yes, therapy helps!
Excessive daydreaming: what it is, symptoms, causes and treatment

Excessive daydreaming: what it is, symptoms, causes and treatment

October 5, 2022

Recently the term "excessive daydreaming" (originally "maladaptative daydreaming") has been proposed to refer to persistent absorption in one's fantasies, significantly affecting functionality and everyday activities.

We will see in this article what is excessive daydreaming , what are some of its possible causes and the effectiveness of its treatment.

  • Related article: "Addiction: disease or learning disorder?"

What is excessive daydreaming? symptom

"Excessive daydreaming" is a newly generated construct to describe the tendency to become distracted recurrently in one's own fantasies, which ultimately generates an important experience of stress, as well as a difficulty in accomplishing daily tasks.


It is defined as: "extensive fantasy activity that replaces human interaction and / or interferes with interpersonal, academic or vocational functionality" (Sommer, 2015). In this sense, excessive daydreaming is characterized by the psychological dependence manifested in the compulsion to compulsively abstract in fantasies . As such it is difficult to control. Sometimes it can last for hours and sometimes even days, which ultimately affects the person's daily responsibilities.

The description of excessive daydreaming has gained popularity among frequent Internet users around the world, who have communicated to talk about their experiences in reverie. In fact, this experience is related to a high daily exposure time to the Internet .


The latter have especially reported the following characteristics of excessive daydreaming:

  • The person recognizes that has this tendency to abstract intensely in his fantasies since childhood .
  • In private it generates rituals that facilitate the dreaming state (for example, walks, listening to music).
  • They relate this with experiences of anguish during previous life cycles, especially during childhood and adolescence.
  • Excessive daydreaming is recognized as a mental habit that is also an obstacle to fulfilling everyday activities.

Some studies on this type of daydream

The reverie and the world of fantasies has long been studied by psychology since its inception. These experiences have gone through approximations of different approaches. They go from the psychoanalytic postulates that when relating the excessive dreaming with deprivation and latent psychic conflicts, to the cognitive behavioral theories, that differ between a constructive dreaming related to the creativity, and a compulsive one related to attention deficits or avoidant behaviors .


The previous has generated different studies on the nature of daydreaming and excessive daydreaming. Between them, a difference has been found in quantitative terms, in terms of content, in terms of the experience of stress and sensation of control, as well as in terms of the interference in the functionality of the person.

This could indicate that excessive daydreaming shares several of the characteristics of addiction to certain behaviors . However, studies have concluded that more research is needed to determine if it is a disorder or specific clinical picture, or if it is one of the characteristics associated with different types of addiction.

It is also necessary to determine if it is a specific syndrome or one of the characteristics of other clinical conditions such as dissociative disorders or attention deficit hyperactivity disorder. In any case, there is already a standardized instrument to analyze if a dreaming experience is being normal or excessive.

This is the Excessive Dreaming Scale (Maladaptative Daydreaming Scale), which is a validated self-report instrument in the Anglo-Saxon population of 45 different countries. The same scale relates the scores of excessive daydreaming with obsessive-compulsive behaviors and thinking, dissociation, attention deficit, as well as the sensation of presence during reverie and the possibility of psychotic manifestations.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Visualization: the power of imagination to overcome difficulties"

Causes

The content of the fantasies, according to the reports of those who are known as excessive dreams, is often characterized by issues that involve emotional support, competence and social recognition .

In this sense, daydreaming is comforting and rewarding, since it's a relief from everyday stressors related , for example, with the promotion of excessive individualism and the high demands of social recognition. It is also related to the coping strategies for these stressors and the compensation alternatives available.

Treatment

As regards treatment, a large part of the scientific literature agrees that it is necessary to carry out more research to obtain conclusive results. However, Empirical studies on the effectiveness of psychotherapeutic treatment have begun in these cases. Specifically Eli Somer (2018) from the University of Haifa in Israel, has reported the course of psychotherapy in 25 men who had excessive daydreaming. The therapeutic plan included cognitive behavioral interventions as well as mindfulness-style meditation.

It lasted for 6 months and its results were evaluated periodically. As a conclusion, people reduced the time of their general daydreams by more than 50% as well as the amount of time spent on the Internet by 70%. The latter resulted in an improvement in social and work functionality. However, maladaptive dreaming improved in a lower percentage, as well as self-reports on pleasure or gratification associated with dreaming.

Bibliographic references:

  • Schupak, C. and Rosenthal, J. (2008). Excessive daydreaming: a case history and discussion of mind wandering and high fantasy proneness. Retrieved September 27, 2018. Available at //web.archive.org/web/20121025225258///www.scribd.com/doc/9089146/Excessive-daydreaming-A-case-history-and-discussion-of-mind -wandering-and-high-fantasy-proneness.
  • Somer, E. (2018). Maladaptative daydreaming: a qualitative inquiry. Journal of Contemporary Prychotherapy, 32 (2/3): 197-212.
  • Somer, E. (2018). Maladaptative Daydreaming: Ontological Analysis, Treatment Rationale; to Pilot Case Report. Frontiers in the Psychotherapy and Trauma and Dissociation, 1 (2): 1-22.
  • Somer, E., Lehrfeld, J., Bigelsen, J. and Jopp, D. (2015). Development and validation of the Maladaptative Daydreaming Scale (MDS). Consciousness and Cognition, 39: 77-91.
  • Pietkiewicz, IJ., Nechki, S., Banbura, A. and Tomalski, R. (2018). Maladaptive daydreaming as a new form of behavioral addiction. Jorunal of Behavioral Addiction, 21: 1-6.

What Causes Maladaptive Daydreaming? (PTSD Depersonalization Derealization signs and symptoms) (October 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Rêverie excessive: qu'est-ce que c'est, symptômes, causes et traitement

Rêverie excessive: qu'est-ce que c'est, symptômes, causes et traitement

Juin 5, 2020

Récemment, le terme "rêverie excessive" (à l’origine "rêverie mésadaptée") a été proposé pour faire référence à une absorption persistante de ses fantasmes, affectant de manière significative la fonctionnalité et les activités quotidiennes.

Nous verrons dans cet article qu'est-ce que la rêverie excessive , quelles sont certaines de ses causes possibles et l’efficacité de son traitement.

  • Article connexe: "Dépendance: maladie ou trouble d'apprentissage?"

Qu'est-ce que la rêverie excessive? Les symptômes

"La rêverie excessive" est une construction nouvellement générée pour décrire la tendance à se laisser distraire de manière récurrente dans ses propres fantasmes, ce qui génère finalement une expérience de stress importante, ainsi qu'une difficulté à accomplir les tâches quotidiennes.


Il est défini comme: "une activité fantastique étendue qui remplace l'interaction humaine et / ou interfère avec la fonctionnalité interpersonnelle, académique ou professionnelle" (Sommer, 2015). En ce sens, la rêverie excessive est caractérisée par la dépendance psychologique manifestée dans la contrainte d'abstraction compulsive dans les fantasmes . En tant que tel, il est difficile à contrôler. Parfois, cela peut durer des heures, voire des jours, ce qui affecte en fin de compte les responsabilités quotidiennes de la personne.

La description de la rêverie excessive a gagné en popularité parmi les utilisateurs Internet fréquents du monde entier, qui ont communiqué pour parler de leurs expériences de rêverie. En fait, cette expérience est liée à un temps d'exposition quotidien élevé à Internet .


Ces derniers ont notamment signalé les caractéristiques suivantes de la rêverie excessive:

  • La personne reconnaît que a cette tendance à résumer intensément dans ses fantasmes depuis l'enfance .
  • En privé, cela génère des rituels qui facilitent l'état de rêve (promenades, écoute de la musique, par exemple).
  • Ils racontent cela avec des expériences d'angoisse au cours des cycles de vie précédents, en particulier pendant l'enfance et l'adolescence.
  • La rêverie excessive est reconnue comme une habitude mentale qui fait également obstacle à la réalisation des activités quotidiennes.

Quelques études sur ce type de rêverie

La rêverie et le monde des fantasmes ont longtemps été étudiés par la psychologie depuis sa création. Ces expériences sont passées par approximations d'approches différentes. Ils partent des postulats psychanalytiques selon lesquels, lorsque l'on associe le rêve excessif à la privation et à des conflits psychiques latents, aux théories cognitivo-comportementales qui diffèrent d'un rêve constructif lié à la créativité, et un compulsif lié aux déficits de l'attention ou aux comportements d'évitement .


La précédente a donné lieu à différentes études sur la nature de la rêverie éveillée et excessive. Entre eux, une différence a été trouvée en termes quantitatifs, en termes de contenu, en termes d'expérience de stress et de sensation de contrôle, ainsi qu'en termes d'interférence dans les fonctionnalités de la personne.

Cela pourrait indiquer que la rêverie excessive partage plusieurs des caractéristiques de la dépendance à certains comportements . Cependant, des études ont conclu que des recherches supplémentaires étaient nécessaires pour déterminer s'il s'agissait d'un trouble ou d'un tableau clinique spécifique, ou s'il s'agissait de l'une des caractéristiques associées à différents types de dépendance.

Il est également nécessaire de déterminer s'il s'agit d'un syndrome spécifique ou de l'une des caractéristiques d'autres conditions cliniques telles que les troubles dissociatifs ou le trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention. En tout cas, il existe déjà un instrument standardisé analyser si une expérience de rêve est normale ou excessive.

Il s'agit de l'échelle de rêverie excessive, qui est un instrument d'auto-évaluation validé auprès de la population anglo-saxonne de 45 pays différents. La même échelle concerne les scores de rêverie excessive avec comportements et pensées obsessionnels-compulsifs, dissociation, déficit de l'attention, ainsi que la sensation de présence pendant la rêverie et la possibilité de manifestations psychotiques.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "La visualisation: le pouvoir de l'imagination pour surmonter les difficultés"

Les causes

Le contenu des fantasmes, selon les rapports de ceux qui sont connus comme des rêves excessifs, est souvent caractérisé par questions qui impliquent un soutien affectif, la compétence et la reconnaissance sociale .

En ce sens, la rêverie est réconfortante et enrichissante, car c'est un soulagement des stresseurs quotidiens liés par exemple, avec la promotion d’un individualisme excessif et des exigences élevées en matière de reconnaissance sociale. Il est également lié aux stratégies de gestion de ces facteurs de stress et aux solutions de compensation disponibles.

Traitement

En ce qui concerne le traitement, une grande partie de la littérature scientifique convient qu'il est nécessaire de mener davantage de recherches pour obtenir des résultats concluants. Cependant, Des études empiriques sur l'efficacité du traitement psychothérapeutique ont commencé dans ces cas. Eli Somer (2018), de l’Université d’Haïfa en Israël, a fait état de l’évolution de la psychothérapie chez 25 hommes excessivement rêveurs. Le plan thérapeutique comprenait des interventions comportementales et cognitives ainsi qu'une méditation de style pleine conscience.

Il a duré 6 mois et ses résultats ont été évalués périodiquement. En conclusion, les gens ont réduit de plus de 50% la durée de leurs rêves éveillés, ainsi que le temps passé sur Internet de 70%. Ce dernier a entraîné une amélioration de la fonctionnalité sociale et professionnelle. Cependant, les rêves mésadaptés se sont améliorés dans une moindre proportion, de même que les auto-déclarations sur le plaisir ou la gratification associées aux rêves.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Schupak, C. et Rosenthal, J. (2008). Rêverie excessive: histoire de cas et discussion sur l’esprit vagabond et la grande fantaisie. Récupéré le 27 septembre 2018. Disponible à l'adresse //web.archive.org/web/20121025225258///www.scribd.com/doc/9089146/Excessive-daydreaming-A-case-history-and-discussion-of-mind prédiction-errance-et-haute-fantasy.
  • Somer, E. (2018). Rêverie inadaptée: une enquête qualitative. Journal of Contemporary Prychotherapy, 32 (2/3): 197-212.
  • Somer, E. (2018). Rêverie inadaptée: analyse ontologique, justification du traitement; au rapport de cas pilote. Frontiers in the Psychotherapy and Trauma and Dissociation, 1 (2): 1-22.
  • Somer, E., J. Lehrfeld, J. Bigelsen et D. Jopp (2015). Développement et validation de la MAD (Maladaptative Daydreaming Scale). Conscience et cognition, 39: 77-91.
  • Pietkiewicz, IJ., Nechki, S., Banbura, A. et Tomalski, R. (2018). La rêverie maladaptive comme une nouvelle forme de dépendance au comportement. Jorunal of Behavioral Addiction, 21: 1-6.

Rain Forest Thunder & Rain Sleep Sounds | White Noise 10 Hours (Juin 2020).


Articles Connexes