yes, therapy helps!
Study shows that the basic emotions are four, and not six as was believed

Study shows that the basic emotions are four, and not six as was believed

April 20, 2024

The human being is of emotional nature , and the mood is usually reflected unequivocally in facial expressions.

Four basic emotions (and not six)

There is a popular belief, for years maintained, and that was proposed for the first time by the American psychologist Paul Ekman , says there is a total of six basic emotions or principals that are known worldwide and that are easily decipherable through specific facial expressions, independent of the culture or condition of the person. These emotions, according to Ekman, were: sadness , the happiness , the fear , the go to , the surprise and the disgust.


However, it seems that Ekman erred by including some of them. A recent study published in Current Biology and carried out by researchers from Glasgow University, in the United Kingdom, has changed the paradigm regarding what are the basic emotions of the human being. The study concludes that there are six core emotions, but only four .

The results were obtained by observing the different facial muscles, which scientists have called "Units of Action", involved in the signaling of various emotions, as well as the time during which each muscle performs a contraction or relaxation.

This research is a great start in the objective study of dynamics of facial expressions , and will probably emerge more in the future thanks to the analysis platform developed by Glasgow University.


What are the basic emotions?

The group of scientists from Institute of Neurosciences and Psychology has stated that, although the facial expression signals of happiness and sadness are manifestly different from beginning to end, fear and surprise share a basic signal, eyes wide open, at the beginning of both expressions .

Likewise, disgust and anger have a wrinkled nose in common in the first moments when they are issued . These signals could be adjusted to an ancestral signal that we emit when we are in danger.

The key to emotions is in evolution

The researcher Rachael E. Jack explained in a press release: "The results are consistent with the evolutionary predictions, that is, that the facial signals are designed by evolutionary pressures , both biological and social, in order to optimize its function ".


In addition, he affirms: "The signs of reaction to danger, early signs, confer an advantage, facilitating a quick reaction . On the other hand, the physiological advantages (the wrinkled nose does not allow the inspiration of harmful particles that float in the air, while the open eyes totally increase the perception of visual information that we will then use to flee) are greater when the facial expressions are made earlier. "

"With the passage of generations, and as man moved around the planet, socio-ecological diversity promoted the specialization of certain common facial expressions previously, affecting the variety and typology of signals through cultures," adds Jack.

Cutting-edge technology to analyze the facial movements involved in emotions

A software designed by Philippe Schyns, Hui Yu and Oliver Garrod, to which they gave the name of Generative Face Grammar, use cameras to capture a three-dimensional image of the faces of specifically trained people to mobilize the total forty two facial muscles in an independent way.

By compiling this information, a computer is capable of generating concrete or random facial expressions in a three-dimensional model, based on the activation of different Units of Action, to be able to reproduce any facial expression.

Study on basic emotions

The participants were asked to they watched the three-dimensional model while showing various facial expressions , and they should write down what emotion he was expressing on each occasion. The scientists discriminated Units of Action concrete that in each case the participants associated with a certain emotion.

With the analysis of these variables, they discovered that the facial signals of fear / surprise and anger / disgust tended to get confused in the early moment and only became recognizable a few moments later, when other Units of Action came into play.

Rachael Jack stated:

"Our study discusses the idea that interpersonal communication through emotions is made up of six fundamental, psychologically irreducible categories. Our investigation, then, suggests that there are a total of four fundamental expressions of emotion ”.

Cultural biases in the expression of emotions

Apparently, the architects of the research have proposed to develop this line of study analyzing facial expressions in different cultures, including some East Asian populations that, according to some academics, interpret some of the classic emotions differently , emphasizing the movements of the eye muscles instead of those of the mouth, in comparison with the execution of the emotional movement that we can observe in the West.

Undoubtedly, these new findings should be conveniently contrasted, and the cultural variable will play an essential role when it comes to being able to say with certainty what are the gestures associated with certain emotions. We'll be alert.

Bibliographic references:

  • Rachel E. Jack, Oliver G.B. Garrod, Philippe G. Schyns. Dynamic Facial Expressions of Emotion Transmit an Evolving Hierarchy of Signals over Time. Current Biology (2014). DOI: 10.1016 / j.cub.2013.11.064.
  • Video about the investigation:

Human Emotions Less Complex Than Previously Thought (April 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Une étude montre que les émotions de base sont quatre et non six comme on le croyait

Une étude montre que les émotions de base sont quatre et non six comme on le croyait

Juillet 25, 2022

L'être humain est de nature émotionnelle et l’humeur se reflète généralement dans les expressions faciales.

Quatre émotions de base (et non six)

Il existe une croyance populaire, maintenue pendant des années, et qui a été proposée pour la première fois par le psychologue américain Paul Ekman , dit il y a un total de six émotions de base ou des principes connus dans le monde entier et faciles à déchiffrer par des expressions faciales spécifiques, indépendamment de la culture ou de la condition de la personne. Selon Ekman, ces émotions étaient: la tristesse , le félicité , le la peur , le la colère , le surprise et le dégoût


Cependant, il semble qu'Ekman ait commis une erreur en incluant certains d'entre eux. Une étude récente publiée dans Biologie actuelle et effectué par des chercheurs de l'Université de Glasgow, au Royaume-Uni, a changé le paradigme en ce qui concerne les émotions fondamentales de l'être humain. L’étude conclut qu’il existe six émotions principales, mais seulement quatre .

Les résultats ont été obtenus en observant les différents muscles faciaux, appelés "unités d'action" par les scientifiques, impliqués dans la signalisation d'émotions diverses, ainsi que le temps pendant lequel chaque muscle effectue une contraction ou une relaxation.

Cette recherche est un bon début pour l’étude objective de dynamique des expressions faciales et émergera probablement dans le futur grâce à la plateforme d’analyse développée par l’Université de Glasgow.


Quelles sont les émotions de base?

Le groupe de scientifiques de Institut des neurosciences et de la psychologie a déclaré que, bien que les signes d'expression faciale du bonheur et de la tristesse soient manifestement différents du début à la fin, la peur et la surprise partagent un signal de base, les yeux grands ouverts, au début des deux expressions .

De même le dégoût et la colère ont un nez ridé en commun dans les premiers moments où ils sont émis . Ces signaux pourraient être ajustés à un signal ancestral que nous émettons lorsque nous sommes en danger.

La clé des émotions est en évolution

La chercheuse Rachael E. Jack a expliqué dans un communiqué de presse: "Les résultats sont cohérents avec les prédictions évolutives, à savoir que les signaux faciaux sont conçus par pressions évolutives , à la fois biologique et social, afin d’optimiser sa fonction ".


En outre, il affirme: "Les signes de réaction au danger, les premiers signes, confère un avantage facilitant une réaction rapide . D'autre part, les avantages physiologiques (le nez ridé ne permet pas l'inspiration de particules nocives qui flottent dans l'air, alors que les yeux ouverts augmentent totalement la perception des informations visuelles que nous utiliserons ensuite pour fuir) sont plus importants lorsque les expressions faciales sont faites. plus tôt. "

"Au fil des générations et des déplacements de l'homme sur la planète, la diversité socio-écologique a déjà favorisé la spécialisation de certaines expressions faciales communes, affectant la variété et la typologie des signaux à travers les cultures", ajoute Jack.

Technologie de pointe pour analyser les mouvements du visage impliqués dans les émotions

Un logiciel conçu par Philippe Schyns, Hui Yu et Oliver Garrod, auquel ils ont donné le nom de Grammaire à visage génératif, utilisez des caméras pour capturer une image en trois dimensions des visages de personnes spécialement formées afin de mobiliser le total quarante deux muscles faciaux de manière indépendante.

En compilant ces informations, un ordinateur est capable de générer des expressions faciales concrètes ou aléatoires dans un modèle tridimensionnel, basé sur l'activation de différentes Unités d'action, pour pouvoir reproduire toute expression faciale.

Étude sur les émotions de base

Les participants ont été invités à ils ont regardé le modèle en trois dimensions tout en montrant diverses expressions faciales , et ils devraient noter l’émotion qu’il exprimait à chaque occasion. Les scientifiques discriminés Unités d'action concret que dans chaque cas les participants associés à une certaine émotion.

Avec l'analyse de ces variables, ils ont découvert que les signaux faciaux de peur / surprise et de colère / dégoût avaient tendance à être confus au tout début et n'étaient devenus reconnaissables que quelques instants plus tard, lorsque d'autres unités d'action étaient entrées en jeu.

Rachael Jack a déclaré:

"Notre étude discute de l’idée que la communication interpersonnelle à travers les émotions se compose de six catégories fondamentales, psychologiquement irréductibles. Notre enquête suggère donc que il y a un total de quatre expressions fondamentales de l'émotion ”.

Biais culturels dans l'expression des émotions

Apparemment, les architectes de la recherche ont proposé de développer cette ligne d’étude analysant les expressions faciales dans différentes cultures, y compris certaines populations d’Asie de l’Est qui, selon certains universitaires, interpréter différemment certaines des émotions classiques , en mettant l’accent sur les mouvements des muscles oculaires au lieu de ceux de la bouche, en comparaison avec l’exécution du mouvement émotionnel que nous pouvons observer en Occident.

Il ne fait aucun doute que ces nouvelles découvertes devraient faire l’objet d’une opposition commode et que la variable culturelle jouera un rôle essentiel pour pouvoir dire avec certitude quels sont les gestes associés à certaines émotions. Nous serons attentifs.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Rachel E. Jack, Oliver G.B. Garrod, Philippe G. Schyns. Les expressions faciales dynamiques des émotions transmettent une hiérarchie de signaux en évolution dans le temps. Biologie actuelle (2014). DOI: 10.1016 / j.cub.2013.11.064.
  • Vidéo sur l'enquête:

Are there universal expressions of emotion? - Sophie Zadeh (Juillet 2022).


Articles Connexes