yes, therapy helps!
Erich Fromm: biography of the father of humanistic psychoanalysis

Erich Fromm: biography of the father of humanistic psychoanalysis

November 27, 2021

Normally psychoanalysis has been associated with a pessimistic view of the human being, according to which our behavior and thoughts are directed by unconscious forces that we can not control and that anchor us to our past.

This idea has to do with the psychoanalytic conception of Sigmund Freud, but this is not the only one.

Once psychoanalysis had settled in Europe, other proposals of this psychologogical current were appearing, some of which emphasized our capacity to become free and decide our life trajectory. The humanistic psychoanalysis of Erich Fromm is an example of this . Today, in this biography, we will explain who this important psychoanalyst was.


Who was Erich Fromm? This is his biography

Erich Fromm was born in Frankfurt in the year 1900 . He belonged to a family related to Orthodox Judaism, which made him inclined to begin Talmudic studies during his youth, although he later preferred to train both in the psychoanalysis of Sigmund Freud and in the theoretical legacy of Karl Marx , which made him approach the ideas of socialism and doctorate in sociology.

During the 1930s, when the Nazis took control of Germany, Erich Fromm moved to New York, where he opened a clinical practice based on psychoanalysis and began teaching at Columbia University. From that moment he was popularizing a psychoanalysis with strong influences of humanistic philosophy, which emphasized the ability of the human being to become more free and autonomous through personal development.


Humanist psychoanalysis

When psychology was born in the second half of the 19th century, the first efforts of this first generation of researchers were aimed at understanding the basic functioning of mental processes. This involved asking about issues such as the origin of mental illness, the functioning of thresholds of consciousness, or learning processes.

Until the consolidation of psychoanalysis in Europe, psychologists left aside the problems related to the way in which we consider our life trajectory, our past and our possible future affect us emotionally and in our decision making.

Discovering the importance of the unconscious

Psychoanalysis, in a way, h had introduced a more metapsychological approach (or close to philosophy) in psychotherapeutic practice . However, the initial current of thought from which it started this underlined much the power of the unconscious on the individual, on the one hand, and was very focused on giving explanations about traumas and mental disorders, on the other.


Erich Fromm started from the focus of psychoanalysis to turn him towards a much more humanistic vision of the human being . For Fromm, the human psyche could not be explained simply by proposing ideas about how we do it to combine our unconscious desires with the pressure of the environment and culture, but to understand it we must also know how we do it to find the meaning of the life, as proposed by the existentialists.

Life is not made to suffer

Erich Fromm did not distance himself from the perspective focused on the illness of other psychoanalysts because he thought that life could be lived apart from discomfort and suffering. The optimism of his humanistic vision of things was not expressed through the denial of pain, but through a very powerful idea: that we can make it bearable by giving it meaning. This idea, by the way, he shared with other humanist psychologists of the time such as Viktor Frankl.

Life, said Fromm, is irremediably linked to moments of frustration, pain and discomfort, but we can decide how to make that affect us. The most important project of each person would be, according to this psychoanalyst, to make these moments of discomfort fit in the construction of ourselves, that is, personal development.

Erich Fromm, about the ability to love

Erich Fromm believed that the main source of human discomfort comes from the friction between the individual and others . This constant tension starts from an apparent contradiction: on the one hand we want to be free in a world where we live with many other agents, and on the other we want to draw emotional ties with others, be linked to them.

Expressed in its terms, it could be said that a part of our self is made to be in union with others.However, by our very nature as beings with a body different from others, we are separated from the rest and, to a certain extent, isolated.

Erich Fromm believed that This conflict can be addressed by developing our capacity to love . Love the same way to others and all those things that make us a unique person, with all its imperfections. These ambitious missions were, in fact, a single project, consisting of developing love towards life itself, and this was reflected in the famous work The art of love, published in 1956.

Psychoanalysis to explore human potential

In short, Fromm dedicated his work to examine the range of possibilities that the humanistic conception of life could provide not only to the techniques to reduce suffering in specific situations that generate discomfort, but also to the strategies to intervent these episodes of suffering in a vital project full of meaning .

His psychoanalytic proposals are thus far from the first psychoanalysis aimed at making people suffer as little as possible, and prefer to focus on the development of the maximum potential of people in a process that, in itself, we could call "happiness". That's why, even today, the reading of Erich Fromm's works are very popular because they are considered inspiring and with a rich philosophical background .


Audiobook Narrator Ed Waldorph BEYOND FREUD Eric Fromm (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Erich Fromm: biographie du père de la psychanalyse humaniste

Erich Fromm: biographie du père de la psychanalyse humaniste

Décembre 6, 2019

Normalement, la psychanalyse a été associée à une vision pessimiste de l'être humain, selon laquelle notre comportement et nos pensées sont dirigés par des forces inconscientes que nous ne pouvons pas contrôler et qui nous ancrent à notre passé.

Cette idée a à voir avec la conception psychanalytique de Sigmund Freud, mais ce n'est pas la seule.

Une fois la psychanalyse installée en Europe, d'autres propositions de ce courant psychologique apparaissaient, certaines soulignant notre capacité à devenir libre et à décider de notre trajectoire de vie. La psychanalyse humaniste d’Erich Fromm en est un exemple. . Aujourd'hui, dans cette biographie, nous expliquerons qui était cet important psychanalyste.


