yes, therapy helps!
The 8 most effective flu medications

The 8 most effective flu medications

January 22, 2021

The flu is a problem that most people face or have faced one or more times throughout our lives . It is a disease that has the potential to be deadly (in fact throughout history it has been numerous times) but nowadays in societies like ours, it tends not to be more than a nuisance in the majority of cases.

However, treating a flu is more complicated than it seems. In fact, there are no drugs that "cure" the flu, being the medical treatment mainly dedicated to reducing the affectation and the symptoms caused by the fact of suffering it. What medicines for the flu exist and what are they for? In this article, we will briefly explore this question.


Defining the flu

Before going into what medicines are used to alleviate their symptoms, it might be useful to go on to define what is the flu, which at the popular level is often confused with the common cold.

Influenza is understood as a viral infection of the respiratory tract, usually caused by the influenza virus. Although we generally talk about flu as something general, the fact is that the influenza virus mutates easily and different strains and subtypes that generate different types of flu can be found. Specifically, there are three main types: A, B (these two are the most frequent and so-called seasonal flu) and C, although new strains may appear from time to time, as happened with swine flu or bird flu.


The main symptoms of most flu usually include fever, headache, sore throat, runny nose, muscle pain, altered thermal perception and chills. It is frequent that it generates respiratory alterations, like difficulty when inhaling and coughs. In fact, its most important and dangerous complication is pneumonia.

The contagion of this disease can occur in different ways, which usually include contact with fluids of a sick person through nasal, buccal or conjunctival routes. For example, it can be transmitted through saliva or even through the air, such as after a sneeze or a kiss.

Main medications used in people with influenza

As we have indicated previously, the flu does not yet have a curative treatment, and the organism must overcome it on its own. Medical intervention will be based on the fight against symptoms and discomfort generated by this . In this sense, in most cases you can prescribe a series of medicines for influenza that we will mention below.


1. Antivirals

Zanamivir and oseltamivir (better known as tamiflu) have been considered drugs with some effectiveness in preventing the virus from reproducing within the body , being inhibitors of the neuroaminidase enzyme (which allows the release of the virus from the infected cells towards the others). The first one is used inhaled, while the second is given orally.

Although it does not eliminate the infection, in principle it allows controlling its expansion and can also serve as prophylaxis. They produce some improvement and can shorten the time when the virus is in our body, but they are not able to cure the condition. Neither have they shown a real effect in the prevention of respiratory complications.

Because the improvement they imply is limited and in some cases can cause problems and side effects, they are not usually recommended or prescribed. In fact, its effectiveness is considered low and many people consider it a fraud.

2. Analgesics

Since the pain generated by the infection in the throat, head and joints is usually one of the most annoying symptoms, One of the main medications that are prescribed in case of flu are analgesics . Paracetamol stands out as one of the most popular.

3. Antipyretics

Controlling body temperature and fever is also necessary when we are suffering from the flu , so that the group of medicines known as antipyretics have also been used to reduce it.

4. Antihistamines

The improvement of nasal symptoms such as runny nose, although it usually occurs by itself in a few days , can be induced from the application of antihistamines.

5. Analgesic-non-steroidal anti-inflammatories

If we hear this name, it may seem strange to us, but the truth is that it is the group of medicines of which ibuprofen is a part . They serve both as an analgesic and antipyretic, reducing fever and pain. It also has some anti-inflammatory effect.

6. Antitussives

Respiratory conditions are very frequent during the flu, with cough being one of the most common symptoms.That is why sometimes it can be prescribed some antitussive that reduces this symptom, although it is common that they have little effect.

Usually syrups or creams are applied to the skin to release vapors that are going to be inhaled over time. There are other products for this, being one of the most powerful (and reserved for cases where cough is very annoying and generates pain) codeine. On a more natural level you can turn to foods such as honey .

7. Influenza

Despite its name, the flu does not really fight against the viral infection of the flu but focuses on alleviating their symptoms . As a general rule it is the combination of an analgesic, antihistamine and antitussive. They are not usually prescribed at a clinical level, but they are still very popular and reduce a large number of symptoms or the discomfort they generate. They are usually the type of product that we see advertised on television (specifying that they are dedicated to combating the symptoms), existing widely known and used brands.

8. Antibiotics

Although it is not usual, In some cases, the flu can be complicated if, in addition to the virus itself, a bacterial infection is suffered. . In these cases it may be necessary to use antibiotics such as amoxicillin. However, the effect is only in the bacterial infection, not on the flu itself (which is a viral infection on which antibiotics have no effect).

The vaccine as real prevention

Although the treatments that are applied for the flu are not curative but merely palliative, the truth is that we have ways to prevent their contagion. Specifically we are talking about the flu vaccine, which should be applied annually. An inactivated sample of the virus is injected into the body so that the subject's organism generates antibodies that prevent future infections. But nevertheless it must be taken into account that there are multiple viruses that the flu virus is very mutable, resulting in the easy appearance of new strains .

Although a large part of the population does not wear it, it is essential for that population for whom contracting the flu can be a danger. This is the case of the population that has reduced defenses, as occurs with the elderly, children and the chronically ill and / or immunosuppressed (for example, people suffering from HIV infection or diabetes).


How to Treat the Flu or a Cold (January 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Les 8 médicaments anti-grippe les plus efficaces

Les 8 médicaments anti-grippe les plus efficaces

Décembre 7, 2022

La grippe est un problème auquel la plupart des gens sont confrontés ou ont été confrontés une ou plusieurs fois au cours de leur vie. . C’est une maladie qui peut potentiellement être mortelle (en fait, cela a été maintes fois à travers l’histoire), mais de nos jours, dans des sociétés comme la nôtre, elle n’est dans la plupart des cas qu’une nuisance.

Cependant, traiter une grippe est plus compliqué qu'il n'y parait. En fait, il n’existe aucun médicament qui «guérisse» la grippe, c’est le traitement médical principalement destiné à réduire l’affection et les symptômes causés par le fait de la souffrir. Quels médicaments contre la grippe existent et à quoi servent-ils? Dans cet article, nous allons brièvement explorer cette question.


Définir la grippe

Avant d’expliquer quels médicaments sont utilisés pour soulager leurs symptômes, il pourrait être utile de définir ce qu’est la grippe, qui est souvent confondue avec le rhume.

La grippe est comprise comme une infection virale des voies respiratoires, généralement causée par le virus de la grippe. Bien que nous parlions généralement de la grippe en général, le fait est que le virus de la grippe mute facilement et que l'on peut trouver différents types de souches et sous-types qui génèrent différents types de grippe. En particulier, il existe trois types principaux: A, B (les deux plus communs et soi-disant grippe saisonnière) et C, bien que de nouvelles souches puissent apparaître de temps en temps, comme ce fut le cas avec la grippe porcine ou aviaire.


Fièvre, maux de tête, maux de gorge, nez qui coule, douleurs musculaires, altération de la perception thermique et des frissons. Il est fréquent que cela provoque des altérations respiratoires, telles que des difficultés lors de l'inhalation et de la toux. En fait, la pneumonie est sa complication la plus importante et la plus dangereuse.

La contagion de cette maladie peut survenir de différentes manières, notamment par le contact avec les liquides d'un malade par les voies nasale, buccale ou conjonctivale. Par exemple, il peut être transmis par la salive ou même dans les airs, par exemple après un éternuement ou un baiser.

Principaux médicaments utilisés chez les personnes atteintes de la grippe

Comme nous l’avons indiqué précédemment, la grippe n’a pas encore de traitement curatif et l’organisme doit le surmonter seul. L’intervention médicale reposera sur la lutte contre les symptômes et la gêne générés par cette . En ce sens, dans la plupart des cas, vous pouvez prescrire une série de médicaments pour la grippe que nous mentionnerons ci-dessous.


1. Antiviraux

Le zanamivir et l'oseltamivir (mieux connu sous le nom de tamiflu) ont été considérés comme des médicaments efficaces pour empêcher le virus de se reproduire dans le corps. , étant des inhibiteurs de la neuroaminidase (qui permet la libération du virus des cellules infectées vers les autres). Le premier est utilisé par inhalation, tandis que le second est administré oralement.

Bien qu’il n’élimine pas l’infection, il permet en principe de contrôler son expansion et peut également servir de prophylaxie. Ils produisent certaines améliorations et peuvent réduire le temps où le virus est présent dans notre corps, mais ils ne sont pas capables de guérir la maladie. Ils n'ont pas non plus montré d'effet réel dans la prévention des complications respiratoires.

Étant donné que les améliorations qu’elles impliquent sont limitées et peuvent dans certains cas causer des problèmes et des effets indésirables, elles ne sont généralement ni recommandées ni prescrites. En fait, son efficacité est considérée comme faible et beaucoup le considèrent comme une fraude.

2. Analgésiques

Comme la douleur générée par l’infection dans la gorge, la tête et les articulations est généralement l’un des symptômes les plus gênants, Les analgésiques sont l’un des principaux médicaments prescrits en cas de grippe. . Le paracétamol est l’un des plus populaires.

3. Antipyrétiques

Le contrôle de la température corporelle et de la fièvre est également nécessaire lorsque nous souffrons de la grippe , de sorte que le groupe de médicaments appelés antipyrétiques a également été utilisé pour le réduire.

4. antihistaminiques

L’amélioration des symptômes nasaux tels que le nez qui coule, bien que cela se produise normalement en quelques jours , peut être induite par l'application d'antihistaminiques.

5. Anti-inflammatoires antalgiques-non stéroïdiens

Si nous entendons ce nom, cela peut nous paraître étrange, mais la vérité est que c'est le groupe de médicaments dont l'ibuprofène fait partie . Ils servent à la fois d'analgésique et d'antipyrétique, réduisant ainsi la fièvre et la douleur. Il a également un effet anti-inflammatoire.

6. antitussifs

Les affections respiratoires sont très fréquentes pendant la grippe, la toux étant l’un des symptômes les plus courants.C’est pourquoi il est parfois possible de prescrire un antitussif réduisant ce symptôme, bien qu’il soit courant qu’ils aient peu d’effet.

Des sirops ou des crèmes sont généralement appliqués sur la peau pour libérer les vapeurs qui vont être inhalées au fil du temps. Il existe d'autres produits pour cela, étant l'un des plus puissants (et réservé aux cas où la toux est très ennuyeuse et génère de la douleur) la codéine. À un niveau plus naturel, vous pouvez vous tourner vers des aliments tels que le miel .

7. grippe

Malgré son nom, la grippe ne lutte pas vraiment contre l'infection virale de la grippe mais se concentre sur le soulagement de leurs symptômes . En règle générale, il s'agit de la combinaison d'un analgésique, d'un antihistaminique et d'un antitussif. Ils ne sont généralement pas prescrits au niveau clinique, mais ils restent très populaires et réduisent un grand nombre de symptômes ou la gêne qu’ils génèrent. Il s’agit généralement du type de produit que nous voyons annoncé à la télévision (en spécifiant qu’ils sont dédiés à la lutte contre les symptômes), de marques existantes largement connues et utilisées.

8. Antibiotiques

Bien que ce ne soit pas habituel, Dans certains cas, la grippe peut être compliquée si, en plus du virus, une infection bactérienne est subie. . Dans ces cas, il peut être nécessaire d’utiliser des antibiotiques tels que l’amoxicilline. Cependant, l'effet ne concerne que l'infection bactérienne, pas la grippe elle-même (qui est une infection virale sur laquelle les antibiotiques n'ont aucun effet).

Le vaccin comme véritable prévention

Bien que les traitements appliqués contre la grippe ne soient pas curatifs mais simplement palliatifs, la vérité est que nous disposons de moyens pour prévenir leur contagion. Nous parlons plus précisément du vaccin contre la grippe, qui devrait être appliqué chaque année. Un échantillon inactivé du virus est injecté dans le corps de sorte que l'organisme du sujet génère des anticorps qui préviennent les infections futures. Cependant il faut tenir compte du fait que le virus de la grippe est très mutable, ce qui facilite l'apparition de nouvelles souches. .

Bien qu'une grande partie de la population ne le porte pas, il est essentiel pour cette population pour qui le fait de contracter la grippe peut être un danger. C'est le cas de la population qui a des défenses réduites, comme cela se produit chez les personnes âgées, les enfants et les malades chroniques et / ou immunodéprimés (par exemple, les personnes souffrant d'infection à VIH ou de diabète).


11 Remèdes naturels contre la grippe et le rhume-remede naturel c0ns3ils (Décembre 2022).


Articles Connexes