yes, therapy helps!
How to know when the relationship has ended: 7 tips

How to know when the relationship has ended: 7 tips

November 27, 2021

If something is clear in the field of love is that interpreting our emotions is sometimes as or more complicated than playing to guess what the person with whom we are feeling. The human mind is complex and full of nuances, so, for example, one is not always clear about what he wants.

In the case of love this is especially true, and this is not necessarily bad, but when the relationship is badly damaged, this inability to assess what is really happening is counterproductive, since by inertia we tend to continue doing the usual. Next we will see several guidelines about how to know when a relationship has ended .

  • Related article: "How to avoid couple conflicts?"

How to know when the relationship is over

In couple relationships this is especially problematic not knowing how to recognize one's emotions, because inconsistencies and unpredictability in terms of the goals and motivations of each one can stress the commitments. A certain level of tension is relatively normal in any relationship, but when it comes to a critical point, it is important to be aware that it is best to cut.


Because of the myth that love always implies suffering and sacrificing for the other, there are those who, whatever happens, they do not even consider cutting and starting over autonomously, letting the other person go. But this is not the case: life is short, and there are no reasons to bet everything on a specific relationship, indefinitely.

In the following lines you will find several aids to recognize where is the limit of what is acceptable . However, keep in mind that it is not necessary for one of them to be fulfilled in order to have the legitimacy to cut. Each person is free to end a relationship if they feel it is the best, for whatever reason.


  • Maybe you're interested: "How to know when to go to couple therapy? 5 compelling reasons"

1. Assess if there is physical or psychological abuse

This is the first aspect to consider, since the abuse is a very clear red line. However, in victims of abuse, they often do not recognize their situation or even justify it, unless they stop to think carefully about what happens. In this sense, psychological abuse can cause problems because sometimes it is somewhat ambiguous or needs a special context to be such.

  • Related article: "The 30 signs of psychological abuse in a relationship"

2. Consider yourself if there is sufficient physical contact

Affection and love are expressed not only through words, but also through the sense of touch. However, in couples in which there is no longer love, this type of interaction ceases to be a frequent habit.


3. Think about how much you care about the "what they will say"

Some people are still with their partner simply because cutting with the relationship would cause a negative impact on people in their environment. The group pressure is surprisingly powerful , and acts indirectly, even if nobody has done anything to suggest pressure, simply based on our expectations and what we imagine will happen if we return to singleness.

That is why it is worthwhile to stop and think if in the present one of the main reasons why the relationship continues to exist is the desire to please others, to give them a kind image of ourselves. After all, one of the most direct solutions to the problem of how to know if the relationship has ended is to see if it is only sustained by others, and not by ourselves.

4. Assess the frequency and intensity of the quarrels

This is possibly one of the methods most followed by people who intend to find out if it makes sense to continue or not with a relationship, and it is easy to know why. The fights are crisis with a relatively clear start and end , and that is why it is easy to distinguish them from what is considered to be normality.

It is true that strong arguments indicate tension and confrontation, but do not let them capitalize on your concept of what a failed relationship is. As we are seeing, there are many other phenomena that denote problems in relational dynamics but that, being more discreet, can be overlooked.

5. Are the basic pacts broken?

In every relationship there is a minimum level of commitment, as long as there is a pretense that it lasts beyond a few weeks or months. That is why it is important to look at whether they are met; this is a sign of the importance that each one gives to the fact of being in a relationship with the other.

6. Rate if you can talk about what you feel with your partner

By definition, a relationship should be a two-way communication link. It is not viable to have a partner and not be able to express important things that we would like you to know , whenever this happens because of their attitudes, because this means that there is no capacity for the other person to adapt to the variations of what we feel, or even to be comforted in difficult moments.

A relationship in which only "the facade" is taken into account, what we seem to feel, is incredibly poor.

7. The other person has left us

It may seem silly, but not everyone recognizes the moment in which their partner ends the relationship . They suppose that it is a joke, a strategy to create pressure, or a way to get revenge. But it is not like that: when the other person cuts, what is happening is exactly what it seems, and we have no right to show that we have not heard or act as if we knew better than the other person what he really wants.


8 Things To Expect When You Break Up With A Narcissist (A Relationship Specialist Explains) (November 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Comment savoir quand la relation est terminée: 7 conseils

Comment savoir quand la relation est terminée: 7 conseils

Mai 20, 2022

Si quelque chose est clair dans le domaine de l’amour, interpréter nos émotions est parfois aussi compliqué que de jouer à deviner ce que la personne avec qui nous ressentons se sent. L'esprit humain est complexe et plein de nuances. Ainsi, par exemple, on ne sait pas toujours clairement ce qu'il veut.

Dans le cas de l'amour, cela est particulièrement vrai et ce n'est pas nécessairement mauvais, mais lorsque la relation est gravement endommagée, cette incapacité à évaluer ce qui se passe réellement est contre-productive, car, par inertie, nous avons tendance à continuer à faire ce qui est habituel. Ensuite, nous verrons plusieurs lignes directrices sur comment savoir quand une relation est terminée .

  • Article connexe: "Comment éviter les conflits de couple?"

