yes, therapy helps!
Cerebral angiography: what is it and what disorders can it detect?

Cerebral angiography: what is it and what disorders can it detect?

December 31, 2022

All our organs require the performance of the cardiovascular system to survive, because thanks to it they receive the oxygen and nutrients necessary for their survival and proper functioning.

This includes our nervous system, which requires a continuous contribution of these elements. But sometimes there may be alterations that damage the vascular system that supplies the brain or symptoms that suggest the existence of such damage.

Therefore it is necessary to have different techniques that allow us to observe and analyze the blood flow of the brain, being one of the best known cerebral angiography .

  • Recommended article: "The 15 most common neurological disorders"

What is a cerebral angiography?

Cerebral angiography is a medical evaluation technique that allows the study and analysis of brain flow and the health of the cerebrovascular system. It is a technique in which X-rays are used to visualize by injecting a contrast into the main cerebral blood vessels the flow and the state of the circulatory system. The images obtained are generally very clear and allow to identify with precision alterations in the blood circulation of the encephalon.


The procedure is as follows: after placing the patient on the X-ray table, the head is immobilized and a sedative is administered while the cardiac activity is monitored. After this, the patient is inserted a catheter in the arteries of the arm or leg, which will be guided by the artery to the neck with the help of X-rays. Once there, a contrast solution is injected through the catheter. to later take images of the blood circulation through radiographs. After that, and unless there is to be some type of intervention through it, the catheter is removed and pressure is applied in the area where it was inserted to prevent bleeding.


Although in general it is used as a technique for the diagnosis and monitoring of cerebrovascular disorders, the fact that a catheter is used to perform it allows, in addition, therapeutic procedures such as drug delivery to be used, thus avoiding need for other treatments.

Types

Cerebral angiography is a technique that has several variants depending on the mechanisms used to assess the state of the patient's blood vessels. Some of the best known are the following .

1. Conventional angiography (by digital intraarterial subtraction)

This is the procedure previously explained, in which the catheter is placed in the artery and guided to its objective. It is an invasive procedure that is usually the most common due to its effectiveness and the high level of clarity it allows. The catheter is usually inserted through the femoral route, through the groin to the aortic arch, where after a first injection of contrast, the catheter is placed in the artery that needs to be analyzed.


With regard to digital subtraction, it refers to the fact that frequently in the radiographs the skull is digitally removed from the image taken, so that the image of the blood vessels can be observed more clearly.

2. Helical computed tomography angiography

In this case, no type of catheter is introduced into the body of the subject, but it requires the injection of a contrast in order to obtain the image by CT. It is less invasive than its conventional counterpart.

3. Magnetic resonance angiography

In this type of angiography, no catheter is used, not being an invasive technique. It involves performing an MRI, not using radiation as in other cases.

What allows to diagnose?

Brain angiography is a test that even today It is used as one of the main ones to observe the circulatory flow and the state of the blood vessels of the brain . There are many disorders and diseases that the application of this technique allows to observe.

1. Stroke or stroke

Angiography allows to observe the existence of extravasation and ruptures of blood vessels, or the absence or obstruction of circulation in some area of ​​the brain. It is because of that this is a valid technique to detect ischemia and to visualize cerebral hemorrhages . (More information about strokes).

2. Aneurysms

The use of angiography allows detecting the presence of aneurysms , bulges of the arterial wall filled with blood and relatively weak wall that can break. (More information on aneurysms).

3. Tumors

The presence of tumors in the brain tends to cause alterations in the blood flow of the brain , as well as cause phenomena such as strokes. Therefore, angiography allows to observe the presence of abnormalities generated by the presence of tumors. (More information on brain tumors).

4. Malformations

The existence of congenital malformations, as occurs in the AVM, can also be assessed by means of this evaluation and diagnostic technique.

5. Arterial or venous alterations

Through brain angiography can be seen if the blood vessels of the brain are in good health, if they are inflamed or if there are disorders such as atherosclerosis.

6. Brain death

Cerebral angiography is also used to evaluate whether or not brain death exists. Specifically, it is evaluated whether or not there is blood flow, observing an absence of irrigation in cases of brain death.

7. Other disorders

There is the possibility of observing, through cerebral angiofraphy, the presence of different disorders and diseases apart from those previously mentioned. For example, alterations can be found in neurosyphilis, or in people with disorders such as Kleine-Levine syndrome.

Risks and possible side effects of this technique

Cerebral angiography is a generally safe technique and does not tend to cause complications , but this does not prevent it from having risks and adverse side effects that can cause alterations of varying severity.

One of the risks is given the possibility that there is allergy to the applied contrast agent in the patient (usually iodized). Also, this could cause discomfort or even destruction of some tissues if extravasated out of the vein. It can also be risky or harmful for people with kidney problems or diabetes.

