yes, therapy helps!
Cultural syndromes: what they are, what symptoms they present, and 7 examples

Cultural syndromes: what they are, what symptoms they present, and 7 examples

May 9, 2021

Although most mental or psychopathological disorders occur with almost the same fire anywhere in the world, there are certain mental disorders that only occur in a specific society or culture. These are the so-called cultural syndromes .

Also known as cultural mental disorders, they are characterized as psychopathological pictures that are given specifically in the members of a culture , but that can become so habitual in certain places that where they appear they come to be considered alterations of the most common.

  • Related article: "The 18 types of mental illnesses"

What are cultural syndromes?

Cultural syndromes are mental or psychosomatic disorders that affect only a specific community, society or culture. These syndromes are registered as diseases although, sometimes, there is no organic pathology in patients .


Although there may be similarities with other pathologies or experiences, cultural syndromes or disorders are not observed in other societies or cultural nuclei external to where it was discovered and localized.

Likewise, the term "cultural syndrome" itself has been much debated among the scientific community, and much of it is censured and refuses to use it, since they are categorized by their own culture.

Cultural syndromes place the differences between cultures at the center of attention. Differences that are needed especially in the different Aspects of spiritual, mental or physical perceptions and experiences . For example, a behavior or behavior that in another culture is experienced as abnormal or pathological in Western culture may be perfectly integrated into what is considered "normal."


  • Maybe you're interested: "What is Cultural Psychology?"

How to identify a cultural syndrome?

There are certain distinctive features of cultural syndromes that make it possible to differentiate them. These characteristics are:

  • The syndrome is defined and determined as a condition by the culture itself.
  • That same culture is aware of the symptoms and knows the treatment .
  • It is an unknown syndrome in other cultures.
  • No organic origin has been found for this syndrome.

Within the symptomatology associated with these syndromes, both somatic symptoms, such as pain; or symptoms related to behavior disorders . Also, although some of these syndromes share a basic symptomatology, you can always find different elements related to the culture that can distinguish them.


Examples of cultural syndromes

Although there is a long registry of cultural syndromes, all of them categorized according to the region of the world of which they are their own, this article describes a series of cultural syndromes that stand out for being peculiar or striking .

1. Hwa-byung syndrome (Korea)

The Hwa-byung, also known as Hwa-byeong , is a Korean somatization disorder. This mental disorder appears in people who are unable to face or control their anger in situations they perceive as unfair.

The term is can be translated as a compound word formed by "fire" or "anger" and "disease". Also, if the geographical area is further restricted, in South Korea it is more commonly known as "depression or anger disease" .

The epidemiology of this disorder is of an incidence of 35% in the working population.

2. Sangue asleep (Cape Verde, Africa)

This alteration is culturally related to the islanders that inhabit Cape Verde, in Africa. This disorder includes the suffering of a wide range of neurological diseases , which include blindness, convulsions, numbness, pain, paralysis, stroke and tremors. It can also be responsible for an acute myocardial infarction, spontaneous abortion and infection.

The original term belongs to the Portuguese language and is translated literally as "sleeping blood".

3. Illness of the spirits (Indoamerica)

This disorder typical of Native American tribes is characterized by the fact that the person manifests a great variety of somatic and psychological symptoms associated with excessive symptoms, and on occasion, Obsessive concern over issues related to death .

4. Koro (China and Malaysia)

Koro disease is a disorder that affects mainly men, who experience a state of panic, with anxious tendencies, during which this he perceives that his penis diminishes in size or it is rolling back, as if it could disappear.

Although in a syndrome of the male sex, there have been cases in women, who perceived this shrinkage in their breasts and genitals.

Since states of anxiety can affect the volume and circumference of the penis, this panic is seen as feedback, leading to perform behaviors such as holding or fixing the penis with some type of instrument.

The majority of cases of Koro occur men, during the stage of adolescence and youth , who suffer from a sexual, paranoid or depressive disorder.

5. Scare or fright syndrome (Latin America)

A rather unusual or singular syndrome typical of Latin American culture is that of fright or fright. At the victim of a fright or shock experiences a series of symptoms associates that turn the mere act of scaring someone into the cause of an illness.

