yes, therapy helps!
Déjà Vu: the strange feeling of living something already lived before

Déjà Vu: the strange feeling of living something already lived before

May 6, 2024

Have you ever lived something that you think you have lived at another time? Have you been to a place that is familiar but without remembering why you are familiar?

If you have felt something similar, it is very likely that you have experienced a Deja vu .

What does Déjà Vu mean?

Deja vu is a French term coined by the psychic researcher Émile Boirac which means "already seen" and implies a sensation of being living a situation identical to another previously lived of which, however, we are not able to remember when or why we are familiar . Its duration, normally, is a few seconds and is characterized by the feeling of living again a moment already lived, as if the same story was repeated.


Through a collection of data by Millon and his team it has been observed that, approximately, 60% of people experience it and it turns out to be a more frequent phenomenon under stress and fatigue situations (Brown, 2003). It usually arises between the ages of 8-9, because for a Dèjá Vu to occur, a certain level of brain development is required, but once we experience it, it becomes more frequent between 10-20 years (Ratliff, 2006).

When we speak of Dèjá Vu, we are not talking about a new term, since Dèjá vu's experiences have already been described in works by great writers such as Dickens, Tolstoy , Proust and Hardy (Sno, Linszen & Jonghe, 1992).


Why is Déjà Vu produced?

This question is still uncertain. Numerous fields offer diverse explanations to this phenomenon, some of the most known theories are those that relate Dèjá Vu as a symptom of paranormal experiences (past lives, premonitions, etc.) and even in the field of psychoanalysis, Freud (1936) postulated that this sensation was caused by the similarity of the present situation with a repressed fantasy of an unconscious dream, however, he declared the phenomenon as something confusing to investigate.

What does neuroscience tell us about the Déjà Vu phenomenon?

Focusing on a neurocognitive analysis, Alan Brown (2004), psychologist at Southern Methodist University and author of "The Déjà vu Experience", shows us a classification of the various scientific explanations in relation to Déjà Vu through four theories:


1. Double processing

The central idea is the affirmation of Déjà Vu as result of two synchronized parallel cognitive processes that momentarily lose synchronization .

This asynchrony may be due to the absence of one process when the other is activated or the brain is coding the information and recovering it at the same time, meaning that two related pathways that are normally separate are merging. The fact that you are observing an image and that you are remembering at the same time gives us a feeling of having lived this situation before.

2. Neurological

Déjà Vu is produced because of a brief dysfunction / interruption in a temporal lobe circuit , involved in the experience of remembering lived situations, this fact generates a "false memory" of the situation. This theory is justified with the study of patients with epilepsy of the temporal lobe, who often experience Déjà Vu just before suffering one of their attacks.

By measuring neuronal discharges in the brain of these patients, scientists have been able to identify the regions of the brain where Déjà Vu signals begin and how stimulating those same regions it is possible to produce that sensation.

3. Mnics

Define Déjà Vu as a experience generated by the similarities and overlaps between past and present experiences . The psychologist Anne M. Cleary (2008), researcher of the neural bases underlying Déjà Vu, postulates this phenomenon as a normal metacognitive mechanism that occurs when a past experience bears a resemblance to the present and, consequently, makes us believe that we have already been there.

Through various studies and investigations it has shown that the mind stores fragments of information, that is, it does not store the complete information and that, therefore, when we observe, for example, a street that looks like another street or that has identical elements or similar, this feeling may arise.

4. Double perception or attention

It is postulated that the phenomenon is produced as a consequence of a momentary distraction of the brain just after part of the scene has been captured (non-explicit recall) and, when this attention is retaken (fractions of a second) and a complete capture is made , we attributed to that scene a strong sense of familiarity without being aware of its origin giving a feeling of "false memory", since part of that scene had been recorded implicitly and unconsciously.

The fact that there are various theories shows that such a phenomenon is not due to a single cause. Likewise, it is true that not all Déjà Vu is the result of a normal mnesic process, since there seems to be a type of Déjà Vu related to a mnesic alteration observed in pathologies such as schizophrenia or, as mentioned above, in the lobe epilepsy. temporary in which the phenomenon can last a few minutes or even hours (Thompson, Moulin, Conway & Jones, 2004).

For the moment, there is no clear and definitive explanation that determines the anatomical and functional bases for this phenomenon to occur , but advances in neuroimaging techniques and current research can help to better understand the topic from a neurocognitive perspective.

Bibliographic references:

  • Brown, A. (2003). A review of the déjà vu experience. Psychological bulletin, 129 (3), 394.
  • Brown, A. (2004). The Dèjá vu experience. England: Psychology Press.
  • Cleary, A. M. (2008). Recognition memory, familiarity, and déjà vu experiences. Current Directions in Psychological Science, 17 (5), 353-357.
  • Freud, S. (1964). A disturbance of memory on the Acropolis. In The Standard Edition of the Complete Psychological Works of Sigmund Freud, Volume XXII (1932-1936): New Introductory Lectures on Psycho-Analysis and Other Works (pp. 237-248).
  • Ratliff, E. (2006). Déjà vu, again and again. New York Times Magazine, 2, 38-43.
  • Sno, H., Linszen, D., & Jonghe, F. (1992). Art imitates life: Leave vu experiences in prose and poetry. The British Journal of Psychiatry, 160 (4), 511-518.
  • Thompson, R., Moulin, J., Conway, M. & Jones, R. (2004). Persistent Déjà vu: A disorder of memory. International journal of geriatric psychiatry, 19 (9), 906-907.

Déjà vu. The feeling of a forgotten memory. -National Geographic Channel Live curious awards. (May 2024).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Déjà Vu: l'étrange sentiment de vivre quelque chose déjà vécu auparavant

Déjà Vu: l'étrange sentiment de vivre quelque chose déjà vécu auparavant

Mai 20, 2019

Avez-vous déjà vécu quelque chose que vous pensez avoir vécu à un autre moment? Avez-vous été à un endroit qui vous est familier mais sans vous rappeler pourquoi vous êtes familier?

Si vous avez ressenti quelque chose de similaire, il est très probable que vous ayez vécu une Déjà vu .

Qu'est-ce que Déjà Vu signifie?

Déjà vu est un terme français inventé par le chercheur psychique Émile Boirac ce qui signifie "déjà vu" et implique la sensation de vivre une situation identique à une autre vécue auparavant mais dont nous ne pouvons pas nous rappeler quand ni pourquoi nous sommes familiers . Sa durée, normalement, est de quelques secondes et se caractérise par le sentiment de revivre un moment déjà vécu, comme si la même histoire se répétait.


Grâce à une collecte de données réalisée par Millon et son équipe, il a été observé qu’environ 60% des personnes en souffrent et cela devient un phénomène plus fréquent dans des situations de stress et de fatigue (Brown, 2003). Il survient généralement entre 8 et 9 ans, car pour qu'un Dèjá Vu se produise, un certain niveau de développement du cerveau est nécessaire, mais une fois que nous en faisons l'expérience, il devient plus fréquent entre 10 et 20 ans (Ratliff, 2006).

Lorsque nous parlons de Dèjá Vu, nous ne parlons pas d'un nouveau terme, car les expériences de Dèjá vu ont déjà été décrites dans des œuvres de grands écrivains tels que Dickens, Tolstoï , Proust et Hardy (Sno, Linszen & Jonghe, 1992).


Pourquoi Déjà Vu est-il produit?

Cette question est encore incertaine. De nombreux domaines offrent diverses explications à ce phénomène, certaines des théories les plus connues sont celles qui relatent Dèjá Vu en tant que symptôme d'expériences paranormales (vies passées, prémonitions, etc.) et même dans le domaine de la psychanalyse, Freud (1936) a postulé que cette sensation était due à la similitude de la situation actuelle avec un fantasme refoulé d'un rêve inconscient. Il a toutefois déclaré que le phénomène était source de confusion pour le moment.

Que nous dit la neuroscience sur le phénomène Déjà Vu?

En se concentrant sur une analyse neurocognitive, Alan Brown (2004), psychologue à la Southern Methodist University et auteur de "The Déjà vu Experience", nous présente une classification des différentes explications scientifiques relatives à Déjà vu à travers quatre théories:


1. Double traitement

L’idée centrale est l’affirmation de Déjà Vu en tant que résultat de deux processus cognitifs parallèles synchronisés qui perdent momentanément la synchronisation .

Cette asynchronie peut être due à l’absence d’un processus lorsque l’autre est activé ou que le cerveau code les informations et les récupère en même temps, ce qui signifie que deux voies connexes normalement séparées sont en train de se confondre. Le fait que vous observiez une image et que vous vous souveniez en même temps nous donne le sentiment d'avoir vécu cette situation auparavant.

2. neurologique

Déjà Vu est produit à cause d'un bref dysfonctionnement / interruption dans un circuit de lobe temporal , impliqué dans l'expérience de se souvenir de situations vécues, ce fait génère un "faux souvenir" de la situation. Cette théorie est justifiée par l'étude de patients atteints d'épilepsie du lobe temporal, qui éprouvent souvent une expérience de Déjà Vu juste avant de subir l'une de leurs attaques.

En mesurant les décharges neuronales dans le cerveau de ces patients, les scientifiques ont pu identifier les régions du cerveau où les signaux de Déjà Vu commencent et la manière dont stimuler ces mêmes régions permet de produire cette sensation.

3. Mnics

Définir Déjà Vu en tant que expérience générée par les similitudes et les chevauchements entre les expériences passées et présentes . Le psychologue Anne M. Cleary (2008), chercheur des bases neurales sous-jacentes à Déjà Vu, postule ce phénomène comme un mécanisme métacognitif normal qui se produit lorsqu'une expérience passée présente une ressemblance avec le présent et, par conséquent, nous fait croire que nous y sommes déjà.

A travers diverses études et enquêtes, il a montré que l’esprit stockait des fragments d’informations, c’est-à-dire qu’il ne stockait pas l’information complète et que, par conséquent, lorsque nous observons, par exemple, une rue qui ressemble à une autre rue ou qui contient des éléments identiques ou similaire, ce sentiment peut survenir.

4. Double perception ou attention

On postule que le phénomène est produit à la suite d’une crise distraction momentanée du cerveau juste après qu'une partie de la scène ait été capturée (rappel non explicite) et, lorsque cette attention est reprise (des fractions de seconde) et qu'une capture complète est effectuée , nous avons attribué à cette scène un fort sentiment de familiarité sans avoir conscience de son origine donnant un sentiment de "fausse mémoire", car une partie de cette scène avait été enregistrée implicitement et inconsciemment.

Le fait qu'il existe différentes théories montre qu'un tel phénomène n'est pas dû à une cause unique. De même, il est vrai que tout Déjà Vu n'est pas le résultat d'un processus mnésique normal, car il semble exister un type de Déjà Vu lié à une altération mnésique observée dans des pathologies telles que la schizophrénie ou, comme mentionné précédemment, dans l'épilepsie du lobe. temporaire dans lequel le phénomène peut durer quelques minutes, voire plusieurs heures (Thompson, Moulin, Conway et Jones, 2004).

Pour le moment, il n'y a pas d'explication claire et définitive qui détermine les bases anatomiques et fonctionnelles pour que ce phénomène se produise , mais les progrès des techniques de neuroimagerie et les recherches en cours peuvent aider à mieux comprendre le sujet d’un point de vue neurocognitif.

Références bibliographiques:

  • Brown, A. (2003). Une revue de l'expérience de déjà vu. Bulletin psychologique, 129 (3), 394.
  • Brown, A. (2004). L'expérience Dèjá vu. Angleterre: Psychology Press.
  • Cleary, A.M. (2008). Mémoire de reconnaissance, expériences de familiarité et de déjà vu. Current Directions in Psychological Science, 17 (5), 353-357.
  • Freud, S. (1964). Une perturbation de la mémoire sur l'Acropole. Dans l'édition standard des œuvres psychologiques complètes de Sigmund Freud, volume XXII (1932-1936): Nouvelles conférences introductives sur la psychanalyse et autres œuvres (p. 237-248).
  • Ratliff, E. (2006). Déjà vu, encore et encore. New York Times Magazine, 2, 38-43.
  • Sno, H., D. Linszen et F. Jonghe (1992). L'art imite la vie: laissez les expériences de vu dans la prose et la poésie. The British Journal of Psychiatry, 160 (4), 511-518.
  • Thompson, R., Moulin, J., Conway, M. et Jones, R. (2004). Déjà vu persistant: un trouble de la mémoire. Journal international de psychiatrie gériatrique, 19 (9), 906-907.

Déjà-vu : l’étrange histoire d’un homme « coincé dans une boucle temporelle » (Mai 2019).


Articles Connexes