Comment savoir quand la relation est terminée

Dans les relations de couple, c'est particulièrement problématique de ne pas savoir reconnaître ses émotions, car les incohérences et l'imprévisibilité en termes d'objectifs et de motivations de chacun peuvent souligner les engagements. Un certain niveau de tension est relativement normal dans toute relation, mais lorsqu'il s'agit d'un point critique, il est important de savoir qu'il vaut mieux couper.


En raison du mythe selon lequel l'amour implique toujours souffrance et sacrifice pour l'autre, il y a ceux qui, quoi qu'il arrive, ils n'envisagent même pas de couper et de recommencer de manière autonome, laissant l'autre personne partir. Mais ce n'est pas le cas: la vie est courte et il n'y a aucune raison de tout parier sur une relation spécifique, indéfiniment.

Dans les lignes suivantes, vous trouverez plusieurs aides pour reconnaître où est la limite de ce qui est acceptable . Cependant, gardez à l’esprit qu’il n’est pas nécessaire que l’une d’entre elles soit remplie pour avoir la légitimité à couper. Chaque personne est libre de mettre fin à une relation si elle estime que c'est la meilleure, pour une raison quelconque.


  • Peut-être êtes-vous intéressé: "Comment savoir quand aller en thérapie de couple? 5 raisons impérieuses"

1. Évaluez s'il y a abus physique ou psychologique

C’est le premier aspect à considérer, car l’abus est une ligne rouge très nette. Cependant, les victimes d'abus ne reconnaissent souvent pas leur situation, ni même ne le justifient, à moins de s'arrêter pour bien réfléchir à ce qui se passe. En ce sens, la violence psychologique peut poser problème, car elle est parfois quelque peu ambiguë ou nécessite un contexte particulier.

  • Article connexe: "Les 30 signes de violence psychologique dans une relation"

2. Considérez-vous s'il y a suffisamment de contact physique

L'affection et l'amour s'expriment non seulement par les mots, mais aussi par le sens du toucher. Cependant, dans les couples où il n'y a plus d'amour, ce type d'interaction cesse d'être une habitude fréquente.


3. Pensez à quel point vous vous souciez du "ce qu'ils vont dire"

Certaines personnes sont toujours avec leur partenaire simplement parce que rompre avec la relation aurait un impact négatif sur les personnes dans leur environnement. La pression du groupe est étonnamment puissante et agit indirectement, même si personne n’a rien fait pour suggérer une pression, simplement sur la base de nos attentes et de ce que nous imaginons qui se passera si nous retournons au célibat.

C’est pourquoi il vaut la peine de s’arrêter et de penser que, dans le présent, l’une des principales raisons pour lesquelles la relation continue d’exister est le désir de plaire aux autres, de leur donner une bonne image de nous-mêmes. Après tout, l’une des solutions les plus directes au problème de savoir si la relation a pris fin est de voir si elle est soutenue uniquement par les autres et non par nous-mêmes.

4. Évaluez la fréquence et l'intensité des querelles

C’est peut-être l’une des méthodes les plus suivies par les personnes qui cherchent à savoir s’il est logique de poursuivre ou non une relation, et il est facile de savoir pourquoi. Les combats sont crise avec un début et une fin relativement clairs et c’est pourquoi il est facile de les distinguer de ce qui est considéré comme de la normalité.

Il est vrai que de forts arguments indiquent la tension et la confrontation, mais ne les laissez pas capitaliser sur votre conception de ce qu'est une relation défaillante. Comme nous le constatons, de nombreux autres phénomènes dénotent des problèmes de dynamique relationnelle, mais qui, étant plus discrets, peuvent être négligés.

5. Les pactes de base sont-ils brisés?

Dans chaque relation, il y a un minimum d'engagement, à condition que l'on puisse prétendre qu'il dure plus de quelques semaines ou quelques mois. C'est pourquoi il est important de vérifier s'ils sont satisfaits. c'est un signe de l'importance que chacun donne au fait d'être en couple avec l'autre.

6. Notez si vous pouvez parler de ce que vous ressentez avec votre partenaire

Par définition, une relation devrait être un lien de communication bidirectionnel. Il n’est pas viable d’avoir un partenaire et ne pas être capable d'exprimer des choses importantes que nous aimerions que vous sachiez , chaque fois que cela se produit à cause de leurs attitudes, parce que cela signifie que l’autre personne n’a pas la capacité de s’adapter aux variations de ce que nous ressentons, ni même d’être rassurée dans des moments difficiles.

Une relation dans laquelle seule "la façade" est prise en compte, ce que nous semblons ressentir, est incroyablement pauvre.

7. L'autre personne nous a quitté

Cela peut sembler idiot, mais tout le monde ne reconnaît pas le moment où son partenaire met fin à la relation . Ils supposent que c'est une blague, une stratégie pour créer de la pression ou un moyen de se venger. Mais ce n’est pas le cas: lorsque l’autre coupe, ce qui se passe est exactement ce qu’il semble, et nous n’avons pas le droit de montrer que nous n’avons pas entendu ou agi comme si nous savions mieux que l’autre ce qu’il veut vraiment.


Quand faut-il rompre? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes