . Parmi ces différentes applications et indications, on peut trouver les suivantes.

Schizophrénie et autres troubles psychotiques

L’indication la plus connue et la plus fréquente de ziprasidone est le médicament correspondant. schizophrénie et autres troubles psychotiques , étant efficace pour réduire la symptomatologie positive et avoir également un effet sur la négative, générant moins de symptômes secondaires que les antipsychotiques classiques.

  • Cela pourrait vous intéresser: "Les 6 types de schizophrénie et leurs caractéristiques associées"

Trouble bipolaire

Une autre indication de la ziprasidone est celle du traitement du trouble bipolaire, en particulier de la crise maniaque du trouble bipolaire de type I. Ce médicament permet de Symptômes maniaques tels que l'hyperactivité, la distractibilité, le sentiment de grandiosité , agression ou agitation.

  • Article connexe: "Trouble bipolaire: 10 caractéristiques et curiosités que vous ne connaissiez pas"

Effets secondaires et risques

Comme tous les médicaments psychotropes, la ziprasidone, bien que médicament efficace, peut générer une série d’effets secondaires désagréables et de risques potentiels.

Comme avec d'autres antipsychotiques, la ziprasidone peut générer des symptômes tels que douleur abdominale, fièvre, œdème, hypersensibilité à la lumière, hypothermie, hypertension, tachycardie, augmentation du cholestérol, prise de poids, nausées et vomissements et certains symptômes moteurs extrapyramidaux tels que la dyskinésie. retard et tremblements, pneumonie. Sédation dans un autre symptôme secondaire commun, accompagnée de faiblesse et de vertiges .

Il peut également générer des symptômes sexuels tels que la dysfonction érectile, les modifications de la menstruation, la gynécomastie, la galactorrhée, les idées délirantes, la démarche, l'incoordination, l'anémie, la jaunisse, les arythmies et les problèmes cardiaques. Dans certains cas, il peut être nécessaire de consulter immédiatement les services médicaux, par exemple en présence de convulsions, de chutes, de priapisme, de perte de conscience, de rigidité musculaire ou d'arythmie.

Un autre risque à prendre en compte est commun à tous les antipsychotiques: la possibilité de souffrir d'un syndrome neuroleptique malin pouvant aboutir à la mort du patient. Bien que les risques de ce problème soient faibles, il est nécessaire de les contrôler, être essentiel au contrôle des doses prescrites et fournies au patient (processus toujours supervisé par des médecins).

Contre-indications

La ziprasidone est un médicament puissant et très efficace qui ne peut être utilisé à tout moment ni chez tout type de personne car il présente un risque possible pour la santé. C'est contre-indiqué chez les personnes qui ont souffert d'une sorte de problème cardiaque . Cela concerne également les personnes âgées atteintes de démence, car cela augmente le risque de décès.

Des précautions particulières doivent être prises lors de l’interaction avec d’autres médicaments, ainsi que de la consommation d’alcool. Son utilisation n'est pas recommandée chez les patients diabétiques, présentant des problèmes de foie ou des reins, les personnes atteintes d'épilepsie ou de convulsions, le cancer du sein ou des problèmes de colonne vertébrale / sanguine. Enfin, ni pendant la grossesse ni l’allaitement. En cas de grossesse, vous devez consulter votre médecin sur la possibilité de changer de type de médicament.

Comparaison avec d'autres antipsychotiques

Comme nous l'avons vu, il existe de nombreux antipsychotiques ayant comparé leurs effets pour en vérifier l'efficacité.

Certaines études et revues systématiques ont montré que, bien que très efficace, la ziprasidone semble être légèrement moins efficace que d’autres antipsychotiques atypiques tels que l’olanzapine ou la rispéridone. Cependant, aussi il a été démontré que le risque de générer des effets secondaires est moindre .

Plus précisément, les sujets analysés avaient moins tendance à prendre du poids avec des médicaments et moins à augmenter le cholestérol. Bien que, comparé à l'olanzapine, il ait généré plus de risques de symptômes extrapyramidaux et, en ce qui concerne la quétiapine, une augmentation de la prolactine (et donc un plus grand nombre de symptômes sexuels), dans les deux cas, le niveau de ces symptômes était inférieur à celui de la rispéridone. Malgré cela, la recherche a révélé que l’abandon des études par les participants avait généré un risque de biais dans ces données.

Références bibliographiques

  • Komossa, K .; Rummel-Kluge, C .; La faim, H .; Schwarz, S .; Bhoopathi, P.S .; Kissling, W. & Leucht, S. (2009). Ziprasidone vs autres antipsychotiques atypiques pour la schizophrénie. Base de données des revues systématiques Cochrane, 4. N ° d'article: CD006627. DOI: 10.1002 / 14651858.CD006627.pub2.
  • Salazar, M .; Peralta, C .; Pastor, J. (2006). Manuel de psychopharmacologie. Madrid, maison d'édition médicale panaméricaine.

11 septembre 2001 le film des frères Naudet à l'intérieur du World Trade Center | Archive INA (Août 2022).


Articles Connexes