yes, therapy helps!
Pselismophobia (fear of stuttering): symptoms, causes and treatment

Pselismophobia (fear of stuttering): symptoms, causes and treatment

October 5, 2022

Pselismophobia is the intense and persistent fear to stutter . It is a fear that often aggravates and prolongs the stutter itself. It is also a fear related to social phobias.

Next we will see what psellismofobia is, what are some of its main characteristics and causes, as well as the most common treatment of social phobias.

  • Related article: "Types of phobias: exploring the disorders of fear"

Pselismphobia: fear of stuttering

The word "psellismofobia" or "pselismofobia" is composed of the term "psellismo" which means "stuttering" and "fobos" which means "fear". In this sense, pselismofobia is the persistent and irrational fear of stuttering (to the disorder of the flow of speech). Is about a phobia related to different fears to engage in verbal interactions , such as glossophobia, lalilophobia or lalofobia.


Therefore, pselismofobia is often considered a type of social phobia or, a characteristic of the latter. Social phobia, on the other hand, is characterized by an intense, persistent and excessive fear before or more social situations, as well as the obligation to perform actions in front of others.

The above can happen to people known or unknown, but fear is not people or interaction itself, but humiliation, discomfort and the possibility of being compared or evaluated.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Social phobia: what is it and how to overcome it?"

Main symptoms

In social phobia, the most common feared situations are public speaking, initiating or holding conversations with new people, speaking with figures of authority, being interviewed and going to parties. Exposure to these generates anxiety and its corresponding physiological correlate: sweating, increased heart rate, hyperventilation , decreased gastrointestinal activity, etc., and sometimes panic attacks.


Other of the most frequent manifestations are dry mouth, nervous contractions and flushing. Often these responses are generated in an anticipatory manner, that is, before exposure to social interactions. Likewise, these responses are a consequence of the activity of different systems such as the autonomic nervous system, the cognitive system and the behavioral system.

To counteract the anxiety response, the person generates different behaviors of avoidance to social interaction . The latter ends up having a significant and negative impact on their daily activities. In fact it is this last criterion (the discomfort that interferes markedly in the person's life), the one that makes the difference between a social phobia and a social anxiety (also called shyness).

When it comes to adults, the intensity and disproportion of fear are easily recognized, but when it occurs in children this recognition does not occur.


  • Related article: "Stuttering (dyspnea): symptoms, types, causes and treatment"

Causes

Social phobias tend to develop in adolescence (frequently around 15 years old). The latter can be linked precisely to this stage of development, where situations that involve an external evaluation significantly increase. This is in addition to the demands generated by new environments and the need to establish certain roles in a social system beyond the family.

In addition, social phobias occur more frequently among women, which may be related to Western values ​​where shyness is incompatible with the male role, but is socially accepted in the female. On the other hand, it is more common that they occur in people of lower socioeconomic status, an issue that may indicate discomforts related to hierarchies and unequal power relations (Bados, 2009).

In the specific case of pselismophobia it is important to consider that one's own fear of stuttering is one of the main causes of stuttering persisting . As such, it can trigger a constant avoidance of talking and interacting with other people, especially if it involves the situations described above.

In this sense, beyond being a particular phobia, pselismophobia is, on the one hand, one of the causes of stuttering, and on the other, it is one of the manifestations of social phobia. Thus, to know the specific causes of fear of stuttering, it is necessary to explore the persistent fear of wider social situations.

Treatment

Among the most used treatments for social phobias is the live exhibition in the natural environment, the exhibition by imagination , social skills training, cognitive restructuring, self-instructional training, applied relaxation techniques, virtual reality and simulation (Bados, 2009).

Likewise, stress reduction techniques of the cognitive behavioral model have recently been used as educational support therapy with explanations, demonstrations and discussions about the determinants of phobia. Regarding maintenance program group therapy approaches have also been carried out , once the anxiety before the social interaction has diminished (ibid.).

Finally, and considering the prevalence, it may be important to explore and work on empowerment from the critique of gender values ​​and socioeconomic inequalities, so that social interactions can flow with greater security and assertiveness.

Bibliographic references:

  • Bados, A. (2009). Social phobia. Faculty of Psychology Departament de Personalitat, Avaluació i Tractament Psicològics. University of Barcelona. Retrieved September 27, 2018. Available at //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/6321/1/Fobia%20social.pdf.
  • Psellismophobia. Common-phobias.com. Retrieved September 27, 2018. Available at //common-phobias.com/Psellismo/phobia.htm.
Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Pselismophobia (peur du bégaiement): symptômes, causes et traitement

Pselismophobia (peur du bégaiement): symptômes, causes et traitement

Juin 25, 2019

La pselismophobie est la peur intense et persistante de bégayer . C'est une peur qui souvent aggrave et prolonge le bégaiement lui-même. C'est aussi une peur liée aux phobies sociales.

Nous verrons ensuite ce qu'est la psellismofobie, quelles sont certaines de ses caractéristiques et causes principales, ainsi que le traitement le plus courant des phobies sociales.

  • Article connexe: "Types de phobies: explorer les troubles de la peur"

Pselismphobia: peur du bégaiement

Le mot "psellismofobia" ou "pselismofobia" est composé du terme "psellismo" qui signifie "bégaiement" et "fobos" qui signifie "peur". En ce sens, pselismofobia est la peur persistante et irrationnelle du bégaiement (au désordre du flux de la parole). Il s'agit de une phobie liée à différentes peurs de s'engager dans des interactions verbales comme la glossophobie, la lalilophobie ou la lalofobie.


Par conséquent, pselismofobia est souvent considéré comme un type de phobie sociale ou une caractéristique de cette dernière. La phobie sociale, en revanche, se caractérise par une peur intense, persistante et excessive devant une ou plusieurs situations sociales, ainsi que par l'obligation d'accomplir des actes devant les autres.

Ce qui précède peut arriver à des personnes connues ou inconnues, mais la peur n'est pas les gens ou l'interaction elle-même, mais l'humiliation, le malaise et la possibilité d'être comparé ou évalué.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La phobie sociale: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment la surmonter?"

Symptômes principaux

Dans la phobie sociale, les situations les plus souvent redoutées sont la prise de parole en public, l’initiation ou la conversation de nouvelles personnes, le dialogue avec des personnalités influentes, les interviews et le choix de parties. L'exposition à ceux-ci génère de l'anxiété et son corrélat physiologique correspondant: transpiration, augmentation du rythme cardiaque, hyperventilation , diminution de l'activité gastro-intestinale, etc., et parfois des attaques de panique.


Les autres manifestations les plus fréquentes sont la bouche sèche, les contractions nerveuses et les bouffées vasomotrices. Souvent, ces réponses sont générées de manière anticipée, c'est-à-dire avant l'exposition aux interactions sociales. De même, ces réponses sont une conséquence de l'activité de différents systèmes tels que le système nerveux autonome, le système cognitif et le système comportemental.

Pour contrer la réponse anxieuse, la personne génère différents comportements d'évitement de l'interaction sociale . Ces derniers finissent par avoir un impact négatif significatif sur leurs activités quotidiennes. En fait, c’est ce dernier critère (le malaise qui gêne de façon marquée dans la vie de la personne), celui qui fait la différence entre une phobie sociale et une anxiété sociale (appelée également timidité).

Chez les adultes, on reconnaît facilement l’intensité et la disproportion de la peur, mais cette reconnaissance ne se produit pas chez les enfants.


  • Article connexe: "Bégaiement (dyspnée): symptômes, types, causes et traitement"

Les causes

Phobies sociales ont tendance à se développer à l'adolescence (fréquemment autour de 15 ans). Ces derniers peuvent être liés précisément à ce stade de développement, où les situations qui impliquent une évaluation externe augmentent considérablement. Cela s'ajoute aux demandes générées par les nouveaux environnements et à la nécessité d'établir certains rôles dans un système social au-delà de la famille.

De plus, les phobies sociales se produisent plus fréquemment chez les femmes, ce qui peut être lié aux valeurs occidentales où la timidité est incompatible avec le rôle masculin mais est socialement acceptée chez la femme. D'autre part, il est plus fréquent qu'ils se produisent chez des personnes de statut socio-économique inférieur, ce qui peut indiquer des désagréments liés aux hiérarchies et aux relations de pouvoir inégales (Bados, 2009).

Dans le cas spécifique de la pselismophobie, il est important de considérer que sa propre peur du bégaiement est l'une des principales causes de persistance du bégaiement . En tant que tel, cela peut entraîner l’évitement constant de parler et d’interagir avec d’autres personnes, en particulier si cela implique les situations décrites ci-dessus.

En ce sens, au-delà d’une phobie particulière, la pselismophobie est d’une part une des causes du bégaiement et de l’autre une des manifestations de la phobie sociale. Ainsi, pour connaître les causes spécifiques de la peur du bégaiement, il est nécessaire d’explorer la peur persistante de situations sociales plus vastes.

Traitement

Parmi les traitements les plus utilisés pour les phobies sociales figure l'exposition en direct dans l'environnement naturel, l'exposition par l'imagination , entraînement aux compétences sociales, restructuration cognitive, auto-apprentissage, techniques de relaxation appliquées, réalité virtuelle et simulation (Bados, 2009).

De même, les techniques de réduction du stress du modèle comportemental cognitif ont récemment été utilisées en tant que thérapie de soutien pédagogique avec explications, démonstrations et discussions sur les déterminants de la phobie. Concernant le programme d'entretien des approches de thérapie de groupe ont également été réalisées , une fois que l’anxiété avant l’interaction sociale a diminué (ibid.).

Enfin, et compte tenu de la prévalence, il peut être important d’explorer la critique des valeurs de genre et des inégalités socioéconomiques afin de renforcer l’autonomisation afin que les interactions sociales puissent se dérouler avec plus de sécurité et d’affirmation de soi.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bados, A. (2009). Phobie sociale Faculté de Psychologie Departament de Personalitat, Avaluació i Tractament Psicològics. Université de Barcelone. Récupéré le 27 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //diposit.ub.edu/dspace/bitstream/2445/6321/1/Fobia%20social.pdf.
  • Psellismophobie. Common-phobias.com. Récupéré le 27 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //common-phobias.com/Psellismo/phobia.htm.
Articles Connexes