yes, therapy helps!
Color blindness: causes, symptoms, types and characteristics

Color blindness: causes, symptoms, types and characteristics

November 20, 2022

Of all the senses, the view is the most developed in the human being. Being able to see allows us to perceive the stimuli and events that are present around us, and this allows us to analyze and evaluate the situation immediately and be able to react to it, even instinctively.

However, we do not all see it in the same way. Through our eyes we see many things: shapes, depth ... even color. But there are people who are not able to detect any of these properties. It is the case of color blindness , which we will explain what it is and what are its causes.

  • Related article: "Psychology of color: meaning and curiosities of colors"

The perception of color

The human being is able to see thanks to a complex association between light sensitive cells and neurons that transmit and process this information: the visual system. This system is responsible for capturing images through the refraction of light , thanks to which we can capture the elements of the environment in an efficient and effective way. The images are captured by the main organ of vision, the eye, to be later processed at the brain level.


At the moment of capturing an image, light enters the eye through the cornea and crosses the eye until it reaches the retina, in which the image in question is projected inverted.

In the retina there is a series of receivers that allow to capture different aspects of the image, the cones and the canes . While the canes focus on capturing the level of brightness thanks to their extreme sensitivity to light energy, the cones are the main responsible for providing information regarding color.

Located in the fovea, the cones allow us to capture the color thanks to the existence of three pigments inside , which can capture different wavelengths (specifically they contain erythropsin, chloropsin and cyanopsin, which allow to see red, green and blue respectively).


From the retina, the information will be sent to the brain through the optic nerve, to be processed later. Thanks to this we can be able to recognize a large number of different colors, possessing a trichromatic vision. But What happens in the case of a color blind?

  • Maybe you're interested: "Colors and emotions: how do they relate to each other?"

What does it mean to be color blind?

It is considered color blind to that person who shows a severe difficulty or a total absence of the ability to perceive one or more colors. Also called color blindness , color blindness assumes that the eye is not able to capture the wavelength corresponding to a particular color, either because the pigments are not available for it or because they have stopped working correctly.

This causes that, before stimuli that people who enjoy three pigments in their cones see a certain color, the colorblind subject will perceive a different color and will even be unable to perceive the differences between that color and the one that confuses it (for example, you will see green something that the rest sees of the same color, but also what another non-colorblind person would see red).


It is a condition that has been chronic until now , although research in gene therapy may eventually offer some kind of solution to this problem. As a general rule, color blindness is not usually a problem of adaptation and usually does not have great repercussions.

However, this condition disables for the realization of certain professions and activities. For example, although they may have a driving license, professions such as pilot's are vetoed because of the risk of not being able to distinguish certain colors or signs.

Why does this disorder occur?

The causes of this deficiency in the perception of color are found in the absence of certain pigments in the cones of the retina. This absence has in most cases genetic origin, being caused specifically by Alterations linked to the X chromosome .

The fact that the alteration is in this sexual chromosome explains why color blindness is a condition that appears with much more frequency in males. Having these only one X chromosome, to inherit a chromosome with the mutation that causes the color blindness will eventually develop, while in the case of women this only happens in the case that both sex chromosomes have the mutation that generates the color blindness.

In addition to its genetic origin, there are some substances that can also induce it as a side effect , there are some cases of drugs that produce it, such as hydroxychloroquine.

Finally, some cerebrovascular accidents or diseases such as macular degeneration, dementia or diabetes can cause damage that prevents the perception of color, either by an affectation of the retina, the optic nerve or the brain regions in which the information is processed. of color

  • Maybe you're interested: "What is epigenetics? Keys to understanding it"

Types of color blindness

As we have seen, color blindness is defined as the absence or difficulty of perceiving the color of objects. However, people with this problem may have different degrees of difficulty in their detection, as well as can differ the tonalities that they will be able to perceive . Below we expose the most known types of color blindness.

Dicromatisms

The most common type of color blindness is the one produced by the absence of one of the three pigments . Given the impossibility that the pigment in question captures the color, it will be captured through a different wavelength, perceiving another color.

Sometimes this causes two colors to be confused, as in the example of the confusion between red and green . It must be borne in mind that it is not a question of not seeing only one color, but that all the colors that result from the combination of this with others are not perceived correctly.

Likewise, it is possible that the dichromatism only occurs in one of the eyes, having in the other a vision of the trichromatic color. Depending on the type of receiver that does not work properly, you can distinguish three subtypes of dichromatism :

Deuteranopia

The missing pigment is the one that corresponds to the green . Short wavelengths will be perceived as blue, while from a neutral point where you perceive the gray color will begin to perceive different shades of yellow.

Protanopia

The color that is not perceived is this time the red . The subject perceives the short wavelengths as blue, until reaching a neutral point where he perceives the gray color. From this neutral point, as the wavelength increases, different shades of yellow are perceived.

Tritanopia

The blue pigment is the one that works incorrectly in this type of color blindness. It is the less usual subtype and usually causes a greater perceptive loss compared to the previous types. These people perceive the green color before short wavelengths, so from a neutral point start to see red.

Abnormal trichromatism

In this case, the individual has all three types of pigments, but at least one works abnormally and can not perceive color in the same way as a trichromatic.

In this case they require that the intensity of the color be much higher than usual to be able to capture it. It is also common to confuse colors. As with dicromatisms, we can find three types:

  • Deuteranomaly : The green pigment does not work correctly.
  • Protanomaly : red is not perceived in its entirety by the eye.
  • Tritanomaly : this time the color that is not captured correctly is blue.

Monochromatism or Achromatism

People with this strange condition do not have functional cones, unable to perceive color. They can only experience reality in different shades of white, black and gray , basing the totality of his vision on the light detection capacity of the rods.

Diagnosis

One of the most used tools to diagnose color blindness is the color test of Ishihara . This tool consists of a series of images created with several very close points that, from the different patterns of their coloration, form an image. People with some type of color blindness have difficulty seeing the image that is formed, since beyond the color of the points there is nothing that gives clues about the shape of that figure.

However, we must remember that the diagnosis can only be made by specialists who examine each case in particular.

Bibliographic references:

  • Adams, A.J .; Verdon, W.A. & Spivey, B.E. (2013) Color vision. In: Tasman, W. & Jaeger EA, eds. Duane's Foundations of Clinical Ophthalmology. vol. 2. Philadelphia, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
  • Goldstein, E.B. (2006). Sensation and perception, 6th edition. Debate: Madrid.
  • Wiggs, J.L. (2014). Molecular genetics of selected ocular disorders. In: Yanoff M, Duker JS, eds. Ophthalmology. 4th ed. St. Louis, MO: Elsevier Saunders.

What Causes Color Blindness? (November 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Daltonisme: causes, symptômes, types et caractéristiques

Daltonisme: causes, symptômes, types et caractéristiques

Novembre 17, 2022

De tous les sens, la vue est la plus développée chez l'homme. Être capable de voir nous permet de percevoir les stimuli et les événements présents autour de nous, ce qui nous permet d'analyser et d'évaluer la situation immédiatement et de pouvoir y réagir, même de manière instinctive.

Cependant, nous ne le voyons pas tous de la même manière. À travers nos yeux, nous voyons beaucoup de choses: formes, profondeur, même couleurs. Mais il y a des gens qui ne peuvent détecter aucune de ces propriétés. C'est le cas du daltonisme , que nous allons expliquer ce que c'est et quelles sont ses causes.

  • Article connexe: "Psychologie de la couleur: signification et curiosité des couleurs"

La perception de la couleur

L'être humain est capable de voir grâce à une association complexe de cellules sensibles à la lumière et de neurones qui transmettent et traitent cette information: le système visuel. Ce système est responsable de la capture d'images par réfraction de la lumière , grâce à laquelle nous pouvons capturer les éléments de l’environnement de manière efficace. Les images sont capturées par l'organe principal de la vision, l'œil, pour être ensuite traitées au niveau du cerveau.


Au moment de capturer une image, la lumière pénètre dans l'œil à travers la cornée et traverse l'œil jusqu'à atteindre la rétine, dans laquelle l'image en question est projetée à l'envers.

Dans la rétine, il existe une série de récepteurs qui permettent de capturer différents aspects de l’image, les cônes et les cannes . Alors que les cannes se concentrent sur la capture du niveau de luminosité grâce à leur extrême sensibilité à l’énergie lumineuse, les cônes sont les principaux responsables de la fourniture d’informations sur la couleur.

Situés dans la fovéa, les cônes nous permettent de capturer la couleur grâce à l'existence de trois pigments à l'intérieur , qui peuvent capturer différentes longueurs d’onde (en particulier, ils contiennent de l’érythropsine, de la chloropsine et de la cyanopsine, qui permettent respectivement de voir le rouge, le vert et le bleu).


De la rétine, les informations seront envoyées au cerveau par le nerf optique, pour être traitées ultérieurement. Grâce à cela, nous pouvons être capables de reconnaître un grand nombre de couleurs différentes, possédant une vision trichrome. Mais Que se passe-t-il dans le cas d'un daltonien?

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé par: "Couleurs et émotions: quels liens ont-elles entre elles?"

Qu'est-ce que cela signifie d'être daltonien?

Il est considéré comme daltonien pour la personne présentant une difficulté grave ou une absence totale de la capacité à percevoir une ou plusieurs couleurs. Aussi appelé daltonisme Le daltonisme suppose que l’œil n’est pas capable de capturer la longueur d’onde correspondant à une couleur particulière, soit parce que les pigments ne sont pas disponibles, soit parce qu’ils ne fonctionnent plus correctement.

Cela fait en sorte que, avant de stimuler les personnes qui aiment trois pigments dans leurs cônes voient une certaine couleur, le sujet daltonien percevra une couleur différente et sera même incapable de percevoir les différences entre cette couleur et celle qui la confond (par exemple, vous verrez quelque chose de vert que le reste voit de la même couleur, mais aussi ce qu'une autre personne non daltonienne verrait en rouge).


C'est une condition qui a été chronique jusqu'à maintenant , bien que les recherches en thérapie génique puissent éventuellement offrir une solution à ce problème. En règle générale, le daltonisme n'est généralement pas un problème d'adaptation et n'a généralement pas de grandes répercussions.

Cependant, cette condition invalide pour la réalisation de certains métiers et activités. Par exemple, bien qu'ils puissent avoir un permis de conduire, des professions telles que celle de pilote font l'objet d'un veto, en raison du risque de ne pas être en mesure de distinguer certaines couleurs ou certains signes.

Pourquoi ce trouble survient-il?

Les causes de cette déficience dans la perception de la couleur se trouvent en l'absence de certains pigments dans les cônes de la rétine. Cette absence a dans la plupart des cas une origine génétique, causée spécifiquement par Altérations liées au chromosome X .

Le fait que l'altération se trouve dans ce chromosome sexuel explique pourquoi le daltonisme est une affection qui apparaît beaucoup plus fréquemment chez les hommes. N'ayant qu'un seul chromosome X, un chromosome hérité de la mutation qui cause le daltonisme finira par se développer, tandis que chez la femme, cela ne se produit que dans le cas où les deux chromosomes sexuels présentent la mutation générant le daltonisme.

Outre son origine génétique, il existe certains les substances qui peuvent aussi induire comme un effet secondaire , il existe des cas de médicaments qui le produisent, tels que l'hydroxychloroquine.

Enfin, certains accidents cérébrovasculaires ou maladies telles que la dégénérescence maculaire, la démence ou le diabète peuvent causer des lésions qui empêchent la perception de la couleur, soit par une atteinte de la rétine, du nerf optique ou du cerveau dans lesquelles l'information est traitée. de couleur

  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Qu'est-ce que l'épigénétique? Des clés pour la comprendre"

Types de daltonisme

Comme nous l'avons vu, le daltonisme est défini comme l'absence ou la difficulté à percevoir la couleur des objets. Cependant, les personnes atteintes de ce problème peuvent avoir différents degrés de difficulté dans leur détection, ainsi que peuvent différer les tonalités qu'ils seront capables de percevoir . Ci-dessous, nous exposons les types de daltonisme les plus connus.

Dicromatismes

Le type le plus commun de daltonisme est celui produit par l'absence d'un des trois pigments . Étant donné l'impossibilité pour le pigment en question de capturer la couleur, il sera capturé par une longueur d'onde différente, en percevant une autre couleur.

Parfois, cela confond deux couleurs, comme dans l'exemple de la confusion entre le rouge et le vert . Il ne faut pas oublier qu'il ne s'agit pas de ne pas voir une seule couleur, mais que toutes les couleurs résultant de la combinaison de cette couleur avec d'autres ne sont pas perçues correctement.

De même, il est possible que le dichromatisme ne se produise que dans l'un des yeux, ayant dans l'autre une vision de la couleur trichromatique. Selon le type de récepteur qui ne fonctionne pas correctement, vous pouvez distinguer trois sous-types de dichromatisme :

Deutéranopie

Le pigment manquant est celui qui correspond au vert . Les courtes longueurs d'onde seront perçues en bleu, tandis que d'un point neutre où vous percevrez la couleur grise, elles commenceront à percevoir différentes nuances de jaune.

Protanopia

La couleur qui n'est pas perçue est cette fois le rouge . Le sujet perçoit les courtes longueurs d'onde comme du bleu, jusqu'à atteindre un point neutre où il perçoit la couleur grise. A partir de ce point neutre, à mesure que la longueur d'onde augmente, différentes nuances de jaune sont perçues.

Tritanopia

Le pigment bleu est celui qui fonctionne mal dans ce type de daltonisme. C'est le sous-type le moins courant et provoque généralement une perte de perception supérieure à celle des types précédents. Ces personnes perçoivent la couleur verte avant les courtes longueurs d’ondes et commencent donc à voir du rouge à partir d’un point neutre.

Trichromatisme anormal

Dans ce cas, l’individu a les trois types de pigments, mais au moins on travaille anormalement et ne peut pas percevoir la couleur de la même manière qu’un trichrome.

Dans ce cas, ils ont besoin que l'intensité de la couleur soit beaucoup plus élevée que d'habitude pour pouvoir la capturer. Il est également courant de confondre les couleurs. Comme avec les dicromatismes, on peut en trouver trois types:

  • Deutéranomalie : Le pigment vert ne fonctionne pas correctement.
  • Protanomalie : le rouge n'est pas perçu intégralement par l'œil.
  • Tritanomalie : cette fois la couleur qui n'est pas capturée correctement est le bleu.

Monochromatisme ou achromatisme

Les personnes atteintes de cette maladie étrange n'ont pas de cônes fonctionnels, incapables de percevoir les couleurs. Ils peuvent seulement vivez la réalité dans différentes nuances de blanc, de noir et de gris , fondant la totalité de sa vision sur la capacité de détection de la lumière des crayons.

Diagnostic

L’un des outils les plus utilisés pour diagnostiquer le daltonisme est le test de couleur d'Ishihara . Cet outil consiste en une série d’images créées avec plusieurs points très proches qui, à partir des différents motifs de leur coloration, forment une image. Les personnes daltoniennes ont du mal à voir l’image qui se forme, car au-delà de la couleur des points, rien n’indique la forme de la figure.

Cependant, nous devons nous rappeler que le diagnostic ne peut être posé que par des spécialistes qui examinent chaque cas en particulier.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Adams, A.J.; Verdon, W.A. & Spivey, B.E. (2013) vision des couleurs. Dans: Tasman, W. & Jaeger EA, eds. Fondements d'ophtalmologie clinique de Duane. vol. 2. Philadelphie, PA: Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
  • Goldstein, E.B. (2006). Sensation et perception, 6ème édition. Débat: Madrid.
  • Wiggs, J.L. (2014). Génétique moléculaire de certains troubles oculaires. Dans: Yanoff M, Duker JS, eds. Ophtalmologie. 4ème éd. St. Louis, MO: Elsevier Saunders.

Secrets of the X chromosome - Robin Ball (Novembre 2022).


Articles Connexes