yes, therapy helps!
Mirror neurons and their relevance in neuro-rehabilitation

Mirror neurons and their relevance in neuro-rehabilitation

October 23, 2020

Can one contribute, through the stimulation of mirror neurons, to functional recovery in patients who present hemiparesis as a consequence of a stroke?

About a month ago it was published in Psychology and Mind an article related to mirror neurons in which they spoke, mainly, about their discovery and its importance in culture and social phenomena. This article aims to show, in broad strokes, the importance of said mirror neurons in the process of functional rehabilitation of the upper extremities in patients affected by Ictus .

In what processes are mirror neurons involved?

In 1996, Giacomo Rizzolati discovered, by serendipity, that these mirror neurons were activated by perform an action and when seeing another person performing that same action n, therefore, it can be concluded that they are essential for the learning and the imitation , while playing an important role in the social skills , such as empathy , because thanks to them we can intuit what the other person thinks, will do or feels (Rizzolatti and Craighero, 2004).


Can stimulation contribute to the rehabilitation of patients affected by stroke?

As mentioned, they are neurons that are involved in mechanisms that combine execution-observation . Therefore, based on these findings, it has been proven that their stimulation influences the rehabilitation process, therefore, they have been carried out various functional neuro-rehabilitation programs , as for example, in cases in which the patient presents motor deficits in the upper extremities as a consequence of a cerebrovascular accident (CVA) or stroke.

An example of this is given to us through Rehabilitation Gamming System (RGS) (//rgs-project.eu), an innovative project of Virtual reality (RV) carried out by the research team of the SPECS laboratory, the Pompeu Fabra University (UPF), the Hospital del Mar, the Valle Hebrón Hospital and three other entities in collaboration with the Fundació TicSalut.


This project is based on the principle of brain plasticity and how functional reorganization can be achieved in the areas affected by stroke through the stimulation of secondary motor areas (Cameirao, Bermúdez, Duarte and Verschure, 2011). Such areas integrate the mirror neuron system (MNS), involved in motor planning and execution processes by observing said action.

RGS is an application that, through the use of VR through dynamic games, promotes the functional recovery of the patient. Thus, it allows the patient to advance in the process of rehabilitation of the upper extremities by stimulating the visual-motor path provided by the MNS. The material resources necessary to carry out this therapy through RGS are, mainly, a computer with Kinect sensor and RGS software, as well as adding different interface devices (gloves, exoskeletons, etc.). Through the image provided by the screen you can see a representation of virtual arms, shown in first person perspective, that simulate the movement of the real arms in real time and in a simulated environment, in this way, the active patient the injured motor neuronal circuits, which usually remain inactive due to the lack of movement of the paretic arm, thus inducing the neuroplasticity of the affected area. As for the various games included in the program, they are mainly based on capturing objects, hitting them, dodging them, etc.


Likewise, each game adapts in terms of complexity and speed of the performance stimuli in each of the arms and characteristics of the patient . What is really interesting about this adaptation system is that it is dynamically modulated through two different strategies. On the one hand it adjusts the difficulty of the exercise, and on the other hand it amplifies the movement of the affected arm of the patient in RV, showing faster, wider and more precise range movements. In this way, the patient is motivated to use his affected arm more frequently.

Another interesting aspect of the RGS system is that allows to capture descriptive parameters of the user's progress , to be analyzed and presented automatically, allowing the clinical staff to supervise the patient's recovery process.

RGS has already been evaluated in Several clinical studies have shown their effectiveness in the rehabilitation processes . These studies were carried out to verify the efficacy of the therapy by using RGS combined with Occupational Therapy (OT) in comparison with a control group that only received TO.The results showed that the group of patients with whom RGS was combined with TO had better results than the control group (Cameirao et al., 2011).

Finally, it can be concluded that RGS supposes an RV therapy based on neuronal plasticity through the stimulation of the MNS in which, in a fun and entertaining way , it can contribute to the improvement of upper extremity mobility recovery in patients affected by stroke.

Bibliographic references:

  • Cameirao, M.S, Bermúdez, S., Duarte, O., and Verschure, P. (2011). Virtual reality based rehabilitation speeds up of the upper extremity after stroke: a randomized controlled pilot study in the acute phase of stroke using the rehabilitation gaming system. Restorative neurology and neuroscience, 29(5), 287-298.
  • Rizzolatti, G., and Craighero, L. (2004). The mirror-neuron system. Annual Review of Neuroscience, 27, 169-192.
  • Website The Rehabilitation Gaming System (www.eodyne.com).

The most important lesson from 83,000 brain scans | Daniel Amen | TEDxOrangeCoast (October 2020).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Neurones miroirs et leur pertinence en neuro-rééducation

Neurones miroirs et leur pertinence en neuro-rééducation

Mai 27, 2022

Peut-on contribuer, par la stimulation des neurones miroirs, à la récupération fonctionnelle chez les patients présentant une hémiparésie à la suite d'un AVC?

Il y a environ un mois, il a été publié dans Psychologie et esprit un article sur les neurones miroirs dans lequel ils parlent principalement de leur découverte et de son importance dans la culture et les phénomènes sociaux. Cet article vise à montrer, en gros traits, l’importance desdits neurones miroirs dans le processus de rééducation fonctionnelle des membres supérieurs chez des patients atteints de Ictus .

Dans quels processus les neurones miroirs sont-ils impliqués?

En 1996, Giacomo Rizzolati a découvert, par hasard, que ces neurones miroirs étaient activés par effectuer une action et voir une autre personne effectuer la même action On peut donc en conclure qu'ils sont indispensables à la l'apprentissage et la imitation , tout en jouant un rôle important dans le aptitudes sociales , tels que empathie , car grâce à eux, nous pouvons deviner ce que l’autre pense, ce qu’il fait ou ce qu’il ressent (Rizzolatti et Craighero, 2004).


La stimulation peut-elle contribuer à la réadaptation des patients victimes d'un AVC?

Comme mentionné, ce sont des neurones qui sont impliqués dans des mécanismes combinant observation-exécution . Par conséquent, sur la base de ces résultats, il a été prouvé que leur stimulation influe sur le processus de réadaptation. Ils ont donc été effectués divers programmes de neuro-rééducation fonctionnelle comme par exemple dans les cas où le patient présente des déficits moteurs dans les membres supérieurs suite à un accident vasculaire cérébral (AVC) ou à un accident vasculaire cérébral.

Un exemple de cela nous est donné à travers Système de jeu de rééducation (RGS) (//rgs-project.eu), un projet innovant de Realité virtuel (RV) réalisé par l'équipe de recherche du laboratoire SPECS, de l'Université Pompeu Fabra (UPF), de l'Hôpital del Mar, de l'Hôpital Valle Hebrón et de trois autres entités en collaboration avec la Fundació TicSalut.


Ce projet repose sur le principe de plasticité cérébrale et comment une réorganisation fonctionnelle peut être réalisée dans les zones touchées par un AVC par la stimulation de zones motrices secondaires (Cameirao, Bermúdez, Duarte et Verschure, 2011). De telles zones intègrent le système neuronal miroir (MNS), impliqué dans les processus de planification et d'exécution motrices en observant cette action.

RGS est une application qui, grâce à l'utilisation de la réalité virtuelle à travers des jeux dynamiques, favorise la récupération fonctionnelle du patient. Ainsi, il permet au patient de progresser dans le processus de rééducation des membres supérieurs en stimulant le trajet moteur visuel fourni par le MNS. Les ressources matérielles nécessaires pour mener à bien cette thérapie via RGS sont principalement un ordinateur avec capteur Kinect et le logiciel RGS, ainsi que l’ajout de différents dispositifs d’interface (gants, exosquelettes, etc.). À travers l'image fournie par l'écran, vous pouvez voir une représentation des bras virtuels, montrés dans la perspective à la première personne, qui simule le mouvement des bras réels en temps réel et dans un environnement simulé, de cette manière, le patient actif les circuits neuronaux moteurs lésés, qui restent généralement inactifs en raison de l'absence de mouvement du bras parétique, induisant ainsi la neuroplasticité de la zone touchée. Quant aux différents jeux inclus dans le programme, ils consistent principalement à capturer des objets, à les frapper, à les esquiver, etc.


De même chaque jeu s'adapte en termes de complexité et de rapidité des stimuli de performance dans chacun des bras et des caractéristiques du patient . Ce qui est vraiment intéressant à propos de ce système d’adaptation, c’est qu’il est modulé dynamiquement par deux stratégies différentes. D'une part, il ajuste la difficulté de l'exercice et, d'autre part, il amplifie le mouvement du bras affecté du patient lors d'une RV, en affichant des mouvements de distance plus rapides, plus larges et plus précis. De cette manière, le patient est motivé pour utiliser son bras affecté plus fréquemment.

Un autre aspect intéressant du système RGS est que permet de capturer des paramètres descriptifs de la progression de l'utilisateur , à analyser et à présenter automatiquement, permettant ainsi au personnel clinique de superviser le processus de récupération du patient.

RGS a déjà été évalué dans Plusieurs études cliniques ont montré leur efficacité dans les processus de rééducation . Ces études ont été menées pour vérifier l'efficacité de la thérapie en utilisant RGS associé à une ergothérapie, par comparaison avec un groupe témoin recevant seulement la TO.Les résultats ont montré que le groupe de patients avec lesquels RGS était associé à TO avait de meilleurs résultats que le groupe témoin (Cameirao et al., 2011).

Enfin, on peut conclure que RGS suppose une thérapie de RV basée sur la plasticité neuronale par la stimulation du MNS dans laquelle, de manière ludique et divertissante , il peut contribuer à l’amélioration de la récupération de la mobilité des membres supérieurs chez les patients victimes d’un AVC.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Cameirao, M.S., Bermúdez, S., Duarte, O. et Verschure, P. (2011). La rééducation virtuelle basée sur la réalité accélère les membres supérieurs après un AVC: une étude pilote contrôlée randomisée dans la phase aiguë de l'AVC utilisant le système de jeu de rééducation Neurologie restauratrice et neurosciences, 29(5), 287-298.
  • Rizzolatti, G. et Craighero, L. (2004). Le système à neurones miroirs. Revue annuelle des neurosciences, 27, 169-192.
  • Site Web Le système de jeu de réadaptation (www.eodyne.com).

Neuroscience et développement personnel : qu'est-ce que la conscience ? (Mai 2022).


Articles Connexes