The existence of symptoms such as tingling, breathing difficulties, vision problems, infection of the route through which the catheter has entered, problems of control of the extremity in which it has been inserted, speech problems or hemiparesis are a sign that There may be some kind of complication to be treated quickly.

Finally, a special precaution is necessary in the case of pregnant or lactating women, since the radiation emitted could be harmful. It can also happen that a tear of the artery that generates some type of hemorrhage or clots that can clog the vessel is caused, although it is something very uncommon.

Bibliographic references:

  • Camargo, M .; Peralta, A .; Arias, W .; Mercado, C .; Laguna, Y .; Cuellar, J .; Laforcada, C .; Paz, G .; Durán, J.C .; Aramayo, M .; Fortún, F. & Núñez, H. (s.f.). Cerebrovascular Accident Protocol. Bolivian Society of Neurology.
  • Millán, J.M. & Campollo, J. (2000). Diagnostic value of cerebral angiography in the confirmation of brain death. Advantages and disadvantages. Med. Intensive, 24 (3); 135-141. Madrid.
  • Daroff, R.B .; Jankovic, J .; Mazziotta, J.C. and Pomeroy S.L. (2016). Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7th ed. Philadelphia, PA: Elsevier.

Coronary Angiography | Cardiac Catheterization | Nucleus Health (December 2022).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
L'angiographie cérébrale: de quoi s'agit-il et quels troubles peut-elle détecter?

L'angiographie cérébrale: de quoi s'agit-il et quels troubles peut-elle détecter?

Septembre 26, 2022

Tous nos organes ont besoin des performances du système cardiovasculaire pour survivre, car ils reçoivent l’oxygène et les nutriments nécessaires à leur survie et à leur bon fonctionnement.

Cela inclut notre système nerveux, ce qui nécessite un apport continu de ces éléments. Mais parfois, il peut y avoir des altérations qui endommagent le système vasculaire qui alimente le cerveau ou des symptômes qui suggèrent l'existence de tels dommages.

Par conséquent, il est nécessaire de disposer de différentes techniques nous permettant d’observer et d’analyser le flux sanguin cérébral. une des angiographies cérébrales les plus connues .

  • Article recommandé: "Les 15 troubles neurologiques les plus courants"

Qu'est-ce qu'une angiographie cérébrale?

L'angiographie cérébrale est une technique d'évaluation médicale qui permet d'étudier et d'analyser le flux cérébral et la santé du système cérébro-vasculaire. C'est une technique dans laquelle Les rayons X permettent de visualiser en injectant un contraste dans les principaux vaisseaux sanguins cérébraux le débit et l'état du système circulatoire. Les images obtenues sont généralement très claires et permettent d'identifier avec précision les altérations de la circulation sanguine de l'encéphale.


La procédure est la suivante: après avoir placé le patient sur la table de radiographie, la tête est immobilisée et un sédatif est administré tout en surveillant l’activité cardiaque. Après cela, le patient est inséré un cathéter dans les artères du bras ou de la jambe, qui sera guidé par l'artère jusqu'au cou à l'aide de rayons X. Une fois là-bas, une solution de contraste est injectée à travers le cathéter. de prendre plus tard des images de la circulation sanguine à travers des radiographies. Ensuite, le cathéter est retiré et une pression est exercée dans la zone où il a été inséré pour empêcher le saignement.


Bien qu’il soit en général utilisé comme technique de diagnostic et de surveillance des troubles cérébro-vasculaires, le fait qu’il soit utilisé avec un cathéter permet en outre d’utiliser des procédures thérapeutiques telles que la délivrance de médicaments, ce qui évite besoin d'autres traitements.

Types

L'angiographie cérébrale est une technique qui comporte plusieurs variantes en fonction des mécanismes utilisés pour évaluer l'état des vaisseaux sanguins du patient. Certains des plus connus sont les suivants .

1. Angiographie conventionnelle (par soustraction intra-artérielle numérique)

C'est la procédure expliquée précédemment, dans laquelle le cathéter est placé dans l'artère et guidé vers son objectif. C'est une procédure invasive qui est généralement la plus courante en raison de son efficacité et du haut niveau de clarté qu'elle permet. Le cathéter est généralement inséré par la voie fémorale, de l'aine jusqu'à l'arc aortique, où, après une première injection de contraste, le cathéter est placé dans l'artère à analyser.


En ce qui concerne la soustraction numérique, elle fait référence au fait que, fréquemment, dans les radiographies, le crâne est numériquement retiré de l’image prise, de sorte que l’image des vaisseaux sanguins puisse être observée plus clairement.

2. Angiographie par tomodensitométrie hélicoïdale

Dans ce cas, aucun type de cathéter n'est introduit dans le corps du sujet, mais cela nécessite l'injection d'un contraste pour obtenir l'image par CT. Il est moins invasif que son homologue conventionnel.

3. Angiographie par résonance magnétique

Dans ce type d'angiographie, aucun cathéter n'est utilisé, ce n'est pas une technique invasive. Il s’agit de réaliser une IRM, sans utiliser de radiation comme dans d’autres cas.

Qu'est-ce qui permet de diagnostiquer?

L'angiographie cérébrale est un test que même aujourd'hui Il est utilisé comme l'un des principaux observateurs du flux circulatoire et de l'état des vaisseaux sanguins du cerveau. . L'application de cette technique permet d'observer de nombreux troubles et maladies.

1. AVC ou AVC

L'angiographie permet d'observer l'existence d'une extravasation et de ruptures de vaisseaux sanguins, ou encore l'absence ou l'obstruction de la circulation dans certaines zones du cerveau. C'est pourquoi c'est une technique valable pour détecter l'ischémie et visualiser les hémorragies cérébrales . (Plus d'informations sur les accidents vasculaires cérébraux).

2. Anévrismes

L'utilisation de l'angiographie permet de détecter la présence d'anévrismes , des renflements de la paroi artérielle remplis de sang et une paroi relativement faible qui peut se briser. (Plus d'informations sur les anévrismes).

3. Tumeurs

La présence de tumeurs dans le cerveau a tendance à provoquer des altérations du flux sanguin cérébral. , ainsi que provoquer des phénomènes tels que les accidents vasculaires cérébraux. Par conséquent, l'angiographie permet d'observer la présence d'anomalies générées par la présence de tumeurs. (Plus d'informations sur les tumeurs cérébrales).

4. Malformations

L'existence de malformations congénitales, comme cela se produit dans le MAV, peut également être évaluée au moyen de cette technique d'évaluation et de diagnostic.

5. Altérations artérielles ou veineuses

L'angiographie cérébrale permet de visualiser si les vaisseaux sanguins cérébraux sont en bonne santé, s'ils sont enflammés ou s'il existe des troubles tels que l'athérosclérose.

6. La mort cérébrale

L'angiographie cérébrale est également utilisée pour évaluer s'il existe ou non une mort cérébrale. Plus précisément, il est évalué s'il y a ou non circulation sanguine, en observant une absence d'irrigation en cas de mort cérébrale.

7. Autres troubles

Il est possible d’observer, par angiofraphie cérébrale, la présence de différents troubles et maladies autres que ceux mentionnés précédemment. Par exemple, des altérations peuvent être observées dans la neurosyphilis ou chez des personnes atteintes de troubles tels que le syndrome de Kleine-Levine.

Risques et effets secondaires possibles de cette technique

L'angiographie cérébrale est une technique généralement sans danger et n'a pas tendance à causer de complications. , mais cela ne l’empêche pas d’avoir des risques et des effets secondaires indésirables pouvant entraîner des altérations de gravité variable.

L'un des risques est la possibilité d'une allergie au produit de contraste appliqué chez le patient (généralement iodé). En outre, cela pourrait provoquer une gêne, voire la destruction de certains tissus si extravasé hors de la veine. Il peut également être risqué ou dangereux pour les personnes souffrant de problèmes rénaux ou de diabète.

L’existence de symptômes tels que picotements, difficultés respiratoires, problèmes de vision, infection de la voie par laquelle le cathéter est entré, des problèmes de contrôle de l’extrémité dans laquelle il a été inséré, des problèmes de Il peut y avoir une sorte de complication à traiter rapidement.

Enfin, une précaution spéciale est nécessaire dans le cas des femmes enceintes ou allaitantes, car les radiations émises pourraient être nocives. Il peut également arriver qu’une déchirure de l’artère générant un type d’hémorragie ou des caillots pouvant obstruer le vaisseau soit provoquée, bien que ce soit quelque chose de très rare.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Camargo, M .; Peralta, A .; Arias, W.; Mercado, C; Laguna, Y .; Cuellar, J .; Laforcada, C .; Paz, G .; Durán, J.C .; Aramayo, M .; Fortún, F. & Núñez, H. (s.f.). Protocole d'accident vasculaire cérébral. Société bolivienne de neurologie.
  • Millán, J.M. & Campollo, J. (2000). Valeur diagnostique de l'angiographie cérébrale dans la confirmation de la mort cérébrale. Avantages et inconvénients. Med Intensif, 24 (3); 135-141. Madrid
  • Daroff, R. B.; Jankovic, J .; Mazziotta, J.C. et Pomeroy S.L. (2016). Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice. 7ème éd. Philadelphie, PA: Elsevier.

Rupture d'anévrisme : soigner le cerveau sans ouvrir le crâne - Allô Docteurs (Septembre 2022).


Articles Connexes