yes, therapy helps!
Brain hemispheres: myths and realities

Brain hemispheres: myths and realities

October 4, 2022

On the subject of brain hemispheres It is common to hear some sentences like these: "If you are a person with great creativity, you use much more the right hemisphere" O well "If you are an analytical person you use more the left hemisphere"...

Brain hemispheres: how do they work?

In addition, many courses, tests, e-books and books have emerged in social networks that explain "the great differences between using one or another hemisphere of the brain", and even tips and exercises to achieve a perfect balance (sic) between both hemispheres.

However, it should be considered: Is it true that we tend to use more one hemisphere than another? Is this conception that each hemisphere plays different functions?


Pocket neurosciences: simplifying too much

It seems that it is already general knowledge for many people that the right hemisphere is linked to the process and expression of emotions , both internal and external (this hemisphere is linked to the empathy) while, on the other hand, the left hemisphere is responsible for processing language, rational logic and analytical capacity .

However, this knowledge, although for some reason it has taken root in the collective culture and everyone seems to take it for granted, is not entirely true. It is a widespread myth that has little or no relation to reality and with the available scientific data. Without going any further, the right hemisphere also performs functions associated with the processing of some aspects of language, such as intonation and intensity.


Science and research to shed some light

The data and information extracted on the subject of the functional differences of the hemispheres of the brain come from neurological studies of the early 70's made to patients who underwent a cut in the corpus callosum (the fibers that connect both hemispheres) as a shock intervention to treat epilepsy.

Some of the academics and researchers who contributed most to the study of the brain in patients without corpus callosum were psychologists Roger W. Sperry Y Michael Gazzaniga , who discovered that the two halves of the brain developed their processes independently and with differentiated dynamics.

However, we must bear in mind that in healthy people whose cerebral hemispheres are correctly connected through the corpus callosum, Perceptual and executive processes develop in the brain as a whole , so that the different brain regions and hemispheres share information through the corpus callosum. Currently, neuroscientists (neurologists, biologists and psychologists) try to understand how this complex coordination between hemispheres is carried out.


Creativity, right hemisphere. Insurance?

We must also bear in mind that the type of tasks of daily life that require "a hemisphere in particular" according to popular belief, does not fit the categorization completely left hemisphere / right hemisphere.

One of the skills with which it is easier to disprove the myth is with creativity. Although it is easier to assume that creative tasks are developed in the right hemisphere and repetitive and analytical tasks in law, the reality is that these tasks are more complex and involve the brain in a more global way than might be expected if we believe the myth. Also: "being creative" can take many forms, it's a concept too open as if to enclose it in an easily recognizable task as a process within the human brain.

In fact, there is a study that compares the brain of students "of letters" (philology, history, art) with students "of science" (engineering, physics, chemistry) ... and the results are amazing . We explain it to you here:

  • Brain differences between "letter" students and "science" students

Studies on the subject

Several investigations indicate that the right hemisphere has a greater role at times when we have a great intuition . In fact, a study published in PLOS He discovered that the activity of the right hemisphere was greater when the subjects evaluated tried to solve a task intuitively, with little time for reflection.

Another investigation revealed that a brief exposure to a clue that gave some clues to solve a puzzle was more useful for the right hemisphere than for the left hemisphere. The right hemisphere was activated more clearly, leading some of the participants to solve the task.

In any case, it must be clarified that the insight (the process of internalization or internal understanding) is only one aspect of creativity. For example, the ability to explain stories would be another creative side. Here we already find an important schism: the studies that evaluate the influence of each hemisphere in certain tasks have revealed that the left hemisphere is the biggest involved in the process of inventing stories or stories , while the right hemisphere is responsible for seeking an explanation to the story. This curious distribution of functions was called "phenomenon interpreter" by Gazzaniga.

Simple myths that set fast in the minds of people

In a general presentation about the cerebral hemispheres and their (not so) differentiated functions Gazzaniga described, in an article published in Scientific American, the left hemisphere as "inventor and interpreter" and to the right hemisphere as "truthfulness and literality". Adjectives that they contrast with the popular conception over each hemisphere.

Concluding: between simplifications, exaggerations and corners of reality

The scientific evidence does not correspond to the myth that tells us that the left hemisphere is linked to the logical processes and the right to the creative field. If this is so, Why are people and even professionals in psychology or neurosciences Do you keep repeating this mantra?

One of the possibilities to understand how a myth expands and consolidates in the collective culture is its seductive simplicity . People look for easy answers to questions that, from the outset, are pretty naive: "What kind of brain do I have?”.

With a quick search in Google or in the different social networks, a person without scientific knowledge and with this personal concern can find applications, books or workshops to "improve their weak hemisphere". When there is demand, the offer does not take long to appear, although the scientific support on which the case is based is rather debatable. As in this case, in that simplification makes this information rub falsehood.

Thus, it is complicated to fight against an erroneous belief system, since the complexity involved in the functioning of our brain can not be summarized in a brief basic outline. All in all, professionals in psychology and mental health and students in neurosciences we must be in charge of reporting rigorously and go denying these myths and simplifications .

Bibliographic references:

  • Bowden EM, Jung-Beeman M. (2003). Aha! Insight experience correlates with solution activation in the right hemisphere. Psychon Bull Rev. 2003 Sep; 10 (3): 730-7. PMID: 14620371. Available at: //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14620371
  • Jung-Beeman M, Bowden EM, Haberman J, Frymiare JL, Arambel-Liu S, Greenblatt R, et al. (2004). Neural Activity When People Solve Verbal Problems with Insight. PLoS Biol 2 (4): e97. Available at: //doi.org/10.1371/journal.pbio.0020097

The left brain vs. right brain myth - Elizabeth Waters (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Hémisphères cérébraux: mythes et réalités

Hémisphères cérébraux: mythes et réalités

Décembre 5, 2022

Au sujet de hémisphères cérébraux Il est courant d'entendre des phrases comme celles-ci: "Si vous êtes une personne dotée d'une grande créativité, vous utilisez beaucoup plus l'hémisphère droit" ou bien "Si vous êtes une personne analytique, vous utilisez davantage l'hémisphère gauche"...

Hémisphères cérébraux: comment fonctionnent-ils?

En outre, de nombreux cours, tests, livres électroniques et livres ont émergé dans les réseaux sociaux qui expliquent "les grandes différences entre l'utilisation de l'un ou l'autre des hémisphères du cerveau", et même des astuces et des exercices pour équilibre parfait (sic) entre les deux hémisphères.

Cependant, il faut considérer: Est-il vrai que nous avons tendance à utiliser plus d'un hémisphère que d'un autre? Est-ce que cette conception est que chaque hémisphère joue des fonctions différentes?


Neurosciences de poche: trop simplifier

Il semble que c’est déjà une connaissance générale pour beaucoup de gens que l'hémisphère droit est lié au processus et à l'expression des émotions , à la fois interne et externe (cet hémisphère est lié à la empathie) tandis que, d'autre part, l'hémisphère gauche est responsable du traitement du langage, de la logique rationnelle et de la capacité d'analyse .

Cependant, cette connaissance, même si pour une raison quelconque elle s’est enracinée dans la culture collective et que tout le monde semble la prendre pour acquise, n’est pas tout à fait vraie. C'est un mythe répandu qui a peu ou pas de relation avec la réalité et avec les données scientifiques disponibles. Sans aller plus loin, l'hémisphère droit remplit également des fonctions associées au traitement de certains aspects du langage, tels que l'intonation et l'intensité.


La science et la recherche pour faire la lumière

Les données et informations extraites au sujet des différences fonctionnelles des hémisphères cérébraux proviennent d’études neurologiques du début des années 70 auprès de patients ayant subi une coupure du corps calleux (les fibres qui se connectent entre elles). deux hémisphères) comme une intervention de choc pour traiter l'épilepsie.

Certains des universitaires et des chercheurs qui ont le plus contribué à l'étude du cerveau chez les patients sans corps calleux étaient des psychologues Roger W. Sperry et Michael Gazzaniga , qui a découvert que les deux moitiés du cerveau développaient leurs processus indépendamment et avec des dynamiques différenciées.

Cependant, nous devons garder à l'esprit que chez les personnes en bonne santé dont les hémisphères cérébraux sont correctement connectés à travers le corps calleux, Les processus perceptuels et exécutifs se développent dans le cerveau dans son ensemble , de sorte que les différentes régions du cerveau et les hémisphères partagent des informations à travers le corps calleux. Actuellement, les neuroscientifiques (neurologues, biologistes et psychologues) essaient de comprendre comment se déroule cette coordination complexe entre les hémisphères.


Créativité, hémisphère droit. Assurance?

Nous devons également garder à l'esprit que le type de tâches de la vie quotidienne qui nécessitent "un hémisphère en particulier", selon la croyance populaire, ne correspond pas tout à fait à la catégorisation. hémisphère gauche / hémisphère droit.

Une des compétences avec lesquelles il est plus facile de réfuter le mythe est la créativité. Bien qu'il soit plus facile de supposer que des tâches créatives sont développées dans l'hémisphère droit et des tâches répétitives et analytiques en droit, ces tâches sont en réalité plus complexes et impliquent le cerveau de manière plus globale que ce à quoi on pourrait s'attendre si nous croyons au mythe. Aussi: "être créatif" peut prendre plusieurs formes, c'est un concept trop ouvert comme si l'enfermer dans une tâche facilement reconnaissable en tant que processus dans le cerveau humain.

En fait, il existe une étude qui compare le cerveau des étudiants "de lettres" (philologie, histoire, art) avec des étudiants "de sciences" (ingénierie, physique, chimie) ... et les résultats sont étonnants . Nous vous l'expliquons ici:

  • Différences cérébrales entre les étudiants "lettre" et les étudiants "sciences"

Études sur le sujet

Plusieurs enquêtes indiquent que l'hémisphère droit a un rôle plus important dans les moments où nous avons une grande intuition . En fait, une étude publiée dans PLOS Il a découvert que l'activité de l'hémisphère droit était plus grande lorsque les sujets évalués essayaient de résoudre une tâche de manière intuitive, avec peu de temps pour la réflexion.

Une autre enquête a révélé qu’une brève exposition à un indice permettant de résoudre un casse-tête était plus utile pour l’hémisphère droit que pour l’hémisphère gauche. L'hémisphère droit a été activé plus clairement, ce qui a amené certains participants à résoudre le problème.

Dans tous les cas, il faut préciser que le perspicacité (processus d'internalisation ou de compréhension interne) n'est qu'un aspect de la créativité. Par exemple, la capacité d'expliquer des histoires serait un autre côté créatif. Nous trouvons déjà ici un schisme important: les études évaluant l’influence de chaque hémisphère dans certaines tâches ont révélé que l'hémisphère gauche est le plus grand impliqué dans le processus d'inventer des histoires ou des histoires , tandis que l’hémisphère droit est chargé de chercher une explication à l’histoire. Cette distribution curieuse de fonctions a été appelée "interprète de phénomène" par Gazzaniga.

De simples mythes qui s'imposent dans l'esprit des gens

Dans une présentation générale sur les hémisphères cérébraux et leurs fonctions (pas si différenciées) décrites par Gazzaniga, dans un article paru dans Scientifique américain, l'hémisphère gauche en tant qu '"inventeur et interprète" et à l'hémisphère droit en tant que "vérité et littéralité". Adjectifs qui ils contrastent avec la conception populaire sur chaque hémisphère.

Conclusion: entre simplifications, exagérations et recoins de la réalité

Les preuves scientifiques ne correspondent pas au mythe selon lequel l’hémisphère gauche est lié aux processus logiques et au droit au champ de création. Si c'est comme ça, Pourquoi les gens et même les professionnels en psychologie ou neurosciences Continuez-vous à répéter ce mantra?

L’une des possibilités de comprendre comment un mythe se développe et se consolide dans la culture collective est sa simplicité séduisante . Les gens recherchent des réponses faciles à des questions qui, au départ, sont plutôt naïves: "Quel genre de cerveau ai-je?”.

Avec une recherche rapide dans Google ou dans les différents réseaux sociaux, une personne sans connaissances scientifiques et avec cette préoccupation personnelle peut trouver des applications, des livres ou des ateliers pour "améliorer son hémisphère faible". Lorsqu'il y a une demande, l'offre ne tarde pas à apparaître, bien que le soutien scientifique sur lequel se base le cas soit plutôt discutable. Comme dans ce cas, dans cette simplification, cette information frotte le mensonge.

Ainsi, il est compliqué de lutter contre un système de croyance erroné, car la complexité impliquée dans le fonctionnement de notre cerveau ne peut pas être résumée dans un bref aperçu de base. Au total, professionnels de la psychologie et de la santé mentale et étudiants en neurosciences nous devons être en charge de faire des rapports rigoureux et aller nier ces mythes et simplifications .

Références bibliographiques:

  • Bowden EM, M. Jung-Beeman (2003). Aha! L’expérience Insight est en corrélation avec l’activation de la solution dans l’hémisphère droit Psychon Bull Rev. 2003 Sep; 10 (3): 730-7. PMID: 14620371. Disponible à l’adresse //www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/14620371.
  • Jung-Beeman, M. Bowden, M. Haberman, J., Frymiare, J.-L., Arambel-Liu, S., Greenblatt, R. et al. (2004). Activité neuronale lorsque les gens résolvent des problèmes verbaux avec Insight. PLoS Biol 2 (4): e97. Disponible à: //doi.org/10.1371/journal.pbio.0020097

Cerveau Droit / Cerveau gauche : un mythe qui perdure ? (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes