yes, therapy helps!
Passive-Aggressive Personality Disorder: 10 characteristic features

Passive-Aggressive Personality Disorder: 10 characteristic features

May 6, 2021

There are different types of personality disorders, one of them is the passive-aggressive disorder (also called negative personality disorder).

It is characterized because these people resist external requirements, that is, the demands of others , with expressions such as obstructionism, procrastination, stubbornness or forgetfulness, combined with negative and defeatist attitudes.

This type of behavior persists even when it is possible to show a different and more effective behavior. People with this type of personality disorder are manipulative and dependent on others, so they are shown as pessimistic and resentful.


Causes of Passive-Aggressive Personality Disorder

The exact causes of this personality disorder are not known with certainty . Although experts say that the origin is in both biological and environmental factors.

Researchers think that people who show passive-aggressive behaviors, usually express them in childhood. The parental style of their parents, family dynamics and other influences of childhood can contribute to the development of this personality disorder . Abuse during this life stage or severe punishment, abuse of psychoactive substances in adolescence or low self-esteem can also encourage the development of passive-aggressive behaviors.


It is important to mention that other psychological health conditions may seem passive-aggressive behavior, so it is necessary to take it into account when making a correct diagnosis of this personality disorder. For example:

  • Attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD)
  • Stress
  • Anxiety disorders
  • Depression
  • Behavioral disorders
  • Oppositional defiant disorder
  • Bipolar disorder
  • Schizotypal personality disorder
  • Schizophrenia
  • Alcohol abuse
  • Cocaine addiction

Symptoms of Passive-Aggressive Personality Disorder

People with this disorder often show a disconnect between what they say and what they do . Their behavior provokes anger from both the people close to them and the strangers.

Symptoms of this disorder include:


  • Criticize or protest frequently about others
  • Being unpleasant or irritable
  • Being forgetful and disrespectful to others
  • To perform tasks insufficiently
  • Act in a hostile or cynical way
  • Act stubbornly
  • Blame others even if it's your fault
  • Complain about being appreciated
  • Show resentment and bad mood
  • Fear the authority
  • Reject suggestions from others

Possible treatments

If you suffer from this disorder, You must be treated as soon as possible as it directly affects your interpersonal relationships . Luckily, it is possible to find help in psychological health professionals. If you think you may be suffering from this disorder, it is necessary that you tell your relatives and your family doctor, so that later you can go to a psychologist specialized in this type of disorders.

The psychotherapist can help you identify the passive-aggressive behaviors you carry out, and thus teach you to get more adaptive behavior and cause you less suffering. The psychologists can help you manage your anger, resentment or the low self-esteem that may be contributing to you suffering this type of personality disorder.

What do I do if I suffer from this disorder? Guidelines and advice

In addition, they can teach effective coping strategies, for example, that you can see the situation objectively and can solve problems in the healthiest way possible. Assertiveness training can also help you to manage passive-aggressive behavior, so that you can express your thoughts and concerns effectively. reduces negative behavior caused by anger and frustration .

But in addition to looking for psychological help, you can also do other things on your own. They are the following:

  • Identify the possible reasons why you behave in this way
  • Think before act
  • Calm yourself before reacting to situations that affect you
  • Be optimistic
  • Be honest with others and express your feelings in a healthy way
  • Be aware of your behavior

How to know if I suffer Passive-Aggressive Personality Disorder: 12 keys to detect it

But how to know if you suffer Passive-Aggressive Personality Disorder? In addition to people usually do not want to approach you, there are different signs that can help you to detect it.

1. You show sullen

You do not tell the truth openly, with kindness and honesty when they ask you for your opinion or when they ask you to do something for someone.In addition, you usually engage with other people when you want to say no, which causes confusion and conflicts with other individuals.

2. Double face

You seem to be sweet, obedient and nice, but deep down you're resentful, angry and you feel great envy. You live with these two extremes, and this causes the people around you to be confused and angry.

3. Emotional dependence

You are afraid to be alone and be dependent . It is difficult for you to have a direct communication, and, in the face of a couple conflict, you usually express: "I hate you" "Do not leave me." This shell you wear is nothing but insecurity and fear of rejection. distancing people who care about you and those who matter, it usually seems that you do not want support, instead of being open, you close yourself in band and you become impenetrable.

4. You hold others responsible

Frequently you complain that others treat you unfairly . Instead of taking responsibility for what you do wrong, assume it and try to change, you prefer to become the victim. You usually say that others are too hard on you or ask you too much.

5. Procrastination

Procrastinate in a habitual way, especially when you have to do things for others. You always have an excuse why you have not been able to do things. You can even blame others when the culprit is you. So you destroy relationships and lose friendships.

6. You communicate through hints

You do not give direct answers . This is another way that the people you're with can often feel offended. And it is that, instead of giving direct answers, you always send confusing messages about your thoughts, your plans or your intentions.

7. You're in a bad mood

You tend to sulk and pout . You complain that others do not understand you and lack empathy when they expect you to live up to your promises, obligations or duties. Actually, it is you who commit yourself and then you do not comply.

8. Lack of deference towards others

You're late and you're forgetful . One of the reasons why it is difficult for you to establish relationships with others is because you are inconsiderate. So you do not take seriously being respectful of the covenants you carry out. That includes being late when you meet someone.

9. You lie frequently

You invent stories, excuses and lies . You are the master of the direct response evasion, you always have to have a phrase to distract the attention of others when they ask you for explanations. This leads you to tell a story or manipulate the information. You prefer to have everything under control by creating lies.

10. Hide your insecurities

You constantly protect yourself so that nobody knows how afraid you are of being imperfect , dependent or simply human.


How to Identify Passive Aggressive Traits and Behavior (May 2021).


Similar Articles

yes, therapy helps!
Trouble de la personnalité passive-agressive: 10 caractéristiques

Trouble de la personnalité passive-agressive: 10 caractéristiques

Février 18, 2019

Il existe différents types de troubles de la personnalité, l’un d’eux étant le trouble passif-agressif (aussi appelé trouble de la personnalité négatif).

Il est caractérisé parce que ces personnes résistent aux exigences externes, c'est-à-dire aux demandes des autres , avec des expressions telles que obstructionnisme, procrastination, obstination ou oubli, combinées avec des attitudes négatives et défaitistes.

Ce type de comportement persiste même lorsqu'il est possible de montrer un comportement différent et plus efficace. Les personnes atteintes de ce type de trouble de la personnalité sont manipulatrices et dépendent des autres. Elles se montrent donc pessimistes et pleines de ressentiment.


Causes du trouble de la personnalité passive-agressive

Les causes exactes de ce trouble de la personnalité ne sont pas connues avec certitude . Bien que les experts disent que l'origine est à la fois des facteurs biologiques et environnementaux.

Les chercheurs pensent que les personnes qui manifestent des comportements passifs-agressifs les expriment généralement dans leur enfance. Le style parental de leurs parents, la dynamique familiale et d'autres influences de l'enfance peuvent contribuer au développement de ce trouble de la personnalité . La maltraitance au cours de cette étape de la vie ou une punition sévère, la consommation de substances psychoactives à l'adolescence ou une faible estime de soi peuvent également encourager le développement de comportements passifs-agressifs.


Il est important de mentionner que d'autres problèmes de santé psychologiques peuvent sembler un comportement passif-agressif, il est donc nécessaire de le prendre en compte lors du diagnostic correct de ce trouble de la personnalité. Par exemple:

  • Trouble d'hyperactivité avec déficit de l'attention (TDAH)
  • Le stress
  • Troubles anxieux
  • La dépression
  • Troubles du comportement
  • Trouble provocant oppositionnel
  • Trouble bipolaire
  • Trouble de la personnalité schizotypique
  • La schizophrénie
  • L'abus d'alcool
  • Dépendance à la cocaïne

Symptômes du trouble de la personnalité passive-agressive

Personnes atteintes de ce trouble montre souvent un décalage entre ce qu'ils disent et ce qu'ils font . Leur comportement provoque la colère de leurs proches et des étrangers.

Les symptômes de ce trouble incluent:


  • Critiquer ou protester fréquemment à propos des autres
  • Être désagréable ou irritable
  • Être oublieux et irrespectueux envers les autres
  • Pour effectuer des tâches insuffisamment
  • Agir de manière hostile ou cynique
  • Agir obstinément
  • Blâmez les autres même si c'est de votre faute
  • Se plaindre d'être apprécié
  • Montrer le ressentiment et la mauvaise humeur
  • Peur de l'autorité
  • Rejeter les suggestions des autres

Traitements possibles

Si vous souffrez de ce trouble, Vous devez être traité le plus tôt possible car cela affecte directement vos relations interpersonnelles. . Heureusement, il est possible de trouver de l'aide auprès de professionnels de la santé psychologique. Si vous pensez souffrir de ce trouble, vous devez en informer votre famille et votre médecin de famille, pour pouvoir consulter plus tard un psychologue spécialisé dans ce type de troubles.

Le psychothérapeute peut vous aider à identifier les comportements passifs-agressifs que vous adoptez et vous apprendre ainsi à adopter un comportement plus adaptatif et à vous causer moins de souffrance. Les psychologues peut vous aider à gérer votre colère, votre ressentiment ou la faible estime de soi qui peut contribuer à ce que vous souffriez de ce type de trouble de la personnalité.

Que dois-je faire si je souffre de ce trouble? Directives et conseils

En outre, ils peuvent enseigner des stratégies d'adaptation efficaces, par exemple, qui vous permettent de voir la situation de manière objective et de résoudre les problèmes de la manière la plus saine possible. La formation à l'affirmation de soi peut également vous aider à gérer le comportement passif-agressif, de sorte que vous puissiez exprimer efficacement vos pensées et vos préoccupations. réduit les comportements négatifs causés par la colère et la frustration .

Mais en plus de chercher de l'aide psychologique, vous pouvez également faire d'autres choses vous-même. Ils sont les suivants:

  • Identifiez les raisons possibles pour lesquelles vous vous comportez de la sorte
  • Réfléchissez avant d'agir
  • Calmez-vous avant de réagir aux situations qui vous concernent
  • Être optimiste
  • Soyez honnête avec les autres et exprimez vos sentiments de manière saine
  • Soyez conscient de votre comportement

Comment savoir si je souffre d'un trouble de la personnalité passive-agressive: 12 clés pour le détecter

Mais comment savoir si vous souffrez d'un trouble de la personnalité passive-agressive? En plus des gens qui ne veulent généralement pas vous approcher, différents signes peuvent vous aider à le détecter.

1. Vous montrez maussade

Vous ne dites pas la vérité ouvertement, avec gentillesse et honnêteté quand ils vous demandent votre avis. ou quand ils vous demandent de faire quelque chose pour quelqu'un.De plus, vous vous engagez généralement avec d'autres personnes lorsque vous souhaitez refuser, ce qui crée de la confusion et des conflits avec d'autres personnes.

2. double face

Vous semblez être doux, obéissant et gentil, mais au fond, vous êtes plein de ressentiment, en colère et vous vous sentez très envie. Vous vivez avec ces deux extrêmes, ce qui provoque la confusion et la colère des personnes qui vous entourent.

3. Dépendance émotionnelle

Vous avez peur d'être seul et dépendant . Il est difficile pour vous d’avoir une communication directe et face à un conflit de couple, vous exprimez habituellement: "Je te déteste" "Ne me quitte pas." En éloignant les gens qui se soucient de vous et de ceux qui comptent, il semble généralement que vous ne voulez pas de soutien, au lieu d’être ouvert, vous vous fermez dans un groupe et vous devenez impénétrable.

4. Vous tenez les autres responsables

Vous vous plaignez souvent que d'autres vous traitent injustement . Au lieu d'assumer la responsabilité de ce que vous faites mal, de l'assumer et d'essayer de changer, vous préférez en devenir la victime. Vous dites habituellement que les autres sont trop durs avec vous ou vous en demandent trop.

5. La procrastination

Procrastinez de manière habituelle, surtout lorsque vous devez faire des choses pour les autres. Vous avez toujours une excuse pour ne pas avoir été capable de faire les choses. Vous pouvez même blâmer les autres quand le coupable est vous. Donc, vous détruisez les relations et perdez les amitiés.

6. Vous communiquez à travers des allusions

Vous ne donnez pas de réponses directes . C’est une autre façon pour les personnes avec qui vous vous trouvez d’être offensées. Et c’est que, au lieu de donner des réponses directes, vous envoyez toujours des messages confus sur vos pensées, vos projets ou vos intentions.

7. vous êtes de mauvaise humeur

Vous avez tendance à bouder et à faire la moue . Vous vous plaignez du fait que les autres ne vous comprennent pas et manquent d'empathie quand ils s'attendent à ce que vous respectiez vos promesses, vos obligations ou vos devoirs. En fait, c’est vous qui vous engagez et vous ne vous y conformez pas.

8. Manque de déférence envers les autres

Vous êtes en retard et vous êtes oublieux . L'une des raisons pour lesquelles il est difficile pour vous d'établir des relations avec les autres est que vous êtes inconsidéré. Donc, vous ne prenez pas au sérieux le respect des alliances que vous respectez. Cela comprend être en retard lorsque vous rencontrez quelqu'un.

9. Vous mentez fréquemment

Vous inventez des histoires, des excuses et des mensonges . Vous êtes le maître de l'évasion par réponse directe, vous devez toujours avoir une phrase pour détourner l'attention des autres lorsqu'ils vous demandent des explications. Cela vous amène à raconter une histoire ou à manipuler les informations. Vous préférez tout contrôler en créant des mensonges.

10. Cachez vos insécurités

Tu te protèges constamment pour que personne ne sache à quel point tu as peur d'être imparfait , dépendant ou simplement humain.


Trouble passif agressif : vivre dans l’ambiguïté (Février 2019).


Articles Connexes