A great variety of symptoms associated with the scare syndrome have been described, some of them are:

  • Loss of appetite
  • Muscular weakness
  • Lack of energy
  • Pallor
  • Vomiting and diarrhea
  • Fever
  • Unrest
  • Depression
  • Anxiety
  • Fever

Cases have been recorded of people to whom this disease affected them to the point of causing their death.

6. Arctic hysteria or Piblokto (North Pole Populations)

This type of hysteria was registered in populations from the North Pole, such as Eskimos from Siberia, Canada, Greenland or Alaska .

This type of disorder can be divided into two different syndromes:

  1. A syndrome typical of the Siberian region whose main characteristic is that the person suffers a strong imitative mania .
  2. A state in which the person suffers a frenetic dissociation .

In either of the two varieties the person returns to his normal state once the crisis has passed.

7. Morgellons syndrome (Western Society)

In the Morgellons syndrome the person is invaded by a delirium according to which believes to be infected by infectious elements or capable of transmitting a disease , such as insects and parasites.

People suffering from this disorder manifest a series of skin lesions due to the obsession with scratching and biting the skin, as the patient feels a constant tingling in it.


Psychological Disorders: Crash Course Psychology #28 (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les syndromes culturels: ce qu’ils sont, quels symptômes ils présentent et 7 exemples

Les syndromes culturels: ce qu’ils sont, quels symptômes ils présentent et 7 exemples

Septembre 5, 2022

Bien que la plupart des troubles mentaux ou psychopathologiques se produisent avec le même feu presque partout dans le monde, certains troubles mentaux ne se produisent que dans une société ou une culture spécifique. Ce sont les soi-disant syndromes culturels .

Aussi appelés troubles mentaux culturels, ils se caractérisent par des images psychopathologiques qui sont donnés spécifiquement dans les membres d'une culture , mais cela peut devenir si habituel dans certains endroits que, là où ils apparaissent, ils deviennent considérés comme des altérations des plus courantes.

  • Article connexe: "Les 18 types de maladies mentales"

Que sont les syndromes culturels?

Les syndromes culturels sont des troubles mentaux ou psychosomatiques qui n'affectent qu'une communauté, une société ou une culture spécifique. Ces syndromes sont enregistrés en tant que maladies bien que, parfois, il n'y a pas de pathologie organique chez les patients .


Bien qu'il puisse y avoir des similitudes avec d'autres pathologies ou expériences, les syndromes ou troubles culturels ne sont pas observés dans d'autres sociétés ou noyaux culturels extérieurs à l'endroit où ils ont été découverts et localisés.

De même, le terme "syndrome culturel" lui-même a fait l'objet de nombreux débats au sein de la communauté scientifique. Une grande partie de ce terme est censuré et refuse de l'utiliser, car ils sont classés par leur propre culture.

Les syndromes culturels placent les différences entre les cultures au centre de l'attention. Différences nécessaires notamment dans les différentes Aspects des perceptions et expériences spirituelles, mentales ou physiques . Par exemple, un comportement ou un comportement qui, dans une autre culture, est considéré comme anormal ou pathologique dans la culture occidentale peut être parfaitement intégré à ce qui est considéré comme "normal".


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que la psychologie culturelle?"

Comment identifier un syndrome culturel?

Certaines caractéristiques des syndromes culturels permettent de les différencier. Ces caractéristiques sont:

  • Le syndrome est défini et déterminé comme une condition par la culture elle-même.
  • Cette même culture est conscient des symptômes et connaît le traitement .
  • C'est un syndrome inconnu dans d'autres cultures.
  • Aucune origine organique n'a été trouvée pour ce syndrome.

Dans la symptomatologie associée à ces syndromes, les deux symptômes somatiques, tels que la douleur; ou symptômes liés aux troubles du comportement . De plus, bien que certains de ces syndromes partagent une symptomatologie de base, vous pouvez toujours trouver différents éléments liés à la culture qui peuvent les distinguer.


Exemples de syndromes culturels

Bien qu'il existe un long registre de syndromes culturels, tous classés par région du monde dont ils sont propriétaires, cet article décrit une série de syndromes culturels qui se distinguent par leur singularité ou leur caractère frappant .

1. Syndrome de Hwa-Byung (Corée)

Le Hwa-byung, également connu sous le nom de Hwa-byeong , est un trouble coréen de la somatisation. Ce trouble mental apparaît chez les personnes qui sont incapables de faire face à leur colère ou de la maîtriser dans des situations qu’elles perçoivent comme injustes.

Le terme est peut être traduit par un mot composé formé par "feu" ou "colère" et "maladie". En outre, si la zone géographique est restreinte davantage, en Corée du Sud, il est plus communément appelé "maladie de la dépression ou de la colère" .

L'épidémiologie de ce trouble est d'une incidence de 35% dans la population active.

2. Sangue endormi (Cap Vert, Afrique)

Cette altération est culturellement liée aux insulaires qui habitent le Cap Vert, en Afrique. Ce désordre comprend la souffrance d'un large éventail de maladies neurologiques , qui incluent la cécité, les convulsions, l’engourdissement, la douleur, la paralysie, les accidents vasculaires cérébraux et les tremblements. Il peut également être responsable d'un infarctus aigu du myocarde, d'un avortement spontané et d'une infection.

Le terme original appartient à la langue portugaise et est traduit littéralement par "sang-froid".

3. Maladie des esprits (Indoamerica)

Ce trouble typique des tribus amérindiennes se caractérise par le fait que la personne manifeste une grande variété de symptômes somatiques et psychologiques associés à des symptômes excessifs et, à l'occasion, Préoccupation obsessionnelle à propos de la mort .

4. Koro (Chine et Malaisie)

La maladie de Koro est un trouble qui affecte principalement les hommes, qui vivent un état de panique, avec des tendances anxieuses, au cours de laquelle il perçoit que son pénis diminue de taille ou il recule, comme s'il pouvait disparaître.

Bien que dans un syndrome du sexe masculin, il y a eu des cas chez les femmes, qui ont perçu ce rétrécissement dans leurs seins et leurs organes génitaux.

Étant donné que les états d'anxiété peuvent affecter le volume et la circonférence du pénis, cette panique est perçue comme une rétroaction, ce qui conduit à des comportements tels que tenir ou réparer le pénis avec un type d'instrument.

La majorité des cas de Koro surviennent chez des hommes, au stade de l'adolescence et de la jeunesse , qui souffrent d'un trouble sexuel, paranoïaque ou dépressif.

5. Syndrome d'effroi ou d'effroi (Amérique latine)

Un syndrome plutôt inhabituel ou singulier typique de la culture latino-américaine est celui de la peur ou de la peur. Dans le la victime d'une frayeur ou d'un choc présente une série de symptômes des associés qui font du simple fait d'effrayer une personne la cause d'une maladie.

Une grande variété de symptômes associés au syndrome de peur ont été décrits, parmi lesquels:

  • Perte d'appétit
  • Faiblesse musculaire
  • Manque d'énergie
  • Pâleur
  • Vomissements et diarrhée
  • Fièvre
  • Agitation
  • La dépression
  • Anxiété
  • Fièvre

Des cas ont été enregistrés chez des personnes chez qui cette maladie les avait affectées au point de causer leur mort.

6. Hystérie arctique ou Piblokto (populations du pôle Nord)

Ce type d’hystérie a été enregistré chez des populations du pôle Nord, telles que Esquimaux de Sibérie, Canada, Groenland ou Alaska .

Ce type de trouble peut être divisé en deux syndromes différents:

  1. Un syndrome typique de la région sibérienne dont la caractéristique principale est que souffre d'une forte manie imitative .
  2. Un état dans lequel la personne souffre d'une dissociation frénétique .

Dans l'une ou l'autre des deux variétés, la personne retourne à son état normal une fois la crise passée.

7. Syndrome de Morgellons (société occidentale)

Dans le syndrome de Morgellons, la personne est envahie par un délire selon lequel croit être infecté par des éléments infectieux ou capable de transmettre une maladie , tels que les insectes et les parasites.

Les personnes souffrant de cette maladie manifestent une série de lésions cutanées en raison de leur obsession de se gratter et de se mordre la peau, car le patient ressent un fourmillement constant.


L' Endométriose: Témoignage (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes