yes, therapy helps!
The 5 side effects of antidepressants

The 5 side effects of antidepressants

September 24, 2022

Since the discovery of the antidepressant effects of monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs) and the popularization of tricyclics, great progress has been made in this area of ​​pharmacotherapy. At present, there are medications with a high degree of efficacy and that cause few adverse reactions.

In this article we will analyze the side effects of the main types of antidepressants : MAOIs, tricyclics, serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs) and fourth-generation antidepressants, including norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs) and serotonin and norepinephrine reuptake inhibitors (SNRIs).


  • Related article: "Types of antidepressants: characteristics and effects"

Side effects of antidepressants

All psychotropic drugs that are effective in treating depressive symptoms are agonists of monoamines, a group of neurotransmitters . Some enhance the action of noradrenaline, while others are related to a greater extent with serotonin. The dual inhibitors IRSN, of recent appearance, are associated to both neurotransmitters.

The side effects of antidepressants are due both to their monoaminergic action and to the idiosyncratic mechanisms of some of them. Although the five classes of drugs we will talk about cause very varied side effects, we will focus on those that appear most frequently and those that have special clinical relevance.


1. Monoamine oxidase inhibitors (MAOIs)

As the name suggests, MAOIs inhibit the activity of the monoamine oxidase enzyme, which breaks down monoamines to prevent them from concentrating excessively in the synaptic space. The blocking of the enzyme caused by these drugs increases the availability of noradrenaline, serotonin and dopamine, which is effective in the treatment of depression.

Currently, MAOIs are rarely used because can cause severe hypertensive crisis if they interact with food with tyramine , like chocolate, coffee or banana; This phenomenon is known as "cheese effect". They also cause milder side effects: heart rhythm disturbances, insomnia, headaches, anorgasmia, weight gain, etc.

  • Maybe you're interested: "Types of psychotropic drugs: uses and side effects"

2. Tricyclic antidepressants

Tricyclic antidepressants, such as clomipramine and imipramine, inhibit the reuptake of serotonin, norepinephrine and, to a lesser extent, dopamine. Its side effects are important and are due mainly to the agonism of noradrenaline and the collateral antagonism of two other neurotransmitters: acetylcholine and histamine.


Among adverse reactions to tricyclics highlights the neuroleptic malignant syndrome , that can cause coma and even death. In addition, excessive sedation, memory problems, constipation, urinary retention, weight gain, hypotension and dizziness appear. There is a strong risk of dependence and excessive consumption can cause overdose.

Scientific research has shown that it is not advisable to take tricyclic antidepressants for prolonged periods of time; Not only are they addictive and cause withdrawal symptoms when they are abandoned, but they have also been found to reduce the number of noradrenaline and serotonin receptors in the long term.

3. Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors (SSRIs)

The name of the SSRIs is because they only interact with serotonin receptors , so that its action is more specific and safe than that of the MAOIs and that of the tricyclics. In addition, although bothersome and unavoidable side effects appear at the beginning of consumption, they tend to be reduced to a certain extent and become more tolerable after one or two weeks of treatment.

Drugs such as fluoxetine, sertraline and citalopram cause anxiety, akathisia, tremors, diarrhea, vomiting and sexual disorders, including decreased desire, difficulty in arousal and delayed orgasm. There is talk of "serotonin syndrome" when these reactions are particularly intense .

  • Related article: "Serotonin syndrome: causes, symptoms and treatment"

4. Selective noradrenaline reuptake inhibitors (ISRN)

Reboxetine is a newly developed drug that is as effective as SSRIs in the treatment of depression symptoms. Its action is related to the selective inhibition of noradrenaline reuptake, and frequently is administered in conjunction with an SSRI in order to enhance the therapeutic effect of both drugs.

The noradrenaline agonism associated with NRTIs is especially effective in treating symptoms such as apathy, deficits in social interaction, and problems of memory and concentration. Its side effects are milder than those of SSRIs; the most common are insomnia, nausea, sweating, constipation and dry mouth.

5. Serotonin and noradrenaline reuptake inhibitors (SNRI)

In recent years, some psychopharmaceuticals have appeared, such as venlafaxine, which combine the specific agonism of serotonin with that of noradrenaline without interacting with other receptors, as with tricyclics, so that associated reactions are scarce. further its therapeutic effects are superior to those of the rest of antidepressants .

Since they act in the same pathways, SNRIs cause side effects similar to those of the other drugs we have mentioned. Other symptoms may include drowsiness or insomnia, headache, dizziness, fatigue, nausea, dry mouth, excessive sweating, memory problems and difficulties to ejaculate and reach orgasm.


What are the side effects of taking medicine for depression? (September 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 5 effets secondaires des antidépresseurs

Les 5 effets secondaires des antidépresseurs

Septembre 25, 2022

Depuis la découverte des effets antidépresseurs des inhibiteurs de la monoamine oxydase (IMAO) et la popularisation des tricycliques, de grands progrès ont été accomplis dans ce domaine de la pharmacothérapie. À l’heure actuelle, il existe des médicaments très efficaces qui ne provoquent que peu d’effets indésirables.

Dans cet article, nous analyserons les effets secondaires des principaux types d'antidépresseurs : IMAO, tricycliques, inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS) et antidépresseurs de quatrième génération, y compris les inhibiteurs de la recapture de la noradrénaline (IRSN) et les inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline (SNRI).


  • Article connexe: "Types d'antidépresseurs: caractéristiques et effets"

Effets secondaires des antidépresseurs

Tous les médicaments psychotropes efficaces pour traiter les symptômes dépressifs sont agonistes de monoamines, un groupe de neurotransmetteurs . Certains renforcent l'action de la noradrénaline, tandis que d'autres sont davantage liés à la sérotonine. Les inhibiteurs doubles IRSN, d'apparition récente, sont associés aux deux neurotransmetteurs.

Les effets secondaires des antidépresseurs sont dus à la fois à leur action monoaminergique et aux mécanismes idiosyncratiques de certains d'entre eux. Bien que les cinq classes de médicaments dont nous parlerons causent des effets secondaires très variés, nous nous concentrerons sur ceux qui apparaissent le plus fréquemment et ceux qui ont une pertinence clinique particulière.


1. Inhibiteurs de la monoamine oxydase (IMAO)

Comme leur nom l'indique, les MAOI inhibent l'activité de l'enzyme monoamine oxydase, qui décompose les monoamines pour les empêcher de se concentrer excessivement dans l'espace synaptique. Le blocage de l'enzyme provoqué par ces médicaments augmente la disponibilité de noradrénaline, sérotonine et dopamine, ce qui est efficace dans le traitement de la dépression.

Actuellement, les IMAO sont rarement utilisés car peut provoquer une crise d'hypertension grave s'ils interagissent avec la nourriture avec la tyramine , comme le chocolat, le café ou la banane; Ce phénomène est appelé "effet de fromage". Ils provoquent également des effets secondaires moins graves: troubles du rythme cardiaque, insomnie, maux de tête, anorgasmie, prise de poids, etc.

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Types de médicaments psychotropes: usages et effets secondaires"

2. antidépresseurs tricycliques

Les antidépresseurs tricycliques, tels que la clomipramine et l’imipramine, inhibent la recapture de la sérotonine, de la noradrénaline et, dans une moindre mesure, de la dopamine. Ses effets secondaires sont importants et sont principalement dus à l'agonisme de la noradrénaline et à l'antagonisme collatéral de deux autres neurotransmetteurs: l'acétylcholine et l'histamine.


Parmi les réactions indésirables aux tricycliques met en évidence le syndrome malin des neuroleptiques , cela peut causer le coma et même la mort. En outre, une sédation excessive, des problèmes de mémoire, une constipation, une rétention urinaire, un gain de poids, une hypotension et des vertiges apparaissent. Il existe un fort risque de dépendance et une consommation excessive peut provoquer un surdosage.

Des recherches scientifiques ont montré qu'il n'était pas conseillé de prendre des antidépresseurs tricycliques pendant des périodes prolongées. Ils créent non seulement une dépendance et provoquent des symptômes de sevrage quand ils sont abandonnés, mais ils ont également permis de réduire le nombre de récepteurs de la noradrénaline et de la sérotonine à long terme.

3. Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la sérotonine (ISRS)

Le nom des ISRS est parce que ils n'interagissent qu'avec les récepteurs de la sérotonine , de sorte que son action est plus spécifique et sûre que celle des IMAO et celle des tricycliques. En outre, bien que des effets secondaires gênants et inévitables apparaissent au début de la consommation, ils ont tendance à être réduits dans une certaine mesure et à devenir plus tolérables après une ou deux semaines de traitement.

Des médicaments tels que la fluoxétine, la sertraline et le citalopram provoquent anxiété, acathisie, tremblements, diarrhée, vomissements et désordres sexuels, y compris diminution du désir, difficulté à l'activation et retard de l'orgasme. On parle de "syndrome sérotoninergique" lorsque ces réactions sont particulièrement intenses .

  • Article connexe: "Syndrome de sérotonine: causes, symptômes et traitement"

4. Inhibiteurs sélectifs de la recapture de la noradrénaline (ISRN)

La réboxétine est un médicament récemment développé qui est aussi efficace que les ISRS dans le traitement des symptômes de la dépression. Son action est liée à l'inhibition sélective de la recapture de la noradrénaline, et fréquemment est administré en conjonction avec un ISRS afin d'améliorer l'effet thérapeutique des deux médicaments.

L'agonisme de la noradrénaline associé aux NRTI est particulièrement efficace dans le traitement de symptômes tels que l'apathie, les déficits d'interaction sociale et les problèmes de mémoire et de concentration. Ses effets secondaires sont plus légers que ceux des ISRS. les plus courantes sont l'insomnie, les nausées, la transpiration, la constipation et la bouche sèche.

5. Inhibiteurs de la recapture de la sérotonine et de la noradrénaline (IRSN)

Ces dernières années, certains psychopharmaceutiques sont apparus, tels que la venlafaxine, qui associe l'agonisme spécifique de la sérotonine à celui de la noradrénaline sans interagir avec d'autres récepteurs, comme les tricycliques, de sorte que les réactions associées sont rares. En outre ses effets thérapeutiques sont supérieurs à ceux du reste des antidépresseurs .

Comme ils agissent dans les mêmes voies, les IRSN provoquent des effets indésirables similaires à ceux des autres médicaments que nous avons mentionnés. La somnolence ou l'insomnie, les maux de tête, les vertiges, la fatigue, les nausées, la bouche sèche, une transpiration excessive, des problèmes de mémoire et des difficultés pour éjaculer et atteindre l'orgasme sont d'autres symptômes.


Antidépresseurs : attention danger ! (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes