yes, therapy helps!
The influence of self-concept on academic performance

The influence of self-concept on academic performance

May 10, 2021

Since Howard Gardner published his theory of multiple intelligences in 1993 and Daniel Goleman published his book "Emotional Intelligence" in 1995, a new paradigm has been opened up in research that seeks to study which factors are those that really relate to the level of academic performance.

Leaving aside the traditional conception of the early twentieth century about the value of CI as the only predictor of intelligence in schoolchildren, let us analyze what science has to say about the link between the nature of self-concept and school results.

Academic performance: what is it and how is it measured?

Academic performance is understood as the result of the response and learning capacity internalized by the student derived from the confluence of various factors , as can be deduced from most constructs in the field of psychology or psychopedagogy.


Internal factors include motivation, the student's aptitudes or self-concept and, among those external to the individual, is the environment, the relationships established between the different contexts and the interpersonal relationships incrusted in each of them. In addition, other aspects such as the quality of the teacher, the educational program, the methodology used in a particular school, etc., can also be decisive in the learning acquired by schoolchildren.

How to define the concept of academic performance?

The definitions provided by the authors of this field are diverse, but There seems to be a consensus in qualifying the performance as a measure of obtaining knowledge and knowledge assimilated by the student , for which it becomes the final objective of education.


For example, the authors García and Palacios grant a double characterization to the concept of academic performance. Thus, from a static view refers to the product or learning outcome obtained by the student, while from the dynamic point of view performance is understood as the process of internalization of such learning. On the other hand, other contributions suggest that performance is a subjective phenomenon subject to external assessment and is ascribed to goals of an ethical and moral nature according to the social system established at a specific historical moment.

Components of academic performance

1. The self-concept

The self-concept can be defined as the set of ideas, thoughts and perceptions that the individual has of himself . Therefore, self-concept should not be confused with the "I" or "the self" in its entirety; it is only a part of this.


Self-concept and self-esteem are not the same

On the other hand, a distinction must also be made between self-concept and self-esteem, since the latter also becomes a component of that. Self-esteem is characterized by its subjective and evaluative connotation of self-concept and is shown by behavioral manifestations consistent with the values ​​and principles of each person.

Otherwise, a more recent meaning, such as that of Papalia and Wendkos, contemplates the link between the individual and society, understanding self-concept as a construct based on the relationships that each subject maintains with their environment and social beings that the latter includes.

Self-concept from a cognitive dimension

On the other hand, Deutsh and Krauss, contribute a meaning of system of cognitive organization to the self-concept, which is in charge of ordering the individual regarding the relationships with their interpersonal and social environment . Finally, Rogers differentiates three aspects of the self: the evaluative (self-esteem), the dynamic (or force that motivates the coherent maintenance of established self-concept) and the organizational (oriented to rank hierarchically or concentrically the multiple descriptions of the elements with which it interacts). the subject and also those corresponding to his individual self).

Thus, it seems to be accepted that there are diverse external factors that can determine the nature of the self-concept of each individual: interpersonal relationships, the biological characteristics of the subject, the parental educational and learning experiences of the early childhood stage, the influence of the social system and cultural, etc.

Factors to develop a good self-concept

The contributions of Clemes and Bean They indicate the following factors as fundamental for the development of self-esteem and self-concept be carried out properly:

  • The connection or the manifest feeling of belonging to the family system in which there are demonstrations of concern for the welfare of the other, affection, interest, understanding and consideration, etc.
  • The singularity related to the feeling of knowing a special, unique and unrepeatable individual.
  • The power referred to the ability to achieve the goals established in a satisfactory and successful way, as well as the understanding of the factors that have intervened in case contario. This will allow learning in the face of future experiences and emotional self-control in adverse and / or unexpected situations.
  • A set of guidelines that establish a stable, safe and coherent framework of behavior, counting on positive models, encouraging in the promotion of the appropriate aspects and that know how to reason the causes that motivate the modifications of said behavioral framework.

Correlation between academic performance and self-concept

The investigations carried out and exposed in the text lead to extract the following conclusions in reference to the relationship between self-concept and academic performance: the correlation between both elements is significantly positive , although three types of relationship between both concepts can be differentiated.

  • The first possibility considers that the performance determines the self-concept, since the assessment made by the closest significant people of the student greatly influence how he perceives himself in his role as a student.
  • Second, it can be understood that it is the self-concept levels that determine academic performance in the sense that the student will choose to maintain qualitatively and quantitatively the type of self-concept adapting its performance to that, for example in relation to the difficulty of tasks and the effort invested in them.
  • Finally, self-concept and academic performance can maintain a bidirectional relationship of mutual influence, as proposed by Marsh, where a modification in some component leads to a change in the whole system to reach a state of equilibrium.

The role of family education

As indicated above, the type of family system and dynamics established on educational guidelines and values ​​transmitted from parents to children and between siblings becomes a fundamental and determining factor in the construction of the child's self-concept. As referring figures, parents must devote most of their efforts to teach appropriate and adaptive values ​​such as responsibility, autonomous capacity in decision making and problem solving, the sense of effort invested, tenacity and work to achieve goals, as a priority.

Secondly, It is very important that parents are more oriented to offer recognition and positive reinforcement before the appropriate actions of behavior carried out by the small ones, to the detriment of focusing on the criticism of those aspects that are more negative or susceptible to improvement; Positive reinforcement has a greater power than punishment or nagative reinforcement in relation to the acquisition of behavioral learning. This second point is determinant in the type of attachment established between parents and children, since the application of this methodology facilitates a more affective bond between both parties.

The third element is the promotion of social relationships with peers (friendships) and other people of the interpersonal environment, as well as the structuring and balance in the use of leisure time so that it is enriching (based on the variety of types of activities) and satisfactory in itself; being understood as an end instead of as a means. In this aspect parents have a limited margin of maneuver since the choice of the peer group should start with the child. Still, it is true that the type of environment in which it interacts and develops is more subject to more conscious choices and preferences, so that parents can take a relative position in selecting a type of context ahead of others.

As a last important factor, knowledge and the establishment of a series of effective study guidelines that facilitate the student's academic performance must be taken into account . Although it seems more frequent than expected that the decrease or alteration of school results is derived from factors other than this (such as all those discussed in previous lines), the fact that parents can transmit and enforce certain rules in The study habits of the child is of vital importance in obtaining adequate qualifications (establishment of a fixed schedule of study, the creation of an adequate work environment in the home, promotion of active autonomy in solving their school tasks , reinforcement of achievements, having the support of the teaching team, being consistent in the indications transmitted, etc.).

In conclusion

The previous lines have shown a new conception in reference to the aspects that determine the obtaining of good results at school level. Research has incorporated other elements than the intellectual capacity extracted from the Intellectual Coefficient as possible predictors of academic performance.

Thus, although there is no clear consensus on the exact relationship that exists between the self-concept and the qualifications of the students (what phenomenon causes the other), It seems to be clear that the link between both constructs has been validated by different experts in the field . The family, as the main primary socializing agent in childhood, plays a very important role in the formation and development of the image that the child makes about himself.

In this way, the application of educational guidelines that facilitate the attainment of this goal, such as those that have been exposed throughout this text, should be prioritized.

Bibliographic references:

  • Gimeno Sacristán, J. (1977). Self-concept, sociability and school performance. Madrid: MEC.
  • Andrade, M., Miranda, C., Freixas, I. (2000). Academic performance and modifiable variables. Journal of Educational Psychology, Vol. 6, No. 2.
  • Elexpuru, I. (1994). How can teachers favor the self-concept of their students in the classroom? Educational Community, No 217.
  • Galileo Ortega, J.L. and Fernandez de Haro, E (2003); Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education (vol2). Malaga. Ed: Aljibe

Developmental: 12.2 Self Esteem and Academic Self Concept (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'influence de la conception de soi sur le rendement scolaire

L'influence de la conception de soi sur le rendement scolaire

Octobre 3, 2022

Depuis que Howard Gardner a publié sa théorie des intelligences multiples en 1993 et ​​que Daniel Goleman a publié son livre "Emotional Intelligence" en 1995, un nouveau paradigme s’est ouvert dans la recherche qui cherche à étudier quels sont les facteurs qui sont réellement liés à la niveau de rendement scolaire.

Laissons de côté la conception traditionnelle du début du XXe siècle sur la valeur de l’IC en tant que seul facteur prédictif de l’intelligence chez les écoliers, analysons ce que la science dit au sujet du lien entre la nature de la conception de soi et les résultats scolaires.

La performance académique: qu'est-ce que c'est et comment est-elle mesurée?

La performance académique est comprise comme le résultat de la capacité de réponse et d’apprentissage internalisée par l’élève dérivée de la confluence de divers facteurs. , comme on peut le déduire de la plupart des constructions dans le domaine de la psychologie ou de la psychopédagogie.


Les facteurs internes incluent la motivation, les aptitudes ou la conception de soi de l'élève et, parmi ceux extérieurs à l'individu, l'environnement, les relations établies entre les différents contextes et les relations interpersonnelles incrustées dans chacun d'eux. En outre, d'autres aspects tels que la qualité de l'enseignant, le programme éducatif, la méthodologie utilisée dans une école donnée, etc., peuvent également être déterminants pour l'apprentissage des élèves.

Comment définir le concept de performance académique?

Les définitions fournies par les auteurs de ce domaine sont diverses, mais Il semble exister un consensus pour qualifier la performance de mesure permettant d’obtenir des connaissances et des connaissances assimilées par l’élève. , pour lequel il devient l'objectif final de l'éducation.


Par exemple, les auteurs García et Palacios attribuent une double caractérisation au concept de performance académique. Ainsi, d’un point de vue statique, l’élève se réfère au produit ou au résultat d’apprentissage, tandis que d’un point de vue dynamique, la performance est comprise comme le processus d’internalisation de cet apprentissage. D'autre part, d'autres contributions suggèrent que la performance est un phénomène subjectif soumis à une évaluation externe et est attribuée à des objectifs de nature éthique et morale, en fonction du système social établi à un moment historique spécifique.

Composantes du rendement scolaire

1. Le concept de soi

Le concept de soi peut être défini comme l'ensemble des idées, pensées et perceptions que l'individu a de lui-même . Par conséquent, la notion de soi ne doit pas être confondue avec le "je" ou le "moi" dans son intégralité; ce n'est qu'une partie de cela.


Le concept de soi et l'estime de soi ne sont pas la même chose

D'autre part, une distinction doit également être faite entre le concept de soi et l'estime de soi, puisque ce dernier en devient également une composante. L’estime de soi se caractérise par sa connotation subjective et évaluative de la notion de soi et se manifeste par des manifestations comportementales conformes aux valeurs et aux principes de chaque personne.

Autrement, une signification plus récente, telle que celle de Papalia et Wendkos, envisage le lien entre l'individu et la société, comprendre le concept de soi comme une construction basée sur les relations que chaque sujet entretient avec son environnement et ses êtres sociaux que ce dernier comprend.

Concept de soi à partir d'une dimension cognitive

D'autre part, Deutsh et Krauss, contribuent à la notion de soi un sens de système d'organisation cognitive. est responsable de l'ordre de l'individu en ce qui concerne les relations avec son environnement interpersonnel et social . Enfin, Rogers distingue trois aspects du soi: l’évaluatif (estime de soi), la dynamique (ou la force qui motive le maintien cohérent du concept de soi établi) et l’organisation (orienté de manière hiérarchique ou concentrique dans les multiples descriptions des éléments avec lesquels il interagit). le sujet et aussi ceux correspondant à son individu individuel).

Ainsi, il semble être admis que divers facteurs externes peuvent déterminer la nature de la conception de soi de chaque individu: relations interpersonnelles, caractéristiques biologiques du sujet, expériences parentales d’éducation et d’apprentissage des jeunes enfants, influence du système social et culturel, etc.

Facteurs pour développer une bonne image de soi

Les contributions de Clemes et Bean Ils indiquent que les facteurs suivants sont fondamentaux pour le développement de l'estime de soi et de la confiance en soi être effectué correctement:

  • Le lien ou le sentiment manifeste d'appartenance au système familial dans lequel se manifestent le souci du bien-être de l'autre, de l'affection, de l'intérêt, de la compréhension et de la considération, etc.
  • La singularité est liée au sentiment de connaître un individu spécial, unique et irremplaçable.
  • Le pouvoir faisait référence à la capacité d'atteindre les objectifs fixés de manière satisfaisante et réussie, ainsi qu'à la compréhension des facteurs qui sont intervenus dans le cas d'espèce. Cela permettra d'apprendre face aux expériences futures et de maîtriser ses émotions face à des situations défavorables et / ou imprévues.
  • Un ensemble de lignes directrices qui établissent un cadre de comportement stable, sûr et cohérent, s’appuyant sur des modèles positifs, encourageant la promotion des aspects appropriés et sachant raisonner les causes qui motivent les modifications dudit cadre de comportement.

Corrélation entre performance académique et concept de soi

Les enquêtes menées et exposées dans le texte ont permis d’extraire les conclusions suivantes en ce qui concerne la relation entre la conception de soi et les résultats scolaires: la corrélation entre les deux éléments est significativement positive , bien que trois types de relations entre les deux concepts puissent être différenciés.

  • La première possibilité considère que la performance détermine le concept de soi, car l’évaluation faite par les personnes significatives les plus proches de l’étudiant influence beaucoup la façon dont il se perçoit dans son rôle d’étudiant.
  • Deuxièmement, on peut comprendre que ce sont les niveaux de concept de soi qui déterminent le rendement scolaire en ce sens que l'étudiant choisira de maintenir qualitativement et quantitativement le type de concept de soi adaptant son rendement à celui, par exemple en ce qui concerne la difficulté de tâches et les efforts investis en eux.
  • Enfin, la conception de soi et les performances académiques peuvent maintenir une relation bidirectionnelle d'influence mutuelle, comme le propose Marsh, dans laquelle une modification de certains composants entraîne une modification de l'ensemble du système afin d'atteindre un état d'équilibre.

Le rôle de l'éducation familiale

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, le type de système familial et les dynamiques établies sur la base de directives éducatives et de valeurs transmises des parents aux enfants et entre frères et sœurs deviennent un facteur fondamental et déterminant dans la construction de la conception de soi de l'enfant. En tant que figures de référence, les parents doivent consacrer l'essentiel de leurs efforts à enseigner des valeurs appropriées et adaptatives telles que la responsabilité, la capacité autonome de prise de décision et de résolution de problèmes, le sens des efforts investis, la ténacité et le travail à accomplir. objectifs, en priorité.

En second lieu, Il est très important que les parents soient davantage orientés vers la reconnaissance et le renforcement positif avant les comportements appropriés des petits, au détriment de la critique des aspects les plus négatifs ou susceptibles d’être améliorés; Le renforcement positif a plus de pouvoir que la sanction ou le renforcement nagatif en ce qui concerne l'acquisition d'un apprentissage comportemental. Ce second point est déterminant dans le type d'attachement établi entre parents et enfants, car l'application de cette méthodologie facilite un lien plus affectif entre les deux parties.

Le troisième élément est la promotion des relations sociales avec les pairs (amitiés) d’autres personnes de l’environnement interpersonnel, ainsi que de la structuration et de l’équilibre dans l’utilisation du temps de loisir afin qu’il soit enrichissant (en fonction de la diversité des types d’activités) et satisfaisant en soi; être compris comme une fin et non comme un moyen. Sous cet aspect, les parents ont une marge de manœuvre limitée, le choix du groupe de pairs devant commencer par l’enfant. Néanmoins, il est vrai que le type d’environnement dans lequel il interagit et se développe est davantage sujet à des choix et des préférences plus conscients, de sorte que les parents puissent prendre une position relative dans la sélection d’un type de contexte avant les autres.

En tant que dernier facteur important, la connaissance et la mise en place d'une série de lignes directrices efficaces pour l'étude facilitant la performance académique de l'étudiant doivent être pris en compte . Bien qu'il semble plus fréquent que la diminution ou l'altération des résultats scolaires découle de facteurs autres que celui-ci (comme tous ceux évoqués dans les lignes précédentes), le fait que les parents puissent transmettre et appliquer certaines règles Les habitudes d'étude de l'enfant sont d'une importance vitale pour l'obtention des qualifications adéquates (établissement d'un horaire d'étude fixe, la création d'un environnement de travail adéquat à la maison, promotion de l'autonomie active dans la résolution de leurs tâches scolaires , renforcement des acquis, soutien de l’équipe pédagogique, cohérence des indications transmises, etc.).

En guise de conclusion

Les lignes précédentes ont montré une nouvelle conception en référence aux aspects qui déterminent l'obtention de bons résultats au niveau de l'école. La recherche a incorporé d'autres éléments que la capacité intellectuelle extraite du coefficient intellectuel en tant que prédicteurs possibles du rendement scolaire.

Ainsi, bien qu’il n’existe pas de consensus clair sur la relation exacte qui existe entre la conception de soi et les qualifications des étudiants (quel phénomène cause l’autre), Il semble évident que le lien entre les deux concepts a été validé par différents experts du domaine. . La famille, en tant que principal agent de socialisation de l'enfance, joue un rôle très important dans la formation et le développement de l'image que l'enfant se fait de lui-même.

De cette manière, il conviendrait d’accorder la priorité à l’application de directives pédagogiques facilitant la réalisation de cet objectif, telles que celles exposées tout au long du présent texte.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Gimeno Sacristán, J. (1977). Concept de soi, sociabilité et performance scolaire. Madrid: MEC.
  • Andrade, M., Miranda, C., Freixas, I. (2000). Performances académiques et variables modifiables. Journal of Educational Psychology, volume 6, n ° 2.
  • Elexpuru, I. (1994). Comment les enseignants peuvent-ils favoriser la conception de soi de leurs élèves en classe? Communauté éducative, n ° 217.
  • Galileo Ortega, J.L. et Fernandez de Haro, E (2003); Encyclopédie de la petite enfance (vol2). Malaga Ed: Aljibe

Quand les neurosciences rencontrent l’éducation | Eric Gaspar | TEDxAlsace (Octobre 2022).


Articles Connexes