Qui était Erich Fromm? C'est sa biographie

Erich Fromm est né à Francfort en 1900. . Il appartenait à une famille liée au judaïsme orthodoxe, ce qui l’avait incité à commencer des études talmudiques dans sa jeunesse, bien qu’il ait préféré ultérieurement se former à la psychanalyse de Sigmund Freud et à l’héritage théorique de Karl Marx , ce qui lui a fait aborder les idées de socialisme et de doctorat en sociologie.

Dans les années 1930, lorsque les nazis ont pris le contrôle de l'Allemagne, Erich Fromm s'est installé à New York, où il a ouvert une pratique clinique basée sur la psychanalyse et a commencé à enseigner à l'Université Columbia. À partir de ce moment, il vulgarisait une psychanalyse fortement influencée par la philosophie humaniste, qui mettait l'accent sur la capacité de l'être humain à devenir plus libre et autonome par le développement personnel.


Psychanalyse humaniste

Lorsque la psychologie est née dans la seconde moitié du 19e siècle, les premiers efforts de cette première génération de chercheurs visaient à comprendre le fonctionnement de base des processus mentaux. Cela impliquait de poser des questions sur des questions telles que l'origine de la maladie mentale, le fonctionnement des seuils de conscience ou les processus d'apprentissage.

Jusqu'à la consolidation de la psychanalyse en Europe, les psychologues ont laissé de côté les problèmes liés à la manière dont nous considérons notre trajectoire de vie, notre passé et notre avenir possible nous affectent émotionnellement et dans notre prise de décision.

Découvrir l'importance de l'inconscient

La psychanalyse, en quelque sorte, h avait introduit une approche plus métapsychologique (ou proche de la philosophie) dans la pratique psychothérapeutique . Cependant, le courant de pensée initial à partir duquel elle a débuté a beaucoup souligné le pouvoir de l'inconscient sur l'individu, et était très axé sur l'explication des traumatismes et des troubles mentaux, de l'autre.


Erich Fromm est parti de la psychanalyse pour le transformer en une vision beaucoup plus humaniste de l'être humain. . Pour Fromm, on ne pourrait expliquer le psychisme humain simplement en proposant des idées sur la manière de le faire pour associer ses désirs inconscients à la pression de l'environnement et de la culture, mais pour le comprendre, nous devons également savoir comment nous le faisons pour trouver le sens du mot. la vie, comme proposé par les existentialistes.

La vie n'est pas faite pour souffrir

Erich Fromm ne s'est pas éloigné de la perspective axée sur la maladie d'autres psychanalystes, car il pensait que la vie pouvait être vécue sans le malaise et la souffrance. L’optimisme de sa vision humaniste des choses ne s’exprime pas à travers le déni de la douleur, mais à travers une idée très puissante: que nous pouvons la rendre supportable en lui donnant un sens. Il a d'ailleurs partagé cette idée avec d'autres psychologues humanistes de l'époque, tels que Viktor Frankl.

La vie, a déclaré Fromm, est irrémédiablement liée à des moments de frustration, de douleur et de malaise, mais nous pouvons décider de la façon dont cela nous affectera. Selon ce psychanalyste, le projet le plus important de chaque personne serait de faire en sorte que ces moments d'inconfort correspondent à la construction de nous-mêmes, c'est-à-dire au développement personnel.

Erich Fromm, à propos de la capacité d'aimer

Erich Fromm a estimé que la friction entre l’individu et les autres constituait la principale source de gêne humaine. . Cette tension constante part d'une apparente contradiction: d'une part, nous voulons être libres dans un monde où nous vivons avec de nombreux autres agents et, d'autre part, nous souhaitons établir des liens affectifs avec d'autres, y être liés.

Exprimé dans ses termes, on pourrait dire qu’une partie de notre moi est faite pour être en union avec d’autres.Cependant, de par notre nature même en tant qu'êtres dotés d'un corps différent des autres, nous sommes séparés des autres et, dans une certaine mesure, isolés.

Erich Fromm croyait que Ce conflit peut être résolu en développant notre capacité à aimer . Aimez de la même manière les autres et toutes ces choses qui font de nous une personne unique, avec toutes ses imperfections. En fait, ces ambitieuses missions constituaient un projet unique consistant à développer l’amour envers la vie elle-même, comme le reflétait le célèbre ouvrage L’art de l’amour, publié en 1956.

La psychanalyse pour explorer le potentiel humain

En bref, Fromm a consacré son travail à examiner la gamme de possibilités que la conception humaniste de la vie pourrait offrir non seulement aux techniques permettant de réduire la souffrance dans des situations spécifiques qui génèrent un inconfort, mais aussi aux stratégies d’intervention de ces épisodes de souffrance dans un projet vital plein de sens .

Ses propositions psychanalytiques sont donc bien loin de la première psychanalyse visant à faire souffrir le moins possible les gens et préfèrent se concentrer sur le développement du potentiel maximum des personnes dans un processus que nous pourrions appeler «bonheur». C'est pourquoi, même aujourd'hui, la lecture des œuvres d'Erich Fromm est très populaire parce qu'elles sont considérées comme une source d'inspiration et avec un riche passé philosophique .


L'art d'aimer d'Ovide (Décembre 2019).


Articles Connexes